WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Neill Blomkamp's "District 9" Follow-Up "Elysium" Gets Plot Synopsis

Posted: June 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Neill BlomkampSubmit Comment
Director Neill Blomkamp (District 9) has been working on a new sci-fi movie, called "Elysium," starring Matt Damon, Jodie Foster and Sharlto Copley. And now that he's ready to screen the film for the first time, we get the official plot synopsis. Check it out below.

Plot: In the year 2159 two classes of people exist: the very wealthy who live on a pristine man-made space station called Elysium, and the rest, who live on an overpopulated, ruined Earth. Secretary Rhodes (Foster), a hard line government official, will stop at nothing to enforce anti-immigration laws and preserve the luxurious lifestyle of the citizens of Elysium. That doesn't stop the people of Earth from trying to get in, by any means they can. When unlucky Max (Damon) is backed into a corner, he agrees to take on a daunting mission that if successful will not only save his life, but could bring equality to these polarized worlds.

"Elysium" co-stars William Fichtner and Diego Luna, and is set to hit theaters on March 1st, 2013.

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 7:01:09 AM

Cool, good director. I'm excited to see what he can do with a bigger budget. There's not enough decent sci fi films now days! Sort it out hollywood you bastards.
Taco writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 9:06:06 AM

So Matt Dahmon is on a sci fi mission for socialism?
Not a political statement just a joke. But he is.
shiteater writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 9:39:09 AM

Damn I read that thinking it was a district 9 sequel because of the article title. My fault I guess. Plot sounds interesting though.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 9:49:42 AM

Could be interesting.
zyban03 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 10:09:29 AM

District 9 was cool, hopefully he can keep it up.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 10:32:11 AM

Been wondering where Bloomkamp had been. Good to see him sticking with the genre and subject matter he's good at. Can't wait to see a trailer.
Bullit writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 10:38:16 AM

Interesting concept.
DeVries writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 11:45:46 AM

I liked District 9. I'm in.
FBO writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 12:35:42 PM

Elysium sounds a lot like Beverly Hills - a place where only the rich can live, fenced off from the rest of the world and where the residents have no idea how the real world works because their heads are so far up in the clouds
pornfly writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 1:43:36 PM

^yea thats it,the clouds
with their cupcake ATMs and spoiled lil brat drivers

as usual the people with the most money have the least common sense

Spielberg better not lay a finger on District9
sequel
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 1:45:20 PM

Oh, I get it, more political satire in the form of science fiction. The wealthy live in paradise above and beyond the decayed ruins of the poverty stricken masses. A thinly veiled indictment of capitalism, I guess. What else can be expected from the billionaire Hollywood club.
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 3:17:34 PM

Awesome. Loved District 9. Hope this still has that spark.
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 4:55:01 PM

Mink, you need Jesus and a big bag of weed, bro.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 6:00:48 PM

Matt Damon's a sh*tty actor and Jodie Foster has more balls than him.this Dystopia future bullsh*t has been retold too many f*cking times.BLAH
Detrimental writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 6:07:06 PM

@Mink - Spot-on.
@W0WCraft1 - You can't deny this starting to take trend.

I thought the first was OK. But I don't need aliens to point out politics for me. I'm a big boy. It started getting depressingly typecast after reading "two classes of people exist".

Is it just me or are underdog stories a waste of anyone else's time too? I don't have patience for cinema's stereotypical heroic babying. It's seriously as if there's a laminate of instructions for a "just cause" movie now. Throw in bad guys with influence vs less fortunate people and give them a would-be [almost reluctant] champion.
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 6:13:25 PM

"Throw in bad guys with influence vs less fortunate people and give them a would-be [almost reluctant] champion"

You must have never wasted your time reading Das Kapital...
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 7:23:37 PM

"A thinly veiled indictment of capitalism, I guess. What else can be expected from the billionaire Hollywood club."

If the movie was by Steven Spielberg or George Lucas, maybe I would agree with you, but it was written and directed by Neil Blomkamp. He hardly qualifies for the "Billionaire Hollywood Club." In regards to the film medium, District 9 was pretty fresh. I am very interested in what Blomkamp does with a bigger budget as District 9 was made with a relatively small amount.

minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 8:53:47 PM

"If the movie was by Steven Spielberg or George Lucas, maybe I would agree with you, but it was written and directed by Neil Blomkamp."

*laughing* Right. And the financing came WHERE again? That's right. The billionaire Hollywood club, or some foreign equivalent, perhaps South African, but regardless, I damned well know if it had been a George Orwell attack on socialism, it would have NEVER seen the light of day, but hey, I bet old Neil is rolling in the dinero now.

Anyway, you little kids and your paper gods. I wonder how often you apply all your defensive posturing towards people that actually matter, and not celebrities.

You know, actors, directors, and other assorted celebrities, people who contribute little to nothing to the advancement of mankind, and who wouldn't give a flying f*ck if you dropped dead.

And no, I don't care if you agree with me, so you spare me your self-importance.
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 9:57:26 PM

"Mink, you need Jesus and a big bag of weed, bro."

Both are quite often, but not always, crutches for weaklings.

Pass.
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 10:03:47 PM

I was exaggerating of course when I said you need JESUS.
You know, religion.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 10:29:01 PM

"I wonder how often you apply all your defensive posturing towards people that actually matter, and not celebrities."

I usually reserve my thoughts on politics, religion, science, etc., for other forums I frequent, but you are right; I spend too much time on here defending and discussing people who don't contribute anything to the world. Why haven't they (all film makers, actors, actresses, producers, screenwriters, etc.) caught on yet that they aren't adding anything to the discussion? They would probably be studying the sciences, like me, if there was money in that. I wish that everyone in the music, literature, film, "arts" world would stop with the s*** and do something more for society like business man, lawyers, philosophers, politicians, farmers, basically everyone else does.

My nihilist friend would tell me to include everyone in the category of people that contribute nothing to the world, and I would tell him to shut the f*** up an die already.

struck21 writes:
on June 16th, 2012 at 12:03:07 AM

I have loved Sci-Fi films all my life and end rewatching old ones over and over again. It's great to see Hollywood finally pushing some quality ones out.
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 16th, 2012 at 9:21:14 AM

Another film about the problems of crony capitalism. They make films like this year after year and the Republicans still get elected to office, clearly people are not getting the message.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2012 at 9:43:49 PM

I'm casting my ballot for Lenin this year. He solved all those capitalist problems over in Mother Russia, so I just know he can do the same for us Americans.

Vive la communism!
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 4:03:10 AM

Yeah because reeling in corruption in politics automatically leads to communism...
entropyMUSE writes:
on June 18th, 2012 at 7:54:02 AM

So Battle Angel Alita without the cyborgs ?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved