WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Independence Day" and "Stargate" Sequels in the Works

Posted: July 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Independence Day" and "Stargate" Sequels in the WorksSubmit Comment
Director Roland Emmerich (2012, The Day After Tomorrow) has been talking about making two more "Independence Day" movies, but instead settled for converting the first film to 3D for a July 3rd, 2013 release. But despite the 3D re-release, co-writer Dean Devlin says that a sequel is closer to reality than ever before.

"[It's going to be challenging to] get all the pieces to come together. But creatively, for the very first time since we did the original, I feel we have a worthy concept, a worthy path to go," he explained. "I feel like we got it. I think it took a long time, but I feel like we finally got something that really feels like, 'that's worth seeing as a sequel to Independence Day.'"

He added: "We're beginning a long process of talking to everybody. We'll just have to see what happens."

Devlin was also a producer on Emmerich's "Stargate," a film that may get a sequel as well. "When we made the first one, we always intended on doing part two and three, and we were prevented for years," he said. "And our hope is that we can get another chance at 'Stargate' and tell the entire story we wanted to tell."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 7:29:57 AM

screw stargate but i'd love another Independence day...and another corny us president speech
Avirex writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 7:55:32 AM

"Awwww hellll NAWWWWW!!"
trailertrash writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 8:15:23 AM

If they do an ID4 pt2 i just hope the f*cking dog dies this time
AngryAngel writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 8:36:29 AM

Been wanting more stargate ever since Stargate Universe got canceled.
pornfly writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 8:40:11 AM

Have Vivica squeeze on her gstring after all these years to scare the aliens away
nawtnt writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 9:35:01 AM

A seuqel to Independence Day? Seriously this could the worst sequel idea ever since Idiania Jones.

And Stargate? No way.
Akasha writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 9:39:37 AM

@TT

That dog is long dead already. The brat on the other hand..
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 9:40:33 AM

Another Stargate *film* would be nice, as long as they pretend none of the shows ever happened.

That was just BAD television. It was like Star Trek Voyager without the Enterprise, that one cool crew member and that one hot cyborg. The CGI was bad, the sets were bland and repetitive, and the entire premise was just dull as f*ck for a show based on the idea you can instantly travel anywhere in the galaxy. About as wasted an opportunity as Sliders, but without Maximillian Arturo. Or the slick black guy Rembrandt.

As for the Independence Day sequel....stupid. They already destroyed all the ships, the mother....thing went bang, and the earth was 'liberated'. Besides, the entire first film was a pretty dumb idea, from the nonsensical title to the concept, to a Jew and some wisecracking back guy saving the world, to how they destroyed the ships with a sharp shot to the d*ck, like October's idea of a good time.

If they want to do another, just reboot it entirely. And make it make some damned sense this time.
nawtnt writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 9:40:34 AM

Sorry, I mean Indiana Jones 4.
Dre-EL writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 9:54:22 AM

Devlin needs to get over himself he lost stargate over a decade now. Move on.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 10:15:44 AM

Please not another stargate movie the first one was hideous. I got stuck at a party that went for three days and for some reason the tv had stargate playing on loop so very bad memories of james spader as the love interest he looked like a runaway labrador. You could set a watch to kurt russell's haircut as well very aerodynamic and the plot was a like a crap egyption themed circus that enslaved people.

Also Independence day 2 this sh*t just got real someone kill simth jnr before he gets cast in every role of the movie
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 11:30:32 AM

Wonder if its that story where we intercept a message to the other aliens and we have x amount of years to absorb their technology into ours before the next invasion? Dunno if I wanna see that or not.
cress writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 11:44:49 AM

Independence Day sucked. SUCKED. I wouldn't mind a reboot of Stargate, but from a entirely new creative team, not Devlin/Emmerich. And while the series might not have been the finest hours of television, it was popular enough to spawn a couple of spinoff shows. And it was better than any Star Trek show post-Next Generation. And most people think of the TV series rather than the film when brought up. So Devlin should just go bury his Stargate sequel boner in some other pie.
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 1:39:04 PM

why these movies f*cking suck more f*cking balls than f*cking plasticfaggit
bandolero999 writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 2:59:17 PM

both unnecessary
Kurskij writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 3:02:20 PM

Again?
Tebeck writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 6:23:16 PM

How? How can you possibly make a sequel to independance day?
mrstretch writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 6:58:19 PM

^^Independence Night...this time sh*t gets real.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 7:21:48 PM

The Day After Independence Day. TDAID4.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 7:40:21 PM

Why!?!
jatilq writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 9:35:49 PM

Watch The Dark Knight Rises: Journey Trailer

http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=92386

warning its going to ask you to install silverlight
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 11th, 2012 at 12:32:43 AM

Roland Emmerich is the 2nd worst director after Paul 'Watery Sperm' Anderson to have money thrown at them to make complete trash.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved