WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Dark Knight Rises" Will NOT Beat "The Avengers" at Box Office

Posted: June 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Dark Knight Rises" Will NOT Beat "The Avengers" at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
"The Dark Knight Rises" is set to hit theaters on July 20th and experts have now collected enough data to make an education prediction regarding how the film will perform, at least comparing to "The Avengers," which is now the third highest-grossing film of all time.

According to tracking information, "The Dark Knight Rises" will be huge. The percentage of people in the US and Canada who said that they were "definitely" interested in seeing the movie was 64% and the percentage of those who said that it will be their "first choice" was 22%. The numbers are identical to "The Avengers" prior to its release.

Looking closer at the "first choice" people, "The Dark Knight Rises" is stronger among men, while "The Avengers" was stronger among women. The only category that "The Dark Knight Rises" lags significantly is that of "unaided awareness," which is a percentage of people who knew that the movie was an upcoming release. The figure is 8%, compared with 13% for "The Avengers" at the same point in time.

The numbers for "The Dark Knight Rises" are higher than for 2008's "The Dark Knight," which grossed $158 million during its opening weekend. It's expected that the third Batman movie will end up earning somewhere between $158 million and the $207 million that "The Avengers" took in. The film has a bit more competition than "The Avengers" did, but will still easily crack the $1 billion mark globally.

Click here to read more about "The Dark Knight Rises."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Shudder writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 6:55:13 AM

"Iron Man would tear off Batman's head and sh*t down his neck"
bulle85@hotmail.com writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 7:36:06 AM

i don't believe any of that. it will destroy the avengers in box office, because it got longer legs!
nawtnt writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 7:38:29 AM

I think The Dark Knight Rises will make lots of money but not like The Avengers.

Fans have waited for many years for The Avengers to be made into a movie.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 7:44:00 AM

No 3D, that's it.
prewittj1 writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 8:11:27 AM

Slow day for news stories, WP? Come on, was the Avengers selling out a month and a half in advance like the Dark Knight has been since tickets went onsale June 11th??
Damon242 writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 8:12:43 AM

Yes, but The Avengers was also in 3D - and if it's anything like the cinemas I visited during the time, for every ten 3D sessions you will find only two 2D sessions.

And the extra cost involved with every 3D ticket certainly didn't hurt The Avengers earnings.
boogiel writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 8:14:37 AM

Who gives a sh*t. I'm just glad Nolan finally done with batman.
trailertrash writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 8:46:13 AM

i don't believe any of that. it will destroy the avengers in box office, because it got longer legs ......

Longer legs ,You can't be talking about Christian Bale with that statement ..
LordDeathMan writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 8:46:56 AM

Of course it couldn't. Nolan is a joke. Good riddance.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 8:58:50 AM

and on another note experts predict TDKR will be a much better movie then 'the avengers'.

the method they used?

common sense.
trailertrash writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 9:41:44 AM

I did wonder happened to Rabid ......

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AfgtEjjQnHQ&feature=youtu.be
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 10:08:36 AM

Well no sh*t Sherlock!! I just hope it's decent.
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 11:06:15 AM

yeah right.....
Dr Fate writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 11:13:12 AM

True @ColdPlay no 3D no inflated.price.....Nolan chose.to do a masterpiece
trailertrash writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 11:18:39 AM

^ You hope ...
vincere01 writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 11:25:52 AM

They should do a study to show the total if DKR had the same percentage of tickets sold in 3d as the avengers did and then see the total. No doubt it would make more. I want to see a total tickets sold if theres no 3d. That will be the only real way to see which was seen more
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 11:30:29 AM

the only reason why the avengers did so well in the box office was because people saw it in 3D
ProfMovies writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 11:57:47 AM

I'm so sick of these lame Superhero movies and their same ol', same ol' stories with spandex-wearing mooks!

Is there ANY original thought left in Hollywood?

The endless parade of comic book clowns is for a short-attention span, and rapidly devolving horde of nincompoop moviegoers.

Yes, this means MOST OF YOU!!!
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 12:00:27 PM

^^
if your so sick of don't f*cking troll on this article you stupid f*cking c*nt
Antiworstpreviews writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 12:54:05 PM

Why worstpreviews users are all drunk off theri arse .. ?
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 1:00:35 PM

^^
i assume your talking to me well i am having a bad f*cking day that's my excuse
Ryuhul writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 1:00:55 PM

@LordDeathMan
nolan a joke?

I am guessing you dont like tdk

Bullit writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 1:01:23 PM

I've got a much better FUNNY clip for you lads:


http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=307_1337336265


So f*cking funny, I promise!
Gnarkill writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 1:01:53 PM

I dont understand why everyone is still riding the Avengers d*ck train still let it go u know the sequal will make more money and honestly who gives a f*ck which movie beats which
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 1:33:16 PM

Shut the f*ck up profmovies.don't get mad cause your daughters p*ssy is stretched out from black and brown c*cks.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 1:42:07 PM

Counting the days until the reboot. I mean, Batman Begins is f*cking great and I watched a lot of times, The Dark Knight is good, but way too overrated, while Batman Begins is a lot better. This one seems lamer than the other two. Hopefully, Batman will finally get the movie he deserves. So long, Christopher Nolan.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 1:42:07 PM

Counting the days until the reboot. I mean, Batman Begins is f*cking great and I watched a lot of times, The Dark Knight is good, but way too overrated, while Batman Begins is a lot better. This one seems lamer than the other two. Hopefully, Batman will finally get the movie he deserves. So long, Christopher Nolan.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 1:42:47 PM

^ Opps, double comment. Sorry about that.
WV-Films writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 2:22:56 PM

until Twilight 14....
pornfly writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 2:25:57 PM

I think we can all agree that we'll have no problem following Tom Cruise now that Katie Holmes is escaping from The Scientologists via divorce

Same ol same ol..haha
LordDeathMan writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 2:27:39 PM

No @Ryuhul I dont. I especially don't like bale as Batman. I can't even keep a straight face when he's in costume. I hope to god the movie is good but I totally don't think it will be.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 3:22:54 PM

tom cruise and katie holmes are divorcing
Bullit writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 3:37:18 PM

^ ^ Good for her.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 7:19:19 PM

Don't really care if it beats The Avengers box office, as long as it's a better movie.

And based on the trailers & TV spots, it definitely is. Can't wait to see it. It looks fantastic.
shiteater writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 9:20:25 PM

I love how people are now starting to bash Nolan, likely just because he is becoming a household name.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 9:38:23 PM

Either that, or they're finally waking up, learning to think for themselves instead of letting the nerdling hordes do it for them.

Vive la revolution!
Damon242 writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 9:57:15 PM

Some people choose to like something. Some people choose to dislike something.

Some people like to push their opinions on others. These people are d*cks.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 10:11:31 PM

No one can make you feel inferior without your consent, *sshole, and no one can force their opinion on you unless you lack the mind to possess your own.

Obviously, that's you. A mental jellyfish.

The only question left, then, is why hasn't evolution weeded you out?
pornfly writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 10:13:09 PM

Pussies are the ones who accept the d*cks^
AngryAngel writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 11:31:25 PM

The dark knight rises doesn't need to beat the avengers. The movie has one hero, ONE. The avengers needed 6 (7 if you count nick fury) to get those numbers
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 11:33:27 PM

lol, I don't think there's any correlation between the number of heroes in a film and how much money it makes...besides, if that's the case, with Nolan's bloated cast, TDK will make a quadrillion bucks, then.
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 11:57:25 PM

The fact that The Dark Knight Rises will earn one billion dollars with such sh*tty trailers and some strange casting (catwoman looks terrible and Bane speaks with a funky English accent) is a huge accomplishment in and of itself.
Damon242 writes:
on June 30th, 2012 at 3:32:49 AM

@Mink

Looks like to read what I said and determined yourself to be the subject of it. Why is that, I wonder? Guilty conscience?
Damon242 writes:
on June 30th, 2012 at 3:34:09 AM

**you
SPURTACUSS writes:
on June 30th, 2012 at 10:09:26 AM

All true comicbook fans are happy that both these movies are made.All you others sound like some religious zealots. MY GOD'S BETTER THAN YOURS. What a bunch a sandbox bitch@s.Theres this stuff out there called p#ssy try some might change your lives ha ha.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on June 30th, 2012 at 7:28:08 PM

Batman will skull-f*ck the p*ssy Avengers.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 30th, 2012 at 9:36:13 PM

Who. f*cking. cares?

I want the f*cking odds of when Lindsay's gonna finally kick the f*cking bucket.

BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 1st, 2012 at 3:59:03 PM

Bring back Liam to save this already sinking ship
UMRAO writes:
on July 3rd, 2012 at 9:09:37 PM

Like many of you have said. Avengers did offly well since it is Marvel's 1st Avengers movie and it gained ticket sells through 3D.

Nolan was asked by WB to make the TDKR in 3D. He told them, "Ahhh, NO!"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved