WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "The Amazing Spider-Man" Reviews are Positive

Posted: June 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "The Amazing Spider-Man" Reviews are PositiveSubmit Comment
"The Amazing Spider-Man" is set to hit theaters on July 3rd, but the first reviews of the film are already coming out. Overall, they are very positive, but almost all critics feel that the movie could have been much better.

The main issue is that "The Amazing Spider-Man" focuses so much on the characters that it becomes more of a relationship movie than a superhero action flick. One critic even said that it's a Spider-Man movie for the "Twilight" generation. However, many were quick to point out that there's still plenty of action to satisfy the fans.

Reading the reviews, we also learned that there's a post-credits scene that sets up the sequel. So don't leave the theater when the credits begin rolling.

* The Guardian: This Spider-Man is as enjoyable as it is impressive. (8/10)

* Total Film: Spider-Man re-begins in style. (8/10)

* The Telegraph: Packs plenty of testosterone, but Marc Webb's new Spider-Man is the superhero film for the 'Twilight' generation. (8/10)

* SFX: "The Amazing Spider-Man" more than succeeds. (8/10)

* The Upcoming: On par with "The Avengers" on being the best Marvel film yet. (8/10)

* Movieweb: Hit and miss in various places from its villain to pacing and plotting. (6/10)

* Empire: Enjoyable origin story to live comfortably alongside the Raimi era. (6/10)

* London Evening Standard: Slow on plot, skimpy on character development. (4/10)

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 6:30:49 AM

No amount of "mostly positive" reviews will get me excited about this one.
Avirex writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 6:31:06 AM

"Spider-Man is the superhero film for the 'Twilight' generation"

^^^That was actually said as a good thing? ...wtf
Džeko writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 7:04:11 AM

@Avirex
Yeah,WTF INDEED?!!?!?
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 7:19:13 AM

Twilight in Tights??
Sounds like a Mel Brooks pic

Sadly its not
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 7:46:59 AM

completely agree im even more skeptical of this film now if its being compared to twilight
boogiel writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 7:48:55 AM

"Twilight generation's superhero movie"

Yeah right.

BadChadB33 writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 8:06:43 AM

Wow Really?
Damon242 writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 8:09:30 AM

More an unnecessary movie than anything else.
Donyae 420 writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 8:25:06 AM

U just lost every male on this site with the twilight bullsh*t.
theotherworld writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 9:06:11 AM

I'm still looking forward to this, but I'm a comic guy nerd, i like them all, even if they are terrible, apart from cat woman, i own it, tried watching it about 5 times, couldn't get through it.

this has got to be better than cat woman.....i hope
Rambo writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 9:34:21 AM

spiderfag
LEONCIO writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 9:35:02 AM

I guess the Twilight comparison is due to the Parker/Stacy relationship, and I don't have much of a problem with that since Raimi's movies were really really cheesy and I doubt PP/GS's love story will be much "worse" than PP/MJ's in the previous movies.
WV-Films writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 10:06:38 AM

The "twilight" comment got to me too. This sounds awful, and why would anyone even want to be in the Twilight gen?
KillerCOck writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 10:10:36 AM

f*ck Twilight!!! As Long I don't see Peter Parker Glowing/Shimmering in the daytime I think I'll be ok.

I know the skateboarding sh*t is gonna bother me doh!
Morbius writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 10:47:04 AM

Packs plenty of testosterone, but Marc Webb's new Spider-Man is the superhero film for the 'Twilight' generation.

f*ck this film then. That's about as positive as a HIV test can be. Yeah, it's positive - but it's not good news is it? And you'd want to stay as far away as possible from it...
trailertrash writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 11:09:15 AM

Skimpy on character development... Yeah but..

Did Emma Stone wear any Skimpy Titty Tight Tops ?? For f*ck sake
nawtnt writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 11:15:47 AM

Basically The Amazing Spiderman is getting mixed reviews and is being compared as a superhero movie for The Twilight gerenation?

The Amazing Spider-Man is the superhero film for the 'Twilight' generation?

Forget that, Sony are idiots for rebooting the series and should gave the rights of Spiderman back to Marvel.

It would be awesome for Spiderman being in the Marvel Cinematic Universe and joining the Avengers.
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 11:32:35 AM

@theotherworld - from being a comic collector from way back. I've been hopeful of this movie from the start. The Twilight comment is one person's (nay... a critic) perception. I'd rather watch this, give it a chance, then think it's Twatlight, and go into my room and rub one out with thoughts of Kristen Stewart's tiny ass wrapped around my d*ck.
chris el gris writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 11:44:05 AM

"Packs plenty of testosterone, but Marc Webb's new Spider-Man is the superhero film for the 'Twilight' generation." Traduction: IT SUCKS SO MUCH BALLS!!!
Kurskij writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 11:45:34 AM

Why is the word "testosterone" used in the same article, let alone sentence, with the word "Twilight"?..

Oh, it's The Telegraph, nevermind then.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 11:50:12 AM

I really can't get over that twilight comment.

This is why the world has AIDS
JensdePens writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 12:47:43 PM

wanted to see it but this

but Marc Webb's new Spider-Man is the superhero film for the 'Twilight' generation. (8/10)

made me puke.
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 1:54:58 PM

WHAT THAT f*ck! TWAYLIGHT OF THSI GENERATION WHAT THAT f*ck! THIS IS IT! NOW IM PISS OF, f*ck ANDREW GAYFIELD f*ck GAYMMA STONE f*ck MARC GAY f*ck YOU DAMMIT! HOLLYCRAP! I WON'T PAY A sh*t FOR THIS CRAP ITS A f*ckING SUPER HERO MOVIE NOT f*ckIN TWAYLIGHT WHAT THAT FUUUUUuuUUuuUUUUUuuK! WHEN THE MEN'S BECOME A f*ckING LOHAN c*nt!

WE ARE NOT A CUN'T GIVE ME SOME ACTION/FUN! GIVE ME THE AVENGERS AGAIN! NOT SOME FAGGOT WITH A TIES! FUUUUUCK!
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 2:16:52 PM

twilight generation....ewwshhggh i got f*cking chills
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 2:28:43 PM

"Marc Webb's new Spider-Man is the superhero film for the 'Twilight' generation"

Ooooh, burn. I guess that's what I get for speaking positively.

Great job, 'Webb', for making this into some mopey teen drama, *sshole.

Pass.
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 2:40:03 PM

"twilight generation....ewwshhggh i got f*cking chills"

Chills are usually the first symptom of HIV.

Better get that sh*t checked before you get wrecked, dog.
Dekead writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 2:41:52 PM

f*ck the raimi films
JensdePens writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 4:09:04 PM

it's just off course only one critic who phrases it like that but still.
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 6:04:20 PM

^^i can watch that and BOOGIELs avatar all day
Freshman writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 6:56:26 PM

In what way exactly does this flick resembles Tw*tlight is beyond me. Judging by the f*ck-ton of clips relased at the moment i see absolutely no hint of that cancer of a movie on Webbs version of Spider-Man, putting aside Garfields puffy-haired hipster look.

Is it the romance/cheesiness? can't be worse than Raimi's whiny overly feminine version of Peter Parker.

Anyway, way to go f*cktards! You just gave the worst possible critique of the history of ANYTHING to a decent looking film.
rockkillers writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 8:00:26 PM

I will never pay to watch this pile.
OneTime writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 10:30:17 PM

ill passs
SaulSilver writes:
on June 20th, 2012 at 11:01:33 PM

but Marc Webb's new Spider-Man is the superhero film for the 'Twilight' generation

Calling it this has been the go to bashing for this movie ever since the first pics of Peter Parker started coming out. I can assure you, this is a extremely piss poor description of what we're really getting. It's NOT in any way like Twilight.
otis writes:
on June 21st, 2012 at 2:41:54 AM

I'd rather get bit by a radioactive spider and die slowly than watch this movie.
Jay Ottley writes:
on June 22nd, 2012 at 6:19:47 AM

Thanks guys, but man why did you guys have to grab one awkward line from my review but none the less, this article is very much appreciated :)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved