WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Would You Pay $8 Extra to See 4D Movie?

Posted: July 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Would You Pay $8 Extra to See 4D Movie?Submit Comment
South Korean company CJ Group is planning to set up two hundred 4D movie theaters in the US over the next five years, promising high level of entertainment that will get people off their couches and into theaters.

For just $8 more per ticket, audiences will enjoy a movie in moving seats that are installed with tiny nozzles that spray water, mist, bubbles, air and odors from a collection of 1,000 scents, such as rose garden, coffee, women's perfume, burning rubber and gunpowder. The theaters, containing up to 240 seats, also have giant fans and strobe lights to simulate wind, lightning flashes and explosions.

The company says that it takes between 16 and 20 days to program a 4D movie and costs about $2 million to design and outfit a 4D theater, with theater owners covering half the costs. CJ Group says that 4D theaters in South Korea, Thailand and Mexico are so popular, owners should have no problem recouping their investment.

Question: Would you pay an extra $8 to see a 4D movie?

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 92 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Akasha writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:12:24 AM

I don't even pay extra for 3D, go figure.
The Tall Man writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:13:30 AM

I'd try it once... but no way I'm puttin out the xtra $$$ on a regular basis when I don't even do it for 3D. I'll also be taking a pass on Samsung's smell-o-vison smart TV.
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:17:01 AM

Fred Willard thought he was in a 4D theatre the other night.
Mudders writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:22:11 AM

i go 4D evertime i watch porn in the bedroom....pow! right in the kisser!
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:22:46 AM

Fingers Crossed for Spring Breakers in 4D
Rambo writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:23:27 AM

I'll pay but only for 4DD
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:28:55 AM

odors from a collection of 1,000 scents

LOVELY .....

Skunk p*ssy will be the order for Lohan in Liz & d*ck then
Rambo writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:29:59 AM

barely legal smell sounds better...or smell better
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:30:56 AM

Would you pay an extra $8 to see a 4D movie?


Hmmmmmm yes I would pay for "Extras" at the cinema
Bullit writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:33:13 AM

Does it includes the fart smell? Or Travolta's sh*t odeur when he came out of the loo in Pulp Fiction? Smelly c*nt from a sex scene? And you'll get sprayed in the face thinking that it tastes like spring water but in fact it's donkey piss!

I think I'll pass...
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:33:50 AM

barely legal smell sounds better...or smell better

What is that Rambo ???? Talc*m Powder ..
Rambo writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:40:45 AM

nah..more like a lotus flower of a virign when she's ovulating...
bandolero999 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 8:47:44 AM

no thanks
boogiel writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 9:08:20 AM

Hell No! I won't watch it even they offer the ticket for free.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 9:10:07 AM

I won't even pay for 3D let alone the pay to smell Lohvag's death stench.
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 9:18:52 AM

^ I know right ... Stevie Wonder would think he was watching Free Willy 4
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 9:23:38 AM

4D. LOL
Lloyd Christmas writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 9:47:00 AM

4D...you mean a play?
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 9:53:47 AM

I would if there's a gadget to hook up to my cack during the sex scenes. And by 'gadget' I mean October_Loser's mother's mouth.
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 9:58:34 AM

Because yeah... she's that big of a whore.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:07:01 AM

No thanks !!
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:14:21 AM

I wonder if they would make an Auschwitz movie in 4D. Wonder what the smell would be like?
bandolero999 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:15:59 AM

U guys leave Stevie wonder arone!
pornfly writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:17:11 AM

Theres only like a couple theatres out here that have this but its called D-BOX Seats
www.d-box.com
I would pay extra for that experience

Im not paying for Expendables 3 in 4D to get a whiff of
Gun powder,Bengay and mid life crisis

Maybe if they rerelease "The Postman Only Rings Twice" so i can smell Jessica Lange moist bush
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:17:31 AM

Would you pay an extra $8 to see a 4D movie?

After what happened last week ..... No thanks
Bullit writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:17:40 AM

Imagine the smell in horror movies...
pornfly writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:19:59 AM

OCTOBERMIDNIGHTs nipples just got hard in his underoos at the thought of a Magic Mike Thrillogy in 4D
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:20:52 AM

Or whorer movies.

It would smell like October_Loser's mother's snatch at low tide.
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:27:55 AM

It would smell like October_Loser's mother's snatch

Which is harder to smell when october has his buried in there bocating like a (pardon the pun) mother f*cker
pornfly writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:30:56 AM

"lemme smell your squirrel covers"
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:31:30 AM

*head buried

Just the thought of that has made me sick
pornfly writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:34:52 AM

I bet Daddy RANGER has DBOX seats in his theatre
over his torture pit to hear the screams and smell the urine soaked fear in the air
While watching Annie
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:37:35 AM

You know it Brother!
pornfly writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:43:47 AM

Im on my way
Just leave me a buffer zone
And not an OCTOBERMIDNIGHTs version of a bufferzone either
pornfly writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:48:40 AM

S.Korea Mexico Thailand
How do they know the 4D is working and not just their smelly countries
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:50:17 AM

What a Brando and Maria Schneider butterzone

Cause they are the zones i like to butter the most in the morning, Before tea
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:51:16 AM

Oh Buffer ....
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:52:57 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dMtAer6B6TU

Some of his finest work, Love the ad at the end
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:59:36 AM

@tt - The first (clean) comment was marked at spam because of too many negative votes... lol.
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:02:41 AM

Yeah...

Bring on the 4D bitches!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMJPrNQxPNA
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:02:46 AM

nope. leave 4d and 3d for amusement parks
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:16:29 AM

lol... someone was taking fat Jason to task on WorstPreviews FB page.

Hey Jason... you f*cking, chold-gobbling troll!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xaBCw59DDVA
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:31:33 AM

whats next 5D and you can actually grab the bitches tits
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:37:08 AM

I do that already in 2D movies Bro.

Sure I may get my face slapped.
Sure I may get kicked out.
I may even get charged.

But who cares. By then I've already grabbed me some tittays!
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:38:09 AM

"grab the bitches tits"

See that kind of talk and the fact you are complete twat, Is why you dont have a girl friend and you troll on here....
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:39:15 AM

I thought he was a troll because he gets raped daily from the men in his family?
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:41:19 AM

People will get on my about Avatar...

So... a friend and I did pay to see it in 3D, IMAX. I figured it was made to see it best that way (I was right, of course). But (the math) with a couple of snacks, 2 soft drinks and the tickets it was $50. for 2 people to see it. Now they're proposing I'd want to smell Sigourney Weaver's sweat for an additional $8. per. And damn-it... they're right!
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:41:50 AM

Ranger - lol

Just seen that "I'm afraid you'll eat me" Go Jeffrey
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:43:32 AM

yea trailer and the fact that you sit here all day is the reason you dont have one
and btw lmao that jeffrey smart guy is retard
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:46:30 AM

@ranger more like $8 to smell lindsey lohans vag

i think they would have to pay people $8 (or more)to experience that
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:46:46 AM

@tt - I know. I busted a gut when I read that.
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:47:16 AM

@Dark + medical treatments.
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:49:52 AM

Ranger

Is it really rape when he loves it so much, I ask you
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 12:01:02 PM

I think that putting up the fight is just for what's left of his self-respect.
Lulupendragon writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 12:16:59 PM

I don't even go to a 3D movie. So no, I wouldn't pay extra to see a 4D movie.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 12:40:05 PM

i love how they exaggerate 3D by calling it 4D...if it really was 4D you'd feel like a customer buying the nygma tech box from batman forever...you're supposed to feel like you're part of the show, kind of like tron, he becomes a character in the game and has to play his way through...or i guess it would be more like total recall...point being, that this is another pointless attempt that will be very costly for theaters and studios, particularly studios...they just simply don't get it....MAKE BETTER MOVIES...i hate how hollywood thinks of people like they don't have a brain, and to put it quite simply, people KNOW a good movie when they see one or when they read a plot, every little bit counts, the cast, the director, it always depends...and what people do now is even smarter...they let others watch it first and then check ratings on rottontomatoes so they can avoid wasting money on a movie that surprisingly disappoints...maybe they'll learn, someday
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 12:53:52 PM

And yet watching:

'12 Angry Men' (Cobb, Balsam, Fonda) or 'To Kill a Mockingbird' in B+W would blow any 4D experience away.
BoobsMcGee writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 1:07:10 PM

*$ extra for 4D? Sh*t I don't pay for 3D. Crappy gimicks.

On a side note, may be the wrong time to think about introducing the notion of theaters where you can smell to gunpowder. Too soon?
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 1:13:16 PM

"lol... someone was taking fat Jason to task on WorstPreviews FB page."

Yep. Wonder who that was...


"i love how they exaggerate 3D by calling it 4D"

4D would be actually seeing the film in 3D from beginning to end, all at once, which is of course impossible. Just a gimmick.
Dre-EL writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 1:21:22 PM

Didnt they try this crap in the sixty's and failed?

Call me when you can run a program on a holdeck.
bane writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 1:32:50 PM

no
i think there is enough
''action'' in cinemas this week :(
Sonic writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 1:45:28 PM

NO
Bullit writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 1:49:02 PM

@BANE: what's with your new avatar? Can you elaborate why you chose one of the victims?
gotsghostrider writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 2:24:14 PM

Honestly it's a bad idea for health reasons. Strobe lights? Those could be really hazardous to someone who has epilepsy. We go to movies so we don't have to experience the smell of gunpowder and burning rubber. It's unpleasant in every way.
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 2:44:13 PM

@gots - I thought about the epilepsy thing as soon as I read the headline.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 2:51:06 PM

what Tall Man Said.

I'd try it once or maybe twice... but that's far too much money lol
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 2:55:38 PM

Wait 'til a person with asthma has a problem with this.

Truthfully, I'm as against this as I am air fresheners or scent blockers (Fabreeze). If you can smell it... it's going into your lungs. Man wasn't built to breathe anything other than clean air and p*ssy farts (but good luck finding clean air). Anything additional in certain combinations in certain people can trigger health issues. So drop this and go get you a nice p*ssy to fart in your face.
Zeroguy writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 2:57:51 PM

Only if there's female nudity and I get to feel some big old' titties.
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 3:00:13 PM

i wonder if mink is that retarded jeffrey guy
Zeroguy writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 3:01:13 PM

And by old I mean not. The thought of mold tits is a bit revolting. Unless those said tits are Mimi Rogers'. Then I would feel away.
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 3:03:30 PM

"Man wasn't built to breathe anything other than clean air"

There's no such thing, bro.

Humans, and most other animals, have evolved highly effective biological methods for filtration throughout our lungs, as much of the 'clean air' we breath is replete with fungi, bacteria, virii, mineral particulates, dust, organic debris, and so on, and in fact, artificial air additives aren't necessarily any more harmful.

Having said that, you're right of course that adding a concoction of crap to theater air can induce a variety of allergic side effects, but I would be persuaded to endorse the idea if they could offer a guarantee that they're just replicating natural scents and air additives. Then, no one could sue the theater chain any more than they could sue nature.

pornfly writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 3:15:01 PM

Survivor of the shooting is giving birth today while the father is also recovering

WHO THE f*ck GOES TO A MIDNIGHT SHOWING OF A THREE HOUR MOVIE AFTER WAITING IN LINE FOR OVER TWO HOURS NINE FRIGGIN MONTHS PREGNANT

I sincerely hope irresponsible movie goers have learned a lesson about bringing infants and 9month pregnant chix to these types of functions
Your kids and other patrons will thank you for it

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 3:15:09 PM

There's not enough words, in any language, in which I can say NO. This is basically one of those simulators that's usually present at amusement parks: it's a rollercoaster in front of a big screen. In other words, this would just take away the whole movie experience.
Just imagine if Cloverfield was playing in this 4D. You wouldn't see f*ck all.

So, again, I say no, and I can emphasize "no" hard enough.

Wait, I can
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WWaLxFIVX1s
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 3:15:31 PM

Dark please just stop! ! Your an imbecile crying for attention.
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 3:17:55 PM

All-natural scents will costs them a fortune. Plus... who wants to get that sh*t out of a skunk anyway?
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 3:33:00 PM

Dark would, hell he'd even harvest it from his moms ass.
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 3:40:37 PM

Eff no, 3D is cool but overrated as crap and this is the same
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 4:41:36 PM

"Strobe lights? Those could be really hazardous to someone who has epilepsy."

The strobe lights here would be used to imitate low-frequency flashes ("to simulate wind, lightning flashes and explosions").

High-frequency flashing, hence the term strobing, causes epileptic seizures and they're well regulated.

"Most strobe lights on sale to the public are factory-limited to about 10-12 flashes per second in their internal oscillators, although externally triggered strobe lights will often flash as frequently as possible. At a frequency of 10 Hz, 65% of affected people are still at risk. The British Health and Safety Executive recommend that a net flash rate for a bank of strobe lights does not exceed 5 flashes per second, at which only 5% of photosensitive epileptics are at risk. It also recommends that no strobing effect continue for more than 30 seconds, due to the potential for discomfort and disorientation."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strobe_light#Strobe_lights_and_epilepsy


Lightning and most 'explosions' would be well under the "five flashes per second"...
Recumbentibus writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 4:58:53 PM

I watch all my movies in 4D already. Now, if they could figure out how to make movies NOT in 4D that would be a real accomplishment. It would be interesting to see a movie that runs forwards and backwards all in the time span of an instant.
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 5:07:19 PM

i guess it would all depend on the movie but like the tall man said no in hell would i be paying for 4D on a regular basis
AYT BALL writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 5:10:18 PM

mmm f*ck no
Man in Black writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 5:18:43 PM

NO ! next f*cking question . And did any of these f*cking troglodytes ever look up the definition of the 4th dimension ... ?
Everybody Chillllll writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 5:29:31 PM

Id pay $8 extra to see a movie in a theater that blocks all cell signals.
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 5:43:44 PM

"Id pay $8 extra to see a movie in a theater that blocks all cell signals."

Or you could just go to Radio Shack and build your own cell phone jammer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_phone_jammer

Of course, it's illegal as hell, as people may need their phones for emergency calls. But trivial to build.

Good luck!
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 6:42:53 PM

im not paying 8 bucks for smells.
Avirex writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 6:52:40 PM

I won't even pay eight bucks for one flick, much less regular price PLUS eight bucks.

On Saturday I paid six bucks and saw two films.
bane writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 7:17:47 PM

Bullit

i went to see TDKR
i loved it
i just wanna remember her for this week

what a sad waste of life :(
adamman21090 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 7:59:39 PM

If there is another shooting in a movie theater, people are really going to think it is part of the movie
The Scarecrow writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:13:55 PM

Only to see Anne Hathaway's sexy ass
MovieQueen87 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 4:32:42 AM

I'm with Akasha. Hell I don't even pay extra to see film in IMAX
japaninmotion writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:17:37 AM

technically arent all movies 4D?
DeVries writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 9:35:52 AM

8$ for BJs, yes. Other than that, f*ck you Hollywood and South Korea.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved