WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Says "The Dark Knight Rises" Won't Beat "The Avengers"

Posted: July 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Says "The Dark Knight Rises" WonSubmit Comment
THR is reporting that the pre-release tracking numbers for "The Dark Knight Rises" are so high that the movie should have no problem topping the $158 million opening of "The Dark Knight" and getting the best domestic debut for a 2D film.

According to Warner Bros, Christopher Nolan's third Batman film has already grossed $25 million in advance ticket sales, which is one of the best results of all time. The studio believes that "The Dark Knight Rises" will end up at around $170 million for the weekend, but box office experts believe that the film will likely end up between $185 million and $195 million.

As predicted earlier, "The Dark Knight Rises" will likely not beat "The Avengers" ($207.4 million) for the highest-grossing opening weekend, but should surpass "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2" ($169.2 million). Both of the films had the advantage of being released in 3D. Roughly $35 million of "The Avengers" opening numbers came from the extra charge that comes with watching films in 3D.

The other problem that "The Dark Knight Rises" faces is being 2 hours and 43 minutes long. Very often people tend to wait for lengthy films to come out on DVD/Blu-ray. Plus, theaters won't be able to squeeze in as many screenings as they could for a 2 hour movie.

Click here to read more about "The Dark Knight Rises."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Quidd writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 6:33:26 AM

Sounds like an excuse incase it doesn't.
Rambo writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 6:34:19 AM

boxofficemojo claims it will break the record with 214 mil for the weekend:

http://www.boxofficemojo.com/news/?id=3491&p=.htm
Taco writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 6:38:35 AM

How is that an excuse? Those are valid monatary points. Run time and ticket price will impact the weekend total. Read the artical again.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 6:45:13 AM

It may have the disadvantage of being 2D but it balances out with being an already established franchise with a group of violent, virgin fanboys ready to see it multiple times in a day. Also don't they charge more for Imax tickets which I'm sure a lot of people will be wanting to see it in.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 6:50:19 AM

fanboy #1426953!!! Can't wait to see this! As for the virgin part I lost it to dark revenge's mom...giggity!!!
boogiel writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 7:19:27 AM

WB conceded already? Pussies...
bandolero999 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 7:23:54 AM

Oh god
Damon242 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 7:46:14 AM

Just got back from Batman. All I'll say is that it doesn't feel like it belongs in Nolan's franchise, it's far more like a Sam Raimi Spiderman film that a Christopher Nolan Batman film (and that includes the cheese), Batman is hardly in it, and Nolan lied (you'll understand what I mean by this when you see it).

Incredibly disappointing, and by far the weakest of the three.

Mink, I concede. You were right about The Dark Knight Rises, you were unfortunately wrong about Prometheus.

So far, in terms of films, 2012 has...sucked.


synthetic1985 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 7:51:06 AM

here's my prediction, i mean after all the dark knight made the billion dollar mark without 3d and with heath's help...there's still a very big fan base, i don't think it'll have a hard time matching numbers with the avengers
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 7:57:12 AM

Damon

"it's far more like a Sam Raimi Spiderman"

Not what the fanboys wanna hear i bet ..

Thanks for the heads up.
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 8:05:02 AM

synthetic

If it's any good then i think it can get close but not beat the Avengers final take.

It's the outside of the US that will let the movie down. The last 2 outings have been disappointing if you compare the US boxoffice to the rest of the world take.

Batman just won't have the pulling power or the legs of The Avengers when all the dust has settled on the Boxoffice takings, IMO
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 8:13:26 AM

Avengers: $207,438,708

TDKR: $190,000,000
boogiel writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 8:18:56 AM

@damon

So WP's leaked ending is a joke then...too bad, that could be awesome.
Bullit writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 8:22:09 AM

And to add to Damon's comment, the Daily Mail (I know it's not the perfect reference but still) has given only 2 stars out of 5. The review is quite objective to my sense and it doesn't reveal any spoilers, so feel free to have a look.


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/reviews/article-2175665/The-Dark-Knight-Rises-review-Ridiculous-villians-bombastic-effects-dialogue-I-barely-make-out.html
Damon242 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 8:30:53 AM

@boogiel

That "leaked ending" occurs just over an hour into the film.
Damon242 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 8:35:07 AM

@boogiel

Nevermind - I just watched the rest of that "leaked ending" video lol
boogiel writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 8:44:16 AM

@Damon

Thanks, bro
Dr Fate writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:46:00 AM

Challenge accepted ill be taking my gf, then ill take minks mom, minks sister and then his wife....goteamdarkknight
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:59:58 AM

"Mink, I concede. You were right about The Dark Knight Rises, you were unfortunately wrong about Prometheus."

That's actually noble of you, Damon, but in all honesty, I'd rather be right about Prometheus and wrong about The Dark Knight Rises, given that the later film is probably the technically superior film.

As for the numbers, well, they're right, because of the run-time thing, but WB should wait before they say things like this, because they're essentially ensuring the future lives up their preconceived notions.

Besides, I don't think it really helps them in any way to make public statements as to how much money a given film will make.

So we'll see, but regardless, TDKR is going to make a hell of a lot of money, and for a film nearly three hours long, that's about a good a scenario as they could ever expect.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:00:51 AM

"then ill take minks mom, minks sister and then his wife"

Well, buddy, I'm not married, nor do I ever want to be married, but as for the rest, you can have them, because I already have, and they weren't that great.
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:43:09 AM

@minkowski

hey i just was messing around and given a lesson to the fag that insult you with that sh*t of the 9 years old, also i don't f*ck animals they have hairy asses i don't like that, don't worried when i go to the states i come by and visit you and have drink a beer or something, so you can forget of Wp for a time, and leave this nolan minions alone and boring!


Ranger writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:46:38 AM

October_Loser_Midnight will drown his sorrows in a whole box of Fruit Loops this time. Why? Because he's a f*cking p*ssy living in a dream land because he's scare to grow up.

Of course Batman won't beat The Avengers. This is not a surprise.

Now watch... a Batman fan will come around posting the trilogy total. Ummm... sure. Then I'll compare that with all the Harry Potter movies combined, etc. You see where this is going, don't you October_Loser_Douche-Bag?
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:51:42 AM

@trueman: That's cool. I thought we had one of those misunderstanding when you said something about f*cking me in the ass.

A guy can really take that the wrong way, unless that 'guy' is october_midnight.

Cheers, dude.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:53:57 AM

@Ranger: you be trolling, dog, you be trolling.

"when i go to the states i come by and visit you and have drink a beer or something, so you can forget of Wp for a time, and leave this nolan minions alone and boring!"

Nah. I have a better idea. We'll go find Sam Worthington and chop his f*cking head off, not that anyone will notice.
Kurskij writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 10:56:43 AM

It has a very good chance of pulling in as much as $40 mil. during midnight shows, $100 mil. opening day and breaking $200 mil. OW

Personally, I believe BOM's $214 mil. prediction is a bit too much, but hey, no one thought it was possible for the Avengers to break $200 mil. mark (or any movie for that matter in the upcoming couple of years).

WB is just playing safe saying they expect $170 mil. - they are publicly held company, they need to play the market.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:00:19 AM

@Damon: Thx for the insight, but I'm guessing people's opinions on this will differ as much as they did the previous 2 installments. I didn't particularly like either one all that much when I saw them in the theater. They were long and devoid of much fun. But eventually they grew on me and became some of my favorite SH movies of all time. My expectations were out the roof for those 2 films though, not so much for this one, so maybe it will be easier to accept the first time around.

Just answer this for me, is Catwoman as terrible as she looks in the trailers? I've been saying for a long time that this will make or break the film for me.
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:05:32 AM

That's bs dude. Look at the top grossing box office movies of all time and over half of them are 2 hours plus. sh*t the top 3 are like 3 hours. Avatar, titanic, avengers
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:12:29 AM

^^Huh. I guess you're right. I guess they're saying then that The Dark Knight Rises isn't in as much demand as Titanic, Avatar and The Avengers.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:21:21 AM

^^No they're just making excuses already. Pretty sad really.
Ranger writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:22:20 AM

And October_Loser_Midnight will come home to find out his woman had gone lesbo. Because her lesbo lover is more man than he is (Fruit Loop-eating thunder p*ssy!).
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:24:02 AM

Oh. Wait. All three of those films you mentioned were either re-released or in 3D, or both, so it's not really fair to say then that TDKR should make as much the first go, as it isn't in 3D. Right?
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 11:47:05 AM

October_midnight responds to your remarks, Ranger

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K5YZTTekSas&feature=plcp
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 12:22:09 PM

its the third in the series what else would you expect.
how many good third films can you name?
it would be a surprise if this one is even half good.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 12:40:01 PM

Warner Bros Says "The Dark Knight Rises" Won't Beat "The Avengers"

That's because Batman would probably be too tired to continue after jerking off the Hulk.

@Damon - thanks for your advance review. Too bad if it ends up to be a disappointment for everyone as I was actually looking forward to it.

Now if only Mink had wagered a beer for everyone that opposed his anti-TDKR views, he'd probably be one happy drunkard until 2015.
leezy84 writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 12:52:58 PM

Bullitt.....can i just say something about that Daily Mail Review of the TDKR, the same reviewer Chris Tookey gave Katy Perrys film 4 out of 5 stars,..........seriously ?????
Bullit writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 1:26:32 PM

^ ^ Oh well, what can I say, he must have a crush on her. Nevertheless, he made some point which I believe he's right. But I'll still watch the film in few days though.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 1:27:47 PM

Four things:

1) I only wanted TDKR to fail to piss off the Nolan fags, i.e., October.

2) No Nolan film will ever likely match the hype and artificial acclaim of TDK.

3) It's only Thursday. The movie hasn't even opened here in the States. It's tracking well and the critics seem to like it overall. Calling it a failure at this point isn't just premature, it's absurd.

4) Most of the disappointment I think will come more from the people hoping for a super-hyped media orgasm, a carnival, a circus of fanfare. Everyone else who simply expects a good film won't have many, if any, issues.
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 1:29:31 PM


Nah. I have a better idea. We'll go find Sam Worthington and chop his f*cking head off, not that anyone will notice.


hahaha what a pleasent idea, and we can play soccer with his head too?? Yupii!
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 1:37:25 PM

SAM THE c*nt WORTHINTHOONG its so nolan's fan, what a fag ass!
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 2:32:22 PM

lol.

For you, trueman

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0CebukdCOT4
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 2:44:28 PM

2 hours and 45 minutes? That actually sounds like a good thing.
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 2:55:37 PM

@minkowski

what a loser is that AustrianFilmGeek but his words have wisdom, true, honor, i'm happy, im not the only one fighting against the "c*ntS" actors! Comence the festival!
bane writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 3:18:56 PM

we will
have to wait and see :)
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 3:31:18 PM

@damon
that could just be you cuz i just went on rt and tdkr is 87% and already certified fresh
but you never know you could end up being right,guess i'll find out tomorrow already got my ticket and very excited
Man in Black writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:02:59 PM

NO sh*t sherlock !
communist.daughter writes:
on July 19th, 2012 at 9:25:36 PM

done watching it. catwoman stinks.
Shellshocck writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 2:41:53 AM

Its all about TONIGHT
telur writes:
on July 20th, 2012 at 5:34:49 AM

I saw The Dark Knight Rises

Batman will broke Batman back

Marian Colilard is Miranda Tate is TALIA AL GUL (initial T)

Bane only Talia henchman

in the end... Bruce Wayne will with Seline Kyle

and

Joseph Gordon Levit is John Blake (aka Drake -- > Tim drake) in other real name is ROBIN

here we go... we will get ROBIN in fourth movie

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved