WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer for Drew Struzan Documentary "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster"

Posted: July 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer for Drew Struzan Documentary "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster"Submit Comment
It's been about two years since we got a look at a clip from "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster," a documentary about legendary poster artist Drew Struzan. Just a few days ago, director Erik P. Sharkey appeared at Comic-Con and revealed that he has completed the film.

And today, we have the official trailer for the movie that contains lots of praise from such people as Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, Harrison Ford, Frank Darabont, Michael J. Fox, Guillermo Del Toro, Thomas Jane and many others.

At this point, it's still unclear when we'll finally get the chance to see the film. Stay tuned.

Trailer:


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:31:47 AM

A shame reckless visually insulting photoshop has taken over the poster industry.
Bullit writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:40:51 AM

So, this is the man who made all these great posters, I'm glad to know as I never got a clue during who it was after all that time. Undeniably a great artist. He made you want to watch the movies as sometimes, the poster was better than the movie itself.
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:41:59 AM

Amazing ...

I don't know too much about Drew Struzan to be honest, But his work is legendary from time when a poster was a big reason you were going to watch a film on the big screen.

Will be watching this for sure.
-Chewy- writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:42:01 AM

Yeah this guy is talent in human form.

I'll have to watch this.

@Avirex: you are right, the photoshop posters of today are a f*cking insult to humanity.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:50:36 AM

Too bad this current generation can't appreciate posters like these. I used to have the Indiana Jones poster when I was a kid.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 2:29:56 PM

You used to have to work to make a poster look good, but the ease with which photographed material can be shot digitally and then taken into Photoshop made all that irrelevant.

Not really sure though we need a film on Druzan, his outstanding artwork aside, just because the focus of most interest is his art, not the man, just like there's not a huge demand for films on Picasso and van Gogh.

Would rather see him in action, building a poster from concept to finished 'product', but that would never fly with pretty much anyone else.
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 3:34:00 PM

The good thing is that this should inspire artists to go back to their artistic roots but with the new 3D posters,i'm not so sure
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:02:37 PM

This trailer alone makes me want to start finding and collecting hand-drawn movie posters.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:51:55 PM

It should make you want to do some drawing. I know it does that to me.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:54:55 PM

This doc*mentary will have no impact on poster artists going back to their roots, I think, because the studio has far more input on that matter, and they obviously, judging from the glut and surfeit of poor posters form the last twenty years, want, no demand, posters be as cost-effective as possible, and I can tell you, going from blank paper to finished design, as opposed to throwing some digital images into the blender of Photoshop, is far, far more time consuming and expensive.

All about money, bud. Why do you think Hollywood looks like the home decor aisle at Wal-Mart?
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 5:31:48 PM

DAMNU MINK,you have a hyper-common sensibility on a vulcan level!
Theatre posters are doomed!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1umrxqCB-w&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 5:37:22 PM

I'm just saying, Struzan is one of kind, and the law of economics mean then that he's inherently valuable on the commercial artist market, more so than some Photoshop monkey, whom are legion apparently, so why pay big bucks for a supply and demand epitome like Struzan when you can toss some kid five bucks to throw together a poster for the next Silent Hill?
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 6:56:19 PM

I know, youre100% right

Just wishful thinkin
I like to think everything goes in cycles
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 7:11:17 PM

Sorry, bud, but the cynic is me says the happy days of fantastical movie posters, and even more fantastical films, may be over.

"I like to think everything goes in cycles"

It does, according to these guys:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izQB2-Kmiic

KillerCOck writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:57:35 PM

I bought Masters of the Universe on VHS with birthday money when I was a kid, Just because the cover was f*cking dope!

I didn't even realize it was about He-Man until I watched it.

I envy this man's talent
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 9:02:02 PM

Pffft. That's nothing. I bought actual dope with my birthday money.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved