WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rock of Ages" and "That's My Boy" Bomb at Box Office

Posted: June 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rock of Ages" and "ThatSubmit Comment
"Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" topped the domestic box office weekend by grossing an additional $35 million for a new worldwide total of $277 million. The animated comedy cost $145 million to make. "Prometheus" once again landed in second place with $20.2 million for a worldwide total of $217 million.

Meanwhile, the two new releases of the weekend, Tom Cruise's "Rock of Ages" musical and Adam Sandler's "That's My Boy" comedy, bombed, landing in third and fifth places, respectively, barely making back a fifth of their budgets.

"Rock of Ages," debut with only $15 million on a $75 million budget, falling short of other musicals, like "Hairspray" and "Mamma Mia," both of which grossed $27 million during their opening weekends. "The numbers aren't great. It's hard to fathom since the movie plays so well," said Warner Bros. "Rock of Ages" has a 42% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and performed just as poorly overseas.

"That's My Boy" took in only $13 million, making Sandler's lowest debut for a comedy since "Spanglish" opened with $8.8 million back in 2004. "Sure we had hoped for more. It is a crazy, off-the-wall raunchy R-rated comedy that audiences laugh like crazy at," said Sony. "That' My Boy" has a lousy 23% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Rock of Ages" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:22:22 PM

A Tom Cruise musical bombing.....

I never saw this coming
bandolero999 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:28:59 PM

Good for you Tom cruise and how the f*ck did thats my biy cost 70 million?
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:55:16 PM

f*ck all four of these box office sh*t-heaps.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:57:05 PM

"It's hard to fathom since the movie plays so well"

In other news, the inventor of the sh*t Sandwich expressed confusion as to why he hasn't sold many sandwiches.
vincere01 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:05:39 PM

I saw thats my boy. They had ALOT of actors to pay. ALOT. The usual suspects of sandlers friends are all there. Theres a troop of 5 or 6 that you always see. Plus about 5 or 6 snl cast members current and past are in there. Plus you got big actors like susan sarandon and james caan in there is supporting roles and they are not cheap either. The build a replica of fenway part. Plus vannila ice has a huge part in it(by has been rapper
scale). Even todd phillips shows up. Add all that up and also include a decent fast car driving sequence and its gonna cost alot. My review is that it was average. No where near as bad as grown ups or jack and jill. Not as good as happy gilmore of wedding singer. Id say its closest to big daddy. Had a few funny moments outside of whats seen in the trailer. One section in particular was the bachelor party night. Rex ryan made a horrible inclusion. One thing i did find interesting was due to the 28 year time gap between the beginning and end. At the start the teacher is played by susan sarandon's real life daughter. So seeing a mother daughter pair play the younger/older versions of the same character was fun to watch. They look similar enough and have similar gestures and speech paterns.
vincere01 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:07:37 PM

Sorry damn phone submited before i was done. Good performences around. In particular sarandon, caan and sandler. Probably sanders best performence since reign on me. Id give it a 6.5 out of 10. Its worth seeing at least once but not a buy for your blu ray collectio until its bargain bin
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:27:08 PM

seen one sandler movie you've pretty much seen them all, but after seeing jack and jill jesus christ...i might as well burned my $8 dollars or given it to some alcoholic bum. f*cking waste!
vincere01 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:30:09 PM

I disagree. Your statement of same old same old would be true most of the time. But reign on me, punch drunk love, spanglish and funny people are outside of that formula. Not saying they were all great. But they are different
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:55:39 PM

Rock of Ages can eat my taint.
f*cking camel sh*t heaps.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:57:50 PM

Sandler needs to give it up, f*cker hasn't been funny in years.

Rock has bomed so no Top Gun 2 and MI5 now.
whoever writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 11:00:15 PM

I just saw Rock of Ages and by 'rock of' I mean 'worst movie I've seen in'. It's like a cross between Mamma Mia, Guitar Hero and diving headfirst into a pool with no water in it.
trailertrash writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 11:49:59 PM

Watched That's My Boy yesterday wasn't bad actually a lot better than Sandlers last few movies.

may have been about 20 Mins to long, slightly bizarre but HAWT twist, But much more Happy Gilmore than Just Go With It

Made me laugh more than once 7/10
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 12:23:40 AM

Nothing Sandler makes tops Happy Gilmore or even Big Daddy.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 1:31:24 AM

For what it's worth the Indian guy with the shotgun in "That's My Boy" is a friend of mine and former roommate during my first summer in New York. The film was funny but got murdered by the critics. I wanted it to do well so he could get more exposure. it's a disappointment.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 1:49:59 AM

HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

I knew "cRock of Ages" was a load of sh*te from the traler.

Never planned to see it but might check it out now as it is getting ripped a new one.

"That's My Boy" is another Sandler load of monkey balls, but can it be worse than "Jack and Jill"? LOL
Popcorn101 writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 2:10:19 AM

i actually really enjoyed rock of ages
Rambo writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 2:18:14 AM

glad rock of ages flopped...i hate gay musicals and rock.

about adam sandler,the trailer actually looked pretty funny so i will watch the movie on dvd...
vaodsi writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 3:03:08 AM

lol funny the disparity between the studio's perceptions of the public and the actual gross of their films.
Kill-the-director writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 8:15:18 AM

wait. spanglish was a comedy?
Ranger writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 11:31:39 AM

Sandler: I haven't seen all his stuff. To date, only Happy Gilmore and Reign on Me, (and a bit for The Longest Yard, which I surprised to like a remake) are about all I can stomach from this guy.

Cruise: great for he stepping out and boldly doing this rock movie. But, I don't think anyone wants to see him with his shirt off. I certainly don't.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 1:44:52 PM

"wait. spanglish was a comedy?"

Only if you find torture funny.

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin

Will Poulter is Pennywise in Stephen King's "It" Remake
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved