WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Benedict Cumberbatch's "Star Trek 2" Role Revealed

Posted: July 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Benedict CumberbatchSubmit Comment
Not too long ago, it was rumored that Benedict Cumberbatch will be playing Khan in the upcoming "Star Trek" sequel. Director JJ Abrams, the writers, and Simon Pegg denied the rumor. And now comes word directly from Karl Urban that Cumberbatch will be playing Gary Mitchell.

Serving on the Enterprise, Mitchell and another crew member, Elizabeth Dehner, are exposed to a powerful energy while attempting to cross the Milky Way's galactic barrier. Following the ordeal, Mitchell and Dehner begin to exhibit superhuman powers which grow exponentially until Kirk decides that, for the safety of his ship, he must maroon both crew members on the uninhabited Delta Vega (a planet that made an appearance in Abrams' first "Star Trek" film).

This information also explains why Cumberbatch was spotted wearing the Starfleet uniform on the "Star Trek 2" set. The new movie is set to hit theaters on May 17th, 2013.

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 8:03:00 PM

Really? That's the story line for the new movie. They should have just done Khan if they ate going to redo the old tv episodes...
minkowski writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 9:02:52 PM

I'm with ya, Cruzcontrol, because the storyline, and apparent lack of a strong villain/hero contrast, isn't exactly blowing my skirt up either.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 11:00:45 PM

I called it a while back when they said they were gonna use an original series villan.
cress writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 12:12:40 AM

I'm confident this will turn out well. I thought the 2009 film was extremely smart for the simple fact that it allows any future films to mine old characters and storylines due to the alternate timeline created. I like Abrams, and even though I thought Super 8 sucked, I'm sure this will be good.
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 2:08:32 AM

What cruz said.

My top 5 from the original series (in no particular order):

The City on the Edge of Forever.
Arena (Gorns will F*CK YOU UP!).
Spectre of the Gun (the missing walls in the saloon etc. was due to the limited budget, but they explained it and it worked for that episode).
The Trouble with Tribbles.
A Piece of the Action (alright Spocko... cover 'em and who doesn't love a good game of Fizbin?).

Jumping ahead to TNG:

'The Inner Light'
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 2:18:04 AM

Here's a clip from the upcoming Star Trek II... so save your $'s.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9RC6NKPsqQ
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 2:51:48 AM

My fav:
the corbomite maneuver
mirror mirror

and from TNG (liked it more then the original)

Clues (great f*cking episode)
The best of both worlds
A frame of mind
All good things (one of the best finales ever to any tv show)
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 3:36:02 AM

The Best of Both Worlds should have been TNG's first theater movie outing... instead of 'Generations' IMO. As for 'Generations' ending, (I've posted this here before) I thought Kirk, for all his decades of service - Picard could have sent Kirk into the Nexus so he could live the life he gave up for Star Fleet, instead of: 'It was fun' and buried under a pile of rocks... Zzzzz...

Corbomite Maneuver... pretty sweet episode. It was a good game of chess.
JensdePens writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 4:47:26 AM

it's probably/hopefully a subplot. They get 'marooned' and come back to save the enterprise.
TemporalFlux writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 8:19:44 AM

Hmm, super humans marooned by KIrk, where have I heard that before? So basically just a rehashed 'Space Seed'/'Wrath of Khan' then. We are getting Khan afterall, just with a different character name.
TemporalFlux writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 8:29:08 AM

Sounds like they are just 'melding' old episodes together.
Bunny X writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 8:39:53 AM

It does fit into the theme of the first movie. No matter how much the timeline has changed, some things you just can't change. So even though this timeline is different, Kirk still maroons someone on a remote planet.

That being said, The Wrath of Gary is underwhelming to say the least.

They should have just gone with my idea and take advantage of the altered timeline and have Kirk and Kahn be friends that eventually fall to the whim of fate and become mortal enemies. Like what they tried in Smallville.
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 12:48:58 PM

'No matter how much the timeline has changed, some things you just can't change.' - exactly.

I never really thought Kirk killed Gary at the end of 'Where no Man has gone before' - I know the girl (Sally Kellerman) weakened him. So I figure Gary was only knocked-out at best when he fell into the grave, with the gravestone falling on top of him. When he awoke... Kirk and the Enterprise were gone. A lot of ways they could play this. I just WISH they came up with something completely clever and new. Something that would really prequel an old episode. So much so, that we only make the connection in about the last 60 seconds of the movie.
TemporalFlux writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 1:17:26 PM

I know it is based on 'Where No Man Has Gone Before', but they really needed a Khan-esque nemesis for the sequel (Lets face it, it needs to be as good as, or better than Wrath of Khan after the success of the reboot). Although, I'm quite sure old 'Bendy-d*ck c*m-In-Her-Snatch' is up to the task.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 3:14:42 PM

What was the whole point of reinventing the franchise if they're just going to rip-off the old series?

You'd think that of they were going to try to re-do Star Trek, no mean feat, they'd at least make sure they had the creativity beforehand, instead of just robbing Roddenberry from the grave.
cress writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 7:44:10 PM

Rick Berman and Brannon Bragga had been robbing Roddenberry from the grave for years before Abrams, Orci, and Kurtzman showed up.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 10th, 2012 at 10:54:37 PM

All this time Abrams/Orci/Kurtzman/Lindelof have been saying this sequel won't have a number in the title and recently one of them said it may not even have 'Star Trek' in the title and with Karl Urban revealing that Benny c*mbatch is Gary Mitchell we can surmise that the movie will simply be called 'Gary Mitchell'.

I predict a huge box office success with such a dynamic and exciting title.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved