WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Shining" Prequel Being Considered

Posted: July 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Shining" Prequel Being ConsideredSubmit Comment
We've been hearing quite a bit about Stephen King's upcoming book sequel to "The Shining" that will focus on a middle-aged Danny Torrance, the little boy from the original book and film.

There's been no interest from Warner Bros to turn the new book into a film sequel, but now comes word that the studio is instead discussing developing a prequel. Writer/producer Laeta Kalogridis (Avatar, Shutter Island) and her partners Bradley Fischer (Black Swan) and James Vanderbilt (Zodiac) are on board to produce.

The film would focus on what happened before Jack Torrance (played by Jack Nicholson in the original), his wife and their psychic son arrived at the haunted retreat where Torrance soon descends into violent madness. A Warner Bros spokeswoman cautioned that the "Shining" prequel is in a very early stage and not even formally in development.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 8:43:17 AM

It'll never happen.

Who will replace Jack? Micheal Madson? Ben Stiller? Come on, there's no replacement for Jack's performance in The Shining, and the entire reason you watch the film is to witness Jack's methodical and thorough descent into madcap madness, so who the hell cares for a sedate prequel?

Atrocious idea.
minkowski writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 9:34:03 AM

And the title. It's called The Shining, which s the power the child had, a fact that wasn't revealed until well into the film, so what's the title? And how will that title matter to the content of The Shining? So a prequel without Jack or Duvall, and one that has entirely nothing to do with the actual power known as the shining, right?

Sounds like they just don't want to pay King anything and yet still make money off his book.
pornfly writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 10:14:30 AM

FlavorFlav to play Scatman Coruthers
pornfly writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 10:26:36 AM

Probably will be about a different family or couple staying there
'The Shining Legacy'
pornfly writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 10:28:16 AM

"ITS JAAAAACK PAAARRRR"
cress writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 11:00:09 AM

This would be a bad idea. If they did a prequel, I would be more interested in seeing the haunted history of the hotel. It seems they could get much more out of that than the "wacky adventures of the Torrances" idea.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 1:39:17 PM

f*ck this!! Don't even touch it. Jack was perfect in this.
trailertrash writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 2:06:11 PM

No replacement for Jack's performance in The Shining

Damn right there mate, If ever one performance carried and totally made an average film IMO into a classic, It's Jack's in that movie.

He totally blows you away the first time you watch the film.

After that everytime you see it you just can't wait to see him descend into madness which then adds so much more to his early "normal" scenes, Knowing what is going to happen.

Brilliant ...
OneTime writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 2:52:22 PM

one of my fav movies of all time.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 4:04:10 PM

Don't be naive guys. If they want to replace Jack they will. He's no Jack but one could argue that Arnold is just as irreplaceable, but that hasn't stopped the studios from trying with every new reboot or remake of his films. Of course they've failed every time but that still won't stop them from try to make a quick buck. Total Recall, The Shining, RoboCop, nothing is f*cking safe.

So if they're gonna do it anyway, why not just go with King's next chapter. How could they shoot it down before they've even read it? (insert negative Stephen King new material comment here) It could be the greatest ghost story ever told, but they're more interested in making a prequel like that's ever worked before. The air must be real thin in Hwood these days if that's they're formula for success.
minkowski writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 6:15:37 PM

I want to see the ET reboot with Jaden Smith.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 29th, 2012 at 9:06:37 PM

The Shining Rises
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 12:14:59 AM

Not surprised at all but of course this won't work. Give it a week and their will be a new thread about this being turn. into a TV series on ABC or some sh*t.

yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 12:17:43 AM

And what do you expect WB is desperate for a new big film. No more Nolan Batman and Harold twatter is no more
FBO writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 2:38:40 AM

I am concidering taking a giant duece in the toilet. That's kinda the same thing as a Shinning prequel, right?
Damon242 writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 5:38:47 AM

Steven King has a dozen other worthy novels that have yet to be realized, why don't you try making some of those?
Damon242 writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 5:39:42 AM

**they
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 1:25:29 PM

The prequel can only centre on the Overlook Hotel as the architecture plays such an important part of establishing the sense of foreboding, isolation with the few characters in the original. I think the prequel will involve the effects of locating the hotel on an Indian burial ground, Grady’s family as he similarly takes on the caretaking duties and is slowly driven into madness, his killing of the family – the twins (who both possess the power of the “shining” – as there is nothing more creepier than demonic children – this time two of them). The prequel will also include the ballroom scene and there will either be a younger actor or CGI representation of Jack Torrance who was part of the original photo taken July 4, 1921. In this prequel, I think Jack will be the one who pushes Grady over the edge.

Similar to the remake of The Thing, which took its cues from the original John Carpenter movie, this prequel can only expand upon situations and set pieces from the original Shining. It seems like spinning the same yarn – because it is. But that is what Hollywood does - recycle its classics with a modern take. And we all know this formula all too well. It could be an interesting film but I don’t think could ever surpass Kubrick’s masterpiece, Nicholson, Duvall, Danny Lloyd and Scatman and our first impressions of the Hotel itself.

Sounds like a fairly talented team of producer creators on this. As Shutter Island, Black Swan and Zodiac all are solid films in their own right.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 3:26:44 PM

@Mink - I understood Scatman Crothers who played Halloran had the power of the "Shining" and he used it to communicate with Danny. I also had the impression that the twin girls had this power too. As they seem to have a connection with Danny by coming back and haunting him.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 5:53:43 PM

That sounds stupid.. and im a huge fan of the shining..

Completely agree with mink
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 6:09:56 PM

@Tanman - care to elaborate? I'm a fan of The Shining and merely speculating on how they would present a prequel. If I had it my way, I wouldn't make this film (as I already expressed my doubts that a prequel would ever surpass the original masterpiece). But since they may greenlight this project, I thought I'd put in my two cents of what we might see.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 30th, 2012 at 11:31:54 PM

Okay Elaborating in progress...

I SUPPOSE that it would be interesting to see what happened with the hotel BEFORE Jack got there. BUT, It's simply not needed, That mystery alone helps build the amazing suspense that makes up the shining!

I'ts up there in my top 10 horror films ever made and i don't want to get answers to questions that dont need to be answered...

like the little girls, What's their story? Answer - Who cares, not knowing adds the suspense! lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved