WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Amazing Spider-Man" Earns $140 Million at Box Office

Posted: July 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Amazing Spider-Man" Earns $140 Million at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
"The Amazing Spider-Man" grossed $140 million over its six-day domestic opening, which is enough for Sony to continue the franchise. The reboot earned a total of $341 million in its first week, which includes $201 million internationally. It cost $230 million to make and has a 73% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The new movie performed well, but couldn't beat "Transformers," which opened on the same weekend in 2007 and went on to gross $155 million. Out of the comic-book reboots, however, "The Amazing Spider-Man" bested "Batman Begins" ($79.5 million) and "X-Men: First Class" ($69.9 million).

Looking at the previous three Spidey movies, "The Amazing Spider-Man" came close to the $144.2 million that "Spider-Man" grossed in 2002. But fell way short of "Spider-Man 2" ($180.1 million) and "Spider-Man 3" ($176.2 million).

Meanwhile, Oliver Stone's "Savage" beat expectations by grossing $16.2 million on a $45 million budget. That was good enough for fourth place. The new movie has a 53% fresh rating.

"Katy Perry: Part of Me" also opened domestically, taking in $7.2 million and landing in eighth place. That's significantly lower than other concert movies like "Justin Bieber: Never Say Never" ($29.4 million) and "Hannah Montana: Best of Both Worlds Concert Tour" ($31.1 million). "Part of Me" cost $12 million to make and has a fresh rating of 75%.

Click here to read our "The Amazing Spider-Man" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 8:26:27 PM

Yep. Over 300million worldwide. Beat out Batman Begins.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 8:27:38 PM

Oh. I see. You just copied word for word the article I read eight hours ago.

Touche, WosrtPreviews.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 9:00:39 PM

Katy Perry 75%
Amazing Spiderman 73%

Both have tightoutfits and gay
Doucheception writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 9:07:21 PM

X-Men: First Class is not a reboot, it's a prequel
bandolero999 writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 9:50:37 PM

Hahahhaaa savages bombed because of John carter.
Go canada
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 9:52:44 PM

In that pic She looks ready for that huge-thick-ummm, spider-c*ck┐┐
bandolero999 writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 9:57:03 PM

Someone wake me up when Emma stone develops curves like Christina hendricks.otherwise I would only gave f*ck her cause she needs to eat some quarter pounders.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 10:01:01 PM

Face f*ck her
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 10:07:25 PM

That's THREE bombs for that Taylor sh*ts guy. But hey, he's working on a new Peter Berg film with Mark Wahlberg, so we know that'll be a hit.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 10:10:10 PM

Peter berg is allowed to work again?
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 10:20:53 PM

Yep.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1091191/
Big_Daddy writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 10:24:37 PM

Sucked gigantic donkey balls.....but I did think Garfield was a good casting call.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 10:33:38 PM

It's funny. A man named Peter BERG made a film, concerning ships, that sunk at the box office.

If someone ever wastes the time to write his biography, they should ironically title it 'Unsinkable'.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 11:08:02 PM

Imagine that. Bring on the next one. Let's get it over with so we can have the next reboot.
p3rfect writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 11:29:57 PM

@Mink I have a question.I am simply curious.
Do you get paid to post on WP articles? Does the Worstpreviews staff pay you to keep these article comments lively, you a staffer?
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2012 at 11:36:17 PM

PAY NO ATTENTION TO THE MAN BEHIND THE CUBICLE
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 1:23:41 AM

This movie is trying to recreate the magic of the original trilogy and it's sucking out. Sony is a stubborn corporation and with everything they did with this film they are the new 20th Century Fox, squeezing the life out of franchises and concepts to as cash cows. I haven't seen this movie yet but every single person I've talked said it basically took half the elements from the original film of 2002. All I know is the film has gotten a low rating, couldn't beat the original films unbelievable box office numbers, and you know what I don't care if they say the chemistry is better. They said the same thing about Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart when Twilight came out and we all know what a waste of 4 years that has been. So if I see the movie and I am awestruck I'll gladly apologize to anyone here who liked it, but man there is no buzz to this film where I live. Maybe two people said they liked it and one of them was a 10 year old girl who only liked the flippin' romance of the film. It's a superhero film!!! I need more than that crap!
super_suck writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 1:23:57 AM

Mink: You're allowed to post, again and again. You are the Berg of Worst Previews. You know what? That was too far man. I'm sorry. You're the Uwe Boll of the Internet. At least Berg has successful credits behind his name. At least he's actually done something with his life. At least he's taken gambles with his own money. Oh No! What have you done? Where's your movie? What are your credits besides posting on here?

Wait I'm sorry, let me talk in a way that you can understand. sh*t, f*ck, p*ssy, *sshole, daughter, rape, hole, stupid, gamble, life, actually works in Hollywood (oh wait too far), d*ck joke, balls, hey Ranger give me validation on the internet, whores....
pornfly writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 1:31:06 AM

MINK has to be an employee of the month here
Look at all the new valued customers he brings
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 1:44:08 AM

Yep.

I for one have enjoyed just uploading a picture of my nicely trimmed c*ck within my profile (complete with PlasticGoof's daughter's teeth marks... BA-BOING!).
codeman_1216 writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 2:30:55 AM

Motherf*ckers (lol I didn't get spell checked for that), if you don't like what Mink posts, ignore his ass, it's that simple. Otherwise, he'll post more sh*t that pisses you off and the cycle continues.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 2:38:56 AM

Saw Savages today lol was a pretty good movie, But the ending (To anyone who has seen it) was f*cked lol Not gonna say Double Ending, But Double f*cking Ending..
pornfly writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 2:45:00 AM

^thx
was waitin for some reviews
Rambo writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 3:09:39 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9vGOkcty1aI
pornfly writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 3:33:10 AM

^i like how MJ avoids the trampoline at the end
brokeboy writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 4:20:24 AM

is mink seth rogen?
Johnnyb writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 4:44:50 AM

Just 2 weeks left before Spidey says goodbye to the Box Office!!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 4:52:06 AM

Saw Spider-Man at the weekend, It was alright not as bad as some have said.

The thing that didn't add up to me was the timeline of the film it just didn't seem right, a lot happened and was forgotten to quickly for me.




trailertrash writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 5:49:56 AM

Bet Katy Perry wished she'd shown her bacon bits now
trailertrash writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 5:50:34 AM

I know i do .....
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 9:46:30 AM

@brokeboy - no. mink at times can be funny.
james236 writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 11:37:53 AM

I still want back my 11.50 from TAS.
ALIsuperstar writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 5:24:22 PM

Hey I get paid for not posting messages, look what happend, I make too many mistakes, they gonna fire me tommorrow! A trump gonna tell me to pack my things and run to a next website!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved