WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Gives Advice to Next "Batman" Director

Posted: July 22nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan Gives Advice to Next "Batman" DirectorSubmit Comment
Empire magazine caught up with Christopher Nolan to talk about his "Dark Knight" trilogy and asked him to give advice to the director Warner Bros will hire for the next "Batman" installment.

He said: "The only advice I would have is that... when I first met with Paul Levitz of DC Comics prior to 'Batman Begins,' he explained to me clearly that Batman, of all superheroes, has thrived on reinterpretation and almost is strengthened by it. And I'm talking about over the years in the comic books but also in the movies.

So when the time is right, whenever someone does whatever the next iteration of the character is, they simply need to be true to whatever it is they want to see, to what they believe in, not worry too much about what everyone else is telling them it should be.
"

Source: Empire, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
fenderdude64 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 2:56:40 PM

just as long as your vision isn't bat-nipples, but well said nolan.
Zeroguy writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 2:57:53 PM

Thing is people will complain when someone else does it. They'll give it that spiderman tone (comic book feel and some humor) and the public will complain about the lack of grit.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 3:08:41 PM

i hate that pretentious picture of him.f*ck off
Crucifier writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 3:08:55 PM

Hey gang, new to the site. Someone keeps sending me Facebook messages telling me he wants to hang out in real life, but that he posts here a f*ckin' lot so I should come hang out.

Only thing is, the messages he's sending me are super, super gay. Not as an insult...they're just REALLLLY gay. He keeps telling me to come hang out in Highlands, TX wherever the f*ck that is.

Anyone around here know a Rick Hale?
fenderdude64 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 3:15:48 PM

just block him?
Crucifier writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 3:18:23 PM

I guess that'll work. He says he 'posts on WP all the time' and I only see the same half a dozen people so it's gotta be one of them...
Crucifier writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 3:26:27 PM

And why does every loser on sites like this say Nolan is 'pretentious'? I've never heard or read a word from the guy where he wasn't anything but humble and quiet. Maybe it's the idiots who are jealous and who will never actually make anything that anyone on earth would wanna see in their lives? Typical.
trailertrash writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 3:27:34 PM

Crucifier

Hey Gang ???!! Really .....


f*ck off you soppy c*nt ...
Crucifier writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 3:28:35 PM

Is it you? Are you Rick Hale? STOP SENDING ME GAY MESSAGES. SERIOUSLY, IT'S SAD.
trailertrash writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 3:30:22 PM

haha you wish ... fag
ItPutsTheLotionOnTheSkin writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 3:57:06 PM

hello crucifier its me rick...want to come over still? I have a well with your name on it ;)
trailertrash writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 4:01:42 PM

lol

I think it's d*ck he's really looking for ..
Dr Fate writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 4:11:27 PM

I know Rick Hale, his legal name Rick Hale Minkowski

Oan I think the next chApter must be the old Bruce Wayne. The dark knight returns story plus Batman beyond.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 4:31:12 PM

Hey crucifier I WANt to hang out then defecate in your mums mouth and invite a couple of my Haitan friends to do bukkake on Ur sisters and nieces too.

Then I can shove a rusty cross and shove it on your rectum.
brokeboy writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 4:36:46 PM

I worked with Christopher Nolan, he didn't seem like a d*ck to me
Sandullivan23 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 4:41:18 PM

Maybe he can take on the matrix reboot next
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 6:06:32 PM

everytime i see somebody making money off people with limited common sense they alway say,"i dont read reviews" or "i dont listen to gossip or rumours"

You need to keep an ear at the bottom,where you started or youll lose touch with your core audience
Those are the people that will help with longevity

pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 6:08:06 PM

I think CRUCIFER is really lookin for Rick Martin
trailertrash writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 6:12:50 PM

He hasn't been on for a while think he's found him and now he's getting his Livin' la Vida c*cka licked
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 6:28:45 PM

I heard he likes his
Meninbackdo

Menudo
Get it?
Didya get that one?
Ya see,instead of Menudo i said 'men in back door' but said it in ghetto speak


seriously he likes d*ck
trailertrash writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 6:42:53 PM

LMAO !! .....
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 6:50:56 PM

I like how Fistifur is still looking for someone even though he believes theyr reallly gay
trailertrash writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 6:57:25 PM

I knows the poor boy is confused, He was looking for some sort of acceptance with his first post, No one of any note cared, He may have gone off to end it all ...... With any luck
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 7:03:13 PM

With any luck
Itll all go off in his end
trailertrash writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 7:05:49 PM

haha That sounds like his good luck ...
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 7:40:14 PM

Worst attempt at a troll, ever.


And Nolan, shut the f*ck up. You don't own Batman. It was here long before you came along, and it'll be here long after your gone. Go try to make a name on something *substantial* for a change instead of silly-assed non sequitur 'films' for semi-adult full-on retarded children.



"And why does every loser on sites like this say Nolan is 'pretentious'? I've never heard or read a word from the guy where he wasn't anything but humble and quiet."

Probably, stupid f*ck, because his FILMS come off as pretentious, and often times downright stupid, and for a guy so many losers believe is god, no one else actually gives a f*ck what he has to say.



"just as long as your vision isn't bat-nipples, but well said nolan."

This coming from the faggot with the greasy reverse mullet sleeping under an Avatar poster.




I guess if it wasn't for "the same six people posting every day", this place would suck even more. I can only imagine what WP would look like if The_sh*tter, Crapsule, Dumpkins, DeFries, bane, Loserizer, faggot_dude64, Quidd, Dangerd*ck, Bazinga, and all the other ugly, worthless, uncreative, unimaginative evolutionary dead-ends posted day in and day out. Probably worse than Youtube. Bunch of no-talent, toy-playing, spoiled, self-entitled children *ssholes mucking up a place.

Hopefully some psycho Batman fan will shoot them next. Probably october_midnight.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 7:53:14 PM

Looks like october_midnight deleted his Facebook and Twitter. LMAO. Guess his middle-aged finally fiance got a hold of his bleeding clit.


Hmmmm, wonder if this new bitch Crucifier is him.



Yo, Loserizer, I don't live in Texas, buddy. My name isn't 'Rick Hale', and in fact, there's no Rick Hale in Highlands, Texas, per whitepages.com. I'm not a narcissistic spoiled child-c*nt so I don't have Facebook and Twitter or Myspace. So...try again?

f*cking fail.
Armando Loomis writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 8:14:03 PM

Nolan is amazing.A great filmmaker who knows what it takes to make a great film.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 8:41:11 PM

My mistake. october's FB and Twatter are still there. Damn.

Wonder what the weather's like in Vancouver right now...
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 9:49:43 PM

I think OCTOBERMIDNIGHTs tweets are what set Holmes off
he should be charged as an accessory
boogiel writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 10:05:15 PM

Good advice, Nolan. Now shut the hell up.
UMRAO writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 10:14:46 PM

Just saw the movie....and I walked away satisfied for the most part. There were a few hiccups but overall it was very entertaining. Nolan is still a brilliant director.

Wanted more from Bane's character than what Nolan had put on the screen. That could be because of the editing or that's all what was offered. The Joker is/was by far the best antagonist in Nolan's trilogy. TDK is still by far the best out of the 3 movies but welcomed the closure with the TDKR. Now Nolan can concentrate on his next project. Hoping for another mind binder soon.

Thank You Chris Nolan!
capsule writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 10:23:06 PM

Suck a dirty bitch hobo's toe and c*m on her scabby tits, you f*cking retarded shrim beast. This site needs a better class of troll, and im gonna give it to em.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 10:36:59 PM

Well you can start by using proper spelling and punctuation, human failure.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 10:53:49 PM

See? Crucifier was just asking a freaking question and people just start throwing their sh*t to him. It's just sad. And no, Nolan is not pretentious. He never shows himself as a guy who thinks he's above everyone else, unlike all those people who say he's "pretentious".
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 11:09:41 PM

The Dark Knight Rises was as good as I expected, but I found the ending gimmicky, and a total reversal from everything Nolan said he was against since Batman Begins.

It seemed as if he made the final minute of that movie for the screaming fanboys.

*SPOILER* The scene with Alfred and Bruce in the Manor, discussing Alfred's destruction fo the letter Rachel wrote, was quite possibly the most powerful scene in the trilogy.
Rambo writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 1:31:23 AM

I wouldn't reboot this franchise for at least 15 years...hope they don't make the same mistake as the spiderman producers and make a quick reboot.I could see,however, a justice league movie happening with batman.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 2:00:37 AM

What f*cking ever Nolan. I just saw him take a 3hr gigantic sh*t on his "iteration" of Batman with TDR. Even going in with my extremely low expectations this film managed to bore the living sh*t out of me. LOL, unfortunately being boring was actually one of its strong points. When it did have any action the scenes were so poorly shot and edited that all sense of continuity and emotional value was completely thrown out the window. Time and common sense have NO place in this film. People just disappear or die off screen, storylines that have nothing to do with each other crisscross and jump one another like a bad game of Chinese checkers, and the camera never stays still long enough to see one punch or bullet connect. And yet this still isn't the worst part of the film.

The worst thing about this film is its complete lack of respect for its characters and the world they live in. Nolan spent an entire film explaining how Bruce Wayne becomes the elite fighting machine we all know, but he gives no rhyme or reason as to how Catwoman gains these same skills expect she grew up in a tough neighborhood. Apparently that gives this 90lb crackhead the ability to KO grown men (some police officers) with a single punch. The bitch is uncomfortably skinny but somehow she's a human wrecking ball that never gets touched in a fight. Where does this fit in world Nolan has created? And where does Batman get off yelling and whining every time he throws a punch against Bane? I get the point that he was supposed to be outmatched (Nolan literally pounded that into our skull), but having him sound like a 16yo girl in a hair pulling fight was just ridiculous. And this was before he started getting his ass whipped!!! I ask once again, how does this fit this world where Batman is basically a white ninja? He never balled like this in the previous films so why now?

There is so much more unbelievable sh*t thrown in this movie, but I'll respectfully wait for more people to see it before getting too specific. 5/10 for me though.
fenderdude64 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 3:09:43 AM

wow mink, chill out dude.
Ninjabear writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 6:55:23 AM

Ok Nolan, get off your high horse, you're a douche anyways... You did your trilogy, now move on please. Batman may be your "gem" but you're still just some "cover" band doing your version of it, not its creator.
cress writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:50:03 AM

I'm posting my review here because "What Did You Think is now a ghosttown. I was very disappointed with RISES. I loved The Dark Knight, giving it 4 out of 4 stars. Thi film, though, gets 2&q/2 stars.
The script is weak. Going back to the League Of Shadows storyline from BEGINS was a mistake. The energy device/nuclear bomb plot point was aas clumsy and hokey as the water evaporator device from BEGINS. It was hastily introduced in the film, as is much of what happens in the film. Ing The idea of every cop being sent underground at once, then having them marooned there for 3 months was laughable. They tried to make the threat escalation massive in this one, but it came out cheesy. Banes voice was inaudible at times. And I thought the subplot of The Pit(wiith Bruce Wayne and in flashbacks was stupid). And the flashbacks to previous films was dumb. Especially the one at the end, with Gordon putting his coat around a young Bruce Wayne. Does Nolan think the audience is that dumb that we needed that visual reminder? Its not a bad movie, but it stumbles instead of rises.
Things I liked: Joseph Gordon Levitt and his surprise reveal(though it really wasn't a surprise).
Anne Hathaway was great in it. The FX(The Batwing) and Michael Caine.
This was a huge disappointment for me. And it continues the tradition of PART THREES being the w
cress writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:51:32 AM

I'm posting my review here because "What Did You Think is now a ghosttown. I was very disappointed with RISES. I loved The Dark Knight, giving it 4 out of 4 stars. Thi film, though, gets 2&q/2 stars.
The script is weak. Going back to the League Of Shadows storyline from BEGINS was a mistake. The energy device/nuclear bomb plot point was aas clumsy and hokey as the water evaporator device from BEGINS. It was hastily introduced in the film, as is much of what happens in the film. Ing The idea of every cop being sent underground at once, then having them marooned there for 3 months was laughable. They tried to make the threat escalation massive in this one, but it came out cheesy. Banes voice was inaudible at times. And I thought the subplot of The Pit(wiith Bruce Wayne and in flashbacks was stupid). And the flashbacks to previous films was dumb. Especially the one at the end, with Gordon putting his coat around a young Bruce Wayne. Does Nolan think the audience is that dumb that we needed that visual reminder? Its not a bad movie, but it stumbles instead of rises.
Things I liked: Joseph Gordon Levitt and his surprise reveal(though it really wasn't a surprise).
Anne Hathaway was great in it. The FX(The Batwing) and Michael Caine.
This was a huge disappointment for me. And it continues the tradition of PART THREES being the worst in a series.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 12:53:00 PM

i think what batman is missing these days is for lack of a better word, BALANCE...every time it gets remade it's never 100 percent right...not that it has to be, but nolan's versions are too realistic...leaves no room for other characters in the comics...scarecrow was one thing, but like any character we see, we never see enough of them, or too much of them....which brings me back to why i said batman has no balance...in tim burton's versions it was close, you could sense realism and it was corny at the same time...it was nearly perfect, then with batman forever and batman and robin it was too corny and not enough realism, particularly with mr. freeze...because he was a popular character in the cartoons in the 90s and so studios thought hey let's put him in a movie, but low and behold, what we see in the cartoon is VERY different than batman & robin...once again no balance, because the cartoon with mr. freeze had more realism even though it was only a cartoon, you could sense the realism, the characters weren't too corny, but it made it fitting just like the comics...same thing with the spiderman 90s cartoons and x-men...i mean can't we just have a live action translation of those shows?...fans would be more than satisfied but annoyed by it quickly too, seeing as studios have a tendency to milk things past death and past spinning in a grave
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 1:32:28 PM

i remember watching the cartoon movie that featured mr. freeze and then seeing a preview for batman and robin with arnold as mr. freeze...i remembered when i saw that, i preferred watching the cartoon even then, i was only between 10-15 years old at that time, and it sucked because kids at a certain age wouldn't notice or care, but everybody else did and complained, and i'm glad they did...wish they would've made a batman movie in parts, so the characters will all have enough screen time and won't be overdone and satisfy fans in the way they should have been satisfied
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 2:46:47 PM

"See? Crucifier was just asking a freaking question and people just start throwing their sh*t to him."


Bullsh*t. He was trolling, and the fact you missed that fact shows you're not ready for prime time, buddy. Guess I gave you too much premature credit, but that's my fault, so, I apologize.

"It's just sad."

It sure is sad when you come on here trying to imply some of the more prolific posters are gay. Did you READ what he wrote?


"And no, Nolan is not pretentious. He never shows himself as a guy who thinks he's above everyone else, unlike all those people who say he's "pretentious"."


His films are pretentious, in that he thinks they're better than they are, when they're not. That makes him at least LOOK pretentious to some people. No one is talking about the man's words.

I give up on you. Good luck.


"wow mink, chill out dude."

Get a f*cking haircut.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 4:17:35 PM

@cress: that TDR what did yo think thread is dead because there is little (if any) positive to say about that 3hr snoozefest of a film. The people that did like it are probably tired of answering so many questions and issues being posed about all its problems. Hopefully they're taking time to reevaluate what they saw without being blinded by the hype much like they did with Prometheus. There only so many questions you can ask before you start to realize that there's something extremely wrong going on.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 4:21:35 PM

I'm still trying to figure out what Catwoman's ears/glasses were supposed to be? They literally serve NO purpose much like most of the film. (Shaking my head) Why does anyone like this movie?!?!?!
JensdePens writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 5:51:56 PM

You just need to know what this movie is set out to do.

You should not do any thinking watching these kind of movies or you might ruin it for yourself. And being a hater or a fanboy is generally a bad thing.

It's all about epicness and overwhelming people. It did that.

9/10
JensdePens writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 5:53:58 PM

It did that for the non-thinking people I should add. Before Sacdaddy rapes me in the ass with something big.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:50:49 PM

^^LOL!!!
Zack_Morris writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 3:57:32 AM

Mink you fag get writing your sh*t script !

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved