WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Starship Troopers" Reboot is Less Violent

Posted: June 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Starship Troopers" Reboot is Less ViolentSubmit Comment
In an interview with Empire magazine, producer Toby Jaffe (Total Recall, Blue Streak) confirmed that he's working on a "Starship Troopers" reboot, adding that the goal is to make the new movie less violent.

"The more expensive a film is, the harder it is now to make it that violent," he explained. "With ['Total Recall'] in particular, we made a conscious choice to keep it tonally closer to something like 'Minority Report.' It gives the studio, and us as producers, the opportunity to reintroduce it in a new way."

But even though the goal will likely be to go for a PG-13 rating, Jaffe said that the bigger budget will allow the filmmakers to include a lot of the elements from Robert Heinlein's book. "We have the ability to do so much more now," he said. "We can do the Jump Suits [armored exoskeletons from Heinlein's novel], for example, which I don't think they could have done before."

A director has yet to board the project, but the script is already written by Ashley Edward Miller and Zack Stentz (X-Men: First Class, Thor).

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Damon242 writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:31:26 PM

Here's an idea - stop doing reboots. Stop doing remakes. Stop doing prequels.

Do some original work for once! There are hundreds and thousands of amateur screen-writers producing more original, and more quality, projects than what you are paying to adapt.

Take a hint, we don't want to see what we have already seen before.
Morbius writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:35:06 PM

^ And definitely not a weak-ass, watered down version of what we've already seen before.
codeman_1216 writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:48:00 PM

I'm in, as long as NPH is! That guy is LEGEN - wait for it...
codeman_1216 writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:48:49 PM

DARY! Legendary!
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:03:39 PM

f*ck off with this remake!!!
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:04:36 PM

Less violent? What's the point. That was one of the saving graces of the first movie (which, although I liked the first one... had a lame premise. If bugs are nuking Earth... why send soldiers down to lose lives? Why not just nuke their planet from outer space?!).
elrei writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:18:07 PM

So.. mmm.. Why bother then?
pornfly writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:21:08 PM

Less is more works on girls not action movies
struck21 writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:32:54 PM

The original was already watered down. Don't bloody reboot it if you aren't going to make it better.

I am sick and tired of PG-13 bullsh*t on every movie.
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:33:48 PM

I loved how their rifles never ran out of ammo.

Avirex writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:57:35 PM

@Damon

Exactly. There's so much countless material from all over the world that is waiting to be transferred to film.

The closest thing we've had to an original big budget film in the last few years is Inception and that only got approved because Nolan made the studio a zillion dollars right before that.
DeVries writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 12:24:31 AM

I liked Verhoven's vision of Starship Troopers. And I liked the book. I hate reboot. I hate Hollywood. Guess how many f*cks I give.
DeVries writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 12:25:20 AM

Oh and I love violence.
Mudders writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 12:38:18 AM

the original was f*ckin lame to start with...why would this be better?

less violence?....no thanks
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 1:37:57 AM

The first one I'll still vote is a bad/good movie. If they take the violence out (and it was pretty damn fake in the movies)... that'll suck worse than PlasticGoof's daughter when I'm babysitting her (and by 'babysit' I mean 'f*ck').
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 1:39:12 AM

so what's with the pg13 ratings....are they trying to appeal to younger crowds?...i remember watching starship troopers back when it first came out, was a sweet sweet movie...couldn't get enough violence, and didn't want it to end but it did and they started milking and now the milk is rotten and they're trying to pass it off as if it's still fresh milk...and as these good people so clearly and eloquently stated before above me, i agree, stop doing watered down versions of what we've already seen...it's not original it's not inspiring, it's just a waste of time and as hard as they try no matter how much work or money they spend into it, it could never reach or rob its own appeal from the originals...1/10 times does that ever work today...back then it was a 9/10 because every movie back then wasn't a reboot, and when they did reboot stuff they did it better than the people that do it today
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 1:49:39 AM

and to annoy every director or writer out there, just because they have the title doesn't mean they're making their own stuff...but regardless to annoy each attempt that they try to remake/reboot things, there should be actors that annoy the f*ck out of people by answering questions with more questions for instance, if an interviewer is asking an actor if there will be a sequel to a movie or prequel or reboot, they should simply say 'would you pay to watch the same story over and over? i wouldn't and certainly not going to kill it as fast as studios do, they always like to rush things and that's where they mess up and end up having to reboot it all, only to realize the reboot has put them at a worse point than where they were before'...pretty pathetic people in hollywood today...and it's amazing how these remakes aren't getting sued i mean copyrights are still effective right?
Rambo writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 1:49:48 AM

they sucked his brains out...
Sandullivan23 writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 2:12:46 AM

So this will be the third film of Verhoven's to be remade? They must really hate this guy
goddamn devil writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 2:18:03 AM

lol where is mink to comment on this trash
afterkwiss writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 3:12:33 AM

What's the point then?
pH0u57 writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 4:00:27 AM

PG-13 Starship Troopers?! That doesn't make ANY sense.
WV-Films writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 4:32:21 AM

"Starship Troopers" Reboot is Less Violent?
In other news; new porn to have less sex.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 6:13:29 AM

First film is a brilliant popcorn film. Would be sh*t without the violence. All these hacks in Hollywood need to start understanding what audiences want. "KILL EM! KILL EM ALL!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 8:57:01 AM

"With ['Total Recall'] in particular, we made a conscious choice to keep it tonally closer to something like 'Minority Report.' It gives the studio, and us as producers, the opportunity to reintroduce it in a new way."

I love how this idiot casually ignores the SUCCESS of the original R rated Total Recall. In 1990 it cost a respectable $65 mill to make and went on to gross $265 mill worldwide!!! I'll bet $1000 the gayer pg-13 version doesn't make half of those returns.

Unfortunately, this is the punkass world we live in. Quality is sacrificed for profit (or at least dreams of higher profits), originality is DEAD, and every action movie might as well be wearing a skirt. How the f*ck did we go from the blood and guts, bullets and bodybag loving 80s and 90s to this?
vincere01 writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 12:03:17 PM

I must admit that i like he first one. It was campy but just bad enough to be good. Plus the nude scene was epic at the time.
nawtnt writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 12:23:56 PM

Starship Troopers is now being rebooted?

Hollywood has finally gone over the line, what's next? The remake of The Goonies.

To make things bad, this film is now less violent and might be PG-13.

Well done, Hollywood, that's just f*cking great.
ALIsuperstar writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 12:25:31 PM

Yeah all we need now is another reeboot!!!
Throw this to trash and make a nice Guffy reeboot!
Less violent is less action!
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 3:21:08 PM

starship troopers is a masterpiece of propaganda satire. loved it, some of verhoeven's best work. you couldn't get the same movie made these days. as is the standard operating procedure, the studio will likely retardify it down to a 'science fiction' movie, much like transformers or the like is a 'science fiction' movie, meaning a bland, basic, action movie, no allegory, no depth. sad.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 3:59:32 PM

They are f*cking with Robocop.
They are f*cking with Total Recall.
And now they are f*cking with Starship Troopers.

What's Hollywood's jonsing about f*cking with Paul Verhoeven's career ?

If they really want to remake something noone and I mean noone will pay a ticket for ... why not Showgirls ?

And Starship Troopers with less violence ?

Fascism without Violence is just the Reagan Administration

SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 5:10:42 PM

haha!!!!!^^^
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 5:10:52 PM

A remake is welcome, since Heinlein actually endorsed the military and didn't mock it like Verhoeven's ultra-violent B movie parody.

"Fascism without Violence is just the Reagan Administration"

LOL, that's actually so untrue. Reagan, in fact, is the only president in more than century to *shrink* the federal government, and I know you'll say that's just Republican propaganda, but the organization to make that determination is actually quite liberal...

Then again, you probably believe less government somehow means more fascism...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 8:01:33 PM

interesting, @mink, did not know that about Heinlein. of course it's been like 25+ years since I've read the book so I probably wouldn't have remembered that even if I knew it beforehard. But even with that in mind, Verhoeven's satirical slant for the film is awesome. he gives us Beverly Hills 90210 in space, then rips the pretty people apart.

i can remember being in an opening-night screening of Starship Troopers, and going slackjaw at how the entire audience erupted in cheers when Neil Patrick Harris walks out in what essentially is an SS uniform and says "They're afraid!!" absolutely brilliant- yet so few people actually got it....
Damon242 writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 8:11:12 PM

@"A remake is welcome, since Heinlein actually endorsed the military and didn't mock it like Verhoeven's ultra-violent B movie parody."

So, is your endorsement of a remake for the benefit of Heinlein or for the benefit of the military?
Damon242 writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 8:13:14 PM

@Mink

"A remake is welcome, since Heinlein actually endorsed the military and didn't mock it like Verhoeven's ultra-violent B movie parody."


So, is your endorsement of a remake for the benefit of Heinlein or for the benefit of the military?

minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 8:27:01 PM

"So, is your endorsement of a remake for the benefit of Heinlein or for the benefit of the military?"

Why would I want Hollywood to spend millions to benefit the military? Huh, Damon? I'm perplexed as to how and why you'd read anything of the sort from what I wrote.

And yeah, @mustard, Heinlein got a bit of guff from his more...idealistic sci-fi colleagues, though not so much on the fore, I think because Heinlein had a lot of 'nutty' notions, e.g., you should actually have to serve in the military in order to become a citizen (a bit like modern Israel) because he thought the latter was a privilege, and not a given right. That's what I recall anyway.

But such an idea would never go ever with the spoiled entitlement state today.
darthraige writes:
on June 28th, 2012 at 11:53:32 PM

Hollywood? You're a c*nt face.
Damon242 writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 12:15:44 AM

@Mink

The section I quoted reads that way. However, I do appreciate the clarification.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved