WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 29th, 2014
Harrison Ford is Feeling Better, "Star Wars: Episode VII" Resumes Filming
Aug 29th, 2014
Ben Kingsley Wants to Return as The Mandarin in "Iron Man 4"
Aug 29th, 2014
Hilary Swank Battles ALS in "You're Not You" Trailer
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Scribbler" Comic Book Film
Aug 29th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Answers If Hawkeye Will Die in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Daily Show" host Jon Stewart's "Rosewater" Film
Aug 29th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Aug 29th, 2014
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Aug 27th, 2014
Henry Cavill Does the Ice Bucket Challenge in His Superman Costume
Aug 27th, 2014
"Da Vinci Code 3" to Begin Filming in April, Tom Hanks Set to Return
Aug 27th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Set Photo Honors Richard Attenborough
Aug 27th, 2014
First Look at Lucy Lawless in Marvel's "Agents of SHIELD" TV Series
Aug 27th, 2014
Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Unveils IMAX TV Spot
Aug 27th, 2014
Trailer for "The Pyramid" Thriller, From Alexandre Aja
Aug 27th, 2014
"Full House" Sequel Coming to TV, With Original Cast
Aug 26th, 2014
Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller Unveils Emmy Awards TV Spot
Aug 26th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Hawkeye May Appear in "Captain America 3"
Aug 26th, 2014
Tyler Perry Never Heard of David Fincher Until Joining His "Gone Girl" Film
Aug 26th, 2014
"Thor" Star Chris Hemsworth in Talks For "Vacation" Reboot
Aug 26th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill in "The Man From UNCLE"
Aug 26th, 2014
"Shutter Island" to Become a TV Series, Martin Scorsese May Direct
Aug 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Discusses "Blade Runner" and "Prometheus" Sequels
Aug 26th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "As Above So Below" Horror Film
Aug 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Matt Damon in "Elysium" Sci-Fi Film

Posted: July 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Matt Damon in "Elysium" Sci-Fi FilmSubmit Comment
We've already seen a few set photos, but today we have the first official shot of Matt Damon from the upcoming "Elysium" sci-fi movie, which is directed by Neill Blomkamp (District 9) and is set to hit theaters on March 1st, 2013.

Plot: In the year 2159 two classes of people exist: the very wealthy who live on a pristine man-made space station called Elysium, and the rest, who live on an overpopulated, ruined Earth.

Secretary Rhodes (Jodie Foster), a hard line government official, will stop at nothing to enforce anti-immigration laws and preserve the luxurious lifestyle of the citizens of Elysium.

That doesn’t stop the people of Earth from trying to get in, by any means they can. When unlucky Max (Damon) is backed into a corner, he agrees to take on a daunting mission that if successful will not only save his life, but could bring equality to these polarized worlds.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
witwicky-potter writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 7:38:43 AM

I still dont get why Neill Blomkamp the District 9 sequel yet. alot of people are waiting for it.Cant say much about this yet,though with Matt Damon on board,i could give it a try
Avirex writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 7:46:01 AM

Appearance wise Damon reminds me of Willis in 12 Monkeys.
pornfly writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 8:21:15 AM

Hey Jodie
any traction on that Rhode?
Rambo writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 8:25:32 AM

scottie doesn't know...
Kurskij writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 8:57:11 AM

^bugaga
boogiel writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 9:16:29 AM

Looks like a cool sh*t.
cress writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 9:24:01 AM

Sounds similar to the plot to that 2005 Romero DEAD flick but set in space. Still, I'm looking forward to a good scifi film to wash the sh*t taste out of my mouth that Prometheus left.
Bullit writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 10:25:29 AM

"the very wealthy who live on a pristine man-made space station called Elysium, and the rest, who live on an overpopulated"


How can you bring quality in terms of living space when there must be billions of human life on Earth eager to live in a better place by going to space and take over a space station which physically couldn't possibly be big enough to contain billions of human beings! The space station should be as big as planet Earth.

I have to be suspicious since they fooled me with Prometheus...
SACdaddy writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 10:43:41 AM

Blomkamp earned my respect and temporary loyalty with District 9, so I'll definitely give this a chance.
allesbraun writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 12:12:38 PM

So Astroboy or Battle Angel Alita, again?
vincere01 writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 12:23:51 PM

There will never be a district 9 sequel. I honestly dont see a quality story left there. It would be nothing like the original was. Anything after those events would just move into been there done that area
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 12:40:45 PM

Totally reminds me of Star Trek Original Series episode "The Cloud Miners" where the elite inhabitants of the floating city reaps the benefits from the population stuck on the planet who need to work the dangerous mines. I'm sure Blomkamp will do justice to this update as District 9 was stellar. And hopefully we get a scene where Damon kidnaps Foster brings her down to the ruined earth to rub her nose in garbage and demands equality.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 2:43:50 PM

district 9 was great. i will definitely give this a shot...
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 3:22:57 PM

Yeah, this is just a retelling of the Time Machine, without the time machine. Eloi versus Morlock. With a bit of Fahrenheit 451 thrown in, maybe.

Never saw D9, but I think I saw enough "white South Africa sucks" with Lethal Weapon 2.

And fenderdude...f*ck you.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 3:40:31 PM

@Mink

You should give district 9 a chance. After viewing the entire movie you will see it's worth the watch.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 3:41:46 PM

It's one of those films I plant to watch, just for some reason, I've never got around to it...is it better than Battle Los Angeles?
trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 3:43:55 PM

Much better Mink, In fact it plays better the 2nd time you watch it.

Thats what i found anyway.
trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 3:45:58 PM

Funny Battle LA was better on the small screen.

It was too much shake and jig but it didn't seem so bad on my TV at home.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 3:49:19 PM

Battle LA had no story. No explanation. It was like Call of Duty + Halo, without any backstory. Pretty much a failure, given the impressive effects...
trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 3:54:00 PM

Yeah it had that feel they were making it up as they went along.

But it was a lot better than Skyline, Man that movie was poor, The effects weren't bad for the budget they worked with.

Those strouse brothers are f*ckin nasty film makers if you ask me.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 4:49:50 PM

District 9 is the best sci-fi movie in at least a decade in my opinion. Sharlto Copley is great as the lead and the effects for the miniature budget are awesome. If you find 2 hours of free time i'd definitely check it out mink

as for this movie, blomkamp has my attention until he makes something sh*tty
pornfly writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 5:06:01 PM

MINK so you saw Battle L.A. but not District 9
sounds like youre a glutton for punishment

i dont even like thinkin of D9, just for the simple fact that the sequel will never come and if it does it wont live up to expectations after being dragged out for so long
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 5:08:35 PM

District 9 was a brilliant sci-fi and will definitely give you better exposure and update on Apartheid South Africa than Lethal Weapon 2. Many South Africans were forced into relocation settlements by government workers who served eviction notices (sometimes by physical force). A brutal reality experienced in many SA townships and it translates exceptional well in this gritty sci-fi movie. It also had 4 Academy nominations including (and unexpected) Best Picture 2010. D9 has made Sharlto Copley a great new actor to watch out for and Blomkamp a hot director. Effects are awesome considering the budget they worked with. Definitely worth the watch and much better than Battle Los Angeles.
pornfly writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 5:40:48 PM

Big fan of Copley after his coin flip performance in D9 and ATeam
I dont like sayin anythn bout anything i recommend except that i recommend it
Tebeck writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 5:42:40 PM

I didnt care for district 9. But I wont let that detract me from giving this one a chance. It is afteall, a somewhat original story rather than a reboot/remake/re-invent.
vaodsi writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 5:59:24 PM

District 9 was good. Especially considering it was made for less than half the budget of Battle LA (30 million as opposed to 70). I'll see this for sure.
j-man writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 6:48:04 PM

Willia has put on a few pounds
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 7:09:36 PM

@minkowski

I remember us arguing about the plot of this movie and Neil Blokamp's merit, and it kind of makes sense now that we know that you haven't seen District 9. SquirrelFlyer said it best. District 9 has my vote for the best sci-fi movie of the noughties, especially considering its budget.

Sorry if it doesn't live up to the hype that we have collectively put on it.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 7:18:41 PM

No, I haven't seen it, but I've read ALL about it, via Wiki and tens of websites, and as I said then, and I'll say now, I have little interest in science fiction that masquerades as leftwing propaganda and/or allegory.

Furthermore, I just downloaded the Elektria (they're a Russian film rip group) theatrical copy, skimmed through it, and found that it's pretty much what I thought.

And the effects...not bad. Probably better than some of the execution, like Copely breaks the glass with his gun, which was either poorly edited, or just poorly done period.

Anyway, AA, I hope you feel better now that you FINALLY found a use for that long-retired argument you stored away for whatever desperate need you have to feel right, but regardless, having seen what I've seen, I'm neither impressed, nor am I persuaded to change my mind.

And people wonder why I hate them...petty. Just petty.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 7:19:12 PM

...when...
pornfly writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 8:02:24 PM

^all im gonna say is that its not 'in your face' preachy like Avatar and you can find propaganda in a grilled cheese sandwich if you look hard enough
Just get some WillyWonka and enjoy an above average sci-fi alien film. Ok lil buddy?

OK
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 8:08:42 PM

I think I'll just stick to READING science fiction. Rarely does it ever work well in film, mostly because of the prejudices of the people holding the purse.

Thanks anyway.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 9:23:53 PM

Wait... so, you reached an opinion about the movie by reading about it? I LLOL'd (literally laughed out loud (and overdosed)) when I read that. Dude, you are fascinating as f***! You probably do the same s*** with music.

*The following section is a FICTIONAL exchange between Minkowski and me on the subject of music*

Me: Hey Minkowski, how do you feel about Bitches Brew by Miles Davis?
Minkowski: It is his most horrible work. It isn't even jazz. Why did he think that he could get away with adding those s***ty electric instruments to the mix? I read this amazing analysis about how Davis was trying to bring his crass politics to jazz by revolting against the older system in a metaphorical way. I can't stand when people inject their politics into their music. Honestly, I think that it's lazy and lacks creativity.
Me: So, you haven't listened to it?
Minkowski: No...rabble rabble rabble.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 9:35:59 PM

No, I don't have a need to be right. When someone ask my opinion on something like a movie or a game or music, if I haven't watched, played, or listened to it (respectively) I either shut my f***ing mouth or I preface whatever I have to say with something along the lines of : I actually haven't engaged with this media the way one probably should to form a helpful opinion. I understand the point of a forum is to volunteer your own opinion and all but damn.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 9:49:12 PM

*sigh*

I'm not going to go around with you on this, fool, because as I said, all I needed to know about the film was the synopsis, and that was provided well in advance of the film's theatrical debut, the same way I know Fifty Shades of Gray is something I won't want to read based on the dust jacket's description...

You can't be this goddamned dumb. Why do you think they have synopses anyway? To let you know the gist of the media's content. Duh.

And let me say this: sure some of District 9's visuals are impressive, but overall, it's a very ugly film, aesthetically, and it is little more than a extraterrestrial allegory for apartheid, which to me is a gross corruption of what I would call pure science fiction, given that there wasn't any actually science fictional ideas presented.

But hey, if Hollywood and Company want to turn their diminishing talents into churning out agitprop fodder for the dumbass plebs, so be it, but I'm not paying to watch it. They can take the mindless mooks' money, but not mine.

Thanks.

P.S. I didn't read your posts in their entirety, just the opening line (IIRC). I have better things to do, like picking my nose and wiping my ass.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 10:00:16 PM

I just can't stand when people rant about someone's work without experiencing it (movie, music, book) first hand. Making up your mind about the director and production team's intent based on reading the cliff notes and ten other websites is what I am talking about. That sh*t is weak.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 10:05:10 PM

What was your favorite "pure" science fiction film of the last decade?
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 10:09:01 PM

No, you're weak. You're saying I should not decide avoid watching a film based on a well-known plot aspect of the film, even if I find that aspect disagreeable, as if I'm instead saying I refused to watch District 9 because of the effects, the acting, the music, the direction, the lighting, the story in it's entirety, et cetera, and that's just stupid, because those aspects, yes, would need to be seen within the film, but the left-wing trope, no, I already knew it was in there, and that's the entire reason I don't care for the film, and that's my f*cking right, just like if I told YOU to watch some movie that espoused some right-wing belief or thought, and you'd say, nah, I'm not watching that sh*t, and you damned well know you would.

minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 10:13:44 PM

"What was your favorite "pure" science fiction film of the last decade?"

I don't have 'favorites', but culling form the top-pop list: Sunshine, Primer, The Fountain. Minority Report.

I'd throw Moon in there too, but I have to hear how the Big Bad Evil Corporations are ruining the universe again, even though Hollywood is run by big bad evil greedy corporations and people.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 10:26:32 PM

And Possible Worlds, but that was 2000.
pornfly writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 12:13:42 AM

Primers' my new favorite
Will check Possible /Sunshine/Moon

see how easy that was
The Tall Man writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 12:43:37 AM

Sunshine is a great bit of Sci-fi.

I also liked Imposter(2001) and Pandorum, especially after a second viewing of Pandorum. I have to give credit to the director for giving the film a satisfying and surprising ending. He nailed it... IMO.
Master Thought writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 2:10:45 AM

Jodie Foster is in this?

I'll pass, unless I need a nap. Tip for those with sleep issues: watch The Brave One. Old horse face will put you right to sleep. Contact works well too.

"Minkowski: No...rabble rabble rabble."
Haha quality
Master Thought writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 2:19:29 AM

"And people wonder why I hate them...petty. Just petty."

Tom or Richard?

I really don't think Minkowski hates people as much as he puts on. Maybe we should all quit ripping on him and send him some love. Mink, what's your email address? Someone's getting an E-Hug!
Sev writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 5:41:20 AM

District 9 was an outstanding film and a great achievement by a completely unknown team of film makers. Peter Jackson and other film makers like him with the power to back and fund movies should be finding other film makers like Neill Blomkamp, we need more like him pushing film making forward with more creative and original ideas. They managed to do so much with a much lower budget independantly than hollywood has done with billions of dollors in the past 5 years. Still stuns me today that the film is adlibbed from start to finish, Sharlto Copley is outstanding and believable in his role as Wikus Van De Merwe. If you haven't seen it, get it watched! It's right up there with the top science fiction movies of the past! :)
Master Thought writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 5:54:49 AM

Well said, Sev.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 8:42:04 AM

District 9 was well made but I didn't like it. I thought it was very over rated with a lot of Hype that I felt didn't meet my expectations of it.

I won't watch this just cuz Damon is in it doh.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 10:31:43 AM

You can tell someone all day long why you wouldn't or shouldn't see a film, but until you actually see it you don't really have a truly informed opinion on the subject. That being said most of us on this site diss the hell out of films like the Twilight series even though we've never seen more than a few minutes of the films. We're all hypocrites.

Almost all sci-fi has some social political undertones or makes some commentary on the human condition. District 9 is no different, but luckily that isn't at the heart of its greatness. Its probably some of the best merging of CGI and live action ever made, and it accomplished this on a budget smaller than most rom-coms. That's truly its most important feat. If you want more films that don't sacrifice story for CGI budgets then you need to support films like District 9 at the BOX OFFICE (not on your computer at home or on tv). Until then we'll keep getting films like Avatar and Prometheus from a Hwood that doesn't care about anything but the bottom line profit margin.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 11:05:34 AM

So I have to see the film in it's entirety to understand that it features a left-wing apartheid allegory, something I don't care to see, even though said allegory was broadcast months in advance of the actual film's release? In the synopses, in the trailers?

I know you people won't respond, especially after what I'm about to say, but you're just...obtuse as f*ck. No surprise there, naturally.

And I DID watch the damned movie, or most of it, and yes, the film is impressive in that they did this with that much money, but I'm not impressed, because saying they made X film for Y money as compared to Hollywood making W film for Z money is like saying I paid 25 bucks for a toilet seat that cost the White House 600.

In other words, you people are overly impressed with an ILLUSION, which again goes back to what I said about many of you being deliberately obtuse, and no, sit there in silence, because that's cool with me, as I don't honestly give an authentic f*ck.

"We're all hypocrites."

Speak for yourself, Sac. 99.99% of the time I never watch a film I've badmouthed, unlike you guys, who say I hate this and I hate that and then run off first chance you get to see the very thing you've spent months decrying. Example: I still haven't seen the Conan remake, and I NEVER will. Never. Because I don't f*cking want to.

As for Twilight, again, you're being obtuse. You're being rancidly obtuse, and again, sit there in silence, fine with me, but if you think we're 'hypocrites' for not watching Twilight before we badmouth it, even though we know for a f*cking FACT, in advance, it's teen-girl angst that isn't normally appreciated by disease-free heterosexual men, that it is specifically written by and for young women, then you're as silly as you look, no matter how clean you try to dress your comment.

I mean, do you sit around reading Ann Coulter and Glenn Beck books, or do you read them because you wouldn't want to 'prejudge' them on the basis of your political and ideological bent? So that makes you more the hypocrite than some of us who are outright and upfront.

As for District 9, I refused to watch it not because of the allegory, mostly, but because it is, as I said, an ugly film. Ugly. Downright f*cking ugly. And what I saw yesterday only reinforced that opinion, so whatever prejudice of which you think you find me guilty, it was, in retrospect, well-founded, as I knew it would be.

"Until then we'll keep getting films like Avatar and Prometheus from a Hwood that doesn't care about anything but the bottom line profit margin."

lol, you *presume* I want to see more District 9 sh*t in theaters over Prometheus, and that's erroneous. Hell, I'd rather watch Prometheus. At least it's visually stunning instead of relying on two alien characters and a green-screen matte painting of a hovering cyborg sand dollar. Where'd the money go, George?

And in fact, my mind was far more engaged intellectually with Prometheus than D9, which did absolutely nothing except to tell me that whoever made the movie thought insect aliens (cliche!) would be able to breathe our air and would want to dig through our trash.

An add to the fact it's a rip off of Alien Nation, as well, which was a HELL of a lot more thought provoking imo.

I'd say I'm disappointed, but unlike Prometheus, D9 told everyone what to expect, in full, well in advance. Which is why I had zero interest watching it. Which is why I have zero interest in it NOW.

"Almost all sci-fi has some social political undertones or makes some commentary on the human condition"

I really wish you wouldn't talk down to me. I've read far more sci-fi than you, I'd bet, so much of that crap that I stopped reading it years ago because a) it began, some years ago, descending into endless liberal agitprop (a 'future' where heterosexuality no longer exists! How clever! Because the arrogant left-wing feel-good ideology trumps billion year old nature! Because homosexuality is just that awesome, and aren't I such a wonderful person to support it!) and b) it became repetitive, and c) the days of people like Niven and Clarke, who explored IDEAS (ring worlds, Dyson spheres, augmented evolution) instead of fomenting more infantile 60s-free love-PC-eat-the-rich-post-human bullsh*t are long since past/passed, and yeah, I know c) is pretty much a), but I felt it needed to be said twice, because of the obtuse thing going on here.

Anyway, I've said enough, and god f*cking knows why because if anything, I've wasted my time over the years with these replies far more than I damned well know I should. So, get off the high horse, Sac, because that's MY saddle, buddy.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 11:06:30 AM

...not that MUCH impressed...
KillerCOck writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 11:19:30 AM

My household is full of females and I have no shame saying that I've sat and watched every Twilight film at home one time each. They are terrible movies and just because of the performances but because of they're direction, writing and simply the Idea of vampires that look like f*ckin unicorns is something that shouldn't be tolerable even in children's books!

So If ever catch you on the street know that I will rip out your tongue, sh*t in your mouth like its my toilet, use your tongue to wipe my ass clean and then flush all the crap down your f*cking throat just for calling me a hypocrite.

Like I said D9 was well made but I didn't like it. I also think Star Wars sux sh*t. I won't pay to see any movie that stars Matt Damon.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 11:22:23 AM

and not just because of the performances**
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 11:23:30 AM

aren't = am I not.

Terrible form. Lots of that to go around I guess.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 11:26:53 AM

@Sev and Sac Daddy - well said. Sac interesting point you bring up (and true) in that most of us have not seen Twilight yet regardless choose to formulate our negative opinions as teen soap trash. I have actually sat thru the first two and stopped there.

@AA - D9 is not for everybody. I loved it as did most of the WP posters here. It actually felt like an original sci-fi film which is a wonder these days. Especially as Hollywood saturates the market with films from the "Michael Bay school of special effects" being heavy on CGI, explosions etc. but light on story and character building (Battleship, Battle LA, Skyline, Transformers etc.). I think a sequel may be worthwhile as long as the same cast and crew are involved. I would imagine Blomkamp has considered the future of Wikus and the Prawns beyond D9.

@Mink - for the amount of effort you have expended on responding to these posts (and defending your position), you could have watched a good portion of D9. I know that you don't put any stock into what critics say, nor the Academy of Motion Pictures for their 4 Oscar nominations, but consider that the majority of WP you correspond with daily actually favor this movie for our own reasons - surely we can't be too far off the mark? I'm sure you have a counter argument.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 11:36:02 AM

@Mink - bear in mind that my post was written before I had a chance to read yours (posted 11:05:34). I think you have addressed pretty much everything and then some. And glad you had the stomach to watch D9 - or most of it. In the end, its to each their own...
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 12:02:53 PM

The majority of American voters chose George B Bush, twice, and Hollywood gave Best Picture to Shakespeare in Love over Saving Private Ryan. I refuse to run with the pack, because the pack, apparently, can't think, which is why the French Revolution was goddamned bloody, but that's for another day.

And as I said about Hollywood, if you want to get them to like your movie, make sure it conforms to their current trendy ideology, which is why if I ever make a film, the hero, the lead, will be a lesbian transgendered handicapped atheist Communist black woman. From Malibu.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 12:05:21 PM

"It actually felt like an original sci-fi film"

*shaking my head!*

How could it feel like an 'original' sci-fi film when it was so much like Alien Nation, even down to the floating space ship over the city?? Because the aliens were insects and not pale people with liver spots?

Ghostbusters was original. Dark City was original. District 9? Not so much!
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 12:05:49 PM

W. Not B. But it should have been. For 'buffoon'.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 12:31:12 PM

@Mink - I’m not sure about following the pack. But I will offer that my own appreciation of D9 further stems from personal background. I have family and friends that still live in Johannesburg South Africa. And I grew up listening to their true life stories and accounts of having witnessed firsthand the Apartheid regime exercise their iron hand. Thousands were served eviction notices and forcibly shoved out of their homes into ghetto townships by militarized agencies. Families were wrongfully separated and treated like numbered cattle. The clearing process made way for such monuments as the Sun City Resort, Golf Courses and Casinos. It’s an ugly past which still has lasting remnants today with scars of impoverishment across the country. There is still deep resentment for what the South African Government did to people (no doubt the plot for D9 sequel as the alien named “Christopher Johnson” returns to Earth to stage the insurrection for his species). For me, D9 eloquently put to picture what I have been told and read in the news all these years. This is a great story and worth telling to the world. For the first time, an alien race lands on earth with no clear agenda. They are not here to befriend humanity, nor seek planetary domination, but shown here as a species of refugees. Yes its ugly, but its meant to be.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 12:53:19 PM

As to why District 9 felt original...I would say in the way it was packaged as a docu-sci-fi with the following elements:

1. The quasi-doc*mentary introduction which transformed into sci-fi drama was something fresh to me as I don't recall any film with similar approach. Very effective in conveying the past narrative of the alien’s arrival to present day context. Enough background Politics mixed in but not enough to weigh down the film as a piece of entertainment.
2. District 9 was down right butt-ugly and gritty to match the real life squalor of shanty towns. The alien creatures were disgusting and thrived in garbage piles resembling c*ckroaches - a deliberate design. Alien Nation felt too much like a made for tv "Hollywood cops and robbers" - perhaps since the actions played out in recognizable cities and streetscapes. And as you pointed out the aliens were pale people with liver spots – no stretch in the imagination (they felt borrowed from original Star Trek).
3. It was made by South Africans director Blomkamp and Copley - frequently Hollywood films cast western actors who end up bastardize the accents. Or some western director attaches themself to a project not having been raised or experienced firsthand events in the Country where film is set. This is a South African sci-fi tale brought to you by South Africans. New fresh and great talent. I loved what Sharlto brought to the A-Team.
4. Blomkamp was given the ability to create D9 after Peter Jackson watched his 2006 shortfilm “Alive in Joburg”. For those of you who have not seen it, it plays like a newsreel short of District 9 and captures similar themes. Here a Director with the aid of a more established Director is given a chance to expand his vision onto a larger canvas. Refreshing to see a piece of work get further developed and mature as the precursor Alive in Joburg drove the inspiration and originality of District 9.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 6th, 2012 at 5:30:42 PM

hahaha Shakespeare in Love. f*ck the Academy! Buncha f*cking lil' girls is what they are.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 7th, 2012 at 2:31:33 AM

Lol Mink, still making mountains out of molehills I see. First of all no one is talking down to you so stop you're crying. I was commenting on the topic of sci-fi subject matter, not challenging you eerily vast knowledge of the genre. Even more so I was blowing off that stable of the genre to give District 9 credit for what I saw as the film's more important strength. Its ability to test the limits of cinematic technology all while maintaining core necessities like character arc, continuity, and story made it special in its genre and era. We complain every day on this site about how these elements seem to be sacrificed or forgotten in the big budget "blockbusters" of our time. We're all left somewhat confused after watching these massively expensive projects dedicate so much attention to the visual aspects of the film and so little to its actual the telling. Very rarely do you see a film that embodies the total package, but I just so happen to think D9 does just that.

I believe D9's small budget allowed it to deliver on all these aspects. The studio had much less at risk with such a small budget, so in turn the director was able to give us more of his true vision without much outside influence. On the other hand, I thought the exact opposite occurred with Prometheus. The entire film changed the minute Ridley sat down and pitched his original plan for a $200 mill prequel to Alien. The studio said there was no way in hell anyone would spend that much on a R rated film and promptly told him to f*ck off. Next thing you know they're bringing in new writers and different ideas for the story, and Ridley's out doing some song and dance routine about how the film evolved into something bigger (aka sh*ttier) and how the studio has to make their money (all while completely destroying his own integrity and also that of the film).

Avatar didn't have these problems, but it did suffer from its director's pure tunnel vision focus on delivering something visually new and stunning. Hey 5 years and over $500mill spent is the definition of a passion project. That's too much time and effort to be wasted on the chance that the audience wouldn't connect with the story, so Cameron went with something familiar and proven but lacking originality. In the long run the final product felt unbalanced even if it was entertaining. D9, on the other hand, beamed with just as much passion and promise but with its $30 mill budget was more grounded. Such limitations force the good directors to think more outside the box for ways to balance such amazing visual effects. D9 chose to invest in the story and its characters as much as in the CGI, and the final product felt more complete.

Anyway, all I was saying earlier was that if you (and by you I mean anyone listening) like this complete product you should support it where it matters (in the theaters).
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 9th, 2012 at 11:01:51 AM

@SACDaddy - Good post friend. I greatly appreciate your comments and point of view.

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved