WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marc Webb May Not Return for "The Amazing Spider-Man" Sequel

Posted: July 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marc Webb May Not Return for "The Amazing Spider-Man" SequelSubmit Comment
"The Amazing Spider-Man" cost $230 million to make, but the film has grossed only $214 million domestically. Globally, the reboot is at $535 million, which is enough for Sony Pictures to move forward with a sequel.

During an interview with Columbia Pictures head Doug Belgrad, he revealed that there's a good chance that director Marc Webb won't be returning. "We'd really like him back, but there are obstacles. He has an obligation to Fox," he explained. While it's true that Webb owes Fox another film as part of his "500 Days of Summer" deal, it sounds like Belgrad is just trying to politely separate himself from the director.

He goes on to say that "The Amazing Spider-Man" had to deal with lots of production issues. "The section where Rhys Ifans' character turns irrevocably into the Lizard [was a problem area]," he revealed. "It took several months to figure out, and the filmmakers cut a bunch of scenes. In software parlance, it required a patch."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:12:47 PM

Wake me when they reboot it again in five years.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:13:22 PM

the first hour of the movie was not needed.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:19:53 PM

Neither was the second, imo.
Avirex writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:26:01 PM

Coincidentally, the audience will not be returning either. Nor will I. Mostly because I never showed up to begin with.
cress writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:31:33 PM

I don't think anybody will give a sh*t if he's not back. He was just a cheap tool Sony could use to film this needless reboot. I'm sure he was a "Yes Man" to whatever the studio heads wanted, unlike Raimi. Really, they watched 500 Days of Summer and said "This guy would be perfect to direct Spiderman. Please...
Avirex writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:36:05 PM

@cress

Marvel has perfected that scheme. Studios these days must be paying directors in Monopoly money.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:59:01 PM

I hope nobody returns for the sequel.That movie was awful.I'd watch Toby Maguire dance on that table in Spider-man 3 1000 times before i'd watch that crap again.

Lol,I also find it ironic that a directer who's last name is Webb knows nothing about spider-man
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:59:52 PM

@Minkowski-Lol
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:06:09 PM

I wasn't impressed at all. I almost thought it was 2002 again, it felt so much like the original in certain parts.
pornfly writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:27:17 PM

Im not returning for any of them

Rather play Shattered Dimensions
cress writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:56:27 PM

@Avirex. Yeah, its worked well for them. Its bound to backfire on them sooner or later. The You, Me, and Dupree guys are doing Capt. America 2? I'm sure that will be a paint-by-the-numbers affairs.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:21:09 PM

I don't think Webb ever intended on comming back. I saw an interview he did for superhero hype and he just didn't seem enthusiastic at all or even happy to talk about the film. When he was asked if he'd comeback for a sequel He basically said no in several different indirect ways.

that last part might be a bit of an exaggeration but I don't think he was happy working with Sony at all.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:52:14 PM

Get Alan Parker to direct the sequel to keep the pointless last name theme going.
GLaDOS writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:59:42 PM

When I first heard that they were doing a reboot this instead of a continuation I was upset, but after seeing the film I was pleasantly surprised at how well it was done. Parts seemed a little unnecessary at times but over all it was a hell of a lot better that the steamy pile of crap that spider-man 3 ended up being.
boogiel writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 12:16:16 AM

Meh...sh*t director with sh*t movie. He won't be missed.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 1:00:40 AM

Bring out the sinister six! And have Garfield bulk up a little...err I mean alot! Get him away from this high school going into college sh*t. Already been done the first time!
pornfly writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 1:12:18 AM

^the word is SS will be in sequel
Rambo writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 1:41:45 AM

movie was pointless,in some parts it was like shot by shot remake of the original one.
Wallace writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 3:26:22 AM

Remember when WP said it already is a "massive hit" a few days ago?

Where did that go?
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 3:28:59 AM

Whoever the new director will be, I hope that person has a firm grasp on all elements of spider man and doesn't f*ck up the sequel or pull a raimi and allow the suits to interfere!!!
telur writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:33:31 AM

I saw The Dark Knight Rises

Batman will broke Batman back

Marian Colilard is Miranda Tate is TALIA AL GUL (initial T)

Bane only Talia henchman

in the Bruce Wayne will with Seline Kyle

and

Josep Gordon Levit is John Blake (aka Drake -- > Tim drake) in other ral name is ROBIN

here we go... we will get ROBIN in fourth movie
Dre-EL writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 10:51:34 AM

The second movie should be called spectacular spiderman not ASM2.
I thought ASM was OK, not ground breaking break but I still had a good time at the movies.
sherv writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:17:18 AM

Thats a pisser, i thought he did a sh*thot job of the new spidey! Fight scenes weren't as good as Raimi but i loved the new Spidey!!
TemporalFlux writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 8:28:33 PM

@telur

If you are going to spoil a movie, at least learn to type, f*ckwit
KillerCOck writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 11:32:04 PM

They need to save Spectacular Spider man title for the eventual reboot.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved