WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Flash Gordon" Actor is Now a Bodyguard

Posted: June 22nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Flash Gordon" Actor is Now a BodyguardSubmit Comment
Back in 1980, former US Marine Sam Jones was cast as the title character in "Flash Gordon." The film wasn't a big box office hit, but became a pop-culture classic. Unfortunately, the movie didn't do much for Jones' career, forcing him to rely on TV show appearances and minor roles in straight-to-DVD movies.

Entertainment Weekly caught up with the 57-year-old actor and found out that to pay the bills, he turned to personal security business and became a bodyguard to VIPs when they travel to high-risk areas.

"One day I called a [major security] company that was known for hiring good professionals, elite guys. They sent me to specialized training, and I excelled in that," he explained. "And next thing you know I was sent to Los Angeles, protecting a billionaire. From there I was sent to [New Orleans in the wake of] Katrina to protect executives who decided to remain."

Jones went on to speak about working in dangerous areas, like in Mexico. "It could be very scary. When we're in these environments where it's the real deal, we are traveling hard. We're in armored vehicles. They look like normal sedans or SUVs, but they are armored. And we're traveling hard and we're traveling fast."

He continued: "Most of the time we're traveling low profile. We're not putting up red flags. There are times when we have some dignitaries when we have to travel in a huge motorcade with weapons out the windows. But usually we stay under the radar. In other words, we don't give the bad guys any opportunity. They're watching us. We're not stupid. When they look at us and they know our training, so they're not going to mess with us."

Jones added that there have been times when he was recognized as Flash Gordon while working as a bodyguard. "When they find out that I was Flash Gordon and in the film business for years, that's okay once I've already proven myself as a security professional. I had a big, big successful executive at a major [movie] studio. I had been protecting him for about a year. Then he put it together. He said, 'Oh my God, I know exactly who you are. I trust you with my life! Thank God I knew you as a security professional before I found out you were Flash Gordon.'"

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:04:41 PM

You wrote all that sh*t for an article containing a topic about which no one gives even the slightest f*ck.

Congratulations.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:05:57 PM

Well at least he did something with himself instead of getting stung out on drugs and alchohol

Then ending up on celebrity rehab
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:09:57 PM

strung
jatilq writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:11:52 PM

Lol Mink...

I Liked Flash and would of been happy if that was my last image of him.. Thanks for depressing me. I wonder what happened to the sexy co-star.
pornfly writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:13:08 PM

Sam JONES
WHO?
Sam JONES
pornfly writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:17:15 PM

I would like Sam Jones and Hawkman to fight at my birthday
Then some oil wrestling with Dale and Princess Aura
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:20:59 PM

Holy sh*t. THIS is the guy from Highwayman? f*ck me. That was like a trillion years ago! lol. I still remember this damned show.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093189/
pornfly writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:21:19 PM

I liked that show he did with The Energizer guy,
Highwayman or somethin
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:23:20 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLLyS88_DB8
Detrimental writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:24:02 PM

Getting sh*t done.
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:25:11 PM

And with Tim Russ? f*ck Allah, that's just all kinds of awesome!
pornfly writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:45:07 PM

MINK,
Jacko as Jetto
DAASSSAGOODWON

Back in the good ol'days when we didnt know they were good ol' days
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:45:44 PM

"I wonder what happened to the sexy co-star."

Retired in NYC. Does work with drug addicts and alcoholics. So sorry, no porn.
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 10:46:33 PM

"Back in the good ol'days when we didnt know they were good ol' days"

QFMFT!
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 12:06:47 AM

Wow... could Sam Jones blow any more sunshine up his own skirt?!

"...we're traveling hard and we're traveling fast." --- I mean... who f*cking talks like that?!

Staying under the radar... right, like a precession of armored, clean, Denali's don't draw attention in Bogota? What a maroon!

The bad guys would want to mess with us?! WTF is this guy smoking. The 'bad guys' know EXACTLY what you're packing... that's why they use RPG's, ya douche!

Anywhore... to add some interest to this 'movie article' (Jesus... this story makes me long for a BLOhan update) - here's the ONLY reason Flash Gordon (ok, aside from it's outright cheesiness) because a cult(ish) classic:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfmrHTdXgK4
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 12:08:22 AM

'would' = 'wouldn't'
pornfly writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 12:27:25 AM

RANGE
i talk like that when i see a hot chic in the frozen food section and i have to hurry home to take care of my boner
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 12:46:48 AM

Agreed, that's the place. But not while building oneself up from a failed movie career.
pornfly writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 2:48:58 AM

"HAWKMEN! DIIIIVE!"
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 4:25:19 AM

"I wonder what happened to the sexy co-star"

Go Flash Go !!!

Yeah she was HAWT, Shame no one took anal advantage of her when she was drugged out of her mind, Flesh Gordon would have !!
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 4:29:31 AM

Ranger

Don't forget Queens contribution to Flash Gordon as well
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 5:15:49 AM

I could never forget that.

Thus... my tribute link above.
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 6:16:36 AM

Sorry pal, Should have known better. I was sitting in traffic on my phone and couldn't see you link, which I will check out in a bit.
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 7:57:38 AM

FLASH !!!!!


AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Classic ......
MontoyaWA writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 11:22:58 AM

Haha! He reminds me of Bill Paxton in True Lies...
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 11:56:00 AM

Bill Paxton character in True Lies was one of the greatest supporting characters of all time. I still think that's his best work (Cameron seems to get that out of people). He stole every scene he was in.

@tt - hard to believe the Flash soundtrack is that old already.
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 1:35:59 PM

I know mate it's shocking, But i guess like most of Queens music it's timeless isn't it.

Funny my dad gave me an old vinyl record of News Of The World (the fold out one) a couple of months back.

Drawn by Frank Freas, That has to be the best album cover of all time. It's a wonderful piece of art work, it seems like i see something different each time i look at it.

Sums up what an awesome band they were.
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 1:36:54 PM

It's a Vinyl i can't play either lol
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 1:48:23 PM

Great piece to have framed though... maybe.

I have one of these. Was so happy a prev. owner sold it to me. Then... his married sister flew in (from another country) to see me and I banged the sh*t outta her (kinda felt like I owed her).

http://www.queenworld.com/artman/publish/article_277.shtml

PS: that's a very decent price the person is asking for (I did the currency conversion) that box set.

And back when... a friend of mine liked Flash Gordon and the soundtrack so much, I sourced him a VHS copy of the movie (yeah... it was that long ago).


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 2:29:44 PM

Good for ol' Sam.

Now he can go find Erin, f*ck the sh*t out of her and then take over the trailer park.
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 3:05:12 PM

lol.
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 3:57:57 PM

hahaha Nice

I kinda think you owed it to her too, Big time ...

VHS Flash Gordon, I had it recored off the TV for years adverts and all, lol
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 4:01:35 PM

Yep. The soundtrack is the ONLY thing that made that movie. Highlander was a lot better (can't beat Connery) - with again... FAB. soundtrack.
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 4:53:50 PM

Highlander Top freakin movie ....

And Freddy sings New York, New York at the end of the car chase scene. Which was deleated on the S/T apparently.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZtU5Ow61dxk

At about 2:35 min
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 5:34:32 PM

I really wish they did a full recording of NY, NY.
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 5:39:50 PM

I checked into it, I thinks it's on an Limited ED soundtrack they released a while ago, Worth a few dollars i bet.
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 5:50:08 PM

Good to know... thx. Because Freddie knocked that one out of the park (as usual).
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 6:36:27 PM

He sure did as always ....
minkowski is a fag writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 8:00:09 PM

don't get mad minkowski, you finally got your 15 seconds of fame with that article. cherish it, treasure it, actually get the f*ck back to guarding paris hilton you mook
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 9:33:22 PM

^^What the f*ck are you talking about? What article? The f*cking CGI article? Jesus, you stupid c*nt, I've posted better than that in the f*cking comments. Like I even think of that sh*t.

...dear lord, I hope I never actually succeed in life, or I'll be the most hated man alive...
japaninmotion writes:
on June 23rd, 2012 at 9:50:32 PM

I liked him in the highwayman and the spirit . this shows my age
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 24th, 2012 at 1:35:16 AM

Sam Jones

AHHH-AHHHHH

He'll protect every one of us
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 24th, 2012 at 11:30:34 PM

Good for him, getting a job outta the Hollywood machine. Shows he's not a one trick acting pony, there is a life outside the acting gig.

Beats the hell out of living broke and in a trailer home...no offense Erin.
seveltoto writes:
on November 3rd, 2017 at 3:34:38 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 19th, 2017 at 4:10:58 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 26th, 2017 at 1:32:37 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved