WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Nov 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Bible" TV Series Sequel
Nov 28th, 2014
Marvel Kills "Fantastic Four" Actors in "Punished" Comic Book
Nov 28th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for Vince Vaughn's "Unfinished Business" Comedy
Nov 28th, 2014
"Independence Day 2" Officially Moving Forward, Without Will Smith
Nov 28th, 2014
Ridley Scott Explains Why He Hired White Actors for "Exodus: Gods and Kings"
Nov 28th, 2014
First Look: Mel Brooks is Dracula's Father in "Hotel Transylvania 2"
Nov 28th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer for Drew Struzan Documentary "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster"

Posted: July 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer for Drew Struzan Documentary "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster"Submit Comment
It's been about two years since we got a look at a clip from "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster," a documentary about legendary poster artist Drew Struzan. Just a few days ago, director Erik P. Sharkey appeared at Comic-Con and revealed that he has completed the film.

And today, we have the official trailer for the movie that contains lots of praise from such people as Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, Harrison Ford, Frank Darabont, Michael J. Fox, Guillermo Del Toro, Thomas Jane and many others.

At this point, it's still unclear when we'll finally get the chance to see the film. Stay tuned.

Trailer:


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:31:47 AM

A shame reckless visually insulting photoshop has taken over the poster industry.
Bullit writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:40:51 AM

So, this is the man who made all these great posters, I'm glad to know as I never got a clue during who it was after all that time. Undeniably a great artist. He made you want to watch the movies as sometimes, the poster was better than the movie itself.
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:41:59 AM

Amazing ...

I don't know too much about Drew Struzan to be honest, But his work is legendary from time when a poster was a big reason you were going to watch a film on the big screen.

Will be watching this for sure.
-Chewy- writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:42:01 AM

Yeah this guy is talent in human form.

I'll have to watch this.

@Avirex: you are right, the photoshop posters of today are a f*cking insult to humanity.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:50:36 AM

Too bad this current generation can't appreciate posters like these. I used to have the Indiana Jones poster when I was a kid.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 2:29:56 PM

You used to have to work to make a poster look good, but the ease with which photographed material can be shot digitally and then taken into Photoshop made all that irrelevant.

Not really sure though we need a film on Druzan, his outstanding artwork aside, just because the focus of most interest is his art, not the man, just like there's not a huge demand for films on Picasso and van Gogh.

Would rather see him in action, building a poster from concept to finished 'product', but that would never fly with pretty much anyone else.
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 3:34:00 PM

The good thing is that this should inspire artists to go back to their artistic roots but with the new 3D posters,i'm not so sure
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:02:37 PM

This trailer alone makes me want to start finding and collecting hand-drawn movie posters.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:51:55 PM

It should make you want to do some drawing. I know it does that to me.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:54:55 PM

This doc*mentary will have no impact on poster artists going back to their roots, I think, because the studio has far more input on that matter, and they obviously, judging from the glut and surfeit of poor posters form the last twenty years, want, no demand, posters be as cost-effective as possible, and I can tell you, going from blank paper to finished design, as opposed to throwing some digital images into the blender of Photoshop, is far, far more time consuming and expensive.

All about money, bud. Why do you think Hollywood looks like the home decor aisle at Wal-Mart?
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 5:31:48 PM

DAMNU MINK,you have a hyper-common sensibility on a vulcan level!
Theatre posters are doomed!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1umrxqCB-w&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 5:37:22 PM

I'm just saying, Struzan is one of kind, and the law of economics mean then that he's inherently valuable on the commercial artist market, more so than some Photoshop monkey, whom are legion apparently, so why pay big bucks for a supply and demand epitome like Struzan when you can toss some kid five bucks to throw together a poster for the next Silent Hill?
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 6:56:19 PM

I know, youre100% right

Just wishful thinkin
I like to think everything goes in cycles
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 7:11:17 PM

Sorry, bud, but the cynic is me says the happy days of fantastical movie posters, and even more fantastical films, may be over.

"I like to think everything goes in cycles"

It does, according to these guys:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izQB2-Kmiic

KillerCOck writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:57:35 PM

I bought Masters of the Universe on VHS with birthday money when I was a kid, Just because the cover was f*cking dope!

I didn't even realize it was about He-Man until I watched it.

I envy this man's talent
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 9:02:02 PM

Pffft. That's nothing. I bought actual dope with my birthday money.

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Robert Downey Jr Comments on His Marvel Contract

Doctor Doom is an Anti-Social Programmer in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved