WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Peter Berg Says "Battleship" Failed Because of "The Avengers"

Posted: June 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Peter Berg Says "Battleship" Failed Because of "The Avengers"Submit Comment
"Battleship" hit theaters in May and went on to gross only $63 million on a budget of $209 million. Luckily, the movie was able to take in another $235 million internationally, but that wasn't enough for the film to become profitable.

Now, in an interview with Peter Berg, the director says that he would love to make a sequel, but realizes that it will likely not be possible, blaming everything on "The Avengers."

"'Battleship' is a film that I would definitely like to do a sequel to," he said. "The movie kicked butt internationally, but we kind of ran into a wall when 'Avengers' refused to go away. So, what I need everyone to do is go see 'Battleship' now that they've seen 'Avengers' five times. If they do that, we can definitely make a sequel."

When asked about what he would do differently, Berg explained: "I would have loved to have come out three weeks before 'The Avengers' domestically, like we did internationally, because 'The Avengers' outperformed everything. It was impossible for 'Battleship' to get any oxygen."

Click here to read our "Battleship" review.

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:51:09 AM

'Battleship' kicked ass.One of the best summer movies in recent years.f*ck the haters and the avengers.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:52:36 AM

Hahahah excuses excuses.battleship sucked cause you had casted John Carter and Rihanna dipsh*t.don't be playerhating on earth mightiest heroes hoe.

bandolero999 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:54:39 AM

I'll give battleship a watch for free.Peter berg made hanc*ck and will smith to me equals aids and gay.
WV-Films writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:55:06 AM

O h right. I forgot about this movie. I do remember seeing a trailer for it though the third or fourth time I saw The Avengers.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:56:35 AM

The same sh*t would of happened to GI Joe but they pulled the plug and used the Channing Tatum and 3d bullsh*t.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 7:27:01 AM

Yes, Battleship being absolutely dreadful had nothing to do with it.
Bullit writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 7:37:00 AM

"Peter Berg Says "Battleship" Failed Because of "The Avengers"

Cry me a river! That's what happens when you focus Only on the visuals and nothing else. Besides, there's already an overdose of alien invading Earth but asking to be a tiny bit original is more expensive than the hundreds of million of the actlual budget.

Memphisto68 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 7:40:59 AM

HAHahahahahahaaaa....peter bergc*ck should have quiet being a "director" after very bad things because that's the best he could do with his poor skills...and now he's just doing really bad things to moviegoers.
rising_son writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 7:43:28 AM

Because adapting a movie from a boardgame was a good idea at the time.

"THIS SUMMER: SHOOTS MEETS LADDERS: SHOOTS AND LADDERS. WHAT GOES UP MUST COME DOWN!"
LastActionHero writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 8:21:27 AM

He should have done a sequel to the Rundown instead of Battle Los Angelas.. I mean Battleship. Its hard to keep these crappy alien invasion movies straight.
AngryAngel writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 8:40:57 AM

No no no no no no no no no . . . Just no. You're movie sucked because you extrapolated plot details from a damn boardgame. There is no blaming your failure on others success.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 9:42:56 AM

Battleship.

1. Starred Taylor Kitsch, the guy from that failed mega-bomb John Carter, and also Chris Brown's punching bag.

2. A diluted Transformers film. Without the Transformers. Or Bay's camerawork.

3. Based on a board game no one has played since 1979.

4. Lots of boats no one has used in two decades.

5. More blue liquid than Open Water.

6. Directed by the guy that directed Hanc*ck.



"So, what I need everyone to do is go see 'Battleship'"


No. f*ck off and die.

:D
Dre-EL writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 9:54:10 AM

I notice that I keep seeing Berg associated with a lot of high profile bombs, and there is always an excuse.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 11:06:49 AM

'So, what I need everyone to do is go see 'Battleship'' --- ummmm... no.
JakeVermont writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 11:13:20 AM

Battleship failed because of battleship...
Blank x25 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 11:20:56 AM

Rambo, you are officially, 100%, f*cking retarded.

"One of the best summer movies in recent years. f*ck the haters and the Avengers.".

We can now officially say you ride the short bus to school, and anything you say going forward will be taken as innocent banter by an absolute simpleton. Berg should be embarrassed he made it, Neeson should be embarrassed he was in it, and you sure as sh*t should be embarrassed you called that pile of sh*t a "good movie".

The schwarma scene at the end of the Avengers was better than this pitiful excuse for a film. And that's not a joke. I'd honestly rather watch people sit, eat, and not speak than have to watch a second of Battleship ever again.

Nice to see everybody again. Keep up the good work. And don't mind Rambo. Poor guy doesn't know any better.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 11:41:49 AM

Ill go see Battleship just for for you Berg. O wait it's no theaters bc it sucked more c*ck than Plastics daughter.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 11:49:33 AM

And that's saying something!
bandolero999 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 12:23:47 PM

Rambo's first comment was so bad that BLankx25 had to go out of his busy day to tell us how he really feels.

I dont know dude youre the minority on this one and sure as f*ck aint making sly proud by having his avatar.ANYONE ELSE IN THE US saw Battleship and thought it was good?
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 12:30:42 PM

Battlesh*t was doomed to fail from the beginning. Terrible idea, bad casting Kitsch, Rihanna (and Liam doesn't need that line of work and its frankly a waste of his awesomeness. Especially when he can be busy gutting wolves or snapping kidnappers in half for daring to touch his smoking hot daughter). Comparing a film whose starting premise is an unnecessary interpretation of a long lost board game against a successful superhero franchise film (with more integrity in shawarma scene - lol thanks Blankx25 for that) is retarded. Berg should accept his failure as a Director, learn from his mistakes and move on. Not wimper like a baby, serving up weakass pitiful excuses. This is one Director who will probably not be given anything from the Marvel.
Gnarkill writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 12:32:03 PM

I like U Peter Berg but Bandolero999 is right dont cast dipsh*ts in your movie
Faceman writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 12:59:20 PM

I don't usually post negative comments towards any article but this one really pissed me off. How can you blame your own movie's unsuccesfulness on another one? This just proves how this guy still thinks he did a pretty good job on this stupid movie. It is nothing like the game, and he casted the guy from probably the worst Disney movie ever and the Rihanna, I mean. WTF to that sh*tty casting. Also, it's not The Avengers fault, if people would've liked the movie or even heard that it was goo they would've gone to watch it anyways. But how is anyone going to be attracted to a movie that received 33% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes? I usually don't hate on director's that much but for a guy to not accept that his film sucked means he learned nothing in the process of making it.
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 2:01:51 PM

What a high functioning retard

When did taste=hater?
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 2:34:11 PM

Just release in the foreign market
Why do you care how it does in the states??
Robby Williams whatever his name is didnt give a sh*t about American success and he owns like 3castles or some sh*t
Mongoloid dad writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 2:49:30 PM

It would have been a success if they'd done extensive reshoots to work in Bob Balaban.
Sugartits writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 2:50:18 PM

Battleship failed because nobody wants to see an adaptation of a f*cking board game. The American public is dumb but they're not that dumb
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 2:58:32 PM

Battleship
"one of the best summer movies in recent years"

That blurb can be flashed on the screen for the dvd release
Just fast enough to not see who wrote it,like they do for crap movie commercials.

"alex cross should be in every media player"
The Wiskogee Gazette
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 3:02:00 PM

It sucked c*ck, didn't enjoy a minute.
Džeko writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 3:03:12 PM

Surely he can't be serious...
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 3:06:35 PM

All this hate on Rambo for having a different opinion, and yet, I have to hear, when I ram MY opinion down your throats, how opinions are all 'equal' (which isn't actually true)...

You people sure do pick and choose what you want to believe whenever it suits you. lol. Hypocrites. Just don't insult your comic book movies, I guess.

And hey, Rambo, Battleship *sucked*. But Avengers was worth only one watch, not five like the dateless dorks claim, and the film is about as filling as mint toothpaste.

Just my opinion. Please don't hate me.

Oops. Too late.
Kurskij writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 3:21:10 PM

^this

WP is known for destroying every "other" opinion if it doesn't belong to Mink, Ranger, TT or Putnam (in a bad way, Dusty, in a bad way). So... f*ck you, I guess.

Didn't see Battleship. Probably blu-ray. Heard good things about bigass explosions and bad things about everything else
bandolero999 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 3:22:04 PM

you just don't compare Battleship to Avengers.Is like comparing Channing Tatum to Brad Pitt or even Cruise Control.I know if someone said that to you Mink you'll rip their *ssholes apart.

and yes Avengers is worth the hype and 10 times better than the Dark knight with ledger.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 3:35:41 PM

and I wonder if Tom Cruise is gonna pull the same old excuse at his Rock of Ages movie:thats what happens when you film a movie in piece of sh*t Miami:
http://boxofficemojo.com/movies/?id=rockofages.htm
koul writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 3:37:53 PM

you serious Peter Berg, you gonna blame this sh*tty film's failure on The Avengers? go f*ck yourself, you're a crappy director
JensdePens writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 5:03:29 PM

Begging is not gonna help, mister Berg...
JensdePens writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 5:06:21 PM

And i played the boardgame in the 80s
Rambo writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 5:09:19 PM

so,let me get this straight...almost no one here saw the movie and you are trashing me for calling it a great movie...

who's the retard now?
Rambo writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 5:11:36 PM

oh,it's probably me because i didn't like 'the avengers'.
JensdePens writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 5:27:05 PM

I`ll watch it on my computer. Probably with sound off. Rambo, i know rihanna is only in it for us to jerk off (not sure what word to use here) of/to. Does she die? It would make me want to see it a little more if she does.

Rambo writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:00:27 PM

she doesn't die.and I don't know what is so sexy about her...quite ugly imo.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:00:42 PM

@Rambo, can you give us some insight why you didn't like The Avengers? It might help to explain things rather than fuel the fire here.

You're right, I haven't seen Battleship. And probably wrong to pass judgement on something I haven't seen yet (although I know I don't like Kitsch nor Rihanna as actors). But a 33% rating on Rotten Tomatoes meter can't be too far off.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:18:30 PM

"WP is known for destroying every "other" opinion if it doesn't belong to Mink, Ranger, TT or Putnam (in a bad way, Dusty, in a bad way). So... f*ck you, I guess."

You weren't here when I arrived back in 07. Oh, the hate, the vile, vile hate from people that refused to hear that Singer's X-Men movies aren't the greatest thing ever.

And Ranger too, although he didn't have enormous opinion on films then as now, but just his zany presence alone was enough to drive people mad in the beginning.

I think once people realize they can't shut you up or shut you down, they get bored. Fast.

And Bando, you should know by now that much, if not all, of what I do is a f*cking act. It's meant to stir the pot, make things interesting, mostly for me. I couldn't give two shakes of a rat's d*ck if you don't like Collateral, or Heat, or any other film that I happen to like, and in fact, I would actually PREFER you tell me why you don't like those films, but if you can't, if all 'you', the person in question, can say is 'wah, I no like!", then you're worthless to me. And THAT'S the problem: a lack of critical thinking, not a differing opinion.


So relax, because I wasn't even aiming my original comment at you.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:19:10 PM

"she doesn't die.and I don't know what is so sexy about her...quite ugly imo."

Without her makeup, she looks like a f*cking chihuahua.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:24:33 PM

She has a pretty f*cking awesome body for a chihuahua. So I for one would f*ck that chihuahua.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:38:58 PM

I wasnt even writing sh*t to aim at nobody.all I wrote that battleship and avengers shouldnt be compared.
If it was battleship and transformers then yea.

And i am not a Mann hater.have only seen collateral once and didn't like it.so I'll give it another try later on.heat is my favorite and that movie to me never gets old.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:41:10 PM

I guess, if all it takes is some tits and a skinny frame. But what can I say. I see southern girls all the time with bodies as nice or better, so Rihanna's minimal appeal doesn't impress me much.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:41:11 PM

The finest black woman to me is halle berry

Rihanna has a huge ass forehead.she's Overrated as f*ck unless you like hip-hop.which i hate and have no choice cause that's all they play here.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:41:42 PM

If you want to annoy them, bando, play some Chuck Berry.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:44:27 PM

"The finest black woman to me is halle berry"

I never thought of her as black. I always see her as just a really dark white girl for some reason.

Gabrielle Union, on the other hand...
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:47:23 PM

Texas chix are awsome but not much up top
Just the way i likem

If you cant tell me why you hate them,i dont need you.
That was awsome too

Everything- is-awsome
bandolero999 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:49:24 PM

Black girls and Hispanic girls soooo cliche

Bring on the Asian,white chix
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:50:40 PM

I think of Gabriel Union the same way
Ever since her early movies

The best hot black chics are mixed
Especially with italian
Then puerto rican
Then asian
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:54:32 PM

Since we are taking orders at the bar, make mine a green Star Trek Orion Slave bitch.
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 10:19:13 PM

^would you like to supersize that sir
SPURTACUSS writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 11:00:36 PM

I love how a comment by a director on his film became a Rihanna/black girl bashfest by a bunch of f*ck@#g mooks who thinks that johanssen is so hot fu@k that hamster faced non talent ginger bi$@h
Man in Black writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 12:13:20 AM

God damn Peter , would you like some cheese with your insistent bitching ! And if a frog had wings you whiny c*nt !
Rambo writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 2:37:18 AM

@mr.blonde

there were a few things I didn't like about the avengers and let me start by saying first that it wasn't a bad movie...I did enjoy for exaple the scenes with the hulk,mainly the one he abused loki,however:

1)first half of the move had almost no action whatsoever..lots of pointless talking
2)the movie lacked a good soundtrack.it felt like some second grade television composer made the music.
3)Loki is a pathetic villain.
4)what was the point of scarlett johanssen?
5)lack of emotional substance...wooden characters...
Kurskij writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:48:11 AM

Speaking of black girls - Kerry Washington.
Kurskij writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 11:48:11 AM

Speaking of black girls - Kerry Washington.
Gambino writes:
on June 27th, 2012 at 12:51:07 PM

Battleship failed because it was crap.
seveltoto writes:
on November 3rd, 2017 at 2:43:06 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 19th, 2017 at 4:09:08 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 26th, 2017 at 1:25:26 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved