WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Seth MacFarlane's "Ted" Breaks Box Office Records

Posted: July 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Seth MacFarlaneSubmit Comment
Seth MacFarlane's "Ted," starring Mark Wahlberg and Mila Kunis," scored the biggest domestic box office debut for an original R-rated comedy by grossing $54 million this weekend. The result bested "The Hangover," which held the title with $45 million since 2009. The new comedy cost only $50 million to make and has a 69% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The other R-rated comedy of the weekend was Channing Tatum's stripper movie "Magic Mike," which came in second place with $39.2 million. The film cost only $7 million to make and has a 79% fresh rating.

Tyler Perry's "Madea's Witness Protection" came in fourth with $26.4 million, making it the fourth-best opening among Perry's thirteen movies. Usually about 80% of the audience is made up of black movie-goers. This time, the number dropped to 70%, showing that Perry is becoming slightly more popular with different groups. "Madea's Witness Protection" cost $20 million to make and has a 26% fresh rating.

The other wide release was "People Like Us," starring Chris Pine and Elizabeth Banks." It opened in tenth place with $4.3 million on a $16 million budget, and has a 53% fresh rating.

On the specialty side, Fox Searchlight's Sundance hit "Beast of the Southern Wild" opened to $169,236 from only 4 theaters in New York and Los Angeles. That's $42,309 per location, which means that the new movie will definitely expand. It has a 87% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, "Men in Black 3" just became the highest-grossing installment in the franchise with $599.4 million. The first film earned $589.4 million and the second one took in $441.8 million.

Click here to read our "Ted" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 10:18:11 PM

So people fell for a talking bear with the voice of Peter Griffin, huh? I guess better than that Hangover sh*t again.
minkowski writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 10:18:54 PM

Ony? Sony? Kony? Pony?
bandolero999 writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 11:01:13 PM

And i thought 21 jump street was bad.Ted had to top it off
Yes Americas that f*cking stoopid to fall for a Peter griffith bear.

Magic Mike #2?go c*nt power and queer power
OneTime writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 11:03:29 PM

yeah i dont get this.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 11:06:22 PM

Great here comes MIB4 and Ted 2.
pornfly writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 11:21:19 PM

Smile MINK
They picked a boozey bear over male strippers

THERES STILL HOPE
f*ck YOU HAIR PRODUCT GLITTERY VAMPIRES AND G.I. JOE 2: JOE HARDER

spiderman opens at midnight so you got 4more hours Seth
pornfly writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 11:24:30 PM

^change 'MINK' to 'friendos'
i didnt read the whole thread
pornfly writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 11:28:26 PM


Striptease/Showgirls,failure but a hit on video(where we can jerk off in peace)

If Magic Mike blew Ted away (giggidy) we'd have sequels
Now we'll get a couple male stripper knockoffs and thats it
pornfly writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 11:31:26 PM

I dont think the Madea audience lost interest
They just lOVE THAT FRESH WIGGER TALE
pornfly writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 11:33:30 PM

TAIL
big woop ya wanna fight about it
brokeboy writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 11:53:27 PM

is everyone upset that Madea didn't get number one? Is this my understanding? Ted was way better than I expected. I'm a dumb f*ck.
WoahGev0 writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 12:44:53 AM

I was thinking about seeing this, but then i realized how dumb that would be.
Detrimental writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 12:51:31 AM

Ted's debut is marketing gold competition wise. MacFarlane & Wahlberg don't have that much comedic weight. But pockets were getting heavy. It's the weekend before America's birthday. They were pitted against women's porn & Madea's "Tyler Perry Witness Protection in Drag." Throw in a bong & Mila Kunis in shorts, you get to break a record. It's more of a scuff than a dent in entertainment hall of fame. This will all get blown over between Spidey tomorrow til TDKR ends.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 3:05:11 AM

What he said^

And this movie was actually pretty funny lol
Brody writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 3:30:03 AM

"Tyler Perry's "Madea's Witness Protection" came in fourth with $26.4 million, making it the fourth-best opening among Perry's thirteen movies. Usually about 80% of the audience is made up of black movie-goers. This time, the number dropped to 70%, showing that Perry is becoming slightly more popular with different groups. "Madea's Witness Protection" cost $20 million to make and has a 26% fresh rating."

Different groups? Retards are a group right?
ALIsuperstar writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 4:49:39 AM

Funny movie!
Everybody Chillllll writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 6:23:58 AM

Good job Seth, you deserve it.
mattjudge62 writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 10:10:31 AM

good for seth macfarlane and mark wahlberg I havent seen the movie all the reviews Ive read say its funny
movie89 writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 10:23:25 AM

Ted was really funny, funiest movie I'd seen. In a while he even makes fun of the fact saying come on I don't sound that much like Peter Griffin. It was a good time
brokeboy writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 1:29:59 PM

isn't it appropriate that Ted got a 69% rating on rotten tomatoes. I give the movie a solid A. That said, I hope there will be no sequel.
minkowski writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 4:56:27 PM

Seth McFarlane, the creep who takes the totems of childhood innocence (teddy bears, cartoons) and turns them into idiotic perversions.

Thanks, Seth. You're a real cultural hero.
ALIsuperstar writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 5:55:45 PM

Yeah he is!
brokeboy writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 6:09:13 PM

does anyone on here get laid? just wondering
minkowski writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 6:10:47 PM

No, he's not. He's a sc*mbag, a degenerate and a hack. His best was Family Guy when it was new, but it got old fast. No one likes him. Most cultural commentators, people with actual education and polish, find him and his stupid schtick grating and often simply repulsive. He's made a career offending people and using idiotic voices, and you idiots paid him in full by going to see Ted. You should have stayed home and watched Office Space instead.
minkowski writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 6:11:11 PM

"does anyone on here get laid? just wondering"

Why? Looking to get d*cked?
minkowski writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 6:12:28 PM

I guess that's why you call yourself 'brokeboy'. Someone either broke a d*ck off in you, or they broke your spine f*cking you with a Crisco-coated broom handle. Or you just like Brokenback Mountin' a little too much, eh?
pornfly writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 6:24:38 PM

Office Space is the best at the end of a long work week
Its not the same when youre unemployed
minkowski writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 6:29:06 PM

No, it's even better, I bet.
brokeboy writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 6:56:45 PM

i'm not the one who noticed spider-man had a penis for a finger lol
kBob writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 7:32:45 PM

Ted was the funniest movie this year (though that's not saying very much). The humor is a bit random and the tone is uneven at times, but even the most cynical (talkin to you MINK) will most likely enjoy it for what it is. Essentially a one-joke premise, but filled with some hysterical one-liners and a little bit of heart. 8/10
kBob writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 7:33:55 PM

And c'mon, us WP users are sick, degenerate f*cks who joke about rape. Ted was made for people like us.
brokeboy writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 7:52:41 PM

KBoB is the man. TED is funny
minkowski writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 8:13:43 PM

"Ted was made for people like us."

So was the gas chamber.
minkowski writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 8:39:51 PM

No offense.
brokeboy writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 9:06:34 PM

:(
minkowski writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 10:20:17 PM

:D
minkowski writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 10:20:51 PM

minkowski writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 10:21:20 PM



That one is for Sac.
kBob writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 12:27:51 AM

http://i.imgur.com/A4kWL.gif

that's all I have to say
brokeboy writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 1:15:21 AM

is that your vagina
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 3:38:57 PM

ahaha Kbob
That was jokes
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 9:20:05 PM

I find it hilarious I have not seen a single one of the movies mentioned in this article.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved