WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Academy Members Not Fans of "The Dark Knight Rises," Expect Zero Oscar Nominations

Posted: July 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Academy Members Not Fans of "The Dark Knight Rises," Expect Zero Oscar NominationsSubmit Comment
Members of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences were invited to the Samuel Goldwyn Theaters on Saturday night for "The Dark Knight Rises." And the result... the film will likely not be nominated for any Oscars, outside of technical ones.

Several members said that there was a lack of enthusiasm for the film. The audience stayed in their seats when the closing credits appeared and then departed without much discussion. Normally Academy members are very vocal when they like a movie, but many were overheard saying that they "were kind of disappointed," and that the film will likely not get any Oscar nominations.

"There was nothing remarkable about the acting," said a female Academy member who regularly attends the Academy screenings. "I don't think it can be nominated as best picture." Bret Easton Ellis, who was also in attendance, wrote on Twitter: "Not that it really matters, but there was zero love for 'The Dark Knight Rises' at the packed Academy screening in Los Angeles tonight."

Click here to read our "The Dark Knight Rises" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
atn5022 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:34:14 AM

well i enjoyed it, and thats really the only thing that matters to me.
Slidefire writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:44:45 AM

Wow what a surprise!!!
I dont need a handful of suits to tell me that this movie is the best of the year.
I bet if clooney takes a dump and puts it on film then that will get best picture .
Avirex writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:51:15 AM

I bet $10 they only said that because they didn't want to be made to appear 'insensitive' towards last week's shooting. Not that this would get any Oscars anyway, the Academy hates comic book films.
Taco writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:54:41 AM

Not surprised, begins was the best in the trilogy. Rises had slot of padding. Imo
holtlt writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:57:17 AM

I agree, Joseph Gordon Levitt sucked, which is strange for me because I like him as an actor. Gary Oldman was underused, he had a few scenes to shine but never reached his level, compared to the one in "The Dark Knight". Tom Hardy was good as the threatening Bane, but his muffled voice was sometimes funny, almost as if cartoonish. Anne Hathaway was good, and I actually expected the worse from her. Liam Neeson and Cillian Murphy were completely underused! I think Matthew Modine had more insight to his character than most of the original cast members. Christian Bale and Michael Caine are the ones who really shined for me. As for best movie nomination, not really. I personally thought its predecessors were better.

P.S. I don't like the fact that Gotham city is actually Manhattan. The city design was way better and more original in the previous installments.
Damon242 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 8:13:50 AM

If The Dark Knight was not going to be nominated, then either was any other film in this trilogy.
Damon242 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 8:14:52 AM

**neither
Venom1970 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 8:24:35 AM

I agree with holtlt re the City, it was TOO Manhattan if that makes any scene, in the earlier film especially Batman Begins, it had its own look. Apart from that I really enjoyed it.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 9:04:15 AM

That just makes the movie so much better, The Oscars Sucks ..huh huh huh !!!
mpiper821 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 9:10:15 AM

Not surprised by that at all.
darthraige writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 9:24:59 AM

Bunch of f*cking gravy gobblers over there.
billofill writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 9:25:50 AM

Oh the Academy with their fingers on the pulse of the movie going public. Really loved the skit at this years with an aging lame ass comedian in Black Face. Yo Billy what worked in 1983 don't work in 2012.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 9:26:34 AM

Lol no surprise there. This film is far more suitable for a Razzies than an Oscar. In fact, there will probably be some tough competion at the Razzies this year between TDR, Prometheus, The Hunger Games, and Twatlight Broken d*ck. Bale's a shoe-in for Worst Actor, no one can touch his epic grunting and pussifying of a classic badass character. The rest of the categories are pretty much up for grabs though.
atn5022 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 10:02:08 AM

Well this was Pittsburgh not lol
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 10:46:25 AM

who give a f*ck about the academy?They give oscars anyhow to crappy dramas with cheesy stories...I enjoyed the movie a lot and don't give a sh*t...
Ranger writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 10:47:00 AM

I haven't seen the movie yet. But I have no doubt it's deserving of some nominations. For the 'Academy' to publicly snubbed it, this early in the go... just ANOTHER reason to hate these fixed award ceremonies. And The Oscar's is the worst of the bunch by far. Always have been. Probably always will.

All because of the Colorado shootings. WHAT a bunch of pussies (the Academy, NOT the victims of the shooting).
LeeMaca writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 10:59:38 AM

because it kind of sucked!
Phoenix Fire writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 11:34:45 AM

This coming from the people who nominated and awarded boring a$$ "The Artist" for best picture. Nolan should take their rejection as a compliment.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 11:56:18 AM

Im not surprised, just wonder what movies these fixed hack f*cks will choose anyways.
Kurskij writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:01:34 PM

No retarded Tom Hanks with aids - no nominations, bitches.

Now, if Denzel played Batman (the whole dark knight thing being allegory of racism).
Imagine Joker saying smth like "you're just a freak, like me!" and caped Denzel going "Ahahah, My Maaan!"
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:12:01 PM

Honestly who cares? The academy sucks now the used to be good but the past couple of years they have sucked. They are way to political and biest torward any movie. If no country for old men can win (a depressing as sh*t movie) and slumdog millionaire (who remembers that sh*t) and avatar get nominated (good movie but this one is better) than the oscars are no longer worth watching.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:22:16 PM

If only the deaths had occurred before the film debuted, and not after, things would be very different.

And Tom Hardy, man, if you'd only OD'ed, TDKR could have been your swan song. Now you gotta go out with HIV instead.
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:52:25 PM

@mink yeah I'm with you man. But that is still so messed up to not nominate a movie for that reason. If there was a gay orgy in brokeback you bet your ass that peice of crap movie would still be nominated. Oscars suck
coldplayesence writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:56:59 PM

Funny because no one is a fan of the Oscar anyway and they can expect zero credibility from me.
The Scarecrow writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 1:07:59 PM

Since when had the academy really nominated anything worthwhile?
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 1:15:00 PM

Who gives two sh*ts about the academy awards? I take the Teen Choice Awards more seriously than I do the Oscars.
boogiel writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 1:18:34 PM

Oscars are full of sh*t nowadays. If TDK didn't win best picture, this won't.
cress writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 3:22:15 PM

No surprise here. RISES is not that good. Its a shame this series closed on such an unsatisfying, flawed film.
cress writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 3:22:17 PM

No surprise here. RISES is not that good. Its a shame this series closed on such an unsatisfying, flawed film.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 3:26:09 PM

I really hope it doesn't get any of the technical Oscars either. There was nothing remotely deserving of any awards for this f*cking movie.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 3:58:49 PM

By the way, for those of you who do not want to get shot in the face, the cam is out. Lousy quality as usual. Because pointing a camera at the screen and recording from an armchair line-out is really, really difficult, I guess.

Dipsh*ts.
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 5:02:44 PM

@mink

have you seen it already?what's your verdict?
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 5:07:57 PM

unrelated news:

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni32686456/
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 5:09:26 PM

well you the f*ck cares ,no one takes these f*cks seriously anymore
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 5:33:04 PM

^lol

minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 6:20:00 PM

"have you seen it already?what's your verdict?"

Downloading it later from Demonoid.

Since so many Nolan fans don't like it, it must be good.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 6:29:57 PM

Yep. Sherman Hemsley has finally moved on up into that deluxe apartment in the sky.
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 6:31:53 PM

@mink i'd say tdkr is really good but if you don't end up liking it then i wont bash you for it but some here might
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 6:32:09 PM

hopefully the cam quality downloads are better there...
blumpkin4 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:56:39 PM

Gidday everyone, I know im not very popular on this site lol but i do have a question for RANGER, or anyone else really. I know this is the wrong article to ask, but i know ranger is a big superman fan. Im lookin to start readin a few superman graphic novels but dont know where to start. Again, this is a serious question lol im not messin around, would appreciate a few good recommendations from anyone, doesnt have to be rager. If nobody cares to offer a suggestion then i guess ill just go f*ck myself!
blumpkin4 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:58:38 PM

ps, i just pucked up secret origins. figure ill start there. was that a good idea or bad?
Serpico1988 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 8:07:33 PM

I lost interest in the oscars ages ago.. :S
Serpico1988 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 8:11:41 PM

I had a major issue with Michael caine's absence from the second half, that was messed up, but i guess it made sense.

The scenes in the prison , Bale/Caine scenes, and the last half hour make this a masterpiece for me. Top notch entertainment.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 8:38:30 PM

Yeah, I don't really care for you at all, Blumpkin, but I'll answer your question, mostly because Ranger himself has admitted being out of the comic book game for three decades, so I doubt he knows of the newer stuff.



1. Death of Superman + World Without Superman + The Return of Superman.

2. Superman For All Seasons.

3. Superman: Birthright.

4. All Star Superman.

5. Superman: Secret Origin.

6. Superman: Whatever Happened to the Man of Tomorrow?

7. Superman: Last Stand of New Krypton.

8. Superman/Batman series.

9. Superman: Last Son.

10. Superman: Red Son. (Oh Millar, you're such a puny guy!)



The f*ckin' Psychopath has spoken.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 8:51:54 PM

Shooting or not, this wasn't gonna get any major nominations. Bane was amusing in a Super Friends way but that's it. I think best picture noms will be The Avengers, Argo, The Master, Wreck-It Ralph, Lincoln, The Hobbit, and Django Unchained.
Aaronupsidsium writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 9:54:43 PM

this article is so misinformed.

The nominees are selected by category by category from that branches member. Example makeup artists nominate Best Makeup.

The branch members nominate the films by the quality of that categories craft, not the quality of the film.

So it's very unlikely that the TDKR will not be nominated for any technical categories, especially since Wally Pfister has been nominated for every movie since Batman Begins, winning in 2011 for Inception
EarOne writes:
on July 25th, 2012 at 10:12:29 AM

i hate to agree (with the Academy members) on this, but, i also was UNDERwhelmed by TDKR. the academy SHOULD have honored The Dark Knight, especially, if you compare the two movies. TDK's by far the superior installment.
2008 noms were, if i recall: Slumdog Millionaire (the winner), Curious Case of Benjamin Button, what else..?? i think considering i can only remember these two movies, The Dark Knight did indeed deserve a spot on the (then) five nomination list.
Rises just got too many holes and inconsistencies.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 25th, 2012 at 2:03:18 PM

well i'm not a fan of the academy awards...i stopped watching them years ago after heath ledger got his award...lots of films got gayer and gayer films keep getting nominated since then...and by gay i mean retarded...slumdog millionaire, really?? i still haven't even seen that...expect zero views from me you academic bastards
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2012 at 7:48:03 PM

"TDK's by far the superior installment."

Bawahahahahahahaha!


Media shill.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved