WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: How a Failed "Dune" Movie Became "Alien" and "Prometheus"

Posted: June 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: How a Failed "Dune" Movie Became "Alien" and "Prometheus"Submit Comment
"Prometheus" has already grossed $175 million globally and is on its way to become a hit for 20th Century Fox. Ridley Scott's goal is to take the franchise into completely different direction, one that doesn't have much to do with the alien creatures that have appeared in Scott's original "Alien" film, the many sequels, and the "Alien vs Predators" spin-offs. But did you know that all of that wouldn't have been possible if a "Dune" movie didn't fail?

Syfy's Blastr website has now put together a video explaining how Alejandro Jodorowsky's insane and very expensive attempt at a "Dune" movie played a part in "Alien." It's interesting enough to see what Jodorowsky was planning for "Dune," but it's fascinating to see some of those ideas be transferred to something that has become such a massive franchise.

Some of you may have already known some of the details, but Syfy's video does a good job of summarizing everything. Check it out below.

Video:


Source: Blastr


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 8:30:27 AM

What is this about again? ..I got distracted by that blonde pornstar.
Rambo writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 9:13:44 AM

boring news.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:14:19 AM

Is anyone really thankful for Prometheus other than its producers?

And isn't it a little early to call this a hit? Sure its made $167-173m up to this point, but I see a major drop at the BO this weekend (made $5m yesterday which Madagasgar 3 DOUBLED) and from here on. For a film that cost somewhere between $130-150m to make and a sh*tload more to market (that had to be the biggest ad campaign since Avatar), its going to have to make at least $300-350m to break even right?

If the next step is to go further away from the franchise that is responsible for making Prometheus a so-called "hit" and distance itself even more from its fanbase, then isn't its sequel pretty much dead on arrival. The only way they tricked us into seeing this crap was by tempting us with the promise of major questions being answered. Now that we know that will never happen, why the hell would we buy a ticket for a film that has gone to a far less interesting and familiar place? I never really cared about the Engineers/Space Jockeys anyway. I just want to know where my Alien came from!

Here's an idea, why don't you let Ridley make his stupid little Engineer sequel and let someone else tackle a real Alien prequel. I'd love to see them bring in someone like Bloomkamp or Darren Aronofsky who is young enough to have grown up idolizing the original Alien films, but is also visionary enough to make the film his own way without disrespecting its fanbase.
rocketman writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:22:34 AM

You can't do anything else with an Alien,boring,been done.They just aren't scary anymore thanks to 6 films.The Prometheus sequel at least provides the opportunity for something new.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:27:54 AM

Who, awesome video! That hot blonde, I have no idea about WHAT the f*ck she was talking, but I'd watch her talk about nothing any time.
Kurskij writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:32:28 AM

Well, Jodorowsky isn't known for the most sane pictures. Check out The Holy Mountain. Dali would be proud and a lot of movies took inspiration from this one. As simple words, out of context, some these wishes of Scott and Lindelof do sound interesting. Engineer planet, further exploration of the alien myth.

The problem is we already know what they are seemingly after - and it won't be half this inspiring.

I remember when Alien prequel (it was called like that back then) was first announced, someone said "I hope they don't f*ck up the MYTH created by the original Alien".

And that person was so f*cking right - Alien is exactly that - a myth, Engineers being part of it. One must explore myths very carefully so as not to ruin that unique aura of the unknown. The answers to the questions director ask must be chosen very carefully to add to the myth and not take from it.

In this case, obviously, it didn't happen they way it was intended. They went kubrickian on our unsuspecting asses, but forgot that Kubrick was a master of shaping his cinematic jigsaws into complete, perfect forms.

Not taking an idea and throwing it i cause it sounds ow so awesomely pretentious and we'll probably address that in the sequel.

It was a Very hard task to get Prometheus right, if weren't sure - probably should've left this long-suffering universe alone.
Kurskij writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:34:02 AM

Btw, that's a great piece of trivia, Alex. Long due amongst Lohan crashing cars and midgets flashing train passengers.
Kurskij writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 10:37:09 AM

Btw, after two paragraphs of the first post - sorry abou that. Apple product remembered some post from awhile ago. Didn't see it
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 11:08:31 AM

I'm not really sure much of this is newsworthy.

Seems to me the gist is pretty much 'principle actors in failed science fiction film recycled ideas and concepts into another science fiction film to save on production costs', which is what you would expect, I think, from pretty much any modestly smart business, which of course naturally excludes the gimps at MGM.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 11:08:52 AM

actors = players.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 11:26:13 AM

OT: Rodney King has died.

I guess all that PCP caught up with him.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 1:13:02 PM

Interesting...

I heard the same thing with Luc Besson's COLOMBIANA. That movie came from the cannibilizing of the J. Reno/ N. Portman LEON: THE PROFESSIONAL sequel.

I would've really like a straight up sequel though...Portman is still in fine form to do it. Can't remember why Besson couldn't get it off the ground...
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 1:33:16 PM

Didn't they make a Dune movie though?
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 1:54:17 PM

nice wumpscut shirt
pornfly writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 2:28:44 PM

Whats the over under on a Dune HD3D IMAX re-release?
DUSTYOR writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 6:02:46 PM

No intention of seeing that turkey, even on DVD
The trailers put me into a trance so why would I want to be like that for 1.5 or 2 hours?
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 8:15:50 AM

Prometheus is not on track to even cover all the production and marketing costs let alone make a profit. Definitely too early to call this a hit.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved