WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Jan 27th, 2015
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Magazine Covers, Opening Scene Revealed
Jan 27th, 2015
Fox Confirms "X-Men" TV Series in the Works
Jan 27th, 2015
Joss Whedon Hints He Won't Direct "Avengers: Infinity War"
Jan 27th, 2015
First Look at Michael B. Jordan in Costume From "Fantastic Four," Trailer Coming Today
Jan 27th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Ridiculous 6" Netflix Film Unveils First Details
Jan 27th, 2015
Trailer for RZA's "The Man With the Iron Fists" Sequel
Jan 27th, 2015
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Talks for "Doctor Strange" Role
Jan 23rd, 2015
Video: Will Ferrell Hits Cheerleader in the Face at Basketball Game
Jan 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Vincent Cassel's "Partisan" Sundance Film
Jan 23rd, 2015
First Look at Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant" Thriller
Jan 22nd, 2015
Photo: Will The Hulk Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
Jan 22nd, 2015
Four Actresses Considered for Female Lead in "Star Wars" Spin-Off
Jan 22nd, 2015
"Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" to Begin Filming in August
Jan 22nd, 2015
Nicolas Cage to Hunt Osama Bin Laden in "Army of One" Comedy, Directed by "Borat" Helmer
Jan 22nd, 2015
Fox Planning New Season of "24" Without Kiefer Sutherland
Jan 22nd, 2015
Promo Art: Batman's Armored Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jan 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Kidnapping Mr. Heineken" Thriller, with Anthony Hopkins and Sam Worthington
Jan 21st, 2015
First Poster for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer for Drew Struzan Documentary "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster"

Posted: July 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer for Drew Struzan Documentary "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster"Submit Comment
It's been about two years since we got a look at a clip from "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster," a documentary about legendary poster artist Drew Struzan. Just a few days ago, director Erik P. Sharkey appeared at Comic-Con and revealed that he has completed the film.

And today, we have the official trailer for the movie that contains lots of praise from such people as Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, Harrison Ford, Frank Darabont, Michael J. Fox, Guillermo Del Toro, Thomas Jane and many others.

At this point, it's still unclear when we'll finally get the chance to see the film. Stay tuned.

Trailer:


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:31:47 AM

A shame reckless visually insulting photoshop has taken over the poster industry.
Bullit writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:40:51 AM

So, this is the man who made all these great posters, I'm glad to know as I never got a clue during who it was after all that time. Undeniably a great artist. He made you want to watch the movies as sometimes, the poster was better than the movie itself.
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:41:59 AM

Amazing ...

I don't know too much about Drew Struzan to be honest, But his work is legendary from time when a poster was a big reason you were going to watch a film on the big screen.

Will be watching this for sure.
-Chewy- writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:42:01 AM

Yeah this guy is talent in human form.

I'll have to watch this.

@Avirex: you are right, the photoshop posters of today are a f*cking insult to humanity.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:50:36 AM

Too bad this current generation can't appreciate posters like these. I used to have the Indiana Jones poster when I was a kid.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 2:29:56 PM

You used to have to work to make a poster look good, but the ease with which photographed material can be shot digitally and then taken into Photoshop made all that irrelevant.

Not really sure though we need a film on Druzan, his outstanding artwork aside, just because the focus of most interest is his art, not the man, just like there's not a huge demand for films on Picasso and van Gogh.

Would rather see him in action, building a poster from concept to finished 'product', but that would never fly with pretty much anyone else.
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 3:34:00 PM

The good thing is that this should inspire artists to go back to their artistic roots but with the new 3D posters,i'm not so sure
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:02:37 PM

This trailer alone makes me want to start finding and collecting hand-drawn movie posters.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:51:55 PM

It should make you want to do some drawing. I know it does that to me.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:54:55 PM

This doc*mentary will have no impact on poster artists going back to their roots, I think, because the studio has far more input on that matter, and they obviously, judging from the glut and surfeit of poor posters form the last twenty years, want, no demand, posters be as cost-effective as possible, and I can tell you, going from blank paper to finished design, as opposed to throwing some digital images into the blender of Photoshop, is far, far more time consuming and expensive.

All about money, bud. Why do you think Hollywood looks like the home decor aisle at Wal-Mart?
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 5:31:48 PM

DAMNU MINK,you have a hyper-common sensibility on a vulcan level!
Theatre posters are doomed!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1umrxqCB-w&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 5:37:22 PM

I'm just saying, Struzan is one of kind, and the law of economics mean then that he's inherently valuable on the commercial artist market, more so than some Photoshop monkey, whom are legion apparently, so why pay big bucks for a supply and demand epitome like Struzan when you can toss some kid five bucks to throw together a poster for the next Silent Hill?
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 6:56:19 PM

I know, youre100% right

Just wishful thinkin
I like to think everything goes in cycles
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 7:11:17 PM

Sorry, bud, but the cynic is me says the happy days of fantastical movie posters, and even more fantastical films, may be over.

"I like to think everything goes in cycles"

It does, according to these guys:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izQB2-Kmiic

KillerCOck writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:57:35 PM

I bought Masters of the Universe on VHS with birthday money when I was a kid, Just because the cover was f*cking dope!

I didn't even realize it was about He-Man until I watched it.

I envy this man's talent
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 9:02:02 PM

Pffft. That's nothing. I bought actual dope with my birthday money.

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds

Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved