WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Photos: Woman Gives Homeless Man a Bag of Food, That Homeless Man is Richard Gere
Apr 24th, 2014
Japanese Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 24th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson and Lupita Nyong'o in Talks for "The Jungle Book"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Photo From Set of "Pitch Perfect 2"
Apr 24th, 2014
Jessica Chastain May Play Female Lead in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Look: Arnold Schwarzenegger on "Terminator: Genesis" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Photos From "Jurassic World" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
Sony Working on a Live-Action "Barbie" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Eric Roberts Says "Human Centipede 3" is Really Horrible
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Was Hulk Too Big in the First Two Movies?

Posted: June 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Was Hulk Too Big in the First Two Movies?Submit Comment
In Ang Lee's 2003 "Hulk" movie, the filmmakers decided to make the character become bigger and stronger as he gets angrier. After the film failed to perform well at the box office, the filmmakers made the Hulk one size in "The Incredible Hulk," but box office was still weak.

Now that "The Avengers" has become the third highest-grossing film of all time, the general consensus is that Joss Whedon got the Hulk just right. And according to Stan Lee, the reason why the first two films underperformed has a lot to do with the Hulk's size.

"They made him too big in the first two movies. I don't think he had to be as big as King Kong," said Lee. "I think they're gonna be OK with the Hulk from now on, though. Mark Ruffalo nailed it."

Many have argued that the Hulk would be able to beat Superman in a fight because he is able to gain strength and size. But that makes him indestructible. And while I prefer the Hulk to keep growing until he is able to destroy any threat, filmmakers don't like that.

Question: Do you think the Hulk should remain one size in movies or grow as he gets angrier?

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:21:17 PM

Remain one size.and keep Ruffalo
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:33:42 PM

Non filmmakers don't know who to give the credit for the Hulk in Avengers. A filmmaker knows there are various things that affect a characters reception. Writing, Direction, Special effects, actor, surrounding actors, wardrobe, etc. Some idiots are giving Ruffalo credit for the Hulk being funny. That credit should be to the animators at ILM and the Director/Writer Joss Whedon. All Ruffalo had to do was not mess it up. Ruffalo didn't write the funny parts. Joss did. Way too many people are trying to kiss Ruffalo's a$$ for what any of the previous actors could have done.

And I don't care if he changes size or not as long as he SMASHES!!!
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:38:58 PM

I think the Hulk's size is irrelevant to his destructive potential. Avengers featured the smallest film iteration of the Hulk and he was by far the most powerful and intimidating.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:13:59 PM

Whatever works, I could care less.
pornfly writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:17:56 PM

"DONT YOU LISTEN TO HIM MARK RUFFLES!
STAN LEVI SAYS THAT TO EVERYBODY"
screamed Hasselhoff
Ranger writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:20:24 PM

The Hulk could beat Superman?

Stan... can I have some of what you're smoking, your f*cking mind is shot!
Ranger writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:21:10 PM

Superman would pick up The Hulk and throw him into the sun.


End of fight.
Detrimental writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:21:20 PM

The size works. Don't break it.

In other news, Superman technically grows in strength too. He collects yellow sun rays & all that jazz. Even though it's really moderate so he's not a freak, he doesn't cut loose a lot due to civilians or some disadvantage or what have you. So just between those two alone with strength & jumping, saying the Hulk can overpower him with anger is just a moot point.

P.S. You can compare any universe & any character for any bout; anyone who says otherwise is just being shortminded.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:30:04 PM

Keep Ruffalo doing the Mo-Cap for Hulk, Get a New Banner and work more on Hulk's Skin Texture. ILM had no problem with that in the first one.
As far as Size goes, I don't think that was a major issue. As long as he's Bulky and not Lean because that was just stupid!
Ranger writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:35:30 PM

Decades ago Supes and The Hulk had a fight in a comic (I had a copy). The Hulk caught Supes off guard and sent him flying (miles). When Supes came back, he just stood there with his arms crossed while The Hulk beat on him... to no affect.

Superman was called: 'The Planet Mover' in the comics. The Hulk just gets pissy. Supes could pick up The Hulk and dump him into the sun. End of story.

f*ck Stan... get a grip.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:43:18 PM

While we're on this topic I thought you guys would like this:

http://loyalkng.com/2012/03/08/marvel-dc-fan-film-superman-vs-hulk-the-meeting-short-3d-animation-comics/
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:44:28 PM

Check out the video under the photo.
Ranger writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:52:14 PM

@Phoenix... thx. for posting. Nice video. Only thing is, I don't think Superman would even flinch at a punch from The Hulk.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:11:27 PM

@Ranger...DId you watch all three parts? Hulk wins. lol
OneTime writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:42:37 PM

he should grow the size of the earth then float away then attack mars.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:46:12 PM

theres a version where Superman throws Hulk into the sun. As Supes flies back into Earths atmosphere, the sun explodes causing Supes to fall. As he's falling, Hulk covered in flames is coming right for Supes from the sky! it ends with them crashing into the earth and the impact destroys nuff sh*t!!!!! its pretty cool.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:56:18 PM

The size of the Hulk was never the issue....it was the size of the box office that was the issue...don't get it twisted.

If the first two versions made enough dough, we wouldn't be having this discussion.
steamluv writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 12:08:41 AM

If we're talking in realistic terms I would expect the Hulk to continue growing as the radiation would constantly mutate cells and a person's strength is typically proportional to his size.
Thegreatramon writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 12:32:34 AM

Now the funeral is over
And all the tears are dried up
Niggas hangin deep on the cut gettin fired up
Lookin for the nigga who pulled his pistol on my homie
An eye for an eye so now your life is what you owe me
Look deep into the eyes of your motherf*cking killa
I want you to witness your motherf*cking murda nigga
And since you wants to kill then your ass has gots to fry
But ain't no police therefore your ass has gots to die
We play the game for keeps and if you slipped I guess you sleep
You showed no f*ckin now your ass is six feet deep
Cuz where I come from yo everybody's gotta gat
And niggas try your ass just to see where you got your heart at
And if your sh*t is flimsy then your ass is gonna bend
And like I said before they'll be no tears in the end
I'm rollin through your hood and now my heart is filled with anger
You at your sister's house now your sister's life's in danger
(By a total stranger)
With tha gang
Niggas wanna bang ya
And hang ya
Stain ya wit one up in the chamber
Let's take a trip up Holaway
So you can see how many niggas in my hood is down to die today
We standin' up for our own sh*t
And if you outside the click then you die bitch
(Quick)
It ain't no love in this motherf*cker
It ain't no love for yourself or your other brother
Uh because we real with this sh*t so we stay true
And since we bang then we do what O.G. say do
I've got the mind of the man in the mirror so I'm lookin' at me vaguely
But I can't seem to fade me
I've got my pistol pawn c*cked
Ready ta lay shots nonstop until I see your monkey ass drop
And let your homies know who done it
Cuz when it comes to this gangsta sh*t you motherf*ckers know who run it
(Uh)
So when you put this motherf*cker to the test
You gotta realize somethin' nigga: you f*ckin' wit the very best
I got this killa up inside of me
I can't talk to my mother so I talk to my diary
I'm goin' off on the deep end
I found myself face to face with myself while I'm sleepin'
I see your picture in my head and my hand shake
You can run, you can hide, but there's no escape
My inner feelings show no mercy on my enemy
I got to get this mutherf*cker fore he gets to me
So in your own blood you'll bathe
And I won't stop until I put this mutherf*cker in his f*ckin' grave
And I can say this once again
You can cry but you'll still die
They'll be no tears in the end

I DEADASS WANNA SMOKE A BLUNT AND DRINK A FORTY AS IM BANGING MY MOFUGGING GIRLFRIEND AND SOMEBODY GOT A PROBLEM? BEST BE PROTECTIN YA NECK BEFORE A BREAK A FUGGIN BRAIN BACK IN THE DAY THEM NIGGAHS TRYNA ROB PLACES BUT WE GOT BACK THE STUFF AND WAS IGHT FO DAH PEOPLE
Ranger writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 12:48:58 AM

@Phoenix - no, but I'll look for Pt III now, thx.

I still believe all we've known about Supes and The Hulk, Kal-El would kick Banner's ass out of the solar system.

Supes can move so fast, The Hulk would never get a hit on him. And beating Supes on the ground... Supes is more dense than our Planet, thus he'd only get pushed into a deeper and deeper hole.

Who is your vote as to the victor?
Ranger writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 12:55:55 AM

Supes wins in this one:

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=superman+vs.+the+hulk+part+4&view=detail&mid=5176B0665B887AA93FE55176B0665B887AA93FE5&first=0
TheUniverse writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 2:01:35 AM

I watched the The Avengers and it was FREAKING AWESOME! I like them all but the Hulk/Bruce Banner STANDOUT among the rest. Mark Ruffalo did an AMAZING job and he gave JUSTICE to Hulk/Bruce Banner compared to the other 2 Hulk movies. Marvel and Disney made an EXCELLENT decision for giving the role to Mark Ruffalo. We NEED a new Hulk movie of Mark Ruffalo! WE NEED MORE!
Johnnyb writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 2:21:43 AM

It's ok like he looks, no need for creating a mess on making him bigger every time he is piss off. After all this is not a porno in which doing handjob will increase the size of the c*ck, this is the f*cking hulk not a f*cking c*ck man, sh*t!!!!!
Rambo writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 2:27:07 AM

When superman takes a crap he is stronger then the hulk at his best.
TheUniverse writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 2:27:36 AM

The size of the Hulk in The Avengers was EXCELLENT but I would say that it's okay to make the Hulk a LITTLE BIT BIGGER whenever he gets angrier. About superman, that's the reason why I don't like dc that much is because most of their characters/superpowers came from outer space.
Rambo writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 2:29:52 AM

@ranger

why doesn't sup uses his laser eyes to end this quickly?
Ranger writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 2:53:10 AM

@Rambo - I know. Even that knee he gave The Hulk to his jaw would have sent him into orbit. That vid. really, REALLY played DOWN Supes strength.

And I couldn't have said it better re: Supes taking a crap is stronger than The Hulk at his best. Exactly.

Superman can fly through the sun. How does anyone think The Hulk would do going through that?
Ranger writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 2:53:21 AM

Answer: Hulk Jerky.
Rambo writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 3:49:38 AM

even profeesor x can kill him in a second...
snoop writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 6:29:13 AM

@Ranger
I remember that comic. I was surprised they let Superman have such a blatant victory. A lot of the times they leave that kind of sh*t ambiguous in comics.

I like The Hulk when he gets bigger the more he rages.
LEONCIO writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 7:13:49 AM

The Hulk has always been bigger and stronger depending on how pissed off he was, but his size had nothing to do with how successful or unsuccessful his movies have been, that's just ridiculous.

One thing I liked about The Avenger's Hulk was that he actually looked like Ruffalo, while The Incredible Hulk in the second movie looked nothing like Norton, and that's why I didn't like Norton as Banner even if I like Norton and I liked the movie, Norton's face becoming bigger and green would have looked ridiculous imo, even Bana looked closer to his version of Hulk.
rocketman writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 7:43:41 AM

Lohans proto facehugger furryfrontbottom would ruin Hulk,no Supes needed.
markoz writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 8:51:53 AM

Superman already defeated Hulk in Marvel vs. DC comic
UhOhZday writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 11:38:24 AM

Superman always seemed like the annoying kid on the playground that said he wanted all powers when asked what super power he wanted. . .
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 1:11:31 PM

Considering Hulk beat Superman in Marvel Vs. DC back in the 90's, I feel like he could win.

Besides, Hulk was only like 9 feet tall in the second movie, I didn't notice that much of a size difference in the movie. I did like the mor streamlined, toned look of Hulk in The Incredible Hulk.
Dekead writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 1:27:39 PM

Keep Ruffalo!
Mister Leary writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 5:02:00 PM

Even if they were equal in strength superman would still win. His biggest advantage would actually be his intelligence against the mindless hulk, followed by the arsenal of powers he has.
minicooperz writes:
on June 13th, 2012 at 6:15:54 PM

the only things too big were those mutated, large mutts. bloody, a killer poodle?
Tsantilla writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 12:41:55 AM

@BlackDynamite

Much as I would have liked the Hulk to win that fight, in the crossover of DC vs Marvel supergeek beats the Hulk, at the end of the fight proclaiming: He took everything I had and almost stood up to it.
TheUniverse writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 8:18:52 AM

I want to see Marvel and DC vs Dragonball Z! superman is absolutely no match to Son Goku! LOL!

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel

"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved