WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rock of Ages" and "That's My Boy" Bomb at Box Office

Posted: June 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rock of Ages" and "ThatSubmit Comment
"Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" topped the domestic box office weekend by grossing an additional $35 million for a new worldwide total of $277 million. The animated comedy cost $145 million to make. "Prometheus" once again landed in second place with $20.2 million for a worldwide total of $217 million.

Meanwhile, the two new releases of the weekend, Tom Cruise's "Rock of Ages" musical and Adam Sandler's "That's My Boy" comedy, bombed, landing in third and fifth places, respectively, barely making back a fifth of their budgets.

"Rock of Ages," debut with only $15 million on a $75 million budget, falling short of other musicals, like "Hairspray" and "Mamma Mia," both of which grossed $27 million during their opening weekends. "The numbers aren't great. It's hard to fathom since the movie plays so well," said Warner Bros. "Rock of Ages" has a 42% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and performed just as poorly overseas.

"That's My Boy" took in only $13 million, making Sandler's lowest debut for a comedy since "Spanglish" opened with $8.8 million back in 2004. "Sure we had hoped for more. It is a crazy, off-the-wall raunchy R-rated comedy that audiences laugh like crazy at," said Sony. "That' My Boy" has a lousy 23% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Rock of Ages" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:22:22 PM

A Tom Cruise musical bombing.....

I never saw this coming
bandolero999 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:28:59 PM

Good for you Tom cruise and how the f*ck did thats my biy cost 70 million?
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:55:16 PM

f*ck all four of these box office sh*t-heaps.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:57:05 PM

"It's hard to fathom since the movie plays so well"

In other news, the inventor of the sh*t Sandwich expressed confusion as to why he hasn't sold many sandwiches.
vincere01 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:05:39 PM

I saw thats my boy. They had ALOT of actors to pay. ALOT. The usual suspects of sandlers friends are all there. Theres a troop of 5 or 6 that you always see. Plus about 5 or 6 snl cast members current and past are in there. Plus you got big actors like susan sarandon and james caan in there is supporting roles and they are not cheap either. The build a replica of fenway part. Plus vannila ice has a huge part in it(by has been rapper
scale). Even todd phillips shows up. Add all that up and also include a decent fast car driving sequence and its gonna cost alot. My review is that it was average. No where near as bad as grown ups or jack and jill. Not as good as happy gilmore of wedding singer. Id say its closest to big daddy. Had a few funny moments outside of whats seen in the trailer. One section in particular was the bachelor party night. Rex ryan made a horrible inclusion. One thing i did find interesting was due to the 28 year time gap between the beginning and end. At the start the teacher is played by susan sarandon's real life daughter. So seeing a mother daughter pair play the younger/older versions of the same character was fun to watch. They look similar enough and have similar gestures and speech paterns.
vincere01 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:07:37 PM

Sorry damn phone submited before i was done. Good performences around. In particular sarandon, caan and sandler. Probably sanders best performence since reign on me. Id give it a 6.5 out of 10. Its worth seeing at least once but not a buy for your blu ray collectio until its bargain bin
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:27:08 PM

seen one sandler movie you've pretty much seen them all, but after seeing jack and jill jesus christ...i might as well burned my $8 dollars or given it to some alcoholic bum. f*cking waste!
vincere01 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:30:09 PM

I disagree. Your statement of same old same old would be true most of the time. But reign on me, punch drunk love, spanglish and funny people are outside of that formula. Not saying they were all great. But they are different
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:55:39 PM

Rock of Ages can eat my taint.
f*cking camel sh*t heaps.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:57:50 PM

Sandler needs to give it up, f*cker hasn't been funny in years.

Rock has bomed so no Top Gun 2 and MI5 now.
whoever writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 11:00:15 PM

I just saw Rock of Ages and by 'rock of' I mean 'worst movie I've seen in'. It's like a cross between Mamma Mia, Guitar Hero and diving headfirst into a pool with no water in it.
trailertrash writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 11:49:59 PM

Watched That's My Boy yesterday wasn't bad actually a lot better than Sandlers last few movies.

may have been about 20 Mins to long, slightly bizarre but HAWT twist, But much more Happy Gilmore than Just Go With It

Made me laugh more than once 7/10
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 12:23:40 AM

Nothing Sandler makes tops Happy Gilmore or even Big Daddy.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 1:31:24 AM

For what it's worth the Indian guy with the shotgun in "That's My Boy" is a friend of mine and former roommate during my first summer in New York. The film was funny but got murdered by the critics. I wanted it to do well so he could get more exposure. it's a disappointment.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 1:49:59 AM

HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

I knew "cRock of Ages" was a load of sh*te from the traler.

Never planned to see it but might check it out now as it is getting ripped a new one.

"That's My Boy" is another Sandler load of monkey balls, but can it be worse than "Jack and Jill"? LOL
Popcorn101 writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 2:10:19 AM

i actually really enjoyed rock of ages
Rambo writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 2:18:14 AM

glad rock of ages flopped...i hate gay musicals and rock.

about adam sandler,the trailer actually looked pretty funny so i will watch the movie on dvd...
vaodsi writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 3:03:08 AM

lol funny the disparity between the studio's perceptions of the public and the actual gross of their films.
Kill-the-director writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 8:15:18 AM

wait. spanglish was a comedy?
Ranger writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 11:31:39 AM

Sandler: I haven't seen all his stuff. To date, only Happy Gilmore and Reign on Me, (and a bit for The Longest Yard, which I surprised to like a remake) are about all I can stomach from this guy.

Cruise: great for he stepping out and boldly doing this rock movie. But, I don't think anyone wants to see him with his shirt off. I certainly don't.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 1:44:52 PM

"wait. spanglish was a comedy?"

Only if you find torture funny.

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved