WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Popeye" Movie Hires Director

Posted: June 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Popeye" Movie Hires DirectorSubmit Comment
Genndy Tartakovsky, the director of "Star Wars: Clone Wars," "Dexter's Laboratory," and the new animated Adam Sandler comedy "Hotel Transylvania," is now attached to direct the upcoming 3D animated "Popeye" movie for Sony.

Popeye first appeared in the "Thimble Theater" comicstrip in 1929, and went on to spawn numerous spin-offs, including one of the longest-running series of animated shorts and Robert Altman's 1980 film starring Robin Williams.

Tartakovsky is also currently attached to direct a feature version of Cartoon Network's "Samurai Jack," which he also created.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Brody writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 7:05:50 AM

oh brother

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umFzekMru2k
Bullit writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 7:40:30 AM

It didn't work the 1st time...
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 9:54:14 AM

Dear Sony,

You f*cking suck.

Sincerely,

Minkowski
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 11:21:16 AM

I'll never watch this.
Gnarkill writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 12:39:48 PM

jesus f*cking christ why!!!? Anyone born after 1990 doesnt know who f*ckin popeye is and I doubt grown ass men will see this movie think before u f*ckin act hollywood
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 1:37:40 PM

@Brody - not sure if anyone ever told you but your Avatar is of the late Patrick Swayze from Point Break who played a character named "Bodhi". Yet your spelling is "Brody", a name mostly associated with the Police Chief in Jaws played by the late Roy Scheider. So either you are paying tribute to both deceased actors or have your signals crossed mate.

As for a 3-D animated Popeye - don't bother. Think how well the 3 Stooges reboot did. Strange that Hollywood feels a compelling need to open up the vaults to resurrect something that should respectfully stay dead, less we tarnish our memories of the originals.
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 2:11:35 PM

^you should change your name to Mr. Paying Attention

Samurai Jack would be better,ive only seen that show a couple of times

At least this guy is sticking to animation unlike Andrew Stanton
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 2:21:37 PM

I just saw Point Break again last week,lmao

Underdog
Yogi
Marmaduke
The Smurfs success is clouding this guys judgememt
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 3:01:53 PM

Funny how people are bashing this as a sh*tty remake/reboot, but many of you were on the bandwagon for the Prototype trailer even though it's a remake of a film with a 3 on IMDb.

And yeah, Bodhi. He took his name from a f*cking Buddhist tree, which means 'enlightenment'. Thought everyone knew that one...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bodhi_Tree

"So either you are paying tribute to both deceased actors or have your signals crossed mate."

Well, there's a third possibility, and that's he doesn't care a lick for some Jaws character, that he knows Bodhi from Brody, and that he either hails from a place named Brody, or the name is his own or that of someone he knows. Also, he might have taken it from IJ, as in Marcus Brody, which was my first thought months ago...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brody_%28name%29
bandolero999 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 3:29:14 PM

The situation from JErsey Shore kinda looks like an EYETALIAN popeye
JensdePens writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 5:00:43 PM

I liked robin williams as popeye the first and only time i saw it when i was 6
KillerCOck writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 5:33:49 PM

Dope! Popeye is the sh*t!!! Hope its great!
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:27:22 PM

Popeye stands a better chance at succeeding if it were a 3D animated porn title.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:41:56 PM

Will the age-old question finally be answered:

Will Popeye finally f*ck Olive Oyl on camera?

No f*cky... no watchie.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 6:49:45 PM

@Ranger - I'm with you on this one.

Olive Oil has a natural flow of lube. So it should help grease the chambers. And Popeye is a sailor, the horny buggers of the world. So the potential makings are all there. Porn I say. Or make it an R-rated animated Popeye in 3D. And give the fans what they want.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 7:11:09 PM

I could not have said that better myself!
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 7:12:02 PM

Popeye plays that old 'c*ck in the spinach can' trick he tries with all his swabbies on the poop deck (IF you know what I mean?!)
jamesjack writes:
on July 25th, 2017 at 1:24:23 PM

It has fully emerged to crown Singapore's southern shores and undoubtedly placed her on the global map of residential landmarks. I still scored the more points than I ever have in a season for GS. I think you would be hard pressed to find somebody with the same consistency I have had over the years so I am happy with that. community
jamesjack writes:
on July 26th, 2017 at 2:57:13 AM

The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought you have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you werent too busy looking for attention. david hoffmeister
jamesjack writes:
on July 27th, 2017 at 8:48:10 AM

I most likely appreciating each and every bit of it. It is an incredible site and decent impart. I need to much obliged. Great employment! You all do an incredible blog, and have some extraordinary substance. Keep doing awesome. gearbest coupon xiaomi
karenmorrison writes:
on July 28th, 2017 at 6:28:32 AM

This type of looks entirely finest. These tiny details are usually made along with a lot of foundation details. I prefer in which a lot. Ketosis Diet
jamesjack writes:
on July 29th, 2017 at 12:48:31 AM

Awesome blog. I enjoyed reading your articles. This is truly a great read for me. I have bookmarked it and I am looking forward to reading new articles. Keep up the good work! send flowers to Bhopal
jamesjack writes:
on August 1st, 2017 at 3:01:47 AM

Well, this got me thinking what other workouts are good for those of us who find ourselves on the road or have limited equipment options. roller door motor
jamesjack writes:
on August 3rd, 2017 at 12:21:06 AM

They're produced by the very best degree developers who will be distinguished for your polo dress creating. You'll find polo Ron Lauren inside exclusive array which include particular classes for men, women. stickers
jamesjack writes:
on August 6th, 2017 at 8:59:02 AM

The worst part of it was that the software only worked intermittently and the data was not accurate. You obviously canot confront anyone about what you have discovered if the information is not right. hair dryer machine fast dry
jamesjack writes:
on August 6th, 2017 at 11:47:41 AM

Easily, the article is actually the best topic on this registry related issue. I fit in with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your next updates. regime musculation
jamesjack writes:
on August 27th, 2017 at 11:00:52 AM

wow, great, I was wondering how to cure acne naturally. and found your site by google, learned a lot, now i’m a bit clear. I’ve bookmark your site and also add rss. keep us updated. Best BBQ Grills and Smokers
jamesjack writes:
on August 29th, 2017 at 1:56:15 AM

This post is very simple to read and appreciate without leaving any details out. Great work! site
jamesjack writes:
on September 8th, 2017 at 9:29:04 AM

Great post i must say and thanks for the information. Education is definitely a sticky subject. However, is still among the leading topics of our time. I appreciate your post and look forward to more. Cell Phone Clip Holder
jamesjack writes:
on September 14th, 2017 at 2:04:55 AM

This is a wonderful article, Given so much info in it, These type of articles keeps the users interest in the website, and keep on sharing more ... good luck. best av receivers
sjaden writes:
on September 23rd, 2017 at 4:15:55 AM

Nice information, valuable and excellent design, as share good stuff with good ideas and concepts, lots of great information and inspiration, both of which I need, thanks to offer such a helpful information here.!
algarve property for sale
jamesjack writes:
on September 28th, 2017 at 12:44:05 AM

Great post i must say and thanks for the information. Education is definitely a sticky subject. However, is still among the leading topics of our time. I appreciate your post and look forward to more. Escort Rancagua
jamesjack writes:
on September 28th, 2017 at 11:27:22 AM

You might comment on the order system of the blog. You should chat it's splendid. Your blog audit would swell up your visitors. I was very pleased to find this site.I wanted to thank you for this great read!! Escort Santiago
jamesjack writes:
on October 11th, 2017 at 3:40:38 AM

I was very pleased to find this site.I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post. offshore VPS
jamesjack writes:
on October 17th, 2017 at 4:21:25 AM

Your blogs further more each else volume is so entertaining further serviceable It appoints me befall retreat encore. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay informed of any updates. 看護師募集
jamesjack writes:
on October 18th, 2017 at 3:01:49 AM

This is also a very good post which I really enjoyed reading. It is not every day that I have the possibility to see something like this.. top ICOS
jamesjack writes:
on October 19th, 2017 at 1:04:48 AM

I invite you to the page where you can read with interesting information on similar topics. www.wdewa.com
jamesjack writes:
on October 19th, 2017 at 9:00:04 AM

I use only high quality materials - you can see them at: wybielanie zebow

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved