WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Red Skull Was Almost Main Villain in "The Avengers"

Posted: July 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Red Skull Was Almost Main Villain in "The Avengers"Submit Comment
Before Joss Whedon was hired to direct "The Avengers," Zak Penn (X-Men: The Last Stand, Elektra) was on board to write the script. Eventually Whedon re-wrote everything, but we now know some of the original ideas that Penn had for the big Marvel movie.

Since he has been working on the script since 2003, Penn said that he felt it was a mistake to introduce Thor in a solo movie. His plan was to show Thor for the first time in "The Avengers." The reason for this was because Marvel had no back-up plan if one of their solo movies failed, and Penn felt that Thor had the biggest chance of not attracting an audience.

Penn went on to say that Loki was always the choice for the villain, but there were some discussions of using Red Skull instead. And even though Thanos briefly appeared in "The Avengers," the writer explained that he would have loved to use him as the main villain. "If I thought I could have gotten away with Thanos, I would have put him in there," he said.

Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: CBR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 8:47:15 AM

The fact they gave Red Skull such a cursory treatment in Captain America belies the fact they thought he was enough of a villain to stand athwart The Avengers.

And how was that supposed to happen? It's a stretch for Caps to come back from the 1940s, but to assume Red Skull too, along with Hydra I presume, would make it to the modern day is just a little hard to imagine.
minkowski writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 9:33:33 AM

And the title. It's called The Shining, which s the power the child had, a fact that wasn't revealed until well into the film, so what's the title? And how will that title matter to the content of The Shining? So a prequel without Jack or Duvall, and one that has entirely nothing to do with the actual power known as the shining, right?

Sounds like they just don't want to pay King anything and yet still make money off his book.
minkowski writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 9:33:50 AM

Wrong f*cking thread.
Kurskij writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 9:51:14 AM

"Zak Penn (X-Men: The Last Stand, Elektra) was on board to write the script"

i.e. greatist comic book movie writer of all times. What a movie we're robbed of!
Kurskij writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 9:53:40 AM

seriously? greatIst?

f*cking auto-correcter.

And really, Alex. I think we all know there won't be any edit button. Ever. But would you care to explain why (traffic? cost? traffic cost?). Though that might be a little tough on servers...
bandolero999 writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 10:09:36 AM

Elektra was the greates chick flick of all time. better than cynthia rothrock.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 12:09:24 PM

... and Red Sonja.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 1:40:42 PM

What coulda been...............Who gives a f*ck???
minkowski writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 5:50:38 PM

"Though that might be a little tough on servers..."

Please. Pair Networks doesn't give a sh*t, unless Alex is on their poverty plan. It's just he doesn't want to implement it. Period. Took him SIX YEARS to update the registry page to include captcha, and only then to stop the spam bots from auto-regging. Until then, you didn't even have to supply an extant email address.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 10:54:29 PM

Would have been better than that p*ssy Loki.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 12:21:01 AM

I think Whedon would've done great things using Red Skull in Avengers. Also would've made him more badass than he was Cap.
FBO writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 1:28:11 AM

Can you imagine finding yourself in the thick of an argument with some retard like CoC were you're laying the smack down on him/her/it to the point that your pretty sure he/she/it is gonna throw itself in front of the 6:12 Metro only to go back and discover that all of CoC's posts were edited to make it seem like you were arguing woth a ghost the whole time? That's why there's no edit button on wp.

I do think we need a delete button though so that we could have a do over with our mistakes, just sayin'.
FBO writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 1:30:00 AM

Woth = With. GOD DAMMIT ALEX NO EDIT BUTTON?!?! WHAT THE f*ck???
bspence writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 1:35:56 AM

red skull was over rated. captain america was also the worst marvel studios film to date. yes the worst. ironman 2 or incredible hulk were both better in my opinion. hopefully he doesnt show back up in the sequel. i dont remember, its been forever, but i thought red skull was the one responsible for the winter soldier. but i dont remember.

anyway when can we get black panther and iron fist movies?
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 6:16:04 AM

That picture looks like my tampon on a heavy flow day.
Bunny X writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 10:23:35 AM

Zak Penn. I've been watching his series on SyFy "Alphas". Not bad. Honestly a lot more focused than Heroes ever was. But you can absolutely see the X-Men influence all over the show.
Bunny X writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 10:24:06 AM

Zak Penn. I've been watching his series on SyFy "Alphas". Not bad. Honestly a lot more focused than Heroes ever was. But you can absolutely see the X-Men influence all over the show.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved