WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Dark Knight Rises" - What Did You Think?

Posted: July 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Dark Knight Rises" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
After much anticipation, the third and final Christopher Nolan Batman movie "The Dark Knight Rises" is finally playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

The film has a lower-than-expected RottenTomatoes rating of 87% with most critics agreeing that it's a big film with big special-effects, big sets and big ideas. Unfortunately, the story is far from perfect, causing critics to label it the worst in the trilogy.

Despite having the potential to earn more during its first weekend than "The Avengers," Warner Bros believes that it will fall short, mostly for being only 2D and having a runtime of 2 hours and 44 minutes. Come back on Sunday to see how the film performed.

Click here to read our "The Dark Knight Rises" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 116 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:47:10 AM

Seeing it tonight, But really not feeling it though.
trailertrash writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 6:08:30 AM

And i'll be wearing a Bullitt proof vest ...
Johnnyb writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 6:10:57 AM

Can't watch it yet, will have to wait for next Friday premiere in my country!!!!
j-man writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 6:18:32 AM

Not one review ive read has called it the worst in the trilogy
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 6:33:14 AM

@trailertrash_Yeah,i'll bet you will.I think i'll just go with the bootleg route.
Taco writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 6:33:25 AM

I have read many reviews and no critics are saying it's the worst. Most are saying it's got some flaws but still a great movie. Where did you get your consensus from WP?
pornfly writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 6:48:16 AM

JASON and his gang now have the MagicMike theatre allll to themselves
fenderdude64 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 6:49:00 AM

the only bad thing about this movie, is that nolan will no longer be part of the batman franchise. this movie, been a huge fan of the nolan films, was the best. no spoilers, the ending will simply blow your mind, I left the theater with the biggest smile on my face.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 6:58:01 AM

While I will be posting a full review with major spoilers later, I simply don't have the time right now. Mini review, though.

This movie could be viewed in many different ways, and I could see why some people might think it's the worst in the trilogy, but I definitely wouldn't say that. A few plot points were a little questionable, but it's nothing that can't be ignored in comparison to the rest of the film. Also, the action scenes in the last 45 minutes are a little over the top, but awesome nonetheless. My favorite things about this film are: 1. The performances. Bale gives his best Batman/Bruce Wayne, Catwoman/Selina Kyle is pefect (in my opiion), Bane is terrifying and everyone else has a lot of heart in there roles; 2. Batman's greatest mental and physical challenge is portrayed in excellent fashion. for me, 9/10.
rockkillers writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:00:43 AM

Just got back from a midnight screening. Without spoilers... This movie was amazing. For me, this was the best Batman yet. The fight scenes were a million times better then anything seen yet. Bane easily gave the best villian performace yet for any batman movie. Brutal villian. The ending shot involving two characters made it great for me. Anne Hathaway really really surprised me. I really think she did a great job. One thing I really liked was this was sort of a slow burner, and when bale in the batman costume did show up for the first time and the rest of the times my theater was cheering and going banannas. Great energy while watching. Lol. Really a great movie and fitting end to the trilogy and I can't wait to watch again and again and in Imax. Bale also gave his best performance out of all three films. This should get best picture. Lots of twists and shocks in this movie too!
rockkillers writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:01:35 AM

I like how Nolan took risks with the twists and shock plot points in this movie too.
rockkillers writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:07:18 AM

Favorite scenes....minor spoilers:Bane literally beating the sh*t out of batman in the first fight. Very very well done, emotional and awesome also all of banes dialouge on this scene and post scene. Batman first scene/police chase showing up after 8 years. Batman/Bane fight at the end. Batman/gordan flair scene. Every single bane scene. The end scene....too much amazing stuff. Damn I loved this movie!
WV-Films writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:12:53 AM

It's ok. A bit too cartoony at points.
Bullit writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:19:10 AM

@TRAILER: "And i'll be wearing a Bullitt proof vest..."

...And so will I...

Cheers mate,
Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:33:40 AM

I think a few of you have already seen my earlier post about it.

Didn't like it. Gaping plot holes, character inconsistencies, narrative short-cuts, overbearing score, cringe-worthy dialogue (or dialogue that really just looked like two monologues being presented by two characters nearby to each other), etc.

And since when is "Robin" a full name? Oh, and so much for Nolan's repeated declaration that the character would never appear in his series.

Oh and good to see that everyone was right from day one that Tate would be revealed to be Talia.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:38:54 AM


Remember, some people haven't seen this movie so remind them of spoilers first, man. As for *SPOILER* Robin, the character wasn't in the movie, his name being Robin at the end was more like Nolan's nod to the character.
Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:40:46 AM

From WP's review: "If certain aspects of "The Dark Knight Rises" can be picked apart, it comes only as a noteworthy trait because the former chapter in the trilogy was so difficult to criticize"

Okay, I love The Dark Knight, but even I can recognize that there are many things about that film which can be criticized.
Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:44:11 AM


While I respect the point you are making, I have to argue that this is a place for those who have seen the film to discuss it and share their thoughts.

The article on this page reads "If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thoughts". Therefore, those who haven't seen the film need to stay away. They can refer to WP's review if they need to.

Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:46:00 AM


I'm not to sure what you mean about the "Robin" issue. The revelation at the end was that Blake is that character (only not fully-realized at that stage).

Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:48:04 AM


Just as a courtesy, I will make sure to put *spoiler* before all subsequent comments I make in regards to the film.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 7:53:04 AM


The point is he simply wasn't that character. The only thing that share are the fact that they are both orphans. Bruce Wayne never wanted Batman to leave Gotham, that's why *SPOILER* Robin John Blake inherited the batcave, so the symbol of Batman could be everlasting.
Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:00:22 AM



I'm sorry, but I just can't view that as being anything other than the revelation that he will become the character of Robin (consider his idealism, his inheritance, and his name). Something like highlighting the stories of Ghul's immortality is a clever easter-egg, but going so far to directly name a character 'Robin'? That's a revelation, not an easter-egg.
boogiel writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:20:32 AM

Nolan, you sly fox you! There is Robin, you son of a bitch!
boogiel writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:24:16 AM

Nolan: "Robin is in the crib somewhere"

You sir is a liar! He's right under our nose all the time!
trailertrash writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:25:32 AM

TrueAvenger12 - lol

The thing is i'm from Essex and Bullet proof vests are advised anyways ....
trailertrash writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:26:21 AM

Bullit - lol, Sound advice
numnut writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:44:24 AM

Saw it yesterday (in Australia)- Mixed feelings really, but no less epic- to avoid influencing anyone's expectations all I will say is it requires a second viewing
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:01:28 AM

Being a fan of Nolan's movies, I was not disappointed. Loved it!
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:12:32 AM

I'm seeing it here in a bit. Excited? Yes a little bit, bit like I've said all along, not really pumped like I should be.
Zaftig writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:26:06 AM

This was such a poorly made film. I ranted until the credits finished then went outside and ranted for another twenty minutes before I had to go home but I could've gone on ranting. Everything about this movie is rubbish. It makes the Dark Knight look great by comparison and really the joker was the only good thing about that train wreck. I really don't understand how people can be eating up this crap. Why was the dialogue so bad? At times I thought it was a college humour parody of batman. Why did Bane put Batman in a prison that a 12 year old girl (or whatever) escaped from by simply jumping. How come nobody shortened the rope as they climbed? Where was he when he got out of the pit, in Kandahar or something? How did he get back to Gotham without ID or money? How come people are lowered into the pit via a rope (for that matter why not just climb the rope) and then when Nolan-dumbass wants Bruce Wayne to see what's become of Gotham, suddenly there's a tv in there? Then there's the army of cops fighting against two of Bane's batmobiles which hardly fire a shot. In the big charge only one policeman is shot. Why is Robin's name actually Robin? Why was there no hint throughout the movie (I'm not counting internet chatter) that Tate would be Talia? That one was straight from the M. Night Shymalan box of mind-f**ks that don't actually work because there has to be a satisfying feeling that you could've worked it out yourself with the information given. I don't care if there was some comic book reference I didn't catch, this is a film and you can't hinge a plot point on an in-joke. I feel like I watched a different movie to the people who loved this film. The other thing that occurs to me is that Scarecrow keeps popping up throughout the franchise. First he was given a rubbish demise in the first film then he comes back as a cameo vigilante and now he's the judge in Bane's courtroom? What is the rationale behind this? Why does Nolan pointlessly insert this character in random roles? Character development in this film is almost zero. You give any other director 3 hours and 8ish characters and he/she will make them 3-dimensional. The whole movie was boring and full of holes. Nolan's movies all tend towards being too distracting - packed full of accidental loose ends and anachronisms (he also doesn't understand many of the main tenets of film-making: the fourth wall, for example) - this is by far his most boring. Considering how bad inception was, I'm surprised that he managed to outdo himself and make a film even worse. This is 0 out of 10 from me.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:31:00 AM

An improvement over The Dark Knight. I just hope they don't make a f*cking Robin movie, because that would be stupid. 8.5/10
blinkbomber writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:39:32 AM

Just posting my thoughts on the film. I thought it was a good movie, but not great. It may be the weakest of the trilogy to me, but considering how good the series is as a whole... that doesn't really hurt it much. Was a bit let down, until the last ten minutes. Very satisfying ending.
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:45:11 AM

Haven't seen it. Thought about taking someone to see it because they want to go, but 20 bucks to see a film I don't want to see is really a waste of money, I think.

Sadly, really nothing else is showing, so I might wait till Da Expendables come out. Maybe if there's a matinee Monday, and if a CAM hasn't popped up by then.
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:12:03 AM

I'll go see it. Just to punch October in the back of it's head. And while it succ*mbs to the veil of unconsciousness... watches me pleasure his slut of a woman (again... in the bum... again).

And don't bother posting (Mr. Fruity Loops) that would never happen. It would be against her will... just as passing out would be against yours.
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:43:08 AM

c*ckslobber hasn't been on Twatter lately, Ranger. I wonder why.
cress writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:00:18 AM

I'm going Monday. The herd will have thinned out by then. And if I'm going to pay $12 for a movie, I'm going to get the goddamn seat I want.
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:11:10 AM

First off none of the critics are calling it the worst in the trilogy, get your facts straight boss man. Anyway, this movie was honestly the best movie out of the whole batman trilogy. There was honestly not a bad thing about it at all. Everything was done perfectly, the fight scenes, the plot (no "plot holes" for those who claim there is please tell me because there isnt any), the acting was phenomenal. Christian Bale gives his best performance as batman to date. Tom Hardy was a freaking monster, he was just a freaking brutal bane. I must admit I was a little worried at first with how he's only 5'9" but Jesus that guy pulled the role off and was just brutish. Anne Hathaway was a very very sexy cat woman and knocked the ball out of the park. The character development was the best out of the trilogy, you truely cared for each and every character in this film. This movie was extremly phenomenal and I reccomend everyone go see it. This movie just knocked it out the park.

P.s. Nolan is such a sneaky bastard, keep that in mind in the movie
nawtnt writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:38:18 AM

Come on guys, those two manics were just loners who have nothing in the world to do, just because those guys attack a cinemia and killed lots of innocent people doesn't mean that it will happen again.

Either those guys liked the Joel Schumacher movie versions or hated that the fact it got remaked.
Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:40:25 AM


*massive spoilers*

Well, you asked for it...

plot shortcuts/plot holes/inconsistencies/unexplained elements:

-Wayne's back-recovery taking a matter of days whereas in actuality that would take potentially years to recover, and irrespective of the damage the falls with the rope would actually inflict.
-How he got his entire arsenal and costume back considering that it was taken off of him by Bane and his men.
-Levitt's character realizing that Bruce Wayne was Batman, despite the timeline highlighting that Wayne would have been extremely young, if not absent from Gotham.
-The timeline of Talia's story not complementing the physical presentation of Bane (Bane should be in his fifties by this point).
-Lack of explanation for how Bane's mask works as it does not feed into anything other than itself.
-Establishing Wayne's physical deterioration in the beginning but then quickly resolving it with a leg-device that he presumably gets from Fox - this device is absent during the prison sequences and afterwards in the film and yet he suffers no difficulties without it.
-How Wayne actually managed to survive the explosion at the end of the film.
-How Bane and his men got Wayne to the prison in the space of time they had.
-How Wayne returned to Gotham from the prison.
-How the prison was actually maintained (food and power, for instance).
-Where Selina got her technology from.
-Why the Governor was assisting Selina with her mission at the beginning of the film.
-Why Talia and company did not simply detonate the bomb earlier across the 23 days or why they bothered to notify the world that they had the bomb and not simply detonate it without their knowledge or leave it contained in a secret location until it did go off.
-Why the police-force sided with Batman, irrespective of them being trapped underground during the time in which Bane revealed the truth regarding Dent's murder
-The lack of explanation for why Wayne did not turn on the sustainable-energy device.
-Talia and Bane's absence from everything in Batman Begins, including Wayne's training and the execution of the plan to destroy Gotham city.
-the subtext of Selina's lesbianism being discarded 3/4 of the way through with the disappearance of her partner and her sudden affection for Batman.
-The relationship between Tate and Wayne came out of left field as this was supposedly only the second time they had ever met (the first lasting less than a minute) and yet he trusted her enough to bring her into his home and to them have intercourse with her and supposedly harbour deep enough feelings to risk saving her.
-How Kyle got through the two warring factions into the room where Bane and Batman were fighting (somehow knowing where they were) only to shoot Bane so precisely without either of them actually noting a loud, giant motorbike-like machine running into the room (it's kind of like the T-Rex in the first Jurassic Park film going completely unnoticed during the final velociraptor-scene).
-Why Bane bothered to leave a single bridge intact.
-Why Bane only sealed one island in the city, despite the majority of Gotham (or really New York, since it looked absolutely nothing like the Gotham of the previous two films and certainly made no attempt to look anything different than New York city) leaving the majority of Gotham city (geographically) unaffected by his take-over (despite the plan being to wipe out all of Gotham).
-The backstory in Batman begins stating that it was Ghul's "wife" that was taken from him, despite the backstory in TDKR explaining that she wasn't his wife at all, and missing the bit where he supposedly got revenge (and the absence of any mention of Talia).
-No explanation for why Bane and company wanted to kidnap Gordon in the first place.
-The absurdity of two warring armies; one having been buried underground for almost a month with little space and little food and water and completely unarmed, taking on an army with guns and tanks and yet the one buried underground somehow coming out on top.
-Everything returning to normal following the detonation of the bomb, despite the massive amount of radiation the bomb would have sent towards the city and the remaining army, tanks, and released-criminals roaming the city.
-and there's more, but I've exhausted my fingers.
Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:46:03 AM


I'll also add "why was it that the cement laced with explosive material happened to be included on all but one of Gotham's bridges and only the middle of each bridge, its stadium ground and mayor's box, and a bunch of random buildings? What was the situation before the construction? Did Gotham have no completed bridges or stadium before Bane arrived?"
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:47:46 AM

Reading Damon's plothole list, sounds to me like TDKR was written by some left-wing retard.

Lesbianism? Sustainable-energy? Hating the rich? A veritable who's who of leftist tropes.

And Nolan was never shy on not making sense. That's one of his acclaimed trademarks. I think the only films of his that aren't nonsensical are Batman Begins and Memento.
Blank x25 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 12:01:27 PM


That's because that list of his is f*cking stupid. Half of that sh*t is laughable, as he apparently wasn't paying attention. The answers were right there.

Epic and fantastic movie. 8.5 or 9 out of 10. Ending was unbelievably awesome.
TemporalFlux writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 12:04:55 PM


As amazing as 'Batman Begins' and 'The Dark Knight' were, they sometimes felt like two distinctly separate movies (not a bad thing). 'The Dark Knight Rises'', though technically a sequel to 'Batman Begins', pulls together all 3 movies in a way I never thought possible resulting in one huge, totally different entity.

I find it hard to to judge this movie independantly on it's own merits. Yes, there seems to be more action in this one, and it is done so expertly with no trace of CGI. The opening seen is breath-taking with a real sense of ultra-realism. The main characters are well fleshed out, Hardy as Bane has a menacing presence and for the 1st time you actually do feel that Batman has met his match. Gordon-Levitt as the rookie cop serves to ground the audience and is quite central to the movie. Hathaway actually surprises me as Catwoman, I have never been a fan of her's, but she actually brings a sophistication and (gritting my teeth) a certain sexiness that I have never seen from her before. But it is Bale that shines in his best stint as Bruce Wayne.

The movie isn't perfect. There is a rather quick turn-around in the middle which is a little hard to swallow. Bane is still hard to make out, which is a shame because he does have some good lines (I think). Marion Cotillard is under used as Miranda Tate. Fans familiar with the comics and graphic novels will recognise some plot points pilfered and thrown in here and there, although that can be kind of fun trying to guess which way Nolan is going to go. Batman is absent from much of the movie, which may cause the younger audience to lose interest, but this trilogy was always going to be a little more grown up.

All-in-all, this is a very well thought out and beautifully executed end to the trilogy. I am not a Nolan fanboy, but I do enjoy these movies, especially after the 'gay-fest' of the Schumacher debacles. Can't wait to see it again.
Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 12:05:59 PM

@Blank x25

Since I did the honours of raising the issues, you can do the same and provide me with the answers you claim to have.
velocityknown writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 12:32:33 PM

Spoilers Ahead:

I liked it quite a bit. Definitely not as strong as The Dark Knight, but a satisfying conclusion to what will stand as a strong trilogy.

Some of the plot holes listed are definitely are a cause for concern, but I think most of them have explanations. I understand why Talia would take to Bruce, but I guess we have to chalk up Bruce taking to Talia because he was just in a state where he'd fall for anyone. Considering what Alfred had just told him about Rachel.

I thought it was pretty clear why Bane left Bruce in that prison. People never questioned the Joker's actions this much, Bane has similar motivations in that he just wants to see people suffer in the most creative way possible.

One bridge left open? I just assumed they wanted one just in case. Can't burn all of your bridges after all.

Why didn't they detonate the bomb right away? He wanted Gotham to suffer, to fall apart before everyone's eyes. Not a quick detonation, a slow burn.

Bane and company didn't want to kidnap Gordon. It just happened. Bane actually didn't really like that his army brought Gordon to them.

Yes, the Gotham police force would've been somewhat weak after being underground, but they weren't exactly in a Chilean miner situation. The area wasn't pitch black dark, they had sources of light and there were numerous scenes of them eating and it being explained that they were getting food and water.

Bruce never used the sustainable energy device because he feared someone would want to use it as a weapon and correctly so.

Talia and Bane wouldn't have fit into Batman Begins. Bane was kicked out of the League of Shadows and I'm assuming Ra wouldn't want to bring Talia on every mission with him. Especially since she would've been much, much younger at the time of that film.

The biggest plot holes for me are Bruce's physical recovery and the bomb detonation. But for the physical recovery, they kind of danced around saying that Bane actually broke his back and I guess for the bomb detonation you have to assume some things about Bruce's timing of his escape and how quickly the Bat can actually move.

The radiation thing is a problem. Maybe Lucius just came up with a radiation cure haha.

My biggest problem is this exchange:

Bane (to Batman): "So, you came back to die with your city?"
Batman: "No. I came here to stop you."

Jon and Chris must've wrote that one on a late night because DAMN was it an unimpressive comeback and an unnecessary statement of the obvious.

"So you came back to die with your city?"
"No. I left my toothbrush."

Come on, he's gotta say something better than what everyone knows he's there for. Obviously Bane doesn't actually think he came back to die with his city.

If you enjoyed the first two films, you'll enjoy this one. It's a satisfying conclusion, plot holes aside, never a dull moment, and provides great emotional closure to the trilogy storyline.
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 12:37:54 PM

@damon all your "plot-holes" have a responsible explanation behind them. Just watch the movie again. Btw it said it took him 3 months to recover from that back injury. If I do recall my mom had the same kinda injury and that's about the same amount of time it took her to get better. Also he's batman, he can find a way back with all his resources. And it clearly says in the movie banes face mask is to stop the pain. And yeah what if bane is in his 50's? It doesn't really matter. Also cat women is a thief she could have got her stuff from anywhere. And batman set the thing to autopilot so he could have just dropped himself into the ocean very far away from that bomb. All the other things you put are just little things that you are nitpicking at. And if you wanna talk about dialogue, this has better dialogue than avengers so if you think this is bad I recommend you don't see that movie you'd have a field day haha. But I do appriciate you sharing your opinion with me even if it's against mine. Always good to hear another persons point of view
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 12:50:18 PM

@damon btw, that costum was from the old bat cave from the second movie it showed him getting it in the film and the point of her and batman not using the rope to get out was that you have to let go of fear, the rope showed you the fear of death and how you can just do it whenever and if you fail there is always tomorrow. Without the rope you let go of fear and put everything into the jump because you have everything to lose.
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 1:24:52 PM

@mink I just did see your reply on the whole tdkr wont make as much money as avengers. I wasn't saying it wasn't fair because the movies not in 3D. I was just saying it doesnt matter how long a movie is, it can still make bank at the BO. But I guess youre right it's not as high in demand
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 1:33:01 PM

Well, I think *Warner* thinks it's not in nearly as high a demand, given how *they* said TDKR wouldn't make as much as The Avengers.

Just taking them at their word, really.
Shellshocck writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 2:26:30 PM

I think they will win when blue ray will be out because this is a movie to keep...the avengers you see it 1-2 times at the cinema 3D and then thats it you dont wanna keep seeing again and again..because 15% of the film is the 3D effects.
jatilq writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 2:26:30 PM

I liked it. I thought the story had many layers to it. The characters were developed and I felt the movie didn't rely on CGI like most movies of this type of movie. There is more going on than can be seen, the Nolan brothers again wanted to preach and be philosophical.

I believe thats why some politicians have gotten pissed already about it.

The last 15 minutes is up to you.

No credit scenes
LeeMaca writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 2:38:47 PM

Worst of the trilogy, should have been called John Blake rises because of his screen time (probably more than Bruce/batman) bane was a let down the mask takes all the emotion out of his face and unless I've got mixed up somewhere then bane should be in his fifties in this!
mehh0408 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 3:26:59 PM

Not bad, the major bad thing it was i saw it in french and bane's french voice sounds like a lil frustrated faggot, it really made the movie looks ma bit gay -_-'

Will see it for sure in Imax for sure in Mtl next week

and the birst Bane/Batty fight.. hum its kinda epic but im wondering why Bane can hit Batman's forehead like 5 times and dont break his skull, only leaving a lil scratch, while at the end he littarely leaves big holes in concrete with his bare hands.. anyway i guess thats an hollywood secret ;)
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 3:29:59 PM

@mink oh okay I got you. Well if titanic can mak over a billion dollars back when tickets were like 4.75 this shouldn't have a problem really
mehh0408 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 3:37:48 PM

And btw wanna bet somebody's gonna continue that with Robin as the main character in few years ? and bale doing some cameos or something like that.. i hope they dont tho because he would make a fricking skinny hero O.o
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 3:59:59 PM

I liked it better than TDK. But it was a tad bit too long. I liked Anne as Catwoman. Yea there were some plot holes, but what movie doesnt have em? All in all not too bad, coulda been been better. But the Gotham not looking like Gotham this time around kinda bothered me a bit.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 4:01:07 PM

And yes TT, I did keep it in my pants. It was hard to a couple of times when Anne was riding The Batpod.
jatilq writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 4:12:48 PM

Will never know if This movie beats the others in sales, the tragedy is going to kill ticket sales (or will be the excuse)
blumpkin4 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 4:40:16 PM

blumpkin loved this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!! best batman movie everrrrrrrrrrrr
blumpkin4 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 4:44:41 PM

ps there were some sweet trailers for the new superman movie and the hobbit!!! get those up worst previews guy!!!
scotty7471 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:01:14 PM

F'ING EPIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! while yes there are parts that could be scrutinized and torn apart, as part of the trilogy this is wholly satisying. while some say DK is better, i say they are on par with each other
IronDeadpool writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:03:05 PM

It was a little slow at first but te end made up for all the spoilers but ulike dark knight te first 2 movies need to be fresh in your mid to understand some of it
IronDeadpool writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:15:18 PM

There is trickey here Nolan said no more batman but the way he left it there is a wide possibility for a Nightwing Movie
IronDeadpool writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:18:31 PM

There was almost no mention of joker as if poof he never existed and wuts here face lied about being talia
Blacktinoheat writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:26:41 PM

I personally thought it was amazing and they could not have ended it any better than they did. I still liked the TDK the best but this one was very well done!!! And that list is beyond stupid!! Whoever wrote that list was obviously not paying attention to the movie otherwise they would understand the unexplained issues they where having/ sigh critics......
sick one writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:33:17 PM

f*ck the world i wish i was galactus so i can crush it hahaha
youraveragetroll writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:35:32 PM

The people nitpicking the film to the bones spent way too much time reading blogs and comment sections of websites and forgot how to enjoy a movie.
i loved it
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:37:48 PM

"f*ck the world i wish i was galactus so i can crush it"

That idiot who shot up the Colorado theater probably thought the same thing.

Food for thought.
sick one writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:49:44 PM

its a joke and i dont think they were thinking like that cuz they would have done something more dangerous but i hope they catch them and put a bullet threw there skull
bandolero999 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:53:52 PM

I dont wanna sound racist.NOT like a give a f*ck but whitey takes it for the team for murdering the ppl at the theatre.
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:58:27 PM

Whitey 'takes the cake' for serial and mass murder, period.
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:25:12 PM

don't know what to think of it. there were parts i loved, parts i only liked and parts i thought were just okay.

banes voice was a bit hard to understand for the first half of the film but it seemed to be much clearer in the second.

The movie really kicked off for me with the sewer fight. everything before hand was a bit too slow.

definitely going to see it again so i can make up my mind on whether i really loved it or not.
Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:37:59 PM


"all your "plot-holes" have a responsible explanation behind them"

You have yet to answer them all.

"it said it took him 3 months to recover from that back injury"

Despite the bomb having less than a month before it goes off? I know there's a time difference between countries, but that's kind of pushing it.

"If I do recall my mom had the same kinda injury and that's about the same amount of time it took her to get better."

And was your mum locked away in a prison without proper medical care and continuously trying to climb a wall only to keep falling and have a rope pulling strongly against her (how that didn't just pop his back again is beyond me)?

"Also he's batman, he can find a way back with all his resources."

He can get all the way back from some unknown desert location to Gotham and get all of his gear back and onto the city during the winter without any bridges or planes going to Gotham, without money or contacts, for no other reason other than "he's Batman"?

"And it clearly says in the movie banes face mask is to stop the pain."

I didn't ask what it's for, I asked how it worked. It feeds into nothing, so unless Bane's head is somehow manufacturing its own pain killer, there's something wrong with it.

"And yeah what if bane is in his 50's?"

Because he looks like he's in his thirties...

"cat women is a thief she could have got her stuff from anywhere"

Oh so she got her technology and perfectly fitting costume from some random location that didn't have any security protecting it? Remember, she uses every bit of this technology in her most simple of robberies.

"And batman set the thing to autopilot so he could have just dropped himself into the ocean very far away from that bomb"

Maybe you should re-watch the film. They mention several times that the Bat does not have auto-pilot (they even mention it just before it takes off with the bomb).

"this has better dialogue than avengers"

Are you seriously telling me that your defense to that is "well it's not as bad as..."? Don't worry, I saw Avengers - and cannot for the life of me understand its massively positive reception.

"But I do appriciate you sharing your opinion with me even if it's against mine. Always good to hear another persons point of view"

Nice to know that we can still keep this decent. Must admit, it's a godsend after having experimented with this debate on Youtube...
Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:01:58 PM


It looks as though you may have misread quite a few things that a wrote, particularly in regards to the prison.
Damon242 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:09:53 PM


I went continuously in and out of the film, and all films have material to nitpick but when you cannot stay immersed in the film then there are definite, fundamental issues with it.

And when you're being asked to believe in the events unfolding, and being led through the narrative, you're going to notice the holes when they show.

I loved TDK, and I recognize the issues with that film and I expressed a level of disappointment after seeing it, I could look past these issues and still enjoy the film because they were not too extensively damaging to its narrative. I cannot say the same for TDKR.

I also cannot express my discomfort in seeing a large-scale narrative confined to small-scale cinematography.
futureoptics136 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:31:36 PM


i have read your comments from earlier post on this page and have to disagree with most of it

but to clarify one of your plotholes.

"Maybe you should re-watch the film. They mention several times that the Bat does not have auto-pilot (they even mention it just before it takes off with the bomb)."

in the final minutes of the film Lucius Fox is talking to engineers about the bat wing and they inform him that someone had fixed some major problems with the bat wing. it was a hint that bruce had made an auto-pilot feature for the vehicle. wether he would have survided the radiation blast is another story.

Banes mask must be a oxygen based mask so it wouldnt really need a power source just renewable air. there must be a chemical filter or something inside it converting unwanted gases into oxygen. im probably wrong but my imagination allows me to let that one go.

where i do agree with you is that it seems outlandish that bruce wayne would be able to smuggle himself back into gotham after escaping the indian prison. the only explanation would be that he is rich and has funds hidden places like the caymans or something like that. still with all that money they never explained how he got into gotham. i can forgive that since the movie needed that plothole to continue.

The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 9:59:58 PM

I admit, it was probably the weakest of the three films in regards to story line..but none the less it was an amazing film. My freinds and i just sat there glued to the film in awe.

I think it was fitting way to end Nolan's trilogy. Although every bit of me wants to see a fourth Nolan Batman film, i know this is the best thing to do, leaving it at the third.

I found Bane's voice pretty mean, at first it was hard to understand, but the more i listened to his voice, the better i could understand it.

The twists and turns of the film were amazing, even if you could see them happening..


**********SPOILERS SPOILERS*************

I thought Bane's death was a little anti-climatic, was expecting a more theatrical death for Bane.

I loved Nolan's take on Blake being mixed version of the boy wonder/batman/nightwing at the end. It leaves our imagination going crazy thinking what can happen in the next films (if there were going to be any more which i doubt)

Also, i think it would have been better end to have just seen Alfred at the resturant in Italy, he sits down, the camera pans towards him. He looks up across the cafe, and just smiles, nods and cries a little without focusing on Wayne.

But, none the less, i was really happy with the movie, i probably still think about for a long time. Even the score was f*cking fantastic, downloaded it of iTunes yesterday.

Fear, Chaos and Pain....

adn there will always be a Dark Knight
TheFirstRule writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:16:49 PM

i thought the movie was ok. my least fav of the three.
too much time wasted introducing new characters and not enough batman. didnt think the fight scenes between batman and bane were that great either. enjoyed the ending though.

futureoptics136 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:23:53 PM

I loved this movie. I adore this trilogy.

as a whole all three movies fit together. the final film ties up all loose ends and creates a sense of relief that the trilogy stayed in tact and didnt get cheesy or tired(im looking at you spiderman 3).

looking only at TDKR: while there were a slew of new characters to find out about and care about nolan did a great job of piecing each story together while contiuning the drama with batman and his friends.

Bane was a great physical villain that matched the story with an ailing bruce wayne looking to hang up the suit and cape.
he definately met his match.

The score by hans zimmer was oscar worthy.

the one thing i felt that was left out of the movie was the non-use of batman's cape to glide over gotham. it was seen in both begins and TDK. as a fan i felt they missed that aspect. that part of his arsenal is so vital and it was totally left out.

besides that blip it was a perfect ending to a trilogy that beats all others. to top it all off the winks at Killer Croc and Robin point to Nolan understanding what people want in their comic book movies.

Spoilers ahead:
robin is definitely not in this movie. John blake does have the name robin but its made as a joke. he inherits the batcave to become the new symbol for gotham as batman. I imagine him as a reincarnation of Batman from the Batman Beyond cartoons where bruce is ironically broken and using a cane and lets a kid become the new batman. im glad it ended there though, any further and adding robin would have been retun of the jedi with the ewoks all over again

TheFirstRule writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:26:49 PM


should batman have a satisfying conclusion, if any at all?
TemporalFlux writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:31:07 PM


I liked the whole passing of the torch thing to Gordon-Levitt, I just don't like that he was Robin. If WB were gonna continue or reboot the franchise, and they will, it would have made more sense to make him Terry McGinnis for Batman Beyond. Even if Robin becomes Nightwing, it won't have same effect. I really think they missed a trick.
FBO writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:45:35 PM

IDK I only saw the first fifteen minutes of it.

What? Too soon?
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:58:01 PM

@futureoptics beat me to it @damon. And yes I'm not the type to get all offensive over a movie, or be overly critical of a movie. The way I see it, it's just a movie at the end of the day and none of it should really be taken to seriously. I for one still loved the movie and is by far the best this summer. Way better than Prometheus, dear god I still have nightmares about how god awful it is.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:25:14 PM

Might go see it this weekend. Hey, can I borrow anyone's Kevlar ?

Oh and if anyone dies their hair like a ginger, I'm gonna knock him the f*ck out.
telur writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 12:20:11 AM

I saw The Dark Knight Rises

Batman will broke Batman back

Marian Colilard is Miranda Tate is TALIA AL GUL (initial T)

Bane only Talia henchman

in the end... Bruce Wayne will with Seline Kyle


Joseph Gordon Levit is John Blake (aka Drake -- > Tim drake) in other real name is ROBIN

here we go... we will get ROBIN in fourth movie

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=25492&count=0#ixzz21E6ahCrS
Damon242 writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 1:33:08 AM


Thank you for your comments.

"in the final minutes of the film..."

I missed this part. But even so, how and when did Bruce manage to do this (if Fox himself couldn't even serve up an auto-pilot function)? And why would he bother to go through the theatrics given that the only people there to witness his departure was Selina, Gordon, and Blake.

"Banes mask must be a oxygen based mask so it wouldnt really need a power source..."

I wasn't referring to a power source, but rather how it assists him in negating the pain.

"I can forgive that since the movie needed that plothole to continue"

I don't think it's right that we should just have to settle for the existence of these issues, these are after all professional storytellers.
I would expect multiple individuals to be able to pick up on these things whilst reading over and editing the script, and certainly when adapting it and editing the footage. Someone, somewhere, knew of these issues, and the lack of action in resolving signifies nothing but laziness.
Damon242 writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 1:37:04 AM

Another things that bothered me is that Catwoman really contributed nothing to the film. There was not one thing she did that could not have been done by another character.

There are a lot of expendable characters in TDKR, and the existence of them does little else but clutter the narrative.
Raider writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 1:40:01 AM

I liked the movie. I liked it better than TDK.

I liked it better than Inception.

Anyone else think the movie was more about Bruce Wayne than Batman? Also I'm very curious to see what'snext for the Batman film series. Obviously they'll reboot it etc but I'm eager to see what's next.
Dr Fate writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 2:29:13 AM

3.5/4 Damon is right....unfortunately this wont win,best pi cture at oscars
kudanrt writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 2:44:25 AM

I saw the early burd special today at 11:30am fir 5.50 lol woohoo! What a steal!

I really enjoyed the movie but will give it a 8 outta 10 cause the story was a roller coaster.. Sometimes really good then cheesy but then would pick up again. Also the fighting scenes need alot of work. There is alot of pannin around of the cam and dont look as if the hits connect, not believable.

In the end movie was fun and entertaining.. Did not turn out to be what i was expecting but was a pretty good one.
P.s I loved how Nolan tighted all the movies with flash backs and made it seem as if it was all one movie and not part 1 part2 and so on.

My opinion... Go watch it in Theaters!! :-) One special like ne and you shall leave happy! :-)
trailertrash writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 3:01:07 AM

The film was good, Not brilliant, But good

I did think all the twist and turns were fairly obvious really.

I liked the way the movie didn't have Batman in every other scene, Very character driven which was good.

People worried about Hathaway and Levitt have nothing to fear both characters were fine, Infact Anne was very good.

Caine was great (he is a class act) and the rest of the cast including Hardy all did very well.

The film just seem to lack any real tension in the last 1/4 as it built to it's climax, Which was a shame.


trailertrash writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 3:08:40 AM

Bad - lol

You did well mate, When she was bent over that bat bike;

Hubber Hubber !!!
trailertrash writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 3:12:20 AM


Haven't read all the comments, But did anyone else get the Inception kind of ending vibe with Alfred

That he was just seeing something he really, really badly wanted to see and in truth no one was there ??
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 8:59:17 AM

@trailer: Yep! That was my first thought when I read about the ending, and you know, I thought about posting my thought, but decided to let the kiddos have their Batman fun without big bad mink ruining it.
LeeMaca writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 9:04:56 AM

I'm getting the feeling from all over the net that most people didn't think it was that great and a poor follow up to tdk! The joker and bane were miles apart and although I think Tom hardy is a great actor I felt the mask was too much and covered all the emotion in him (as said before) but also his voice was soooo over the top at parts it sounded stupid and constantly jumps between a bad Sean Connery impression and bane from the cartoon series
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 9:35:13 AM

I don't think it was Alfred imagining Bruce at the end because 1) morgan freeman found out Bruce fixed the auto pilot on the bat 2) Alfred didn't know Bruce was with Selina- so to have imagined her at the end would have been a bit too strange.
Popcorn101 writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 1:06:42 PM

for everyone who had reviews or hate on the movie and said the bomb was only a month, your review is utterly garbage because bane clearly said 5 months...learn to watch the movie and not just criticize it
Damon242 writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 4:26:03 PM


Interesting. Well that patches about one or two on the long list, but it's progress.
Damon242 writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 4:26:52 PM


Here is a discussion page on the plot holes. The comment section deserves reading through.

It's like Prometheus all over again.
trailertrash writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 5:26:20 PM


haha Yeah i mentioned my theory to a die hard Batman fan today, Wasn't haven't one bit ... lol

Thought this thread would have been 200 plus by now !!

What is no one watching TDKR then ??
trailertrash writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 5:27:56 PM

#Having it
OneTime writes:
on July 21st, 2012 at 6:34:22 PM

twas dope
Mcfro writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 12:36:07 AM

@Damon I believe you made about 25 points not the movie, and most of them were explained or don't need to be directly explained. Some require you to think for yourself, every aspect of the story doesn't have to be laid out.
-His back recovery did not take days, it took months. He was there for months, and there's different degrees to which you can break your back. We don't actually see his knee, so maybe the brace is still attached. I do agree with you though, those falls he took while trying to climb out seemed like they'd do some damage.
-how he got his arsenal back? he got the extra suit from the underground place he used in TDK. There you see many different tools and gadgets. He hid the bat on top of a room under camo, where nobody found it. And maybe the bat cave had stuff in it.
-I don't believe we know how old Blake is, so the timeline could add up. Maybe he met Wayne about 9 years prior when batman started showing up.
-Maybe bane is in his fifties. You never see his face during that time so it's possible, he's just obviously in superior shape, so I don't know why this is a problem form you.
-Banes mask? Why does this have to be explained. The prisoner tells bruce why he has it. Maybe it's self contained, and there's a pocket where tubes of some gas go, or something. Every little thing doesn't need to be walked through for the audience. In a movie with a guy who flys around in a bat costume, I can rectify the self-contain mask in my own mind.
-Absence of knee brace? You say it's absent in the prison and later, but that is completely unfounded. At no point do we see it gone and there is no reference to it being gone. And it seemed like it attached tightly, maybe it could not be removed easily by banes men.
-How Wayne survived at end? He used the auto pilot on the bat. Fox tells Bruce he could not get the autopilot to work, and tells bruce to give it a try. At the end, someone tells fox the autopilot works, and from records it says that Bruce Wayne was working on it. Did you completely miss this scene? Who knows when he ejected from the bat. My guess is it's pretty fast so it got far enough away.
-Wayne to prison in time? How do you know the "space of time they had" to get Wayne to the prison? Planes go pretty fast, man. Maybe it took 30 hours, how does,that not work?
-How Wayne returned? I agree, it'd be cool and interesting to see this, but it's not necessary. And it's plausible that he could figure out a way, isn't it? Not a big deal.
-Prison maintenance? Who cares? They also didn't show how the prison in gotham was maintained, or how banes prison was built, or how the prisoners got there, or how Gotham was started, or how Bruce Wayne was born, or how the earth was made. Again, everything doesn't need to be explained. Not a plot hole, just not necessary to explain.
-Selinas tech? She doesn't seem to have an abundance of impressive stuff. And they dont seem to be very hightech. A suit, heels, and goggles which may not be that special. Maybe she, I don't know, bought them. Good enough?
-Governor? I'm sorry, maybe I misses this one myself, but I don't remember a governor helping her. I remember a congressman, who was missing, who was drunk, and had no idea what was going on. He was just with her because she was using him, and he thought he was gonna bang some hot chick that just jumped in his limo.
-Thy didn't detonate the bomb because they wanted Gotham to slowly suffer. And it wasn't 23 days, it was 5 months which as said in the movie. The 23 days was later, when fox said, there's only 23 left.
-The police sided with batman, probably because Bane trapped them and was holding the city hostage and batman got them out. Would it make more sense for them to side with bane?
-Lack of explanation why Wayne didn't turn on the energy device? This was clearly explained by Wayne. He didn't want it to eventually fall into the wrong hands, someone that would use it as a bomb.
-Talia and banes absence? Well bane was exhaled from the LOS, obviously well before wayne joined. And talia wasn't there because, uh, she just wasn't. They never say she was a member. This was banes and talias plan, to fulfill her fathers original plans.
-Selinas lesbianism? Major plot hole here, huh. Come on
-Wayne and Tate Relationship? I dont know if you're aware of this, but people bang people they barely know all the time in this world. And so he got a little attached, because he was vulnerable and f'd up.
-Catwoman killing bane? Ya, they should have heard her pull up before she shot at bane. But how she got through the warring sides? She drove the bat pod,which has guns and missiles, through. That's how.
-Single intact bridge? He just left it intact, that's why. Who cares, not that important.
-One island takeover? I think because it was strategically advantageous to have an island, cut off from the outside, to control. And the nuclear bomb had a zone up to 6 miles, which was said in the movie, so the outer parts would also be destroyed.
-Gordon kidnapping? They just grabbed him in the sewer. Didn't go looking for him to kidnap him. Bane was pissed they brought someone there.
-The warring armies? First of all, the cops were armed. Why would you say they weren't? They obviously went in the sewers with weapons. They had food and water blah blah, and they knew what was going on outside. Batman used the bat to disable the tanks guns, did you miss that too? Plenty of cops were shot.

So I went through almost every point you made. Satisfied? These weren't plot holes, you either failed to hear what was going on or every little thing didn't need to be explained. Now my fingers hurt.... just pulled landscaping duty.

vincere01 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 2:01:48 AM

Just got back from seeing. Def best of the 3. Alot more batman begins with spurts of TDK. Had some nitpicks from the nerd part of my brain but a solid 8.5/10. bet even mink cant hate it. Obvious explotations for sequels if studio wants. But at the same time easily could end right there and id be happy camper. Side note - was not excited for new superman movie in the slightest. But after seeing the teaser before TDKR i officially got this on my radar now. Great monolouge by crow with a soundtrack off of the B-side of the lord of the rings soundtrack.
mpiper821 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 2:55:37 AM

I have a question that I think was not asked, but If they said batman was not seen again since the night that Dent died. Why was his body in that bad of shape that he could barely walk anymore. I know that his body took a beating when he was batman but you would think being a reclusive for 8 years his body would be well rested. And yet he somehow heals his body and a broken back with no proper medical treatment better in only a few months time as apposed to having taken the last 8 years off.
Damon242 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 3:52:33 AM


Thank you for getting back to me.

"His back recovery..."
-This detail has been remedied. I was not aware of the 5-month gap, which resolves a few of the issues.

"He got the extra suit from the underground place he used in TDK..."
- He no longer uses that place. This development occurred during TDK.
- The bat cave is a possibility, but again, how did he get there?

"I don't believe we know how old Blake is..."
-It was established that i was while he was an orphan, and that Wayne was extremely young. It was just such a contrived and weak explanation for how a single person worked out that Wayne was Batman. A more reasonable explanation would have been Wayne's absence being simultaneous to Batman's, and that by putting 2 and 2 together...

"Maybe bane is in his fifties..."
-The point is that he is so clearly not in his fifties. There is still so much mystery in regards to the character; who is he? why was he in that prison? how did he learn how to fight so well (the flashback was prior to LOS)? An important thing is to consider how young Ghul was in that flashback, and to consider how old he looked in Batman Begins, and to compare that with Bane.

"Banes mask..."
-If I could see it feeding into something hidden underneath his clothes or going into his spine, then I could work something out. However, it feeds into absolutely nothing but itself, so I really have nothing to use in order to work it out for myself.

"Absence of knee brace..."
So they remove everything from him, including his clothes, except for the obviously-important knee brace? Also, if it's too tight to be removed then it would actually be doing damage to Wayne's leg.

"How Wayne survived at end..."
So, Wayne managed to do what Fox and the entire R and D department was unable to do within a matter of hours? Talented man...
Also, we saw how fast the Bat moved, and there no possible way (especially considering the shot of him actually in the c*ckpit just before detonation) that it traveled more than six miles in a matter of seconds and that Wayne was not completely incinerated along with half of the coast (the bomb was not far enough away to not cause any damage, and let's not even get into the radiation fallout...).

"How Wayne returned..."
This is actually a very big deal. The prison is in an unknown location, Wayne has no money and no clue where he is, no ability to contact anyone, yet somehow manages to get all the way back to Gotham, back to his home, back through the otherwise inaccessible city, manages to draw an entire bat symbol over a bridge, then magically arrive right where Gordon and his men were; walking over the ice.

"Prison maintenance..."
It's the equivalent of me having a house on a rock that is magically floating over-top of Gotham city and there being absolutely no questions asked.

"Selinas tech..."
-Not good enough. What she had is not your typical retail product...

-I meant "congressman". So, a married politician drives off with a sexy maid and ends up accompanying her to a dangerous bar - days after having been declared missing, as her back up and hands her his phone? How did we get to this point? It was jarring, to say the least.

"They didn't detonate the bomb..."
-Doesn't really follow Ghul's plan all that much then, does it?

"The police sided with batman..."
-They were locked away underground for five months, and how were they to know that Batman wasn't in league with Bane?

"Talia and banes absence..."
-You look to be scrambling for answers to this one.

"Selinas lesbianism? Major plot hole here, huh. Come on"
-Sure, no problem at all with a character's sexuality and partner disappearing in the third act of the film, just in time for them to acknowledge their true feelings for Batman...Wayne...whoever the heck she thought it was.

"Wayne and Tate Relationship?"
- This is a weak answer. If we're expected to believe in the characters, then such things can't just happen for no reason, especially when they feed into an entire kidnap/rescue situation.

"Catwoman killing bane..."
-Thank you for acknowledging that they should have noticed her, but you forgot to explain how she knew where they were.

"Single intact bridge? He just left it intact, that's why. Who cares, not that important."
-When his goal is to cut off the entire city, then it's a big deal to forget to blow up a giant bridge out of Gotham.

"One island takeover..."
-Because the entirety of Gotham is not just one island, and the citizens on the other islands would be evacuated during the five-months. The majority of Gotham's residents existed outside of that island.

"The warring armies? First of all, the cops were armed."
-So why did they run in without their weapons drawn and engage in a punch-up?

tino78 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 7:20:56 AM

First and foremost this is a comic book movie. No reason to be nitpicking do much at this film. I thought the film was amazing or being a summer popcorn film and also being a comic book film. As for some of the so called plotholes/nitpicking here are some answers:

1. Bane left one bridge open because it was used as a food supply bridge. Did u not see the part of how the special forces were smuggled into the island?

2. Cat woman is a career cat burglar/thief so u would think that she has some high tech gear. I don't think it's too much of a plot hole.

3. When Bruce was in prison there was a scene that tv showed day 84. Plus bane did mention 5 months as well.

4. The reason why only two people have escaped the prison is because they used their fear to escape. No one wanted to try without the rope because of fear of falling therefore the rope would prevent them from accomplishing it.

5. He had another batcave or whatever u want to call it in his penthouse in the city as it shown in the tdk in the scene where joker interrupts the fundraiser. I don't see why that should be tto hard to believe that he wouldnt still have that.

6. Banes mask was to stop the pain and help him breath. Granted they did not explain to us how it works

7. Bruce Wayne was a billionaire o. I'm sure he has hidden accounts everywhere in theworld. So it's not hard to believe that he still has resources to find a way to Gotham. Again he is a superhero and ths isacomic book movie so I can live with the fact that he may have walked on ice to get on the island ofgotham or was smuggled in like the special forces on one of the food supply Trucks on the one bridge left in tact.

8. Cops were kept up to date with all the notes that Blake was passing to his partner. Did no one catch that?

9. When ur in the middle of a fight to the death and basically there is an all out war right outside with gunfire. It may not here everything so yes cat woman ould creep up some how maybe even roll up to catch them by surprise

10. Lastly who cares how batman ejected. Did u really want to see him die? He installed the autopilot he is Bruce Wayne/batman. Again who cares. Like every movie the good guy saved the day

The end

Ps. Where was killer croc Easter egg?
Damon242 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 8:00:42 AM


Firstly, thanks for your comment. Secondly, comic book-based films lose all credibility when individuals continue to forgive their flaws for simply being a member of the genre.

1. "Bane left one bridge open..."
-Yes, but they were also subsequently denied entrance. Later in the film this bridge is destroyed when Blake tries to cross it (apparently, in order to fill in the time, those on the bridge decided to grab some explosive material and prepare that section of the bridge to be destroyed).

2. "Cat woman is a career..."
-It's an 'unexplained element', not a plot hole. Not all thieves have high-tech gear (and Catwoman isn't supposed to anyway). I would expect some gear, but tech of that level deserves at least some kind of explanation (perhaps if they actually provided some more information on her background; something to chew on).

3. "When Bruce was in prison..."
- This has been resolved.

4. "The reason..."
-This wasn't an issue of mine. Though, in regards to it, how did the prisoners manage to set up the rope-contraption anyway?

5. "He had another batcave..."
-That was used while Wayne Manor was being rebuilt; that was nearly a decade prior the film. Even if it somehow still existed, the question of how he would have gotten there is added back on.

6. "Banes mask..."
-How is works was the issue though. A character doesn't need to come out and say it; exposition is boring. This is the art of moving imagery, everything is visual, therefore not even providing anything in a visual-sense to compensate for an explanation is lazy. Like I said in an earlier statement, it feeding into something else apart of itself would have been sufficient.

7. "Bruce Wayne was a billionaire..."
-It's not your responsibility to give the film answers, the film gives answers to you.

8. Cops were kept up to date..."
-Blake didn't have a partner. The only example of his interaction with the cops buried underground was the supply of food and water (given their condition by the end of the film, you would have expected them to be worn down somewhat by being trapped for five whole months).

9. "When your in the middle..."
-The Batpod is louder than the sounds of cars, screams, and punches, and Bane and Bruce were in an enclosed space.

10. "Lastly who cares how batman ejected..."
-I care. I like narratives to make sense, especially when I'm paying to experience them.
tino78 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 8:57:14 AM


i agree with you regarding a film loses credibility when we forgive their flaw. In some or even most fims i go in there knowing it will have flaws and i go in to enjoy escaping from reality and that is wjat i enjoy most about film. however i dont find myself right or wrong in my reason and definantly do not find anyone elses reason as wrong either

1. tbane mentioned on the field if anyone person tried to escape he will detinate. so i fgure from preventing that they did not allow anyone from passing

2. cat woman they showed her or hinted at her wrap sheet. i dont think wee needed to get into her orgins. but they did explain her motives which is enough for me at least

4. im guessing who built the prison knew they couldnt or wouldnt figure out how to get out. they were free men if they did. so i dont think prisoners set ot up

6. i agree they shoild have showed how it works.

5. he knows all secret and underground escapes so that may have come in handy on how he got back. remember he was sot after bt the commisioner i part 1

8. blake mentioned his partner was down there and he was passing notes throw a line

9. like i said she could off rolled in

Han0 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 1:05:12 PM

So what happened to Bane at the end? Did he die?
mpiper821 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 4:00:28 PM

Batman Begins 8/10
The Dark Knight 8/10
The Dark Knight Rises 5/10, but I definitely want to watch it again.
The_Zizzler writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 4:22:12 PM

Everyone knows I am a Nolan fan boy and if anyone was psyched up for TDKR, it was me. I continually dissed Minkowski for his negative vibe calling him a fag etc (he still is by the way). However, for me, TDKR didnt quite do it like the previous two movies did.

I can't quite put my finger on what it was exactly but there was too much going on that caused the pacng to go off. Most people including myself felt there wasnt enough of Batman but again, I put that down to the pacing. We saw - Batman, Bruce, Alfred, Talia, Prison, Bane, Catwoman, Gordon, Batman, Lucious Fox, Wayne Enterprises, Batman, Cops, Bane etc etc.

Now, here's a list of the flaws someone in IMDB made. As much as it pains me to admit this, I think the majority of the times, this dude is right:

1. Bruce Wayne has a broken back, with a vertebrae even sticking out... and he is healed by some guy punching him in the back? A couple months later he is climbing up walls and making impossible jumps?

2. Speaking of jumps, how incredibly cheesy and coincidental that all those bats flew by just as he was about to "Rise" out of that prison.

3. So you're telling me that a little girl makes that jump when no grown men can? And the reason is cause she had the willpower? Ridiculous.

4. So this is the most impossible prison ever to escape... yet they readily provide you rope to help you try to climb out of? And there's no security at the top of the hole if you do escape?

5. If you have all that rope readily available, why are these prisoners not repeatedly trying to make that jump over and over and over? Why wait to do it once every few months?

6. So Talia hated her dad- but for some reason, she wanted to complete his work?

7. Hated the coincidence of Gordon putting the deactivator or whatever it was in place one instant before she hits the trigger.

8. Hated the coincidence of Serena showing up right in time to shoot Bane right as he was about to kill Batman.

9. Hated the coincidence of Serena and Bruce Wayne just happening to show up at same place, same time, just in time to save a thief kid from getting beat up.

10. So Batman and Bane are are humans, yet are breaking columns with their punches?

11. So Batman is a human, yet he’s kicking a brick wall and breaking it with a hobbled leg?

12. So Batman took the time to make a design a HUGE bat out of fire when the city is on a time crunch to get blown up?

13. How come Gordon, Batman and friends could walk on that breaking ice and have a whole damn casual conversation there?

14. So Batman, a human, can now apparently dodge machine gun bullets at close range, in the dark?

15. So Bruce Wayne and Batman, the two most visible and famous Gotham citizens, both disappeared at the exact same time eight years ago, and both reappear at the exact same time eight years later... and nobody puts this together?

16. So Bruce left Gotham to train for many years… then he came back... then he was gone for 8 years… then he is in a prison for several months... then he retires as Batman... so how long was he actually Batman? A year or two? Isn't Bruce Wayne is supposed to be in his 30s?

17. I thought this was a Batman movie.. how come we hardly saw any Batman at all?

18. Why the hell was Talia/Bane waiting months to detonate the bomb? What was the point? If she really wanted to kill all of them, why not just do it?

19. They show a shot of Bruce Wayne’s pictures of dead parents and dead girlfriend… then is asked out of nowhere at that exact moment, “where is Alfred?” to which he replies “he’s gone”... all heavy handedly hammer the point home that he’s alone now and to try to manipulate sympathy from the audience.

20. And as he’s looking sadly at his dead girlfriend's picture, he starts passionately kissing this woman he just met out of nowhere… and they have sex.

21. And by the end of the movie, he has hooked up with a completely different woman and spends his life with her… someone who was a thief the entire movie.

22. The disposition about Clean Slate was hilarious— a character totally explaining what it is in an unbelievable way so the audience knows what it is. "Clean Slate?? You mean the bla bla bla that bla bla bla??" with a gun to his head to a person who already knows what it is, why else would she want it?

23. I couldn’t understand half of what Bayne said.

24. Why did Alfred have to leave? He was concerned, and made up a lie (or was it?) about his Rachel, cause he knew that would make Bruce kick him out? Even though he’s cared for him forever? And Bruce knew he was doing it to protect him, and yet he was still forced to leave? None of this made sense.

25. So only 4 people showed up at the city's most famous citizen’s funeral?

26. I thought the bomb killed anything within a 6 mile radius? The city probably wasn’t six miles away when it exploded. And Batman, even if he put the thing on autopilot, most certainly wasn't 6 miles away.

27. On top of Bale's Batman voice being grating, he wouldn't ever close his mouth any time he was Batman. Also grating on the nerves.

28. Why the hell did Bane or Talia give a crap about Gotham? Neither of them are from there. Why is it so important to blow it up and make its citizens pay? If it's revenge on Batman, why, because he killed Talia's dad... the same person she hates and who Bane hates for excommunicating him? On that note, why is Bane so loyal to a organization that kicked him out?

29. How come Bruce Wayne gets his power cut off the same night he loses his money? Was he already a month behind on his electric bill at this point? No.

30. How did Bruce Wayne come up with the Clean Slate program?

31. So when Batman is surrounded on the bridge, there is just conveniently one of those car carrying trucks there that he just happens to fire perfectly at for the ramp to fall down so he can conveniently drive up to the fortunately placed streets.

32. How come Bruce Wayne can barely walk with a cane, yet he can dance like Fred Astaire without one?

33. How did Bruce make it back to Gotham from the prison? He has no money, and all the bridges into Gotham were collapsed.

Damon242 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 8:24:54 PM


1."Bane mentioned on the field..."
-But that negates your previous explanation. Bane does in fact say this, which makes his leaving of a single bridge out of Gotham open all the more iffy.

2. "Cat woman they showed..."
-Well, they showed her having no problems stealing and she stuck strong to her beliefs when she spoke with Bruce at the ball. What's interesting is that she would have had to have done something extra special in order to want to erase it, so, what did she do? What specific crime did she commit that has made her so desperate to be given a clean slate? A little more material to chew on would have been nice, not necessarily a straight answer.

4."I'm guessing who built the prison..."
-But even that's a iffy idea, and we have to remember how the old the prison is. I would imagine that a pit in the middle of the desert where people are just chucked in and left to rot, is not designed to offer them with a way out.
5."He knows all secret and underground escapes..."
-But again, we're all having to try and guess. Given the significance of this in terms of the overall narrative, it's absolutely unforgivable how it was handled.

mpiper821 writes:
on July 22nd, 2012 at 8:58:01 PM

@ Damon
You are absolutely right with your number 5 statement.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:23:06 AM

Zizzler makes some great points, all things I had major issues with too. Each one alone was not enough to sink the film but all put together results in a very flawed project. Here's a few more issues for discussion:

1. Am I the only one who thought Talia and Bane's weird pedophilia love connection is a little creepy? Unless I heard wrong, Bane was excommunicated from the league of shadows for falling in love with a child, right?

2. In this reality based universe we're expected to believe Catwoman is basically Bruce f*cking Lee never once getting hit in countless fights?

3. Bruce Wayne is one of the most famous people in the world and yet he can walk around in plain site after he's supposed to be dead?

4. Bruce kicks Alfred out (for the dumbest reason EVER) but he still wakes up the next day wondering where he is?

5. Matthew Modine apparently forgot how to act over night? He's a veteran of more than 50 films and countless TV shows and yet he acts like just graduated from Dr. Nick's Upstairs Acting School. What was the point of his character anyway? They don't even give the guy a decent death. WTF?

6. Why does Batman scream like a bitch when he fight in this movie?

7. Why does Alfred think Bruce wants to fail?

8. Why is Batman so emotionally broken up 8 years after his "girlfriend's" death? 8 years man, GET OVER IT!!! This is the same woman that spent the entire last film hooking up with another guy. f*ck her!

9. Bane is the best character in the film and yet they literally blow him out of the picture without regard. A very anticlimactic end for the film main antagonist.

10. What's up with all the daytime filming? Batman is a creature that usually comes out at night, and most of the films followed suit. Now all of a sudden nearly every scene in this film is shot during the day, which unfortunately draws attention to how ridiculous people wearing funny costumes and masks look. That's just bad directing.

I've got more, but this is getting almost as ridiculous as that Prometheus bullsh*t. This year has been a huge disappointment except for Avengers.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 10:39:41 AM


11. With less than 2 minutes left on the ticking time bomb how does Batman take time to make not 1 but 2 parting speeches and have one last make out session with Catwoman?

12. Why do the cops choose to have a fist fight in the streets with Bane's army when everybody has a gun. Why are so few cops killed running at an army of thugs strapped with AK-47s? Why do said criminal only shoot at the cops feet?

13. Why does Batman come and meet Gordon out on the shaky ice, and why does he instruct Gordon to set said ice on fire while they both are still standing on it?

more to come....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved