WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Dark Knight Rises" Falls Short with $160 Million at Box Office

Posted: July 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Dark Knight Rises" Falls Short with $160 Million at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Most studios decided not to release box office numbers over the weekend out of respect for the victims of the Colorado shootings. But the numbers are now out and "The Dark Knight Rises" has grossed $160.9 million during the first three days, making it the third-highest domestic debut ever (behind "The Avengers" and "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2"), and the best opening for a 2D film.

The new movie surpassed "The Dark Knight" ($158 million) to score the franchise's biggest opening. It also brought in $88 million from international territories for a worldwide debut of $248.9 million. Warner Bros has already taken some of those profits and donated a substantial amount to the victims of the tragedy.

It was originally expected that "The Dark Knight Rises" would land at around $175 million domestically, which likely means that movie-goers are still concerned for their safety. But that may also mean that the film's second weekend results will remain high.

Meanwhile, "The Amazing Spider-Man" has now grossed $614 million globally, "The Avengers" grossed $1.46 billion, and "Prometheus" reached $300 million.

Click here to read our "The Dark Knight Rises" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 8:06:34 AM

This means Nolan still gets to make any big budget flick he wants next. Hopefully another 'Inception' as far as scale and concept goes.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 9:39:17 AM

It would be awesome if Spiderman beat TDR at the box office this year.

"which likely means that movie-goers are still concerned for their safety"

Or it means that word of mouth is more powerful than a nut with an AR-15.
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 10:48:23 AM

wait for the total box office numbers before you start trashing it.
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:17:05 PM

That's still really good. I feel like you are trying to trash the film Alex
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:42:29 PM

How the f*ck is he trashing the film? I read the article, three f*cking times, and most of it is just a relating of the facts, with about 15% opinion, most of that well-founded.

Get the f*ck over it.

ndawgg03 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 1:13:26 PM

Irregardless the movie did well... "the best opening for a 2D film."
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 1:13:41 PM

@mink HA. Did I ask you man? No so don't jump down my throat for my opinion. It was simply a question because there has been several tdkr threads up and not all of them have been the most positive. So again don't jump on other people for there opinions if you don't want it to happen to you.
velocityknown writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 1:41:35 PM

Taking into account the fact that sequel numbers are almost always a decline from the film that preceded it and that shooting undoubtedly scared a good deal of viewers off (I know a lot of people who said they wouldn't go because they were afraid of copycat shooters), I'd hardly say that this is "falling short". Especially since it's the largest ever opening for a non-3D film.

I had my problems with the movie, so I'm not here to defend it tooth in nail, I enjoyed it overall, but far from the best in the trilogy. However, 160 million dollars is not a loss.

But then again, this is WorstPreviews.

@Sac

I think next weekend's numbers will be a better indicator of how word of mouth is spreading. Like I said, I had a good deal of problems with the film, but most of them are the usual Nolan can't pace a film properly problems. I think the plot holes people are concerned with either a) have an acceptable answer or b) require some suspension of disbelief since if they'd included everything, this film would've been 5 hours long.

Script wise, it actually wasn't as expositiony, speech-y, and beating you over the head with symbolism as his other films.

I don't predict word of mouth will do much damage, however. Most of the people who want to see this film are going to see it regardless of what they heard because they liked the last two. The only thing that might be affected long run is the money from repeat viewers. TDK had a lot of people see it twice, this one probably won't have the same thing.
Mark_B writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 3:10:22 PM

So I finally decided to make an account, after a lot of time spent reading articles/random comments, nothing has ever made me want to create one until now...

I worked at and then eventually ran a movie theatre for 7+ years. What irks me the most is the ignorance of moviegoers, and the mass paranoia and panic the media causes.

On average 9 people are shot and killed in a movie theatre, be it an argument due to a cellphone/child being obnoxious, sometimes due to particular films (Get Rich or Die Tryin', Notorious, etc.) or whatever the reason may be.

People are just being overly paranoid due to 1 isolated incident in which someone went psychotic, and now everyone is flipping their s**t about how "theatres aren't safe" A lot of busy theatres have ARMED security guards who must undergo certification courses, etc.

Does anyone remember Columbine? VA Tech shooting? How parents paniced that the High schools weren't safe for their kids? Colleges weren't safe??? Nothing else happened, no 'copy cats' etc.

Do not blame the movie, Do not blame the late Heath Ledger and his Joker, and do not blame theatres, blame the psycho who decided to go to the theatre and shoot it up. Place blame in where he received the weapons, ammunition, and gear he used. Place blame where it belongs, and stop allowing the media to influence your emotions and allowing them to make you freak out.

If you want to watch a f**king movie, go watch a f**king movie. You have better odds at winning the lottery than getting shot in a movie theatre. Again on average 9 people are killed in theatres, now consider how many showings per day, per screen, per theatre in the U.S. alone, and consider how many people are shot and killed on the streets, at convenience stores, bars, in their own homes.

Sorry it just had to be said, don't get me wrong, I too think it is a tragedy what happened, and it is extremely sad that many were injured/killed pointlessly, but stop freaking out.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 3:45:06 PM

"So again don't jump on other people for there opinions if you don't want it to happen to you."

I'm terrified.
fenderdude64 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 6:17:31 PM

not horrible, I really wanted this film to make more money though.
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 6:23:19 PM

Again @mink, wasn't a threat just a statement. Don't get your pants in a wad buddy
seveltoto writes:
on November 2nd, 2017 at 8:08:34 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 19th, 2017 at 12:08:52 AM

aleale writes:
on November 22nd, 2017 at 9:51:26 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 25th, 2017 at 11:18:55 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved