WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garcia's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Trailer for Lee Daniels' "Empire" Hip-Hop TV Series, with Terrence Howard
Oct 26th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer for Drew Struzan Documentary "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster"

Posted: July 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer for Drew Struzan Documentary "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster"Submit Comment
It's been about two years since we got a look at a clip from "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster," a documentary about legendary poster artist Drew Struzan. Just a few days ago, director Erik P. Sharkey appeared at Comic-Con and revealed that he has completed the film.

And today, we have the official trailer for the movie that contains lots of praise from such people as Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, Harrison Ford, Frank Darabont, Michael J. Fox, Guillermo Del Toro, Thomas Jane and many others.

At this point, it's still unclear when we'll finally get the chance to see the film. Stay tuned.

Trailer:


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:31:47 AM

A shame reckless visually insulting photoshop has taken over the poster industry.
Bullit writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:40:51 AM

So, this is the man who made all these great posters, I'm glad to know as I never got a clue during who it was after all that time. Undeniably a great artist. He made you want to watch the movies as sometimes, the poster was better than the movie itself.
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:41:59 AM

Amazing ...

I don't know too much about Drew Struzan to be honest, But his work is legendary from time when a poster was a big reason you were going to watch a film on the big screen.

Will be watching this for sure.
-Chewy- writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:42:01 AM

Yeah this guy is talent in human form.

I'll have to watch this.

@Avirex: you are right, the photoshop posters of today are a f*cking insult to humanity.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:50:36 AM

Too bad this current generation can't appreciate posters like these. I used to have the Indiana Jones poster when I was a kid.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 2:29:56 PM

You used to have to work to make a poster look good, but the ease with which photographed material can be shot digitally and then taken into Photoshop made all that irrelevant.

Not really sure though we need a film on Druzan, his outstanding artwork aside, just because the focus of most interest is his art, not the man, just like there's not a huge demand for films on Picasso and van Gogh.

Would rather see him in action, building a poster from concept to finished 'product', but that would never fly with pretty much anyone else.
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 3:34:00 PM

The good thing is that this should inspire artists to go back to their artistic roots but with the new 3D posters,i'm not so sure
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:02:37 PM

This trailer alone makes me want to start finding and collecting hand-drawn movie posters.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:51:55 PM

It should make you want to do some drawing. I know it does that to me.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:54:55 PM

This doc*mentary will have no impact on poster artists going back to their roots, I think, because the studio has far more input on that matter, and they obviously, judging from the glut and surfeit of poor posters form the last twenty years, want, no demand, posters be as cost-effective as possible, and I can tell you, going from blank paper to finished design, as opposed to throwing some digital images into the blender of Photoshop, is far, far more time consuming and expensive.

All about money, bud. Why do you think Hollywood looks like the home decor aisle at Wal-Mart?
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 5:31:48 PM

DAMNU MINK,you have a hyper-common sensibility on a vulcan level!
Theatre posters are doomed!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1umrxqCB-w&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 5:37:22 PM

I'm just saying, Struzan is one of kind, and the law of economics mean then that he's inherently valuable on the commercial artist market, more so than some Photoshop monkey, whom are legion apparently, so why pay big bucks for a supply and demand epitome like Struzan when you can toss some kid five bucks to throw together a poster for the next Silent Hill?
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 6:56:19 PM

I know, youre100% right

Just wishful thinkin
I like to think everything goes in cycles
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 7:11:17 PM

Sorry, bud, but the cynic is me says the happy days of fantastical movie posters, and even more fantastical films, may be over.

"I like to think everything goes in cycles"

It does, according to these guys:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izQB2-Kmiic

KillerCOck writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:57:35 PM

I bought Masters of the Universe on VHS with birthday money when I was a kid, Just because the cover was f*cking dope!

I didn't even realize it was about He-Man until I watched it.

I envy this man's talent
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 9:02:02 PM

Pffft. That's nothing. I bought actual dope with my birthday money.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved