WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros May Cancel All "The Dark Knight Rises" Showings

Posted: July 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros May Cancel All "The Dark Knight Rises" ShowingsSubmit Comment
Despite the shootings, "The Dark Knight Rises" grossed a whopping $30 million from its midnight screenings, which is the second best result of all time, just behind "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2" ($43 million).

"The Avengers" only brought in $18 million from midnight screenings, but has gone on to gross $1.46 billion. "The Dark Knight" grossed $18.4 million and went on to set the opening weekend record with $158.4 million.

Meanwhile, The Wrap has learned that Warner Bros is considering canceling all "The Dark Knight Rises" showings. "Warner was watching the situation and still considering whether to take further measures beyond canceling the Paris premiere, including canceling screenings at theater chains," said an executive from the studio.

Click here to read more about "The Dark Knight Rises."

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
velocityknown writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 6:46:57 PM

I respect their decision to not go forward with the Paris premiere tonight. But canceling all of the screenings hardly seems necessary at this point. I don't think the movie is provoking people across the country.
Dre-EL writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 6:51:14 PM

Some how I doubt that Warner is gonna pass on all that cash.

Besides that may be a bit of over kill. Has it been established that the motive for the shootings was the movies itself?

Coloradans' are just batsh*t crazy, shut down the movie there and nowhere else.
vincere01 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:02:03 PM

Hmmmm i smell some misdirection here. Mink....did u write another user article again??? Well played sir lol
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:04:39 PM

Warner has to make back double to triple the movie's budget to 'break even' (by their own math). If they suspend the late showings, they know the crazed bat fan will wait, so they ultimately won't lose any ticket sales, and it may look like they give a sh*t... which they don't (honestly with this movie's budget/debt hanging over their head like October's Fruity Dad's nutsack dangling over his tongue).
Big_Daddy writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:10:55 PM

I saw it this afternoon, solid 8/10 for me
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:11:14 PM

im with velocity,

i understand why they would consider it, but its really unnecessary, How many more crazy people can there be out there?

*couch* Ranger *Cough*

As Alfred would say
"Some men just want to watch the world burn"
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:18:03 PM

@Tanman... lol.

Maybe... I'll just hang on a street in Vancouver tonight. See what trouble I can get into.
cress writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:36:11 PM

Its a tragedy, but this is one incident at one theatre in one city. Don't make this a national or world changing event media.
Big_Daddy writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:47:34 PM

^ to late. its the largest mass shooting in the US...............on record of course
jatilq writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:50:19 PM

I find it strange. Now if this happened after Gangster Squad
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:05:20 PM

Will never happen. Nothing but a ploy to show their corporate sensitivity.


"to late. its the largest mass shooting in the US...............on record of course"

Wait till they get a load of me!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMgGNxyCHsY



"Hmmmm i smell some misdirection here. Mink....did u write another user article again??? Well played sir lol"

You wish! I had ten bucks on TDKR breaking the billion mark. Now this. *sigh*
Johnnyb writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:18:50 PM

Please for god sake is just a f*cking movie, Batman is not real is fake but don't cancel it on my country, still one week away from being release, please god have mercy on me!!!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:24:20 PM

johnyb? you live in Mexico?
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:27:25 PM

Also probably about time we ratchet down the violence in this country. Every entertainment outlet swims in gratuitous, wanton, wonderful violence.

Cartoons are crass, vulgar and enormous violent, like Family Guy, which would be funny in spite of all that if it didn't suck.

Video games are overwhelmingly and increasingly violent. And pointless. And huge. Max Payne 3 takes up 50 gigs of space, and that's enough to make anyone go on a murderous rampage.

Comedies regularly feature cruel behavior masquerading as humor. Shows like Big Bang Theory also perpetuate the insensitive notion ugly nerds, like october, can get laid, and as Yoda says, pain leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to eating at Arby's.

Songs like the Foster the People's Pumped Up Kicks and Justin Bieber's 'Boyfriend' should be outright outlawed.

You just can't live in a society where you're immersed twenty-four hours a day in violence and expect a peaceful society. Just look at the Romans. They had one firearm massacre a day, even with all those hungry lions and tiger. Oh my.

Instead of taking guns from homicidal psychos away, just start banning games like Grand Theft Auto, Call of Duty and Mario Party, and force Hollywood to go back to more sedate action. No more films like Kick Ass, Kill Bill or New Years Day. Ban that sh*t.

We need to get back to films like The Sound of Music, guys and Dolls, and Singin' in the Rain. Enough of this insanity.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:27:58 PM

Its a tragedy what happened and to those who passed away R.I.P. WB doesn't care though. They want that money and they probably won't cancel the showings. At least I hope they don't b/c I've still yet to see it.
jatilq writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:33:41 PM

I like this guy

Jackie Earle Haley Joins RoboCop
Source: Deadline July 20, 2012

http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=92777
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:59:26 PM

DC fans don't f*ck around
velocityknown writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:37:30 PM

I think people are misunderstanding their gesture in thinking about canceling these screenings. I don't think anyone really thinks that there is an army of people being provoked to gun violence by the relatively tame Batman films.

I think this is rather a potential gesture on the part of Warner Bros. who, like Ranger said, knows they'll make their money either way and just might want the people in Aurora to have their chance to grieve while the film the victims were watching isn't being screened in every theater in the country. It's why they cancelled the Paris premiere. Not because they think there's a terror threat or anything, but just to avoid the stigma that they don't care and just want people to see the film and forget this tragedy ever happened.

I don't WB would be wrong in letting the film go the weekend, like I said before, I'm just saying that this is probably where this line of thinking is coming from.
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:00:45 PM

The chances of such an incident before the incident was virtually zero. The chances thereafter....dunno. Depends on the copycat variable. Probably less than before, at least for 'a while', if history is any guide, and it usually is.
TheFirstRule writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:14:36 PM

i thought the movie was ok. my least fav of the three.
too much time wasted introducing new characters and not enough batman. didnt think the fight scenes between batman and bane were that great either. enjoyed the ending though.

3.0/5.0
jatilq writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:23:33 PM

Jakey Nightmare writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:59:26 PM
DC fans don't f*ck around


ln theory that would be Marvel Fans dont f*ck around
OneTime writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:27:04 PM

if they do that ill start shooting people
jatilq writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:32:08 PM

An Update on the Future of the Bourne Franchise
http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=92776
KillerCOck writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:07:31 PM

They should just do something like the Funeral games. No theater plays that film for 12 days or whatever number of days or weeks.

Of course I think cancelling it is really not necessary but pulling it out of theaters out of respect for the dead and those who mourn for a period of time is something I feel those people would appreciate.

I also think that this should just happen in the U.S.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:21:52 PM

Why? That's just want people like this crazy *sshole want. They want their 5 minutes to change the world. Bin Laden was no different. We appease these c*cksuckers by bending to there dreams and desires when we should all stand up in defiance and give them the f*cking middle finger. Go to the movies, hit the shopping mall, do what we do without fear. Live your f*cking life to the fullest and except death however and whenever it comes. f*ck these crazy *ssholes!!!
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:25:05 PM

You're ascribing rational thinking to a person quite clearly lacking in that particular area, my dear Sac.

In other words, if you're dressed in riot gear, decked out in orange hair, guns and smoke grenades and calling yourself The Joker, the time of thinking rationally is way, way long past.
snoop writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:55:09 PM

I missed the part where they said they might cancel ALL the screenings.

Fun fact: there was a theater shooting in The Dark Knight Returns, too.
telur writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 12:07:41 AM

I saw The Dark Knight Rises

Batman will broke Batman back

Marian Colilard is Miranda Tate is TALIA AL GUL (initial T)

Bane only Talia henchman

in the end... Bruce Wayne will with Seline Kyle

and

Joseph Gordon Levit is John Blake (aka Drake -- > Tim drake) in other real name is ROBIN

here we go... we will get ROBIN in fourth movie

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=25492&count=0#ixzz21E6ahCrS
boogiel writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 12:20:15 AM

Let the people who want to enjoy the movie enjoy it. The movie itself is irrelevant to the killings.
Kurskij writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 12:26:33 AM

Telur, everyone get that you saw the f*cking movie, clapdy-f*cking-clap, stop posting this on every other board.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 12:47:16 AM

Wow what a sh*t storm that caused. Tragic everything like this has happened.
Johnnyb writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 1:57:43 AM

@bandolero999:

Yeah for the moment. What about you?
FallenAngel069 writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 3:32:09 AM

f*ck no thats way over the top so because of some psycho kids actions millions of people get to pay for him thats neither fair nor logical i hope they keep things has they are cancelling the screenings will serve no one but piss off people even further. I mean its a very sad situation but its not the movies or studio's fault this happened that some kid went psycho simply because he thought he was the joker i think they should give some of the earnings to the victims families has compensation i mean even Nolan already wrote a letter giving his condolences it was a sad tragedy but like they say the show must go on.
Venom1970 writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 3:56:36 AM

I see Jason is having a tantrum on WP FB page lol
witwicky-potter writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 4:00:15 AM

The aim of killers like that is to instill
fear and chaos in people because they are
broken inside.They think they must
instill that feeling in everbody to deal
with their own issues.Batman films are about standing
against fear and keeping faith in good,
even after tragedy.Sad thing about what happened.but i dont think they should the screenings.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 4:02:35 AM

I live in a sh*thole known as the MIA
witwicky-potter writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 4:04:59 AM

i dont think they should the cancel the screenings*
achoo writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 4:57:34 AM

hey dumbasses its already bee nconfirmed this is not happening
Venom1970 writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 5:51:01 AM

Need a Tissue ?
Ryanlawson writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 6:29:43 AM

pretty sure that for as long as Waner brothers is "thinking of canceling all screenings..... people will flood to theaters so that they can catch a screening before they stop it... (record opening week anybody)... not saying its a marketing ploy, but it doesnt hurt them to suggest canceling the screenings.
achoo writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 6:43:43 AM

@venom1970 i couldt think of a name when i joined so i went for something intentionally silly

@everyone srsly every site with the exception of this bullsh*t gallery is reporting that this is a false rumor
bane writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 9:25:41 AM

people want to watch TDKR

why cancel the film
because of some twisted c***
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 11:38:31 AM

New news, Alex.
Rambo writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 11:52:28 AM

I will go see it tomorrow,hopefully it will be better then TDK...although i can't see the ending surpassing the 'leaked ending' posted a few days ago :-)
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 12:32:59 PM

_______
______ _ __
/ | \_/ __ \/ \/ /
/ | ___/ /
\____|__ /\___ >\/\_/
\/ \/
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 12:33:48 PM

Well THAT didn't work.
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 12:34:19 PM

?((._. ɲώ ._.))؟
?((._. ɲώ$ ._.))؟


...better.
Rambo writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 1:23:27 PM

man of steel good quality trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3PI4CfNPq90
Rambo writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 1:26:40 PM

well,crap...that trailer showed almost nothing
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 2:05:46 PM

I like the Youtube comments

"ALL HAIL THE HOLY NOLAN!!!!!"

Hail? Holy? Loki was right, I suppose. Some people were just made to be ruled, apparently.

Anyway, cool trailer, I like the shots, and I like how Superman has a mach cone as he goes supersonic.

Still, looks and sounds drab, bleak, grey and morose. Guess our Lord and Savior Nolan just needs a huge hug.
Rambo writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 2:37:27 PM

and zack snyder will give him one in slow motion...
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 2:41:47 PM

lol, yep, with lots of pretty, pretty colors.
Rambo writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 2:42:00 PM

a hug,that is...unless they want to remake the leaked ending scene of TDKR
James Blond writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 3:51:37 PM

nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!
Rambo writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 4:26:45 PM

nice to see you again darth...
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 4:48:31 PM

If you say that name three times, in the dark, in front of a bathroom mirror, he will show up:

http://www.worstpreviews.com/mywp.php?id=86728
Rambo writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 5:02:36 PM

a 65 years old star wars fanboy in the dark?

I rather take the Wesley snipes option...
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 5:51:05 PM

^^He's only in the dark because he's too stupid to open the closet door.
bane writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 12:57:25 AM

these crazy
people always have 3 names

Arthur Leigh Allen

James Earl Ray

Osama bin Laden

John Mark Karr

John Wilkes Booth

Lee Harvey Oswald

John Wayne Gacy

Mark David Chapman

James Jay Lee

and now...

James Eagan Holmes :(
seveltoto writes:
on November 2nd, 2017 at 8:38:59 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 19th, 2017 at 12:11:56 AM

aleale writes:
on November 22nd, 2017 at 2:44:55 PM

recreator9 writes:
on November 25th, 2017 at 11:30:33 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved