WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Ghostbusters 3" Script Being Rewritten, Bill Murray May Return

Posted: July 3rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Ghostbusters 3" Script Being Rewritten, Bill Murray May ReturnSubmit Comment
About a month ago, Bill Murray revealed that he doesn't want to take part in "Ghostbusters 3" because "they just don't have a really good script." He added that rewrites are needed, and if the script gets fixed, he'll consider reprising his Peter Venkman role.

WIVB has now caught up with Dan Aykroyd to get an update. The actor confirmed that a new writing staff is currently working on the script. "It's got to be prefect. That's the whole thing," he said. "There's no point in doing it unless it's perfect. So that's what we're up to now."

In almost all prior interviews with Aykroyd, it seemed that he was ready to begin shooting. Now that he's fixing the script, shows how important it is to make Murray happy. The last draft was written by Lee Eisenberg and Gene Stupnitsky (Year One, Bad Teacher).

Source: WIVB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Everybody Chillllll writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 7:34:34 AM

He already said it was being re-worked when he was on Letterman.
pornfly writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 7:40:29 AM

Year One/Bad Teacher
No wonder Bills like f*ckoff

You tellin me after 20friggin years Ramis/Aykroyd cant get their sh*t together?!
I bet if i hold Donna Dixon as my rape hostage,theyll get their mojo workin

This 'get it perfect' talk is just a massive setup for failure
pornfly writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 7:43:29 AM

At least they know that if theres no Murray,it'll crashnburn more than if hes in it
Doc Gonzo writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 7:50:29 AM

Are they going to shoot it or not? Jesus...Go f*ck yourself Ghostbusters 3. I'm getting tired of this bullsh*t.
Bullit writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 8:06:00 AM

They'e too bloody old to chase anything let alone some ghostbusters. What is it with this new trend to cast old farts in action films anyway? FAIL!
trailertrash writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 8:15:26 AM

They may one average sequel and that was only 4 or 5 years later, How bad could this movie be.
trailertrash writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 8:27:24 AM

*Made
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 8:44:24 AM

Let it die already!!
Slimer42 writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 8:52:24 AM

If Bill Murray wants the script to be perfect why doesn't he get in their and help write it with Aykroyd and Ramis?
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 9:31:59 AM

Don't tease me WP...
trailertrash writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 10:10:40 AM

^ Being teased by a Ghostbuster 3 story is like some old ginger minger telling you she will take it anywhich way to sunday

Your kinda interested but you know it will end up a let down and you will just feel dirty about the whole thing.
c-prime writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 10:48:25 AM

Nobody gives a damn.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 1:02:11 PM

If only there can be this much integrity and perfection applied towards all scripts before Hollywood movies are ever made. Murray must be laughing his ass off knowing how much power he commands on the fate of this project. But he is right, there is no point in making GB3 unless the script is good. Kudos to Murray for doing the right thing and not going for the easy buck. For the script to be perfect would need blessing from all 3 main stars irregardless of whatever hacks prepare the drafts.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 1:10:15 PM

Jesus. If ever a 'franchise' screamed out for a reboot, it's this one, and maybe that Starsh*t Poopers trash.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 2:09:46 PM

@Mink - respectfully disagree.

I wouldn't want this franchise rebooted. I suggest they make this film to complete the trilogy. You could never replace Murray, Ramis and Ackroyd. These guys are legendary in their onscreen chemistry, comedic timing and creative talent. I think they have one good movie left in them. And I would rather see an aging Murray reprised his role as Venkman than some fresh actor trying to embarrassingly pass off as Murrah/Venkman. If the script aspires towards perfection then let it and hopefully they will make the best film possible. Besides from the way these WP articles are presented, it seems like Ramis and Ackroyd have some control over this project and don't want to pass along the torch.

The idea of a reboot reminds me of the failed attempt at rebooting The Three Stoogies. This kind of vaudville comedy simply doesn't work for today's generation.
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 2:22:32 PM

Now we're talking!

I still stay a sequel/ reboot, passing the torch is the way to go.
pornfly writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 3:41:25 PM

I wouldnt mind a reboot but not with any sh*t comedic actors we got today
MINK told me he'd rather have a reboot than an original piece of crap

We'll see what happens when someone wants to remake The Jerk
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 4:11:44 PM

@Pornfly - The Jerk was great and no one should mess with that film. Wonderful lines like:

New Accounts Bank Manager: I will need two pieces of identification.
Navin R. Johnson: Ah yes. I have my temporary driver's license - and - my astronaut application form... I didn't pass that though, I failed everything but the date of birth.

Speaking of Steve Martin...IMHO, rebooting Ghostbusters is like trying to reboot The Three Amigos. It wouldn't work because these three principals are also legendary and share great onscreen chemistry, comedic timing and each a creative talent.

Just think about it, everything that is great about the original Ghostbusters comes from the strength of these comedic actors. Hell, there is even a strong supporting cast (exceptionally funny Rick Moranis, Ernie Hudson, Sigourney Weaver). Without the original cast, I fear you will just end up with an update on special effects using today's stockpile of weak actors playing these beloved characters.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 4:19:17 PM

We don't need a trilogy. What the f*ck is with the trilogy sh*t these days? Numerology? The number tree is mystical and infused with the power of the lotus? No, there's no 'need' for a trilogy because there's nothing necessary in making three films. You're just catching the trilogy fever Hollywood's been coughing up on us for the last fifteen years.

And a reboot would be the best. No one wants to see these old assed crippled men running around after some sh*tty looking CGI ghosts. Remember the CGI Yoda? Yeah. Now a CGI Slimer. No f*cking thanks. Reboot the film, update it, choose your cast WISELY, hire a decent but moderated FX house like The Mill or someone to do the CGI, and write a story full of both laughs and scares.

f*ck this reboot garbage. And I'll bet you anything, this will be one of the WORST films made in the last five years, if they finally go through with it. It will certainly be worse than the second Ghostbusters, and that one is hard to top, no Akasha pun intended.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 4:23:41 PM

If you think the power of the Ghostbusters is enshrined within the principle actors, you're not only disingenuous, you're selfish, because whether you like it or not, Murray and company will be joining their afterlife enemies before too long, and it's not fair to say that they can't make another GB film because Murray and the others slinked off into the great beyond.

Oh, and Murray is the only one of the crew worth a damn, comedically, and he probably won't even return, so there goes your trilogy hopes.

Finally, the power of the films, for me anyway, is the ideas, not the cast, because I watched the cartoon, and I thought that was a hell of a lot more interesting than both films combined.
pornfly writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 4:24:25 PM

^there are so many movies from the 80s and beyond that deserve a shot at a remake,mainly due to small budgets,lack of special fx or crappy fx,outdated dialogue and dialect

But comedies are a different animal
We'll either get an Owen Bros. production, a Freeks and Geeks ensemble or the 'which bottom shelf SNL alum needs a check'presentation
pornfly writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 4:28:39 PM

Is The Mill the same company that did John Carter and the upcoming Man of Steel?
I see theyr gettin alot of buzz and more projects
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 4:34:49 PM

Please don't ever mention The Mill and John carter in the same paragraph, and I think it was Double Negative that did the work.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 4:39:07 PM

"We know, another controversial choice, but we watched it the other day and the special effects looked really ropey. Of course, when we watched in our youth we thought they were cutting edge. But then again we also thought the Commodore 64 was state-of-the-art technology and Elite was the greatest game ever made. Times change. It's like when you watch those who old dinosaur films from the 50s and 60s and Raquel Welch is being attacked by lizards magnified several times to look big. Ghostbusters is starting to look like that. Just make sure Bill Murray's in it."

http://www.hecklerspray.com/top-10-movies-in-need-of-a-hollywood-remake/200812465.php

Of course, this *sshole mentioned The Breakfast Club, and if they EVER remake that film, which miraculously turned out superbly, I will go on a kill rampage all fry night.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 5:03:34 PM

@Mink – thanks for your reply. Your comments got me think about this scenario for possible GB3 script. All three original Ghostbusters died on the job – perhaps from a structural building collapse due to excessive blasting from their particle accelerators. The three find out that one of the powerful entities that they managed to piss off (Gozer or Viggo or someone else) arranged for their untimely demise and placed them in eternal limbo. Along come three new Ghostbuster wannabes trying to take over the business of battling ghosts, but obviously lack the experience. Moranis knows differently as he is visited by the original three. Comedy follows as the original three try to make it back into the human realm only to be mistaken as evil Ghosts by the new trio who try to defend their foothold into the business. It could be a way to tastefully pass over the franchise. And seeing old people as ghosts would be more believable than watching them run around in grey jumpsuits with nuclear backpacks.

In terms of today’s crop of actors, I do like Adam Samberg as a potential.
Rambo writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 5:16:28 PM

coming soon in 2027
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 5:16:39 PM

@Mink - I agree with you on The Breakfast Club. IMHO it is the story, period the film came out, the actors, on-screen chemistry, dialogue, direction, music etc. that makes this film a one of a kind classic. I can somewhat see a Hollywood-money-grubbing-schmuck's thinking behind remake of this film since every kid goes thru highschool, coming of age and these character types are truly timeless (i.e. a jock, princess, nerd, bully and misfit). But if they remake or rebooted Breakfast Club, it would be a piece of steaming corn riddled sh*t. But at least we would know the reason for you going on a potential killing rampage.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 5:16:57 PM

I say we just let it die with dignity and stop trying to rape every damned film series for cash that can then be used to make more original trash, like the way studios use the corpses of well-known films to make remakes so they can then fund some straight to DVD garbage.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 5:18:26 PM

They'll reboot the Breakfast Club. Soon. Don't you worry, bub, it's going to happen. You think they'll just stop with 21 Jump Street? Nope. It's going to get a whole lot worse before it gets....even worse than that.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 5:45:13 PM

I weep for the future. The sad thing is that Hollywood has so many unknown screenwriters who will probably never get their title-shot since they are nobodies. Therefore their work never sees the light of day. Big name producers and directors get numerous scripts thrown at them each day and many end up in the garbage (unread). Its easy, in a no-brainer sense, to borrow from the past as some of these guys calling the shots grew up on the same material we did. And these aging actors would still have some box office draw for those of us that still remember them.

Maybe its just me, as I still like the idea of seeing Murray one last time in a physical comedy role like Ghostbusters. Even if he comes back as a pissed off ghost. Heck maybe he can come back as a pissed off ghost who goes on a killing rampage?
Mrjoker6688 writes:
on July 4th, 2012 at 12:10:23 AM

I'm sick of this sh*t. We keep getting teased over and over for Ghostbusters 3 and it never happens. It's NEVER going to happen.
Gnarkill writes:
on July 4th, 2012 at 3:54:36 PM

bill murray needs to just say yes or no for christ sakes
vincere01 writes:
on July 4th, 2012 at 6:04:13 PM

I think ol bill enjoys dangling the carot out in front of dan. Kinda like lording how much more success and power he has
ray gunn writes:
on July 5th, 2012 at 8:15:38 AM

Seen bill at the irish open golf tournament what a nutter but a really nice guy. He sneaked up on a couple having lunch as they viewed the golf and he swiped one of their sandwhiches and just started eating it as if it was the normal thing to do. Bill is the man and he knows it !
minkowski writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 6:24:23 PM

minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 6:39:37 PM

minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 6:40:19 PM


minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 6:41:05 PM

// Need to check the canPlayType first or an exception
// will be thrown for those browsers that don't support it

var myAudio = doc*ment.createElement('audio');

if (myAudio.canPlayType) {

// Currently canPlayType(type) returns: "", "maybe" or "probably"

var canPlayMp3 = !!myAudio.canPlayType && "" != myAudio.canPlayType('audio/mpeg');
var canPlayOgg = !!myAudio.canPlayType && "" != myAudio.canPlayType('audio/ogg; codecs="vorbis"');
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:19:11 PM

test
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:19:47 PM

test>
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:20:53 PM

This is another test!
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:21:25 PM

This is another test!
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:22:50 PM

This is yet ANOTHER test!
minkowski writes:
on September 16th, 2013 at 5:40:47 PM

Dark Knight Legacy Fan Film

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/dark-knight-legacy-fan-film-629912
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2013 at 12:17:01 AM



Search

minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2013 at 12:29:54 AM

minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2013 at 5:28:43 PM

minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 5:48:19 PM

test

minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 5:49:55 PM

test

minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 5:50:19 PM

body
{
background-color:yellow;
}
h1
{
background-color:#00ff00;
}
p
{
background-color:rgb(255,0,255);
}
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 5:51:39 PM






This is a text. This is a text. This is a text. This is a text. This is a text. This is a text. This is a text. This is a text. This is a text. This is a text.


minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 5:48:25 PM

minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 5:49:21 PM

minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2014 at 9:17:18 PM