WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Reynolds Officially Cast in "Highlander" Reboot

Posted: June 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan Reynolds Officially Cast in "Highlander" RebootSubmit Comment
About a month ago, we learned that Summit Entertainment was moving forward with a "Highlander" reboot and was in negotiations with Ryan Reynolds to play the lead. And now, both the TrackingBoard and Variety are reporting that the actor has accepted the offer.

In "Highlander," after centuries of dueling to survive against others like him, Connor MacLeod, an immortal Scottish swordsman must confront the last of his kind, a murderously brutal barbarian, who lusts for the Prize.

Juan Carlos Fresnadillo (28 Weeks Later) is set to direct the new movie from a script by Art Marcum and Matt Holloway (Iron Man, Punisher: War Zone).

Source: TrackingBoard


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 7:08:28 AM

HOLY MUTHA f*ckN CRAP!

This makes about as much sense as Channing Tatum doin the voice of Superman or Tyler Perry playing a young Morgan Freeman
pornfly writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 7:37:27 AM

BULLIT
http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/318084_329260027155490_1099062907_n.jpg
bandolero999 writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:05:01 AM

f*ck you Canadian faggot and f*ck this world hope it ends now
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:11:32 AM

Can't beat the orignal, It's an 80's classic.

I do wonder why they want to remake this though, I don't think any of the Highlander films have ever made an money at the boxffice.

Never seen the show, Was that any good ?
boogiel writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:15:01 AM

NOOOOOOOOOOO.....!
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:22:08 AM

Box office poison says it all.
Bullit writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:27:30 AM

@Pornfly; What the hell is that? What a massacre! I know that Lotus has developed this car and it would have preium performance by today's standards. Pitty.


@Trailer: I think the same mate. The show was absolute crap, you didn't miss anything.

IF they really have to make a reboot, then why don't they hire a real Scotsman? I don't know, like Gerard BUTLER perhaps?! But Reynolds, C'MON!
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:36:13 AM

Good call on Butler Bullit, If they have to do it.

They should just re-release the original instead.
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:43:08 AM

What was that pornfly a delorean for Michael J Fox and his doctors and nurses for BTTF 4
sherv writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:44:47 AM

Highlander is one of my best films, i walked to the summet of the bucle at glencoe last month which is the backdrop at the start. Love reynolds but why can't they cast a Scottish actor?? Hope his accent is better that chris lambert!
pornfly writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:45:51 AM

^HA
Gerard Butler is a million times better choice
Bullit writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:47:17 AM

* it would have been a premium performance car even by todays standards.

Sorry.
pornfly writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 8:55:40 AM

^dont apologise for your opinions,i just thought u might getta kick out of it
bandolero999 writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 9:00:44 AM

Van wilder with a Scottish accent.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 9:03:46 AM

Hwood really doesn't give a sh*t who they cast anymore. Guarantee he f*cks up the accent bigtime, that is if they even bother to give him an accent. Hwood has grown extremely lazy.

Where's Christopher Lambert when you need him?
Bullit writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 9:20:53 AM

Christophe Lambert? He's old & gray and getting thicker by the day. He's not very bright actually and it baffles me to know that he's always been with the hottest women: Diane Lane and now Sophie Marceau.

Speaking of thickness, it reminds me of JCVD which brings me to this:


http://terriblycute.com/doing-the-splits/
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 9:34:27 AM

Once again have Hollywood misunderstood how the world works.
Is Highlander a popular, but faulty, movie? Yes,
but it is loved by just those aspects. And it never was a smash hit on the box office. It did well, nothing more. Fans will not flock to the theatres for this, just as they didn't for the Conan-remake.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 9:45:58 AM

So basically Hannibal King gets his own movie. Yeah. Because Blade Trinity didn't suck, right?

But I'm sure Reynolds will nail that Scot accent like he nailed Scarlett...

*sigh*
nawtnt writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:08:32 AM

Ryan Reynolds as The Highlander?

Seriously, I thought he was brilliant in Buried and was good in Safe House but still I don't think he can pull it off.

This reboot could be a very bad idea.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:09:23 AM

I rather have sandwich boy Tom Jane play mccloud cause he looks like lambert.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:16:23 AM

Thomas Jane. lol. I just got that joke several days ago when I looked him up. Had no idea wtf you folks were talking about with him and the sandwich. Now I know. And I wish I didn't. I guess it's good he's proud he sold his ass for a hoagie but I wonder if he's left room for the pickle.
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:21:30 AM

Frued

US boxoffice take of the original Highlander was $5.9 mil, The series peaked with part 2 at about $16 mil.

Conan is a pretty good comparison, Can't see this working on any level.
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:27:35 AM

*Freud, I suffered the Quickening post
Mincockski writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:38:09 AM

does anyone here actually find minkowski funny? Just curious cause he comments on every single post. Is his job to troll movie websites while making corny puns and cursing a lot
Mincockski writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:38:10 AM

does anyone here actually find minkowski funny? Just curious cause he comments on every single post. Is his job to troll movie websites while making corny puns and cursing a lot
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 10:40:45 AM

^^I find myself quite funny, and that's really all that matters. My own self-amusement.

Besides, I think you brainless hedonists have enough entertainment, don't you?
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:14:33 AM

'Can't beat the original, It's an 80's classic.'

tt hits the nail on the head... again.

I so do NOT want a re-boot of this movie.

I hope anyone associated with this project gets venereal warts!!!
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:14:59 AM

Seriously... I'm NOT happy about this news!
Kurskij writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 12:01:02 PM

Another flop in the making. You can't remake a cult (not box-office) favorite and expect returns. Who's producing? Summit?

Kurgan should go berserk on their sorry asses
Gambino writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 12:31:49 PM

Why oh why.Why do they want to rape a classic movie.This is Hollywood at its worst.Why cant Hollywood leave the classics alone.Ryan Reynolds cant act but still loves himself.
Gambino writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 12:42:26 PM

Cant wait to listen to Ryan Reynolds Scottish accent.

It will be like listening to a leprechaun thats on crack.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 1:07:18 PM

You folks haven't even seen a f*cking trailer. Same thing with Homoa in Conan. Whine, bitch, moan. And then you saw it and said "Hey, not as bad as all my moaning would imply". Same here. It'll come out, and you'll say, "Hey, I actually liked that. What was all that moaning about in the beginning? Who knows? What can we bitch about now?".

Half of you have already dog-eared your paycheck to buy the BluRay3D-DVD combo pack I'll bet.

I, on the other hand, thought the original Highlander was 'ok', but sure as f*ck not exactly The Gospel of Luke, so a remake, who gives a f*ck? I may or not watch this one, but in fact, quite a few remakes have been pretty f*cking good.

As for Conan, never saw the first, will never see the remake. You guys and half-naked men and/or swords. Must be a Freudian thing.
jatilq writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 1:09:36 PM

pornfly writes:
HOLY MUTHA f*ckN CRAP!

This makes about as much sense as Channing Tatum doin the voice of Superman or Tyler Perry playing a young Morgan Freeman

Made me spit my drink out all over the place.. .LOL!

Priceless!
jatilq writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 1:11:23 PM

Another thing.. I thought the soundtrack by Queen was a big part of that movie and you can't have one without the other...
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 1:26:22 PM

New S/T will have justin bieber and 50 no cents
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 1:37:32 PM

Homoa in Conan, Yeah never watched that movie either.

This just seems like an odd remake to me from a financial point of view.

Gotta cost 20/30 mil to make at least and there isn't a positive boxoffice track record to say that people will want to go and see a remade Highlander, When no one turned out for the original (top film BTW) and it's very crappy sequels.

Is this all Hollywood have got ...

trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 1:39:01 PM

Thought you wouldn't like this story Ranger ....
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 1:43:40 PM

Mink

You are right some remakes do turn out pretty good.

Off top of my head;

The Crazies
Fright Night
Dawn of The Dead
Thomas Crown Affair (not better but pretty good)
The Thing
Oceans 11

Looking at those Horror remakes is the way to go.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 1:45:06 PM

@Trailer: That bad? sh*t, I thought it did decent. Well, then, all the more reason why this is a bad idea.
vincere01 writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 2:09:07 PM

Should be called Rylander : Rise of Gaymen
KillerCOck writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 2:10:20 PM

Am I the only who was surprised that Colin Farrell didn't get this job?
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 2:10:25 PM

@mink - I'm on record on WP as saying Conan looked like sh*t when they proposed it, after I saw the trailer, read the reviews, then saw the failed box-office take. Not once did I give that (another) unnecessary re-make a glimmer of hope.
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 2:28:20 PM

I hear ya there Ranger, That film was at the end of the bargin rack in Wal-Mart for a few bucks and i still never brought it.

And i will buy any old sh*t normally.
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 2:31:54 PM

Freud

I was suprised when i first looked at it's boxoffice record.

To have a ton of sequels and TV show you would have thought the original was a big hit.

Think i may watch this movie tonight now !
pornfly writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 3:01:26 PM

JATILQ, i hope it wasnt beer
cheers

Drinkin and driving with the headlights off in a stolen car while i snort coke off a stripperz titties at top speed sounds like fun too
But unless the conditions are right
Its gonna be a f*ckin mess

This is just an awful casting
supafly wills tattooz writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 4:11:13 PM

WELLL f*ck MEEEEEEEEEE ......WHY REBOOT IT .....THIS FILM ABOVE ALL SHOULD NEVER BR REMADE ....ITS AN ALL TIME CLASSIC WHICH SHOULD NEVER BE f*ckED WITH ....GREAT GREEN LANTERN TALKS SCOTTISH .....SHOOT ME NOW ....BASTARDS MY FAVORITE FILM OF ALL TIME ...I HOPE THIS BOMBS
Master Thought writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 2:07:23 AM

Okay the original may be a classic to many, and I DO enjoy it, but it really is a f*ckin' poorly made movie. I watched it recently and could barely sit through it. Poor script, bad acting. Too many poorly choreographed swordfights, too little Sean Connery.

Let's face it, Highlander could handle a reboot. It's a cool concept. I'm not sure Ryan Reynolds is the best choice though. Kevin McKidd would be better.
frost-ogre writes:
on June 29th, 2012 at 1:29:36 PM

This guy sucks at serious roles! How many flops does it take for studios figure that out.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved