WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: These Guys Have a Lot of "Prometheus" Questions

Posted: June 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: These Guys Have a Lot of "Prometheus" QuestionsSubmit Comment
Ridley Scott's "Prometheus" currently has a 73% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes with plenty of critics and fans split on whether the movie was a great addition to the "Alien" franchise or a complete disappointment.

Part of the problem is that Scott decided to explore the "Alien" universe, which resulted in taking the franchise in a completely different direction, one that has nothing to do with the creatures that were so prominent is all other installments.

Since the film explores God, religion and other big topics, it ended up asking more questions than it could answer, and in the end confused many movie-goers. Now there's a new video by RedLetterMedia, which humorously points out just how many questions fans would love answered. Check out the video below.

Video:


Source: YouTube


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 7:07:36 AM

Nice!
Sev writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 7:10:09 AM

Love Mike and Jay's film reviews, the Star Wars Prequel reviews are the funniest yet most indepth film reviews I've ever seen. Absolutely amazing!! :D
Rambo writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 7:24:19 AM

lol...that was better then the movie itself...
Infamous writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 8:04:47 AM

LOL "What if the mission involved a gang bang? This was actually pretty great.
Damon242 writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 8:24:32 AM

And now you see why "it's all for interpretation" comes off as such a poor argument...
Phil writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 8:28:21 AM

Sweet!
SACdaddy writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 9:33:46 AM

LOL!!! And to continue....

If you believe the Jesus was an Engineer theory, why did his sacrifice piss off the Engineers? It only created a sh*tload of devoted human followers, and the Engineers supposedly love sacrifice right?

Why did all but one Engineer die? Was he trying to sabotage their plans to wipe out mankind? Wouldn't it have been a lot cooler if he was.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 9:51:51 AM

Why do they want to make a sequel about some complete idiot's suicide mission to the planet of killers?

The chick sure seems to put a lot of faith in a severed android head. Forget about the fact that it just turned her boyfriend into black goo barbeque, what happens if David malfunctions or simply loses power halfway through the trip? She sure as hell doesn't know sh*t about how androids work. Their bodies might run forever but their heads might run on a Duracell for all she knows.

Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 9:58:34 AM

LOOL "...whyyyyyyyyy?" Brilliant, the other guys face, random zoom in of the picture. Rambo's right this is more entertaining than the film itself.
Brody writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 10:37:14 AM

"Since the film explores God, religion and other big topics, it ended up asking more questions than it could answer, and in the end confused many movie-goers."

This was my only concern going into it, since it is co-written by the co-writer of Lost, Damon Lindelof.

It's a shame it didn't feel far from an outstanding piece from Ridley, with plenty of what could have been newly established iconography (cesarean, graphic recording, awesome visuals, good score, etc.) but it lost it's way like it doesnt yet have answers for it's own questions, ala LOST.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 11:04:20 AM

"Promethues" was less confusing than these twats!
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 11:54:50 AM

well i haven't seen it yet...and from what i've been reading lately, someone on here said to think of it more as a reboot rather than a prequel as it would be less disappointing...so keeping that in mind, why would Ridley Scott, a critically appreciated director, go out promoting a movie that is supposed to be a prequel and now there's a sequel to it?...come on ridley, do us a riddlin favor and actually make a prequel story this time...without a 'lost' writer...not all the writers of the alien films are dead right?...because when you sway from the source material, with a 'lost' writer...you basically have left prometheus lost...i mean i could make a super cheap lame ass prequel version and guess what, it could be more satisfying than yours...all i would have to do is answer the questions of the fans in a way they'd want answered, might not be the best visuals and what not, but it wouldn't disorient itself from the alien films, and it would lead right into ripley's involvement...that's what fans want right?...as a fan, if prometheus is that bad, i'll forget it like it never existed...like the way it was before people ever knew or found out there was going to be a prequel...this is how i treat a lot of other sequels/prequel/reboots...even though i hate about half or more of those in general basically for taking credit for other peoples' hard work...which is also why i'd like to pen a question on NEARLY every director in hollywood...for every new film you create, ask yourself how you would picture it remade by someone else or would you not want to see your work touched by someone else?...just think about that the next time you remake another person's movie you nutcase directors...ok done ranting for the day lol
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 12:11:43 PM

Very wise questions for two dumb guys. After hearing some of the same questions I had along with dozens more I have reached my decision..."PROMETHEUS" WAS GARBAGE!!!
beepboop writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 1:32:56 PM

"Part of the problem is that Scott decided to explore the "Alien" universe"

no. I can't believe how incredible stupid that sentence is. that's not the problem at all. the only problem is that the movie is full of plot holes and horribly written.
there are people who know that(and who are disappointed) and idiots(who love the movie).

"it ended up asking more questions than it could answer, and in the end confused many movie-goers."

no again. nobody cares about the trivial questions it asked. that's not what confused people.
the confusing part is the awful script. why is stuff even happening? why did the aliens point to a star with a WMD factory? why did the goo come out when they entered? why a squid?
and then there are the plot points.

you have to be a huge idiot to think prometheus was clever and smart and about god. it's just a badly written monster movie.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 2:11:10 PM

I'm already weary of hearing about this f*cking piece of sh*t film.

"Forget about the fact that it just turned her boyfriend into black goo barbeque, what happens if David malfunctions or simply loses power halfway through the trip? She sure as hell doesn't know sh*t about how androids work. Their bodies might run forever but their heads might run on a Duracell for all she knows."

She took the body with her, Sac. Even *I* saw that part of the film, via a 120p cam made of colored blocks, so why didn't you?

And why do you f*cks keep saying 'goo'. Didn't look like 'goo' to me. Looks like a seed suspended in some sort of gelatinous matrix. So I guess I'll say goo too.

As for some of this guys nitpicks, I have to say that some are thoughtful, and some are just downright f*cking stupid, like "why did Shaw and Vickers run in a line instead of some other way" when in fact that's what people usually do, and even if they don't, that's how it is depicted in film because it's more SUSPENSEFUL. Just darting to the side wouldn't be interesting or tense.

Don't these two morons know anything about writing for film?

Or even better, the one about old man Whelan not knowing where to look in his pre-recorded holo-vid, which isn't much of a gripe considering he was situated as a lecturer in front of an audience, and his audience was situated as an audience in front of a lecturer.

"It's been dead ten thousand years"

Uh, two, I think, not ten.

And yeah, being a biologist doesn't mean you lack fear, although him later playing cute cat with the water snake was damned near one of the dumbest moments in the film, among many.

Had he shown the same level of fear then, or more, I wouldn't fault him fleeing the dead engineer.

"What was the point of revealing Vickers as Whelan's daughter"?

What was the f*cking point of Whelan at all, much less Vicker's role as his offspring? The entire subplot was totally f*cking unnecessary.

"Why did Whelan tell David to infect Holloway with the black goo?"

He didn't. David is just dangerously curious, per Ash and Bishop and Call. ABCD. And Whelan was likely still in hyper-slumber.

"If the black goo alters people's DNA, why did a little fish come out of Holloway's eye".

Dunno. For cheap scares? A terrible way to build tension? To show us he was changing? I assume he was simply transforming (which is why I said the mutated crew member, in that one attack scene, was Holloway) and that was just part of the mutation stage, and another was infecting Shaw. Makes some sense, not really a brain-teaser, just not executed perfectly.

"Did David known Holloway and Shaw would have sex right after infecting him with the black goo?"

No, not immediately, but David knew they were intimate, so it was safe for him assume they would fornicate like dirty animals sooner or later, and androids are VERY patient.

Regardless, David would know soon enough what effect the goo would have on Holloway alone, and that was sufficient for the android, I suppose.

"Is he an expert on things that have never ever happened?"

No, which is why he was experimenting. To satisfy his curiosity.

"If we share the same DNA with the engineers, why does life on earth not share the same DNA with humans"

Not sure where he got that one, because humans do share certain percentages of their DNA with other life, such that a chimp and a human have 99% similar DNA, and the farther a species gets from humans on the tree of life, the less the DNA it shares with us, thus, an engineer would likely share with us more genetic material than a chimp, seemingly virtually identical perhaps.

Of course given that the engineers are larger and smarter, I'd say we only share 99% of THEIR DNA, such that our code is a subset of their genetic material.

Lack of scientific knowledge on this one from that guy.

"Why was their 65 million years of dinosaurs before us?"

LMAO! No, genius, dinos DIED OUT 65 million years ago, but dinosaurs walked the earth for HUNDREDS of millions of years before that, but regardless, if the engineers made life on earth, they simply would have populated the planet with DNA seed capable of producing, eventually, an engineer like lifeform, such as a human or perhaps they tinkered with life over the ages to curb life in a direction that would produce us.

It's like throwing sh*t in a pan, throwing the pan into an oven and then, an hour later, pulling out an apple pie. It's called cooking with ingredients, and these engineers seem really good at cooking in the kitchen of earth, I guess.

Anyway, what a stupid, scientifically illiterate nitpick.

"Why would the last engineer waste his time hunting down Shaw and Vickers when he could just flown his ship away and completed his mission."

Well, why the hell did he even need a ship to complete his mission anyway, when he could have just sent a missile-stocked probe instead, but I guess the film needed a solid ANTAGONIST/PROTAGONIST showdown, which, yeah, is pretty stupid, but when you write a script, some things just have to happen. Too bad the story writers couldn't have come up with a less contrived ending, but regardless, this nitpick is legitimate imo.

"how did the guys get lost in the cave when the ship had an elaborate 3D map..."

I didn't get it had a 3D map of the SHIP, but of space, and regardless, only David knew how to access it, and only really LATER in the film.

Still, the two could have radioed Prometheus and got some sort of scan, but back to what, because neither of the crew members even had an ipad IIRC, so how would they have seen the data anyway, and even still, apparently Prometheus couldn't tell it was a SHIP inside a HANGAR from the get go, so obviously the ship's scanners couldn't penetrate the hangar/ship complex anyway, or the surface for that matter, or else we would have known about all the other ships from the film's beginning.

"Why would the crew go on a four year mission when they weren't told about that the mission was until right before the mission started?"

Money, I would guess, and the chance to explore space. Certainly, if someone offered me the chance to go into space on an exploration, and didn't tell me the details until I arrived, I doubt I would give a sh*t, especially if I was paid well, and in fact, this happens often, so the nitpick is not valid.

"What if the mission involved a gangbang?"

Oh NOES, a gangbang with Charlize Theron and Noomi Rapace! A total nightmare!

Faggot.

"Why did Whelan have to pretend he was dead?"

Good question. Why did Whelan have to show up at all, or for that matter, Vickers? None of that entire sub-plot was worth a damn, and only made the movie heavier and more contrived.

"Why did the Engineers create a star map back to a planet that was just a research facility?"

It's called a lousy story, one that likely didn't involve the latter elements of the film. But a damned good question imo.

"Why did no one give a sh*t when Whelan was shown alive and then why did no one give a sh*t when he died?"

Probably because no one gave a sh*t about Whelan period, including the writers, but when he died, there was hardly anyone else alive to give a sh*t, so the nitpick is only half valid.

Again, lousy story.

And the thing about the engineers running away from the black goo...didn't get that either, but I don't think they were running away from the goo. They were running away from something that apparently didn't appear in the film, unless it was the d*ck snake thing, but regardless, the entire film, this part especially, contradicts what Scott said about the goo turning into monsters only when in contact with humans, and just goes to reinforce my thought Lindelhof should never be allowed near a copy of Final Draft again.

Quidd writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 2:56:40 PM

Gelatinous matrix? Did you pull that off wikipedia you pessimistic douchebag.
vaodsi writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 3:41:04 PM

The only question I had watching the film was why the star map would lead to a weapons of mass destruction alien stock pile.

Otherwise I quite enjoyed the film, even thought the first half was way better than the latter. Wish there had been more to the Shaw and engineer fight rather than squidward to the rescue.
pornfly writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 4:46:14 PM

This movie sounds like an 18car pile up that i HAVE to see
Even if its just to know how awful it is

Lets see how many movies i can sneak into this weekend for fathersday
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 4:46:59 PM

The answer to all those questions is:


Because the movie is sh*t.
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 5:14:15 PM

f*ck PROMETHEUS. Piece of f*cking sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 5:38:46 PM

"Gelatinous matrix? Did you pull that off wikipedia you pessimistic douchebag"

No. I pulled it from years of EDUCATION. You know, those things we humans call 'books', and you apes call toilet paper.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 5:43:51 PM

"you pessimistic douchebag."

Actually, it would be better to say 'negative', because pessimistic is more an attitude of anticipation with respect to the future, 'douche bag'.

Also: notice the space, no pun intended, between 'douche' and 'bag'.

"Big things have small beginnings."

They sure do, David, they sure do, e.g., a 120 page script can really produce a huge heap of horsesh*t, huh?
Johnnyb writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 7:14:15 PM

Too much complain too much displease, but the true is from the beginning of the shooting of this, it was never intended to make another Alien film. After all, how can you make another ones when AVP and it sequel were totally f*ck up.

With Ridley and co. doing this film I can't say I really liked but it was necessary to give a fresh start from the Alien franchise, of course it not explain truth or likeable origins of the creature we love but it's something that maybe we can appreciate. But once again, at the same time the writer f*ck up ala Lost finale, so there you have......
SACdaddy writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 8:56:10 PM

@mink: lol I obviously missed her taking the body. By that point I must have stopped paying attention to the nonsense. Still, does that actually mean the head won't crap out? Where is the power cell in that thing?

Goo rhymes with barbeque, so I went with that :-)

I'm starting to get discouraged by people's acceptance of this gift wrapped bullsh*t. Are our standards this low now? Does narrative and continuity mean nothing to us anymore? If not somebody better call David Lynch and tell him there's a sh*tload of money to be made off all these lazy minds that just don't give a sh*t anymore.

minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 9:30:50 PM

"I obviously missed her taking the body."

I think it was very close to that end. You see her lower the body out of the ship on a rope. I guess she has plans for David below the neck now that her boyfriend is no more and she gave birth to sushi.

What the f*ck ever.
Quidd writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 1:30:38 AM

Dude, you act like your better than everyone on a f*cking movie website, which you spend way too much time on. Yea I've heard of books. I've got a BS in BA. Have you heard of females?
Zeroguy writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 5:53:12 AM

That was good. Glad to know I'm not the only one thinking these questions.

@mink
sh*t man, for a guy who hated the flick, you got really passionate there and went full Howard Hughes there and answered every question. Right on. Pointless but still pretty rad.
Zeroguy writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 5:54:39 AM

And you just seem to hate everything. Even a comedic video that brings up some valid points but some jokey ones as well.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 4:43:06 PM

"And you just seem to hate everything"

Then don't read my posts, because I certainly didn't ask you to do so. It's just that simple.

"Dude, you act like your better than everyone on a f*cking movie website"

No, I just have little patience for boring, stupid people. But don't worry, it's not just you.

"which you spend way too much time on."

On which. On which I spend too much time. Never end a sentence with a proposition. And you have no f*cking clue how much time I spend doing anything, so stow your presumptive arrogance.

"Yea I've heard of books."

Sure you do. They look good in your fireplace, I bet.

"I've got a BS in BA."

A what in a what? Did you mean to say you have a BA *and* a BS? Well, fantastic. You can't take the f*cking time to spell or install Firefox, which includes a free spell-checker, but you have all the time in the world to tell me about some worthless piece of paper you paid some stranger to give you.

"Have you heard of females?"

'Females'? You must be a black guy...




AIDSGASM writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 12:57:47 AM

@minkowski:

Much like my experience with beer, I know now that you're excellent after first thinking you tasted like sh*t-covered diarrhea. Thank you for going grammar/intelligence police on that "quidd" douche; I got a lot of enjoyment from that as a fellow grammar Nazi. Carry on, sir.
Quidd writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 7:02:13 PM

Haha wow. I guess I have to spell it out for the high school student. BS = Bachelor of Science BA = Business Administration. f*ckin Moron
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 9:49:37 PM

So you got a bachelor of science in a 'field' that has NOTHING to do with science?

And you're BRAGGING? You're a f*cking manager of some Taco Bell or some Ponzi scheme hedge fund two-man company, and what, I'm supposed to bow before your mighty intellect?

f*ck man, if you had a Bachelor of Arts (or a Library Science degree) I'd at least say you possess an imagination, some creativity, but f*ck man, you got a 'degree' in paper pushing. lol.

The 'science' of business. LMAO. Probably invented by a f*cking Jew.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved