WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer for Drew Struzan Documentary "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster"

Posted: July 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer for Drew Struzan Documentary "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster"Submit Comment
It's been about two years since we got a look at a clip from "Drew: The Man Behind The Poster," a documentary about legendary poster artist Drew Struzan. Just a few days ago, director Erik P. Sharkey appeared at Comic-Con and revealed that he has completed the film.

And today, we have the official trailer for the movie that contains lots of praise from such people as Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, Harrison Ford, Frank Darabont, Michael J. Fox, Guillermo Del Toro, Thomas Jane and many others.

At this point, it's still unclear when we'll finally get the chance to see the film. Stay tuned.

Trailer:


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:31:47 AM

A shame reckless visually insulting photoshop has taken over the poster industry.
Bullit writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:40:51 AM

So, this is the man who made all these great posters, I'm glad to know as I never got a clue during who it was after all that time. Undeniably a great artist. He made you want to watch the movies as sometimes, the poster was better than the movie itself.
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:41:59 AM

Amazing ...

I don't know too much about Drew Struzan to be honest, But his work is legendary from time when a poster was a big reason you were going to watch a film on the big screen.

Will be watching this for sure.
-Chewy- writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:42:01 AM

Yeah this guy is talent in human form.

I'll have to watch this.

@Avirex: you are right, the photoshop posters of today are a f*cking insult to humanity.
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 10:50:36 AM

Too bad this current generation can't appreciate posters like these. I used to have the Indiana Jones poster when I was a kid.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 2:29:56 PM

You used to have to work to make a poster look good, but the ease with which photographed material can be shot digitally and then taken into Photoshop made all that irrelevant.

Not really sure though we need a film on Druzan, his outstanding artwork aside, just because the focus of most interest is his art, not the man, just like there's not a huge demand for films on Picasso and van Gogh.

Would rather see him in action, building a poster from concept to finished 'product', but that would never fly with pretty much anyone else.
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 3:34:00 PM

The good thing is that this should inspire artists to go back to their artistic roots but with the new 3D posters,i'm not so sure
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:02:37 PM

This trailer alone makes me want to start finding and collecting hand-drawn movie posters.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:51:55 PM

It should make you want to do some drawing. I know it does that to me.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 4:54:55 PM

This doc*mentary will have no impact on poster artists going back to their roots, I think, because the studio has far more input on that matter, and they obviously, judging from the glut and surfeit of poor posters form the last twenty years, want, no demand, posters be as cost-effective as possible, and I can tell you, going from blank paper to finished design, as opposed to throwing some digital images into the blender of Photoshop, is far, far more time consuming and expensive.

All about money, bud. Why do you think Hollywood looks like the home decor aisle at Wal-Mart?
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 5:31:48 PM

DAMNU MINK,you have a hyper-common sensibility on a vulcan level!
Theatre posters are doomed!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1umrxqCB-w&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 5:37:22 PM

I'm just saying, Struzan is one of kind, and the law of economics mean then that he's inherently valuable on the commercial artist market, more so than some Photoshop monkey, whom are legion apparently, so why pay big bucks for a supply and demand epitome like Struzan when you can toss some kid five bucks to throw together a poster for the next Silent Hill?
pornfly writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 6:56:19 PM

I know, youre100% right

Just wishful thinkin
I like to think everything goes in cycles
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 7:11:17 PM

Sorry, bud, but the cynic is me says the happy days of fantastical movie posters, and even more fantastical films, may be over.

"I like to think everything goes in cycles"

It does, according to these guys:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izQB2-Kmiic

KillerCOck writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 8:57:35 PM

I bought Masters of the Universe on VHS with birthday money when I was a kid, Just because the cover was f*cking dope!

I didn't even realize it was about He-Man until I watched it.

I envy this man's talent
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2012 at 9:02:02 PM

Pffft. That's nothing. I bought actual dope with my birthday money.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved