WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mortal Kombat" Reboot in the Works, Plot Summary Revealed

Posted: June 25th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mortal Kombat" Reboot in the Works, Plot Summary RevealedSubmit Comment
A while back, Kevin Tancharoen put together a great video showing what a new "Mortal Kombat" movie could look like. The studio liked what they saw, but instead of handing over the film franchise to him, Warners instead gave him an opportunity to develop a "Mortal Kombat" web series (watch here).

The series ended up being a big hit, and Warners has now decided to develop a film reboot. Bloody-Disgusting has learned that Tancharoen is attached to direct from a script by Oren Uziel (writer of the web series). No word if any of the actors from the web series (Michael Jai White, Jeri Ryan) will return.

The new film will follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has out of this world powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sev writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 7:39:44 AM

Jesus how deep is the f*cking barrel??? Thought we reached the bottom with The Guiness Book of Records Movie???
pornfly writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 7:55:09 AM

Kill the supermarket bag boy idea and i'm in
Avirex writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 8:11:26 AM

Believe it or not the Mortal Kombat universe actually has potential to be cinematically compelling with it's mythical story/character elements and visually rich backdrops. Yes, there really is something beyond the blood splatter unlike most fighting games. I'm surprised too.

The reality of it though is that I am 500 percent certain that Hollywood will never do anything worthwhile with any of that. Its doomed to be a clusterf*ck of cinematic celluloid. Especially with mongoloid written plots like the one in this article and the director of the 'Glee 3D Concert' movie.

I hope that some natural catastrophe (focused solely on the film set) occurs and sends this production into permanent development hell.
trailertrash writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 8:13:21 AM

Mortal Kombat; Never seen the film, Never played the game.
Rambo writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 8:15:32 AM

the game was amazing...still remember seeing the first fatality by kano...was shocked and amazed at the same time.
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 8:22:34 AM

I have this game as a ROM on a arcade machine I built for my son. This game and all the classic I grew up playing.

Killer Instinct
all 700 Street fighter versions
tecmo bowl
frogger
pac-man
R-type

you get the drift.
pornfly writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 8:22:46 AM

You missed the boat TRAILER
the sdtrk kicked so much ass they released another cd
BADCHAD probably still teaches with one or two tracks

AVIREX,nailed it though
They had all this time since the web series to come up with a story line that would expand the MK universe
But instead opted for the express make a fast buck soup sandwich process
pornfly writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 8:36:00 AM

TRAILER never played one of the most violent video games that was banned in certain cities and sparked the whole rating system for games

Thats sounds suspect to me
Its ok to say you were locked up
I dont judge
bandolero999 writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 8:52:04 AM

unlucky supermarket employee?who the f*ck thought of that sh*t?a f*cking down syndrome kid?

now this movie is gonna be the bomb:Rza and Tarantino definitely know their KUNT FU:
http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v215/MantisFist/?action=view¤t=rza_quentin_tarantino_ironfists_trailer_cellphone_recording_youtube_822e1.mp4


BadChadB33 writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 8:54:34 AM

Kill the fag supermarket idea please!!!

Pornfly- I do still mix in the theme from time to time, it's a classic. I do get quite a few requests for Scooter-Fire. People seem to like that one.

Avirex- Spot on brother.
pornfly writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 9:00:41 AM

nice find BANDO
f*ckYEA I forgot about that movie

YinYang blade is sick
Hot sushi on sushi action too
gotsghostrider writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 9:10:39 AM

This is all old news aside from the plot. Tancheron said it will be R so at least it will be violent. Sounds like a B kung fu flick to me.
Bullit writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 9:25:58 AM

Meanwhile, Michael BAY is going for a treat:


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2164020/Michael-Bay-steps-mystery-brunette-hardly-contain-curves-tiny-pink-dress.html
bandolero999 writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 9:43:30 AM

now that's one hot piece of p*ssy pie Bullit.
I wonder if Rambo will appove her.Buen Trabajo
bandolero999 writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 9:43:55 AM

approve
nawtnt writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 9:46:03 AM

I have to be honset what amazes me most is not this plot but that Paul W.S. Anderson, the director of the first Mortal Kombat movie decided not to return for the second movie where that turned to be Mortal Kombat: Annihilation and everyone knows how that one turned to be.

Anderson decided to contiune make sequels to the Resident Evil movies, well's that bad.

Still even if this reboot goes foward, I think it wouldn't be as great as the first original movie and will turned to be a awful movie with unknown actors.

Even still I hope Michael Jaiw White returns as Jax, he's a great martial arts fighter and a great choice for the role.
trailertrash writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 10:06:58 AM

pornfly - lol

To be honest mate, I have never really played video games. Even as a kid i would always be playing football (soccer) or tennis with me pals or hanging out round the streets causing trouble, you know the usual stuff.

Both my kids have the PS3 X-box etc and they kick my ass on everything every time they ask me to play.
trailertrash writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 10:09:21 AM

Bullit

3rd Pic looks like Bay needs to work on his stalking skills if you ask me.

Until she's spread across his car all soaped up and wet it ain't clear if she is T4 new leading lady.
Bullit writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 10:21:40 AM

^ ^ Lol, I hope she'll be the new lead...


Also, nice black & white pictures of old Britain taken from above. Cheers,


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2164074/Britain-Above-Thousands-historic-aerial-photographs-online-time-today.html
Bullit writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 10:22:43 AM

At last some justice:

JOEY BARTON has been stripped of the QPR captaincy and fined six weeks wages of around 400,000!

I enjoyed that news.
trailertrash writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 10:52:19 AM

Bullit

Love those old pictures, Especially the Wembley one, Just like Bay's brunette i'd love to see those twin towers erected again.

And after the sad passing of Alan McDonald (QPR Legend) only 47 he should have been dropped out of respect for him ......

Silly c*nt ....
mehh0408 writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 12:22:49 PM

Sounds boring
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 2:03:37 PM

I have no clue what Avirex is on, perhaps acid laced with anthrax or something, but Mortal Kombat, spelled with a k because illiteracy is just totally awesome dude, isn't any better a game than Street Fighter, or Tekken or Soul Caliber, unless ridiculous and pointless violence is your drug, so why the f*ck they made the first really lousy film, followed by the second somehow even worse film Annihilation, which describes your brain cells watching that garbage, is beyond my comprehension.

Now they've decided to reboot the 'franchise', which is like the corpse of Jim Jones rebooting his kool-aid party, a decision that has about all the intelligence of birthday suit swimming with the bull sharks.

Look, it's a diversity class of Comic Con nerds fighting, with the special effects of Buck Rogers. It sure as f*ck isn't Dostoyevsky's Crime and Punishment, or even The Brothers Karamazov.
vincere01 writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 3:01:55 PM

Jerri ryan is hot. Some nudity or at least a gratuitis ass shot in some spandex and im there....when it comes out on video
Dekead writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 3:48:22 PM

Dont f*ckin modernize it!!
Avirex writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 4:54:51 PM

@mink

I'm not surprised my post caught your attention. I didn't call Mortal Kombat a 'better' game than Street Fighter, Tekken or even Shaq Fu. I don't f*cking play games anymore anyways so I really don't know or give two sh*ts which is better than the other. My only point was that based on the original mythos and concepts Mortal Kombat is the most potentially interesting for cinema purposes. The 90's flicks were both sh*t and on par with typical Saturday morning cartoons or similar corny fares. Don't assume I'm a fan of a Paul W. Anderson flick or it's even somehow drastically worse sequel. Though obviously they are the basis for you're perception that the Mortal Kombat universe can not become more than those missed opportunities. Like I said, Hollyweird will never do anything of cinematic note with the property. If I judged lets say for instance Batman's film potential based on 'Batman & Robin' or a failed comic book series my outlook on that would be incredibly negative too. Not until someone does something of note with a particular property do most people realize there was potential that whole time.
pornfly writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 5:06:05 PM

BULLIT
I want what that n***az smokin
He just keeps lookin at his boots
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 5:31:13 PM

I was just f*cking around, Avirex.

Sheesh. Why so serious?

(I so hate that goddamned quote...)
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 5:32:18 PM

"Jerri ryan is hot. Some nudity or at least a gratuitis ass shot in some spandex and im there....when it comes out on video"

I want to see the movies her and her husband made. You just know she screamed seven out of nine times.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 6:32:28 PM

Jerri Ryan looks like a grandma with that old face of hers.I tather hit up Jessica biel or jennifer aniston.
pornfly writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 6:44:50 PM

If i was Michael Bay i'd have that chic ridin me during the Transformers ride
Haunted Mansion ride is perfect too
pornfly writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 6:51:26 PM

AVIREX,should i waste anytime watchn the web series?
bandolero999 writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 7:18:42 PM

Pornfly I hope you were joking about the web series right?

It's the best mk live action adaption yet.
pornfly writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 7:56:43 PM

^Cool! i just wanted to wait till they all came out
I dont like waiting unless i have to, it comes from waiting in line like every weekend at Disney World growin up
THX
go heat
bandolero999 writes:
on June 25th, 2012 at 8:19:14 PM

It's all in youtube watch it.better than piece of sh*t haywire
Gnarkill writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 12:47:07 PM

IF... they do it right I will see it, loved mortal kombat
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 2:35:31 PM

ok i am a huge f*cking mortal kombat fan but im not gonna lie this sounds kinda sh*tty
koul writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 3:39:09 PM

lol, this plot sounds so f*cking stupid. im pretty sure this is not the real story, who the f*ck made this story up?
Donyae 420 writes:
on June 26th, 2012 at 10:30:07 PM

Soul Blade & Soul Caliber CAN NOT BE f*ckED WITH

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved