WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: "Spartacus" Star Andy Whitfield Shown Battling Cancer in "Be Here Now" Documentary

Posted: June 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: "Spartacus" Star Andy Whitfield Shown Battling Cancer in "Be Here Now" DocumentarySubmit Comment
It wasn't that long ago when Starz announced that the star of "Spartacus: Blood and Sand," Andy Whitfield, was diagnosed with cancer. At the time, the network promised to wait for him to get better, but in September, the actor passed away.

It turns out that upon learning of his condition, Whitfield and his wife enlisted Oscar-nominated filmmaker Lilibet Foster to capture his life and treatment on film for a documentary, called "Be Here Now."

The actor is shown playing with his two kids on a beach and decorating their Christmas tree. Cameras also followed him as he underwent chemotherapy treatments, shaved his head and sought alternative medicines and healing practices. And at times, it looked like treatment was working.

Whitfield often spoke into the camera, as tears rolled down his face. "In my heart, I am convinced that this is all meant to be," he said. "I'm supposed to be her right now and I'm open to the journey and the discoveries and adventures of all of this."

Producers have now launched a Kickstarter campaign to help raise the remaining $200,000 needed to finish the documentary, which is narrated by Jai Courtney, Whitfield's "Spartacus" co-star and best friend. Watch a six-minute video from the documentary below, and click here to donate money.

Video:


Source: E! Online


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 6:52:06 AM

Too deep for a friday morning, wheres all the Lohan news at.
Avirex writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 7:58:53 AM

Rather watch this depressing cancer film than another moment of his new replacement on 'Spartacus'. The new dude looks like Robin Thicke dressed as a gladiator.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 9:45:38 AM

Just hope he makes it thru.
Barney Stinson writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 10:10:04 AM

@BadChad - not sure if you were being serious. Just in case you were - he died already. f*cking cancer.
Bullit writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 10:37:13 AM

There's nothing more painful, unbearable than to witness a man/woman dying from cancer. My grandmother died from cancer and I'll never forget the look in her eyes while she was in agonizing pain.

So, I'll think I'll pass this doc*mentary.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 10:37:59 AM

I can't even watch this. I loved this guy as Spartacus. He showed some real heart as the character. Andy had all the potential in the world, watching him die is just way too depressing.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 11:17:12 AM

I've lost a lot of friends to cancer.

As Whitney would say (aside from: 'STOP HITTING ME!!!'): 'Crack is whack!' (just swap 'Crack' for 'Cancer' and 'whack' for 'crazy' and you'll get my meaning).
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 11:19:11 AM

But unlike poor Andy that didn't have the choice to lose his life and be taken from his family, Whitney just killed herself with a minimum $7mil worth of blow and other drugs... although, I'm not judging.
movie89 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 11:29:54 AM

As soon as his kids walked in to see him, I lost it couldn't hold in the tears. He was a great Spartacus better than Kirk Douglas in a different way. He will be missed
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 1:19:46 PM

Barney- Sarcasm there bud.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 1:21:06 PM

Bullit- I know the feeling. My grandmother had Acute Lukemia. She was fine one day, had a little pain, docs found out what it was and less than 2 weeks she was gone.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 1:47:47 PM



Cancer is a c*nt!

(and not the good kind).




(c) 2012 - Ranger.
pornfly writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 1:47:49 PM

meanwhile the Kardashians have a clean bill of health
Physically anyway
and Lohan/Paris are walking petri dishes
Bullit writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 1:52:43 PM

@BadChad: Knowing how it feels, I can only sympathize with you. God bless her soul. I don't wish to bring anything up about it but it's just too much for me.

Also, I remember an article from a serious reporter with black & white photos of a young male child being treated for his leukeamia in the hospitals. The child begged to die as he couldn't bare the pain from the inhuman treatment of chimiotherapy. The pictures broke my heart literally and left me with so much sadness & anger: why, just why does it have to be like that. I still have in God but that will be my first question to Him.

I thought on that particular moment,IF only that child's life could be exchanged with my life, I would do it on that precise moment in a split second. Knowing full well I would have left my motherr & my woman behind. I just can't stand that. I've witnessed too much misery in my life and I still ask to this day why am I here.
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 1:56:20 PM

In 2011, some 7 million people worldwide died from cancer, and yet only one guy gets a doc*mentary, because he's an actor I suppose.

Yeah, cancer sucks, but what makes this joker special?

Nothing.
Bullit writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 1:56:52 PM

I still have in God = faith in God.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 1:57:10 PM

God and I have swapped words lately.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 2:09:07 PM

@mink - at least he used his position and celebrity to bring the story to those maybe oblivious (because they don't know anyone personally or their family that have suffered) to the effects of Cancer, and its ripple-effect to those around it. I think it's a story worth telling.
Bullit writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 2:15:32 PM

^ ^ Yes, I share the same opinion Ranger.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 3:09:56 PM

On a more predictable note:

http://www.tmz.com/2012/06/15/lindsay-lohan-911-unconscious-paramedics-marina-del-rey-hotel/

What a douche.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 3:26:01 PM

Bullit-I understand how you feel my brother.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 3:26:02 PM

Bullit-I understand how you feel my brother.
Bullit writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 4:02:23 PM

^ ^ God bless my friend.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 5:19:34 PM

@Bullit & Badchad - sorry for your losses. I can relate to your experiences as I lost my Mother-in-Law to cancer. Watching her go through 3 months of agony, her physical appearance deteriorating each day, her spirits diminished, her smile and look in her eyes fading away - it was a lot to bear. I remember being by her side upon her deathbed and whispering to her that she didn't have to worry as I would be there to take care of the family. Cancer leaves a devastating blow to the family of the survivors. I can see why Andy's wife and good friend wants to complete this doc*mentary as a posthumous tribute. He was great in Spartacus and will be missed.

@Ranger - agree, it is a real life story worth telling.
MustardTiger writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 6:43:05 PM

@Mink - It's posts like that, that show how ignorant you are. You're the joker. Andy Whitfield was the champion of Capua! You're a 40-year old virgin who excessively masturbates and has no friends. He chose to make the doc*mentary himself you stupid f*ck, if you want to shed light on the 7 million other people get off your ass (in between your jerk sessions) and do something yourself!
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 7:43:33 PM

Mr blonde - cheers mate!!
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 7:48:50 PM

f*ck off cancer take away lohan for christ sakes not someone as awesome as andy
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 7:53:42 PM

Won't happen.

BLOhan could give cancer cancer.
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 8:46:13 PM

"He chose to make the doc*mentary himself you stupid f*ck"

Actually, psycho, the doc*mentary isn't even finished, which is why they need the 200 grand, which was my entire objection; you know, make a doc*mentary on St Jude's or something, or donate the money to cancer research, where's it's REALLY needed, because I don't f*cking think we need a 'doc*mentary', starring some actor, on f*cking cancer given it's like the number one killer in America and pretty much the most well-known 'disease' in history, so perhaps it is you who's the ignorant one, oh 22 year old know-nothing faggot.

Go f*ck a boy or two, kid, and relieve some of that self-hating stress. Oh: And sorry I insulted your dead boyfriend.
adamman21090 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 8:53:08 PM

this guy made Spartacus what it was. I haven't even seen the new season with his replacement. The prequel season was pretty good though. How was the new guy in the new season?
Logick writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 11:23:49 PM

@ Mink You sit and write smart ass, condescending sh*t on every post on this website. Dude get a f*cking life. Do you even realize how stupid you sound saying this guy deserves to die? That's sad that you get hard writing on a f*cking movie website, sh*t talking other people. You must live a sad, sad life my friend.
Wazza writes:
on June 16th, 2012 at 4:27:21 AM

Cancer is bad, mmkay..ohh and everybody dies..now where is my money for telling this new information?? or do i get money only if some actor is involved??
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 16th, 2012 at 9:33:16 AM

Cancer sucks, it is a shame to see someone who was young, successful, and with a family and little children die after struggling so hard to survive the chemo and radiation treatments. Definitely want to watch the film and see his struggles and maybe learn something. Many of my family members died from cancer and it was always a painful way to go, sometimes I think the chemo and radiation did more harm than good since they died just as quickly and in terrible agony.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 16th, 2012 at 1:00:21 PM

This doc*mentary is about what a young person, full of life, goes through with cancer mentally, physically to not only them but their family and friends.

One has got to believe this film in the making has no ego, no sulking or goal to depress. It is a testament to life..it's a "get busy living or get busy dying", kinda film that reminds what is truly important in a busy or oblivious life. I know that it's easy to be cynical about always waiting for the pretentious, ego driven or hidden agenda to anything to come out, but this is a "journey" (as he calls it) of a tragedy of that just so happens to occur an actor on the rise that is putting a face to cancer & reminding that it can happen to anyone-ANYONE. Even people that you see in your home weekly on your TV..to remind the couch potato generation, what life is really about..living, loving, and trying to survive whatever life throws at you. I think this is what in essence this doc*mentary means...

Whitfield is making the best of what he has & goes through, using what he knows more about and makes his living in--storytelling in the media/ entertainment and making his life have one last purpose in helping others in reminding to raise awareness, even if in the face of death.

Check out the big balls on Whitfield....RIP
AYT BALL writes:
on June 16th, 2012 at 4:12:32 PM

Not gonna bother answering the stupid f*cking comments on here. Anything that gets people talking about cancer ups donations to research.

Heartbreaking to watch.
CJR6803 writes:
on June 16th, 2012 at 6:40:31 PM

Mink-

I've read from this site for a few years now and have yet to join because of some of the trolls like you. You are utter trash. I had Hodgkin's disease 10 years ago and beat it while raising 3 children by myself, I'm also one of those Faggots you like to spout off about and love to use the term to put people down. You're a piece of s*** lowlife who sits home all day posting hate on a movie website. I hope you get cancer, and then ass raped while you are going through chemo and radiation you worthless piece of sh*t.
warriors187 writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 2:38:10 PM

@mink-thats f*cked up. Just because hes a effing star doesn't mean a thing-He suffered and he died-Its spreading awareness-my mom is still fighting cancer but people would rather watch this story than my moms, obviously- Spartacus was diagnosed after my mom, and he kinda gave us hope...now the morning i found out he died from this site made us feel pretty sh*tty-its sad, and the fact that he allowed people to film him while he was at his lowest is brave and embarrassing-effing sad
Zeroguy writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 3:06:51 PM

Use some money to help fund a doc*mentary and spread global awareness about cancer and show it through the eyes of famous actor making it more relevant. Also make it personal because it is a personal story/journey.
I'm all game for this. And if the filmmakers were to do the right thing (to please people like mink), release the film online, for free. Or at least charge money, at which some profits go to a cancer foundation.
Ranger writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 3:50:41 PM

I doubt anyone would pay to see a movie about a guy dying. They'll probably make this and sell it to the movie channel, or run it on TV with the ads paying for it's time slot. I'd be really surprised to see this get distribution into theaters. As for selling it online... people that their beer and condom budgets (PlasticMan has to
Ranger writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 3:52:19 PM

pay for his daughter's abortions after the gang at WP fill er up with a few gallons of man-love).
Zeroguy writes:
on June 17th, 2012 at 8:05:33 PM

I said the same thing about bully yet they made sure it went into theatres and charged us 12 dollars to see an issue we already know is a problem.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved