WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg on "E.T." Sequel

Posted: June 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg on "E.T." SequelSubmit Comment
"ET: The Extra-Terrestrial" hit theaters during the busiest summer for movies, but still grossed almost $800 million worldwide. A treatment for a sequel, called "ET: Nocturnal Fears," was quickly thrown together, but it was so dark that producers had to pass on it.

Speaking to the American Film Institute, Steven Spielberg explained why "ET 2" never happened. "Sequels can be very dangerous because they compromise your truth as an artist," he said. "I think a sequel to 'ET' would do nothing but rob the original of its virginity. People only remember the latest episode, while the pilot tarnishes."

In the follow-up a second spaceship lands, but the aliens onboard are evil. They're searching for a stranded extraterrestrial named Zrek (aka ET), who is sending a call for "Help." The evil creatures are carnivorous and are an albino fraction (mutation) of the same civilization ET belongs to. The two separate groups have been at war for decades. Later in the script, Elliot and his friends are kidnapped and violently interrogated by Korel (the alien commander), demanding to know the whereabouts of Zrek. Thankfully, ET is aware of the attack and arrives to save the day.

Spielberg added that it will take a lot for him to direct an "ET" sequel. "I'm waiting for a dream project, but it will not be 'ET 2,'" he said. "Because I can't imagine ever making another one, unless I wake up one morning with a master thought."

Source: Hollywood


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Brody writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 7:12:07 AM

i wake up every morning with a master thought, then i rub one out to it.
Rambo writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 7:16:59 AM

'Later in the script, Elliot and his friends are kidnapped and violently interrogated by Korel (the alien commander)'

bring on the anal probe

pornfly writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 7:56:15 AM

Nocturnal Fears?
Isnt that the Lifetime movie where Heather Locklear has to escape from RANGERS tool shed
KillerSniper45 writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 8:00:52 AM

ET sequel? What did they have not done it 3 years after the original release in 1981? All the kids have grown up. What will they offer?
Avirex writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 8:07:20 AM

"Sequels can be very dangerous because they compromise your truth as an artist.."

..says the guy who directed Jurassic Park 2.

A fat pile of cash made you forget all of that false artistic integrity sh*t real quick that time didn't it huh Stevey?
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 8:32:00 AM

Sandusky would love to play the one violently interrogating Elliot
jatilq writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 9:24:41 AM

This has XXX Parody written all over it
Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 10:06:32 AM

@Avirex, agreed! Don't forget the last Indy movie too!
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 10:33:41 AM

The turd that was Indy 4 was a master thought? What the f*ck are you smoking Stevie?
Ranger writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 11:07:45 AM

What BadChad said. I was thinking about the Indiana Jones series throughout that whole article. What were you saying about sequels robbing the original of its virginity Steven? Pass the bong fella!

And what Brody said.

@pornfly --- for clarity. It's my basement and not the tool shed Heather fled from (I've heard of 'playing hard to get'... but her chewing through those ropes and leaving without a thank you bang... what a bitch!).
trailertrash writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 11:56:30 AM

I'd have ET team up with the Engineers to try and find away into Noomi's ass.

nawtnt writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 12:20:33 PM

E.T 2? Seriously.

As Indiana Jones 4 isn't bad enough, what Steven Spielberg going to do with E.T?

Put him in a fridge and flying in the air from a nuclear explosion or making him swing like a monkey during a swordfight or maybe make him fly into the air into a riverfall in a vecihle.

No E.T 2 because E.T. doesn't want to go back home on Earth.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 12:30:37 PM

This is the guy that directed Kingdom of the f*cking Crystal Skull, talking about artistic integrity? LMAO.

But don't worry. They'll either remake ET or do a sequel. It'll happen. Just wait.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 12:49:33 PM

Master thought...Reboot ET to bring the magic to today's generation of kids. Actually scratch that, nothing will ever surpass the original virgin. It will end up looking like Super 8 anyways.
LastActionHero writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 2:07:25 PM

Sounds ten times more interesting than the original.
Doc Gonzo writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 3:19:48 PM

Master Thought: How about we replace ET with Walkie-Talkies? Worked out with guns didn't it.
Rambo writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 3:54:37 PM

Loahn could play E.T in the reboot.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 4:10:56 PM

"Sounds ten times more interesting than the original."

The original is fine, I guess, but it's just a movie, and not exactly the greatest film ever made either, on par with Jaws, but a bit better, yet people think it's just one of those films that can't be remade or rebooted or sequelized because it's the the holy grail of films because they saw it as a child.

Whatever. Boy meets alien, alien dies, alien comes back to life, alien phones home. Kinda like Jesus Christ, but with less homosexuality.
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 4:46:30 PM

f*cked up Indiana Jones: Check
f*cked up Jurassic Park: Check
This guy is the f*ckER of movies.
PLASTIC MAN writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 4:56:54 PM

Why is Minkowski a gay pedophile?
trailertrash writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 5:42:35 PM

Still sore about your daughter plastic are you ?

We all know she isn't ...


minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 6:20:23 PM

"Why is Minkowski a gay pedophile?"

So if I'm a gay pedophile, that must mean I rape little boys, and yet you said I raped your daughter, so thus you're either a f*cking liar or a piece of sh*t. Or both. A. B. C. I'll go with C.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 7:29:13 PM

E.T. sucked balls! f*ck Spielberg!
Ranger writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 9:22:02 PM

I like it when PlasticDouche posts. At least then we know he's taking a break from raping his daughter.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 12:37:03 AM

"Waiting for a dream project"!?!?

Guess he's officially out of his own (or George Lucas') ideas? Jeez what happened to the Beard we all grew up loving?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 12:39:42 AM

Does anyone have an original idea left? Or are we doomed to nothing but sequels, prequels, reboots, and remakes from here on out?
TonyWalnuts writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 2:32:43 AM

Sure minkowski may be a paedophile but a gay paedophile, don't be ridiculous. I feel that you should get a new schtick plastic man.
Master Thought writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 2:43:30 AM

I hope they make a sequel, simply for the South Park episode in response to it.

W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 4:56:59 PM

They already made a sequel.
It's called "Paul"
c*nts.
struck21 writes:
on June 16th, 2012 at 12:05:27 AM

I have given up on what good memories are left of my childhood. Trash the rest so that I can move on.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 16th, 2012 at 3:33:27 PM

want a sequel to ET? Just go watch Super 8. Done.
WoahGev0 writes:
on July 2nd, 2012 at 5:54:47 AM

I can't quite seem to sink my teeth into this alien neck. Spielberg, time to throw in the bloody tampon.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved