WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Peter Jackson Wants to Split "Hobbit 2" Into Two Films

Posted: July 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Peter Jackson Wants to Split "Hobbit 2" Into Two FilmsSubmit Comment
Peter Jackson appeared at the San Diego Comic-Con this weekend to promote "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey," telling fans not to expect a new trailer in front of "The Dark Knight Rises," adding that a new trailer will likely come in September.

He also spoke about the recent rumor that in addition to the two "The Hobbit" movies, there will be a third film that will tied the prequels to the "Lord of the Rings" franchise. Warner Bros already stated that the plan was always to have two films. And while Jackson confirmed that, he revealed that "The Hobbit 2" may end up being split into two movies.

"That's a discussion we're having, yeah," said Jackson. "We've been asking them so we can do a bit more filming next year. There's so much good stuff in the appendices that we haven't been able to squeeze into these movies."

Source: Hitfix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Wallace writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 8:42:43 AM

There was more structure in it if they decided to split the whole book into three movies in the beginning.
Now this move could end up in some serious mishmash...
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 9:20:05 AM

""That's a discussion we're having, yeah," said Jackson. "We've been asking them so we can do a bit more filming next year. There's so much good stuff in the appendices that we haven't been able to squeeze into these movies.""

Translation: we saw how much money they milked from the final Twilight and Harry Potter films, so we thought, hey, why not, we missed out on raping Lord of the Rings even though we turned three books into twenty hours of film, but that wasn't fair to us, so yeah, we'd love to milk The Hobbit for all it's worth. We're that jaded and corporatized.
Doc Gonzo writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 10:08:48 AM

What mink said...
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 11:09:14 AM

So they want to squeeze in 3 more hours of everyone saying their farewells?
Rambo writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 11:18:03 AM

yes,cause all your other movies flop,peter...
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 11:57:55 AM

mink's got it covered.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 12:28:35 PM

If Return of the king was made into 2 films, it might've been better. It really is the weakest of the trilogy and pacing was part of that problem.
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 12:34:51 PM

Whatever Peter just release the movies already. You better not dissipoint
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 1:01:53 PM

moo moo moo moo
vincere01 writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 1:10:17 PM

Ok let me start by saying im a big fan of lotr and jackson in general. My favourite halloween movie is The Frighteners. Very underated movie. Great performence by michael j fox and jeffrey combs who gets no attention. But as far as this news goes im torn. Part of me thinks it will be a mistake if done for the wrong reasons. If they do it purely for money and have nothing of substance to say than gtfo. However im willing to give jackson some slack to prove its worthwhile. IF they come up with enough material from tolkien to tell the story and if it is adapted well for screen then i would love nothing more than to continue in that world. Hell it would give more of the original cast a chance to appear. I for one would love to see aragorn as a ranger. See some badass loner combat. So im on the fence. It has a great upside but also a possible horrible horrible money grab downside. But ill trust jackson for now
MoJoFallen writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 1:24:03 PM

You tell em vincere.... you tell em ;) kisses!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 1:46:33 PM

Mink wins this thread.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 3:00:46 PM

Okay, so what's my prize?

Please tell me it's not Sulunakamura....
bane writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 6:23:26 PM

he wants it
he needs it

must
have the Precciioouussssss
pornfly writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 6:44:18 PM

PORNFLY wants to split Kate Upton into two
Zeroguy writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 7:07:31 PM

I don't see this as a twilight or harry potter move. It's just taking the book and making it into three films. Yes, to tell the entire story but to also make loads of money.
I thinking though, since the LotR trilogy was longer than being on acid during a colonoscopy (or just regular gay sex) I thought the Hobbit film should just be a quick 80 minute film. A f*ck you to the fanboys and a time saver.
Btw, anyone discrediting Jackson and his films, just watch his stuff before he adapted Tolkein. f*cking genius work.
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 7:47:46 PM

yay another 9 hours of walking
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 7:52:30 PM

"during a colonoscopy (or just regular gay sex)"


Theoretically, is there much of a difference?
DeVries writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 9:05:39 PM

Mink is right, but if Jackson does it right, there is enough materiel in Tolkien's writings to do a sh*tload of movies. But would they all be good ? Nah.
Recumbentibus writes:
on July 16th, 2012 at 10:38:32 PM

Why don't they split Hobbit 2 into two films and then split the second of those two in films into yet two more films? They continue this process ad nauseam until they have milked the franchise for all its worth.
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on July 17th, 2012 at 3:48:22 AM

Lol seems like you idiots are never happy about anything whether its lotr or twilight or marvel all u guys do is bitch alott. So what do you morons actually like like ? Is it penis like ranger?
Well anyways 3 hobbit sounds like a good odea to me

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved