WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rock of Ages" and "That's My Boy" Bomb at Box Office

Posted: June 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rock of Ages" and "ThatSubmit Comment
"Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" topped the domestic box office weekend by grossing an additional $35 million for a new worldwide total of $277 million. The animated comedy cost $145 million to make. "Prometheus" once again landed in second place with $20.2 million for a worldwide total of $217 million.

Meanwhile, the two new releases of the weekend, Tom Cruise's "Rock of Ages" musical and Adam Sandler's "That's My Boy" comedy, bombed, landing in third and fifth places, respectively, barely making back a fifth of their budgets.

"Rock of Ages," debut with only $15 million on a $75 million budget, falling short of other musicals, like "Hairspray" and "Mamma Mia," both of which grossed $27 million during their opening weekends. "The numbers aren't great. It's hard to fathom since the movie plays so well," said Warner Bros. "Rock of Ages" has a 42% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and performed just as poorly overseas.

"That's My Boy" took in only $13 million, making Sandler's lowest debut for a comedy since "Spanglish" opened with $8.8 million back in 2004. "Sure we had hoped for more. It is a crazy, off-the-wall raunchy R-rated comedy that audiences laugh like crazy at," said Sony. "That' My Boy" has a lousy 23% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Rock of Ages" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:22:22 PM

A Tom Cruise musical bombing.....

I never saw this coming
bandolero999 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:28:59 PM

Good for you Tom cruise and how the f*ck did thats my biy cost 70 million?
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:55:16 PM

f*ck all four of these box office sh*t-heaps.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:57:05 PM

"It's hard to fathom since the movie plays so well"

In other news, the inventor of the sh*t Sandwich expressed confusion as to why he hasn't sold many sandwiches.
vincere01 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:05:39 PM

I saw thats my boy. They had ALOT of actors to pay. ALOT. The usual suspects of sandlers friends are all there. Theres a troop of 5 or 6 that you always see. Plus about 5 or 6 snl cast members current and past are in there. Plus you got big actors like susan sarandon and james caan in there is supporting roles and they are not cheap either. The build a replica of fenway part. Plus vannila ice has a huge part in it(by has been rapper
scale). Even todd phillips shows up. Add all that up and also include a decent fast car driving sequence and its gonna cost alot. My review is that it was average. No where near as bad as grown ups or jack and jill. Not as good as happy gilmore of wedding singer. Id say its closest to big daddy. Had a few funny moments outside of whats seen in the trailer. One section in particular was the bachelor party night. Rex ryan made a horrible inclusion. One thing i did find interesting was due to the 28 year time gap between the beginning and end. At the start the teacher is played by susan sarandon's real life daughter. So seeing a mother daughter pair play the younger/older versions of the same character was fun to watch. They look similar enough and have similar gestures and speech paterns.
vincere01 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:07:37 PM

Sorry damn phone submited before i was done. Good performences around. In particular sarandon, caan and sandler. Probably sanders best performence since reign on me. Id give it a 6.5 out of 10. Its worth seeing at least once but not a buy for your blu ray collectio until its bargain bin
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:27:08 PM

seen one sandler movie you've pretty much seen them all, but after seeing jack and jill jesus christ...i might as well burned my $8 dollars or given it to some alcoholic bum. f*cking waste!
vincere01 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:30:09 PM

I disagree. Your statement of same old same old would be true most of the time. But reign on me, punch drunk love, spanglish and funny people are outside of that formula. Not saying they were all great. But they are different
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:55:39 PM

Rock of Ages can eat my taint.
f*cking camel sh*t heaps.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:57:50 PM

Sandler needs to give it up, f*cker hasn't been funny in years.

Rock has bomed so no Top Gun 2 and MI5 now.
whoever writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 11:00:15 PM

I just saw Rock of Ages and by 'rock of' I mean 'worst movie I've seen in'. It's like a cross between Mamma Mia, Guitar Hero and diving headfirst into a pool with no water in it.
trailertrash writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 11:49:59 PM

Watched That's My Boy yesterday wasn't bad actually a lot better than Sandlers last few movies.

may have been about 20 Mins to long, slightly bizarre but HAWT twist, But much more Happy Gilmore than Just Go With It

Made me laugh more than once 7/10
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 12:23:40 AM

Nothing Sandler makes tops Happy Gilmore or even Big Daddy.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 1:31:24 AM

For what it's worth the Indian guy with the shotgun in "That's My Boy" is a friend of mine and former roommate during my first summer in New York. The film was funny but got murdered by the critics. I wanted it to do well so he could get more exposure. it's a disappointment.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 1:49:59 AM


I knew "cRock of Ages" was a load of sh*te from the traler.

Never planned to see it but might check it out now as it is getting ripped a new one.

"That's My Boy" is another Sandler load of monkey balls, but can it be worse than "Jack and Jill"? LOL
Popcorn101 writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 2:10:19 AM

i actually really enjoyed rock of ages
Rambo writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 2:18:14 AM

glad rock of ages flopped...i hate gay musicals and rock.

about adam sandler,the trailer actually looked pretty funny so i will watch the movie on dvd...
vaodsi writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 3:03:08 AM

lol funny the disparity between the studio's perceptions of the public and the actual gross of their films.
Kill-the-director writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 8:15:18 AM

wait. spanglish was a comedy?
Ranger writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 11:31:39 AM

Sandler: I haven't seen all his stuff. To date, only Happy Gilmore and Reign on Me, (and a bit for The Longest Yard, which I surprised to like a remake) are about all I can stomach from this guy.

Cruise: great for he stepping out and boldly doing this rock movie. But, I don't think anyone wants to see him with his shirt off. I certainly don't.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 1:44:52 PM

"wait. spanglish was a comedy?"

Only if you find torture funny.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced

Official "X-Men: Apocalypse" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Chris Evans Wants to Play Captain America After His Marvel Contract Expires

"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved