WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "Dredd" Reviews are Very Positive

Posted: July 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "Dredd" Reviews are Very PositiveSubmit Comment
The upcoming "Judge Dredd" remake, called "Dredd," premiered at the San Diego Comic-Con. And now the first reactions are making their way online, and they are almost all very positive. Most critics agree that it's an entertaining and super-violent film. Check them some of the reactions below.

* /Film: DREDD is a lot of fun. A return to 80s action, The Raid meets Robocop on a mini scale. Gritty and violent.

* Collider: DREDD was a super hard R and a lot better than I thought it would be. Again....super hard R. 3D was also great.

* FirstShowing: Dredd 3D - Uh yea, that was awesome. Badass, loved it. Yes, the helmet never comes off. Liked it more than The Raid, a lot more, honestly.

* /Film (second critic): Dredd is super solid. Great music and fun action wrapped around a simple, straight narrative.

* CraveOnline: DREDD is like an '80s Paul Verhoeven sci-fi movie with gratuitous bloody violence. I loved it.

* AMC: Think I just saw the most violent movie I've ever seen in my life!

* Empire: I liked Dredd a lot more second time around.

* /Film (third critic): not too dumb, not too smart, very bloody, fun.

* TotalFilm: The body count is high, the humor grim and the violence stylishly graphic.

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MarshallErikson writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 7:22:48 AM

Well that's really good to hear because honestly, I was super worried that this was going to suck. That trailer was just awful. We need a red band trailer to really capture it I think.
Recumbentibus writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 7:23:19 AM

Actually sounds pretty awesome, maybe I will finally get to see another good Carpenter film that happens to not actually be directed by John Carpenter.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 7:24:24 AM

The trailer looked like battlefield earth.and no you cannot top the fighting scenes from the raid.
Rambo writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 7:24:48 AM

i'll be the judge of that...

wink wink
Gates writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 7:25:24 AM

Sounds like they "may have" done Judge Dredd justice (pun intended). I'll wait for more reviews but the movie has definitely gotten on my to-see list.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 7:25:28 AM

And a scarface c*nt for a woman villian hell no.
boogiel writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 7:41:22 AM

"The Raid meets Robocop on a mini scale. Gritty and violent."


Sounds too good to be true.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 9:36:46 AM

Can't be worse than Stalones...
shayhiri writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 9:39:15 AM

Told you it was gonna be good the minute I saw Garland was writing it.

The story's the most important thing, even in a mindless action like this.
hugeegosorry writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 9:52:30 AM

This should shup up all those dumbasses on here that were nagging and complaining that this was going to be sh*t (as they do for all movies)
Dre-EL writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 9:53:49 AM

Dredd had already made my go-see list.
nawtnt writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 10:05:29 AM

"DREDD is like an '80s Paul Verhoeven sci-fi movie"

"DREDD is a lot of fun. A return to 80s action, The Raid meets Robocop on a mini scale. Gritty and violent."

If those reviews are true then I'm in.

Dredd as a return to 80's action and is super hard R, that would mean a awesome hard violent no CGI action movie.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 10:17:03 AM

I'm not even gonna pay for it at the theater.the fighting scenes were atrocious,especially that rookie cop.she hit a criminal and the f*cker barely moved

I would rather watch punisher war zone again.unless they show a better trailer with better action footage.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 10:21:28 AM

Shayhiry thinks green hornet was the sh*t.so for that your opinion is not valid.green hornet is another horrible movie with sh*tty fighting scenes and bad editing.I couldnt even finish that pile of sh*t.

Put it this way.dredd trailer was so bad it made me wanna watch dark knight rises.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 11:16:08 AM

f*cking awesome!!! The trailer has been growing on me for a while now even though I was a little skeptical upon first viewing. Now I really want to see this film. Ultra violence and Dredd are a perfect combination :-)
leezy84 writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 11:19:27 AM

Bando you so f*cking clueless, Punisher war zone was the biggest pile of sh*t i have ever scene, everyones expectations for dredd was very low but, its getting good reviews and you still trash it, look at your avatar ffs expendables was f*cking terrible and your last one Wolverine Origins another gash film begone with your sh*t opinions and i guarantee you watch TDKR and you will love i, you f*cking absolute bellend
SACdaddy writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 11:20:36 AM

@Bando: From the reviews its sounds like they couldn't show much of the real action in the trailer due to its graphic content. We need the Restricted trailer for this ASAP.
rocketman writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 11:25:50 AM

Prepare to suck the sweet c*ck of justice!
Empire,SFX and Total Film loved it...good enough for me.
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 11:48:32 AM

Above me are thirty people who say "I don't care what the critics say!" until said critics say they like the film these people want to like.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 11:51:18 AM

Yep.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 11:51:50 AM

And when it's a 'Hard R' rating. Does the R then mean 'Rape'? Because if so... I'll watch this.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 11:57:15 AM

Uh yeah war zone had a 5th grade script.but the action was top notch.the script for dredd is lacking and the action so far is sh*t as well.show me the red band trailer to prove me wrong then.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 12:10:32 PM

So far so good, it's not out yet though.
bane writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 2:46:17 PM

hello my fellow cinema lovers

my real name is Gerard Kennelly

i am 26

i live in ireland
coldplayesence writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 2:56:07 PM

Poor Karl Urban, even if the movie rocks he'll still be a "guy from another movie I kind of remember, I think".
SACdaddy writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 3:07:43 PM

^^ I wouldn't say that if he makes several more Star Trek films. He'll be Bones :-)
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 3:08:18 PM

yeah right this bullsh*t i don't believe this for a second
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 3:22:11 PM

Very positive, just like Jayden Smith's AIDS test.
kBob writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 3:54:07 PM

Expendables 2 > Dredd
bane writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 4:09:00 PM

here is what
we never saw in the trailer
Dredd shoots some one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KdWoJgDk60Y
bane writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 4:16:50 PM

lbleedjustfine

http://collider.com/will-smith-cain-and-abel-movie/179634/
bane writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 4:17:01 PM

lbleedjustfine

http://collider.com/will-smith-cain-and-abel-movie/179634/
Dark6Revenge66 writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 5:18:18 PM

ranger notice how no gives a f*ck what you have to say so leave this site at once
retard.
paulodelrey writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 5:26:38 PM

excited! the trailer with all the slow motion sh*t of that drug.. made it look bad ass.
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 5:31:30 PM

^
coming from the person who thinks Lindsey lovag is better than us all
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 7:15:30 PM

I never really liked the comics, so that may explain my lack of excitement for the movie.

However, since Empire(who typically knows their comic book movies) said it was somewhat enjoyable, I guess its worth a looksee on bootleg.
DeVries writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 7:18:32 PM

Fix the f*cking trailer fast then, it f*cking looks like it's full of nothing.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 7:40:07 PM

@Sacdaddy: thanks, now I remember the movie where I saw him! LOL
Kurskij writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 8:07:52 PM

@bando

Punisher War Zone was sh*t. Ray Winstone is THE sh*t, but the movie was nothing more than a badly filmed low-budget waste of film. Watch "Showdown in Little Tokio" instead.

p.s. still think it's going to flop. Either you get decent marketing out there or nothing.

BTW Gareth Edwards of "Raid" fame said it's very solid action wise. Still a blu-ray watch for me.
Kurskij writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 8:09:35 PM

Sorry, Gareth Evans.

Oh, those up-and-coming directors of solid movies.
paulodelrey writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 10:10:09 PM

@DexterMorgan xo
jikae writes:
on July 14th, 2012 at 6:49:20 PM

@Shayhiri So you think that someone who DIRECTLY copies the storyline of "The Raid", or the opening sequence of the original Judge Dredd and stretches it for the feature length of the movie is considered 'good writing'? Interesting.
ichigo san writes:
on July 15th, 2012 at 1:40:40 PM

@jikae

Well it's pretty silly of you to SERIOUSLY think they copied "The Raid"! Despite the FACT that the "Dredd" script was leaked online more that TWO YEARS ago, and that they began filming it BEFORE "The Raid" even began production, and FINISHED filming before "The Raid" started.

"Dredd" is a far bigger INDEPENDENT production with far more effects shots. It also had it's release date pushed back!!! If you SERIOUSLY think that they watched "The Raid" and then made a movie the scale of "DREDD" in a month, then that is simply daft!

Before spouting nonsense, do your research! This is coincidence, and it was ill timing.



jikae writes:
on July 17th, 2012 at 7:02:48 PM

@ichigo Granted, I didn't do any research before spouting that out, but in the mind of the public, they see "The Raid" with that story line that's been released already followed by "Dredd". I'm just thinking out loud what the public thinks.

As for me, I 'enjoyed' the Stallone Dredd when it came out (I was in juior high and wasn't familiar with the comic books). So, I'm looking forward to this movie as well. Anything post-apocalyptic, I'm in.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved