WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Thor 2" Villains Accidentally Revealed

Posted: July 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Thor 2" Villains Accidentally RevealedSubmit Comment
IReviewToo website had the chance to speak to Hollywood stuntman James Grogan (Snow White and the Huntsman, Dark Shadows), who accidentally revealed the villains in Marvel's upcoming "Thor" sequel.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

"The other day I was working on 'Thor 2,'" he explained. "I had a load of stunt guys in and the director Alan Taylor) came in and he said 'Look, we want you all to be elves,' and I was like 'What the hell is an elf anyway?' And he said 'I want you all to walk around like these supernatural animals.'"

Since the full title of the new movie is "Thor: The Dark World," is safe to assume that Grogan is talking about the Dark Elves, which are lead by Malekith the Accursed (pictured), a major Thor villain. In "Thor" comic book #344, Loki forms an alliance with Malekith in order to secure the Casket of Ancient Winters. Tom Hiddleston has already confirmed that he's returning as Loki.

The Casket of Ancient Winters is an artifact from the realm of the Frost Giants and a powerful and deadly weapon. When opened, it releases powerful arctic weather that is capable of freezing anything in its path; killing humans and immobilizing Asgardians. The Casket can only be opened and handled by a Frost Giant; anyone else who attempts to open it would be burned. Its magic is also strong enough to temporarily disrupt the powers of Odin.

Source: IReviewToo, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 6:41:30 AM

i accidentally don't give a f*ck
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 6:42:48 AM

'Look, we want you all to be elves,' and I was like 'What the hell is an elf anyway?' And he said 'I want you all to walk around like these supernatural animals.'"

Ohh right yeah I get what you mean now. Supernatural animals, why didn't you say so! I'll just go to the park with my magic telescope and record some now for research.

The only parts of Thor I enjoyed were the Asgard scenes and only for the sheer beauty of it all. I hated everything else about the film especially Thor's dodgy accent and acting.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 6:46:43 AM

Try searching in imagination land!!!
boogiel writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 7:17:37 AM

Elves? What's that gonna be, Thor vs Legolas?
bandolero999 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 7:21:43 AM

I stopped taking thor seriously when I saw an Asian and black norse god.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 7:29:06 AM

bandolero- Tell me about it, I mean everyone knows norse Gods are white, it says so right in this scientifically accurate children's comic book.
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 8:15:15 AM

Is that sarcasm there Cinema ......
Scholes60 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 8:23:16 AM

Interesting.

Malkeith is certainly a significant villain but earlier reports seemed to suggest someone much more powerful than him.

I like the title rather than just having "Thor 2"

As an Aussie sci-fi writer: http://www.amazon.com/Alien-Hunter-Star-Trooper-ebook/dp/B007HYRT6K/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1331248758&sr=1-1 Iíve written a solid collection of Marvel (espec Thor) fan fiction, why not check it out? http://www.fanfiction.net/u/1276881/David_Scholes
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 8:29:46 AM

Trailer- What is this "sarcasm" you speak of? It's a concept that's alien to me...
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:19:43 AM

lol ...
capsule writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:29:26 AM

Ive seen more j*zz in Mink's hair.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:21:19 AM

For folks on here who say they're not gay, they sure do say some of the gayest sh*t.

Anyway. Elves? They have a chance to go Return of the King with Thor 2 and they choose...elves? I'll wait till a teaser or trailer to pass full judgement, but...elves? Really?

"Tell me about it, I mean everyone knows norse Gods are white, it says so right in this scientifically accurate children's comic book."

Well in defense of Bando, I doubt very seriously the Norse, or even the Germanic tribes, a) had much concept in the way of skin color variety, and b) were about as clannish and racially bound as you can imagine, so yeah, I'd say their visions of their gods were pretty much as white as you can get, and, moreso, I'd be willing to bet that African gods are pretty much exclusively black/African in nature, so much that they even take credit and portray as black Egyptian gods who weren't readily depicted as Negroid in appearance.

So, for a change, I think Bando's politically-incorrect opinion is scholastically accurate.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:24:32 AM

minkowski- Yeah I get that and he is right. My point is these are fictional characters. Just like a black English comedian Lenny Henry played Othello on stage recently, its open for interpretation.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:35:56 AM

Oh. Yeah. I was referring to the Norse themselves, not this, which is of course comic book based and can be played by anyone they choose, so you're right, obviously.

I enjoyed Idris Elba as Heimdall more than Thor himself, I know that much...
KillerCOck writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:20:17 AM

Could be cool with Taylor directing.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:55:21 AM

Well that's cool, hopefully it won't be the bore fest the first was.
Ranger writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:58:02 AM

It'll be curious to see how these hero movies do outside of The Avengers. People may only want to see them in The Avengers, and (of course) solo stories like this (and Capt. America 2) will only see ticket sales from their respective fans. I think Marvel will learn a lot (fast) as to their future plans when these solo movies first hit.
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 12:19:24 PM

Accidentally. lol..
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 12:25:30 PM

Just curious, if this Casket of Ancient Winters artifact is such an effective weapon against Asgardians, then why didn't any of the Frost Giants use it in the first film to freeze Thor or Odin's nuts off? Sorry I haven't read a Thor comic in ages and don't know the details of these characters well.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 12:35:01 PM

Mink- Yeah, Idris Elba somehow managed to steal the whole show with the minimum screen time. I think he's an actor who deserves more recognition.
jdl107 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 12:45:44 PM

"The Casket of Ancient Winters is an artifact from the realm of the Frost Giants and a powerful and deadly weapon. When opened, it releases powerful arctic weather that is capable of freezing anything in its path; killing humans and immobilizing Asgardians. The Casket can only be opened and handled by a Frost Giant"

I swear I made a post about this last year, but wasn't this Casket already in the first Thor? That cube like thing the Frost Giants tried to steal?
j-man writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 12:53:12 PM

Loki the villain again yarn
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 1:30:20 PM

"I think he's an actor who deserves more recognition."

Well, he was in The Losers. *rolls eyes*
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 1:57:46 PM

@jdl107 - good point. Seem to recall Loki firing the cosmic cube at Heimdall and freezing him in his tracks. What the hell? I gather this Casket of Ancient Winters has a more powerful effect on making everything a perpetual winterland.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 4:23:58 PM

@Mr. Blonde: The f*ck are you talking about? That wasn't the cosmic cube, that was the casket of eternal winters.

Cosmic Cube is technically the "Tesseract" from Captain America and the Avengers.

In regards to the article, I think any Thor/ Avengers comic fan would've instantly realized that the "Dark World" in the title points to Dark Elves, even though I'd much rather see a movie about Surtur, and his plans for causing Ragnarok, maybe leading to an Avengers 2 or 3.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 12:01:06 AM

Was Ragnarok the reason for Asgard moving to Earth?

I'm not consistent when it comes to reading comics but I do try to read what I can. I read a book recently that had Asgard on Earth. I was just like "How in the f*ckery of all things, did that happen?"
KillerCOck writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 12:01:11 AM

Was Ragnarok the reason for Asgard moving to Earth?

I'm not consistent when it comes to reading comics but I do try to read what I can. I read a book recently that had Asgard on Earth. I was just like "How in the f*ckery of all things, did that happen?"
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 1:43:32 AM

Actually surprised me...Taylor, I would say, would be better equipped to handle the language/ accents, juggle various character dramas & not focusing on the fantasy per se. Hoping CGI will not cloud good plot/ character development.

There's a reason why he was chosen to specifically helm this movie...

BTW, is it me or is it looking like Chris Evans will really get screwed over by the Cpt America franchise?! The YOU, ME, AND DUPREE directors?! Really? Are you sh!tting me?!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved