WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Answers to the Most Popular "Prometheus" Questions

Posted: June 11th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Answers to the Most Popular "Prometheus" QuestionsSubmit Comment
For an R-rated movie, "Prometheus" performed very well at the box office, which means that many of you went to see it. According to some of your comments, some of you didn't like the film, while others loved it. But despite a difference of opinion, almost everyone had questions about what they saw. We're now going to attempt to answer them.


We're ignoring plot holes and just focusing on real questions raised in the film. Some of the plot holes that we found are: Why did the biologist and the geologist get lost when they were the ones who had the map of the entire place? How did David know that the Engineer would come after Elizabeth? How did the Engineer even get outside, considering that he needs oxygen to live and wasn't wearing a mask? Why was it so important to hide the fact that Weyland was on the ship with them? And how did the group not know that the biologist and the geologist didn't leave since all the vehicles were still there?

We're ignoring all of those. Here are the real questions:

Q: What was happening in the opening scene?
A: Ridley Scott revealed that the planet may or may not be Earth. It doesn't matter. The Engineer is there to sacrifice himself by drinking the black goo and letting it spread his DNA in order to create life. Self-sacrafice is a huge part of the movie, just like in religion and mythology.

Q: Why did David (Michael Fassbender) poison Holloway (Logan Marshall-Green)?
A: David doesn't have emotions, but he's very curious and is constantly doing research for Weyland. He wanted to see what the black goo would do to Holloway, but still only placed it in his drink after he got Holloway's permission to do so. For those who don't remember, David asked him if he would be willing to do anything to get the information he's after.

Q: Why do the Engineers want to kill humanity on Earth?
A: The film clearly shows that Engineers created life on Earth and then guided humans throughout our development, one day hoping that we would come visit them. But we did something very bad. So bad, that it upset the Engineers. And according to the movie, whatever we did, happened two thousand years ago. The only thing that could be is that we killed Jesus, who apparently was an Engineer as well. Here is a quote from Scott: "If you look at it as an 'our children are misbehaving down there' scenario, there are moments where it looks like we've gone out of control, running around with armor and skirts, which of course would be the Roman Empire. And they were given a long run. A thousand years before their disintegration actually started to happen. And you can say, 'Let's send down one more of our emissaries to see if he can stop it.' Guess what? They crucified him."

Q: Why did the black goo turn Holloway into a monster?
A: The goo is the creation of life. But it reacts to the nature of the being controlling it. Engineers believe in sacrificing themselves in order to help others. After killing Jesus, people clearly showed that we are willing to hurt others to help ourselves. The goo reacted to Holloway and turned him into a monster. That same goo didn't react at all in the hands of David, an emotionless robot.

Q: What did David say to the Engineer to make him go crazy?
A: There are plenty of ideas around this. David hinted that he would be free if Weyland died, but obviously he couldn't kill him himself. So maybe David told the Engineer something that would cause him to react that way. But that's not likely what Scott was hoping to get across. The more likely scenario is that David told the Engineer exactly what Weyland told him to say. But the Engineer knows that people have been corrupted and that their presence around the goo creates death. Plus, it doesn't help that Weyland, a very selfish man who has lived far too long in order not to give up his reign, is requesting for a way to live longer. It's also pretty interesting that the Engineer killed his creation (Weyland) with Weyland's creation (David).

Q: Why did Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Rapace) give "birth" to a huge octopus-looking creature?
A: Elizabeth cannot have children, but then surprisingly gets the news that she's pregnant. And that her child will be very different from what she expects, a special child. This is all part of Scott's way of tying the story back to the Bible. Think about it... This all happens on Christmas. Plus, the only way for the Alien to exist is to be spawned by humans. The creature is selfish and kills in order to live. Engineers are the exact opposite, they sacrifice themselves so that others can live. The goo in their hands creates life. In the hands of humans, it creates death in the form of the Aliens. So this was a very important step in the creation of the aliens. An interesting side-note is that Elizabeth calls the operation a 'caesarean' instead of an 'abortion.'

Q: Was Vickers (Charlize Theron) a robot?
A: Probably not. It's not mentioned one way or another, but all the clues point that she is human. She hates the fact that Weyland says that David 'is the closest thing he has to a son.' Plus, she is waiting for Weyland to die to take over. Weyland wouldn't leave his empire to a robot. And I would hope that Janek (Idris Elba) would figure out whether she's a robot after sleeping with her.

Q: Why was the surgery pod configured only for a man?
A: The pod is not sexist. It's there to keep Weyland alive. You can configure it for women, but it was for Weyland, a man.

Q: Is this the same planet that we see in "Alien"?
A: While there are many clues that this may be the same planet, in reality the planet in "Prometheus" is LV-223 and in "Alien" it's LV-426. This also means that the alien at the end of the film is not the queen.

There are many more questions to answer and hopefully the DVD/Blu-ray of "Prometheus" will do that.

Source: WorstPreviews.com, Cavalorn

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 75 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RickPeters writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 7:37:21 AM

Interesting. I'm still disappointed in Prometheus but these theories are interesting. Hopefully, the additional footage that's supposed to be on the Blu-ray will flesh this out more.

I still think the movie feels like they had a 250 page script for a 4 hour version of this movie, and then every 30 pages, just tore out 15 pages and never shot them.

Maybe the extra footage will help. I hope so, because I really wanted this movie to be awesome.
Bullit writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 7:53:10 AM

Some answers raise more questions which will lead to endless debates and hopefully, it will bring the Bible into this science-fiction movie.

However, I have another question: WHO created those Engineers?

Is the Alien born from the Engineer, a form of being the Devil? Since it's an evil thing, I might as well saying that in regards of the answers given in the article. I mean, R. Scott seem to make a personal adaptation of the Bible while it was initially a horror film?

I'm getting confused here.
Bullit writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 8:20:20 AM

* I meant: I hope it will NOT bring the Bible into this.
Phil writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 8:40:40 AM

Now I still don't get why it had to be a squid!
trailertrash writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 8:45:44 AM

Finally watched the movie last night ..

Thought it was ok, It Looked great ...

But the whole film lacked that intense threat of an Alien or Aliens, You thought it was going to happen a few times but it never delivered.

Plus Ridley never really got you to care about the collection characters he put into the situation like he did in Alien.

Pearce was wasted and Fassbender stole the show IMO, But it was that or Madagascar 3 so i was happy 7/10
Bullit writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 8:53:52 AM

Another thing: After the Engineers sent an invitation to the humans on Earth, they were in hypersleep mode and they've been waiting for 2000 years to be waken up by the humans in order for the Engineer to kill them and all the humans on planet Earth! Well, this decision should have been more elaborated in Prometheus before having such a blunt decision and cutting short without explainations. Doesn't make much sense now, does it?
blinkbomber writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:24:27 AM

It's an interesting theory that the goo creates life in the hands of the engineers, but death in the hands of the humans. But that doesn't exact help the untold aspect of what happened 2000 years ago to kill all the other engineers, especially if, during the events of the movie, this was the first time humans stepped foot onto the engineers ship.

I still think the engineer in the pod just got into the pod to save his own ass. But hey, maybe if people pester Scott enough he'll eventually spit more details out.

Nice article to further discussion, WP.
DriveMemento writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:38:46 AM


"waiting for 2000 years to be waken up by the humans in order for the Engineer to kill them"

the humanoids or engineers werent waiting for the humans to wake them up, I'm pretty sure something happend to the engineers when they were on there way or preparing to destroy planet earth. Their was only one Engineer left in that capsol twrds the end. The maps they left for the humans on planet earth were for before they wanted to destroy them.

Stuntastic writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:41:25 AM

Glad to c I wasn't the only one not understanding what the f*ck was going on
Dirt writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:45:12 AM

I have a question.

Why did this movie suck so much?
Dirt writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:47:55 AM

Such a dissapointment.

I wanted to see Get The Gringo, but it was on all f*cked up session times. Anyone see it yet?
Bullit writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:50:48 AM

^ ^
I think I'm going to watch it again and reading all these answers straight after with your comment.

Bullit writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:51:39 AM

*aimed at DriveMemento.
Bullit writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:53:20 AM

@Dirt: yep, good movie. Mel was in good form, kinda liked it.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:05:45 AM

Wow, what a mess this was. Never thought on Monday, we'd be discussing this movie like this.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:20:54 AM

Truth be told this movie gets you wondering about what else the company never told ripely
-Chewy- writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:24:49 AM

But if you want to talk about plot holes, you can always visit this website that lists all of prometheus plot holes:


They pretty much destroy the entire script.
Kurskij writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:40:10 AM

The problem with the movie (even if they'll provide some answers in interviews or during the ongoing viral campaign) is that it doesn't work as a standalone picture. Probably as a part of the franchise that may or may not happen and may or may not find coherent answers to all the questions it started.

The problem is that, yeah, we get that you wanted to create a deep, esoteric sci-fi in the vein of "2001" and probably the original intent was not to answer ANY of the questions posed. It may work on a TV show, it does not work in a movie (see Scott's very own Blade Runner where it went through a sh*tton of edits/cuts/revisions and still it people argue if it's an all out masterpiece or a visually genius yet incredibly flawed mess of failed smarts).

Prometheus may actually contain all these religious themes and undertones, but I highly doubt that they'll be properly explored in the sequel(s) and not half-assed the way one would expect from Mr. Lindelof.


Leviticus 22:3 (LV-223)

‘Say to them: ‘For the generations to come, if any of your descendants is ceremonially unclean and yet comes near the sacred offerings that the Israelites consecrate to the LORD, that person must be cut off from my presence. I am the LORD.’”

Leviticus 4:26 you can find yourself for more discussions to follow.
Bigcheese writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 10:58:33 AM

Couple more things about this crappy movie.

1 how didn't the captain of the ship know Weyland was on board?

2 why were the engineer holograms running into that room with the goo, and where did they go?

3 what was with the big pile of dead engineers?

4 how come infected guy + woman = squid. And squid + engineer = alien (which was ridiculous as it ruined the great idea of Alien being a space "bug").
SACdaddy writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:08:31 AM

Thanks for the "answers" but:

What happened to the Engineers?

What caused their heads to explode (when the people reanimate the head it looks like the black goo spreads through it before it explodes)?

Why is there a huge pile of Engineer bodies in that tunnel?

What were the Engineers in the hologram running from?

Where did the little Alien Cobra come from? And why was it hostile if your theory about humans influencing the black goo holds up? That thing didn't come out of a person.

Why did the Engineers leave us a map back to their solar system?

Why didn't the chick go back to Earth to warn any of us that an Alien invasion was being planned?

Why does the girl trust David?

SACdaddy writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:10:46 AM

Sorry for doubling some of your questions Bigcheese and others.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:17:24 AM

One more question. Why doesn't anyone seem to notice the giant squid monster in the on board the Prometheus.
Damon242 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:18:48 AM

"Why did the black goo turn Holloway into a monster?"

Exactly what exists to substantiate that answer?

The host of the organism still relies on oxygen, in order to simply function. This "goo" enters and all of the sudden, even though the goo exists in an oxygen-based environment also, the body is somehow able to function in a toxic environment? Is super strong?
Damon242 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:20:01 AM

Here's my biggest question:

Why did the Engineers interact with humans across the globe 35,000 years ago and point to a planet hosting a bio-weapons facility?
beepboop writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:36:15 AM

so your answer is: the engineers guided the human race for thousands of years and the romans came to power, the engineers tried to enlighten them, but one got killed, so all humans must die.

after being guided for thousands of years, that have been filled with wars and bloodshed, the romans are the bad guys? what?
they guided humanity, but all humanity did was to kill each other(under their guidance) and when they killed each other some more all humans had to be killed. by the merciful and guiding engineers, who are so peaceful they build WMDs.

it makes no sense at all.

here's a better explanation:
the engineers are just evil monsters in a badly written monster movie.
a monster movie full with plotholes. but it is based on an amazing movie, so it tries to give the illusion that it's deep and idiots buy into that.
they think the engineers are more than monsters, they are in fact jesus! nope, it's just a badly written movie.
well filmed, well acted, but badly written.
jthompson writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:55:13 AM

I don't consider Prometheus as an personal Bible adaption, because the movie emphasizes an atheist point of view. Hence the Nietschze quote on that website.

Most people miss the meaning of that black stuff. It is in fact a substance that gives any organisme an 'evolution boost'. Those white snakes were actually just worms before they came in contact with the stuff.

Therefore, i think Engineers are us + black stuff (Nietsches ubermensch!). A combination made thousand of years ago. The only pitfall is that it disables independent reproduction. All the engineers are men, Aliens need a host etc.
Engineer needed us to reproduce wich motivated them to create worlds and humans.

But their reproduction process had a catastrophic epidemic mishap --> the Aliens that wiped out all the engineers. A mishap due to our intervention. E. Shaw did not give birth, she wasn't even pregnant (David says so), it has nothing to do with religion. The squid = spermcel + blackstuff. --> creates facehugger.

"there is nothing"

I like this view a lot better, but it doesn;t solve everything
Moviejohn writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 12:16:01 PM

Welcome back to the stupid world of Damon Lindelof, the guy who screwed up "Lost" so badly, it went from being the best TV show ever made to a minor footnote in TV history. The questions need to be answered on screen. Simple as that. Otherwise, you're left with a half-assed, idiotic attempt to be clever. I hope Hollywood will stop employing this guy, but as long as they give Shyamalan work, Lindelof will get it, too.

Here's the truth: "Prometheus" sucked.
jthompson writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 12:29:14 PM

haha, be carefull with truth claims about Prometheus MovieJohn :P

I love the movie because it isn't conclusive at all, by wich it enriches my imagination.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 1:08:18 PM

IDK, but like TRON: LEGACY, PROMETHEUS is suffering from the directorial/ special effects surpassed the screenplay.

Like building a mansion on a bad foundation...
Telico writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 1:12:37 PM

Some of the answers to these questions are just rubbish, the problem with this film was all the good parts were in the trailers, that made the film about 2 hours too long.

Firstly the opening scene still makes no sense. Even with ur explanation. (it looked shocked to be dying, not enlightened)

Secondly.... u know what theres just too much wrong with this film to state. It was so badly written that Ridley Scott has damaged his rep working on it, I like so many others feel cheated out or our money.

In future i wouldn't bother trying to answer questions about it.... there's only one question and that is how someone can work on something for a few years and not ask the questions everyone else is asking after looking at it for only 2 hours..... Answer: they are money hungry idiots who don't respect their customers..... us
pornfly writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 2:18:47 PM

"Like building a mansion on a bad foundation."

Or a hot chic raised by idiots
Thrasher1985 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 2:46:02 PM

Wow did Prometheus blow... WP isn't helping fix it... much. I was so excited to see "Questions answered" in regards to this piece of sh*t but oh well... I like how the first question is Ridley Scott saying "it doesn't matter." Sure it does. If its on screen, there needs to be a reason. That reason needs to be something that everyone, or most everyone, or ya know what? SOMEONE, can understand. We didn't. Fail.

Its like the beginning of Rob Zombie's Halloween 2 in the hospital at the beginning how all of that was a big dream, which means that the first 20 minutes didn't even happen? Waste of time.

So this black goo creates life with the engineers... looks like it killed him to me, I saw the DNA come back afterward yeah, but the same thing coulda happened to the humans, we just didn't get an equal closeup and the human's never fell in the waterfall on "doesn't matter planet."

David later says in the movie POINT f*ckING BLANK: "I don't want, want is not a term I am familiar with." There is no room there for discussion. There is no double meaning. It is quite clear exactly what he f*cking said. And yet, he "wants" to see "what would happen" Cause what he did is never brought up, nor does he report the effects of the goo to anyone, especially Weyland. He just did it cause... well... the movie needed it.

According to the movie the bad thing happend 2000 years ago. What? Where? When did that date get brought up? Someone said that something bad happened on earth 2000 years ago? Jesus wasn't hairless, and albino. Jesus wasn't brought up at all just vaguely referenced with Shaw's cross. The characteristics of the engineers to Jesus (sidebar, this is so ridiculous.)are so different beyond the physical description I don't have the time, instead I'll just say: common sense, and that was just some quote that Ridley used for the overall mythology, so I guess everyone needed to read that interview before going to the movie, and all the internet Weyland webisodes... what the f*ck ever.

"The black goo is the creation of life" Not really. First it kills the engineers, then it evolves humans, and the worm maggots, Holloway into some retarded thing that acts like an ape, who can't die? And maggot worms, into the new alien addition: d*ck cobras! they look like d*cks with flaps that open up like cobras! Reminds me of Morgan Freeman saying "sh*t weasels" in Dreamcatcher. I laughed so hard. Holloway was a good man, doing exactly? what the engineers wanted him to do. He was betrayed. But the "Sentient" goo, read his mind? looked into his soul? and turned him into a monster... ok...

David talking to the engineer, wow, if ever there was a perfect moment to explain what the f*ck is going on. But leave it to Lindelof to f*ck that up (Lost Season 6 campfire scene with Jacob anyone?) Here is a perfect moment to explain what is going on. Why were some engineers running in fear to the egg room, why did some go in cryo sleep, why is HE the only one left alive, what is their mission REALLY? on and on... but NOPE, not even subtitles. Just body language. I wonder if Shaw acting like a f*cking crazy person and screaming sh*t had anything to do with it. Or the fact that they had guns. AND THAT'S ANOTHER THING! FIRST ALIEN EVER, NO ONE REACTED TO IT WITH ANYTHING! THEY WERE JUST LIKE: "oh, alien, hmm, guess you were right..." WHAT?!

Charlize Theron wasn't a robot because a robot would know if you just turn left or right, you would be fine. Charlize was a dumb f*cking blonde, and now she's dead. Dumb bitches with no sense of direction are on Earth, right now.

As far as I'm concerned all Ridley needed to do here was end Prometheus with the Space Jockey in the Telescope gun thing, a chestburster popping out, and someone to say that they proclaim this planet LV-426. That was apparently waaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy to f*cking hard. Then he would have to like, remember his own movie...

So I guess in Prometheus 2, we will need someone else to go to LV-426, get some goo, put it in some booze, make sure that the guy who drinks it has someone to f*ck, and that she can't have babies, then wait til she has the squid baby or cuts it out, whatever, and then get an engineer to come by so the squid thing can face f*ck it.

Thank you Ridley Scott, for scratching the itch of where did Aliens come from on a planet we will never go back too.

Sidebar: Shaw immediately took off running, after getting hit in the abortion scar, after having an abortion which is cute, but also! she never knew the engineer was going to Earth. She was outside when he turned the ship on. So I guess she just hoped she understood what was happening when she sent her only ride and the remaining crew of Prometheus to their deaths.

P.P.S. Shaw called it a caesarean, because she was being specific to the surgery pod, and probably because screaming "I want an abortion (in space)." would have been really f*cking silly over the top and got into political sh*t.

Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 4:05:29 PM

This is not my own work, but it is a pretty cool literary-type analysis into the religious themes and possible clues throughout the movie.It is from http://cavalorn.livejournal.com/584135.html#cutid1

"Prometheus contains such a huge amount of mythic resonance that it effectively obscures a more conventional plot. I'd like to draw your attention to the use of motifs and callbacks in the film that not only enrich it, but offer possible hints as to what was going on in otherwise confusing scenes.

Let's begin with the eponymous titan himself, Prometheus. He was a wise and benevolent entity who created mankind in the first place, forming the first humans from clay. The Gods were more or less okay with that, until Prometheus gave them fire. This was a big no-no, as fire was supposed to be the exclusive property of the Gods. As punishment, Prometheus was chained to a rock and condemned to have his liver ripped out and eaten every day by an eagle. (His liver magically grew back, in case you were wondering.)

Fix that image in your mind, please: the giver of life, with his abdomen torn open. We'll be coming back to it many times in the course of this article.

The ethos of the titan Prometheus is one of willing and necessary sacrifice for life's sake. That's a pattern we see replicated throughout the ancient world. J G Frazer wrote his lengthy anthropological study, The Golden Bough, around the idea of the Dying God - a lifegiver who voluntarily dies for the sake of the people. It was inc*mbent upon the King to die at the right and proper time, because that was what heaven demanded, and fertility would not ensue if he did not do his royal duty of dying.

Now, consider the opening sequence of Prometheus. We fly over a spectacular vista, which may or may not be primordial Earth. According to Ridley Scott, it doesn't matter. A lone Engineer at the top of a waterfall goes through a strange ritual, drinking from a cup of black goo that causes his body to disintegrate into the building blocks of life. We see the fragments of his body falling into the river, twirling and spiralling into DNA helices.

Ridley Scott has this to say about the scene: 'That could be a planet anywhere. All he’s doing is acting as a gardener in space. And the plant life, in fact, is the disintegration of himself. If you parallel that idea with other sacrificial elements in history – which are clearly illustrated with the Mayans and the Incas – he would live for one year as a prince, and at the end of that year, he would be taken and donated to the gods in hopes of improving what might happen next year, be it with crops or weather, etcetera.'

Can we find a God in human history who creates plant life through his own death, and who is associated with a river? It's not difficult to find several, but the most obvious candidate is Osiris, the epitome of all the Frazerian 'Dying Gods'.

And we wouldn't be amiss in seeing the first of the movie's many Christian allegories in this scene, either. The Engineer removes his cloak before the ceremony, and hesitates before drinking the cupful of genetic solvent; he may well have been thinking 'If it be Thy will, let this cup pass from me.'

So, we know something about the Engineers, a founding principle laid down in the very first scene: acceptance of death, up to and including self-sacrifice, is right and proper in the creation of life. Prometheus, Osiris, John Barleycorn, and of course the Jesus of Christianity are all supposed to embody this same principle. It is held up as one of the most enduring human concepts of what it means to be 'good'.

Seen in this light, the perplexing obscurity of the rest of the film yields to an examination of the interwoven themes of sacrifice, creation, and preservation of life. We also discover, through hints, exactly what the nature of the clash between the Engineers and humanity entailed.

The crew of the Prometheus discover an ancient chamber, presided over by a brooding solemn face, in which urns of the same black substance are kept. A mural on the wall presents an image which, if you did as I asked earlier on, you will recognise instantly: the lifegiver with his abdomen torn open. Go and look at it here to refresh your memory. Note the serenity on the Engineer's face here.

And there's another mural there, one which shows a familiar xenomorph-like figure. This is the Destroyer who mirrors the Creator, I think - the avatar of supremely selfish life, devouring and destroying others purely to preserve itself. As Ash puts it: 'a survivor, unclouded by conscience, remorse or delusions of morality.'

Through Shaw and Holloway's investigations, we learn that the Engineers not only created human life, they supervised our development. (How else are we to explain the numerous images of Engineers in primitive art, complete with star diagram showing us the way to find them?) We have to assume, then, that for a good few hundred thousand years, they were pretty happy with us. They could have destroyed us at any time, but instead, they effectively invited us over; the big pointy finger seems to be saying 'Hey, guys, when you're grown up enough to develop space travel, come see us.' Until something changed, something which not only messed up our relationship with them but caused their installation on LV-223 to be almost entirely wiped out.

From the Engineers' perspective, so long as humans retained that notion of self-sacrifice as central, we weren't entirely beyond redemption. But we went and screwed it all up, and the film hints at when, if not why: the Engineers at the base died two thousand years ago. That suggests that the event that turned them against us and led to the huge piles of dead Engineers lying about was one and the same event. We did something very, very bad, and somehow the consequences of that dreadful act accompanied the Engineers back to LV-223 and massacred them.

If you have uneasy suspicions about what 'a bad thing approximately 2,000 years ago' might be, then let me reassure you that you are right. An astonishing excerpt from the Movies.com interview with Ridley Scott:

Movies.com: We had heard it was scripted that the Engineers were targeting our planet for destruction because we had crucified one of their representatives, and that Jesus Christ might have been an alien. Was that ever considered?

Ridley Scott: We definitely did, and then we thought it was a little too on the nose. But if you look at it as an “our children are misbehaving down there” scenario, there are moments where it looks like we’ve gone out of control, running around with armor and skirts, which of course would be the Roman Empire. And they were given a long run. A thousand years before their disintegration actually started to happen. And you can say, "Let's send down one more of our emissaries to see if he can stop it." Guess what? They crucified him.

Yeah. The reason the Engineers don't like us any more is that they made us a Space Jesus, and we broke him. Reader, that's not me pulling wild ideas out of my arse. That's RIDLEY SCOTT.

So, imagine poor crucified Jesus, a fresh spear wound in his side. Oh, hey, there's the 'lifegiver with his abdomen torn open' motif again. That's three times now: Prometheus, Engineer mural, Jesus Christ. And I don't think I have to mention the 'sacrifice in the interest of giving life' bit again, do I? Everyone on the same page? Good.

So how did our (in the context of the film) terrible murderous act of crucifixion end up wiping out all but one of the Engineers back on LV-223? Presumably through the black slime, which evidently models its behaviour on the user's mental state. Create unselfishly, accepting self-destruction as the cost, and the black stuff engenders fertile life. But expose the potent black slimy stuff to the thoughts and emotions of flawed humanity, and 'the sleep of reason produces monsters'. We never see the threat that the Engineers were fleeing from, we never see them killed other than accidentally (decapitation by door), and we see no remaining trace of whatever killed them. Either it left a long time ago, or it reverted to inert black slime, waiting for a human mind to reactivate it.

The black slime reacts to the nature and intent of the being that wields it, and the humans in the film didn't even know that they WERE wielding it. That's why it remained completely inert in David's presence, and why he needed a human proxy in order to use the stuff to create anything. The black goo could read no emotion or intent from him, because he was an android.

Shaw's comment when the urn chamber is entered - 'we've changed the atmosphere in the room' - is deceptively informative. The psychic atmosphere has changed, because humans - tainted, Space Jesus-killing humans - are present. The slime begins to engender new life, drawing not from a self-sacrificing Engineer but from human hunger for knowledge, for more life, for more everything. Little wonder, then, that it takes serpent-like form. The symbolism of a corrupting serpent, turning men into beasts, is pretty unmistakeable.

Refusal to accept death is anathema to the Engineers. Right from the first scene, we learned their code of willing self-sacrifice in accord with a greater purpose. When the severed Engineer head is temporarily brought back to life, its expression registers horror and disgust. Cinemagoers are confused when the head explodes, because it's not clear why it should have done so. Perhaps the Engineer wanted to die again, to undo the tainted human agenda of new life without sacrifice.

But some humans do act in ways the Engineers might have grudgingly admired. Take Holloway, Shaw's lover, who impregnates her barren womb with his black slime riddled semen before realising he is being transformed into something Other. Unlike the hapless geologist and botanist left behind in the chamber, who only want to stay alive, Holloway willingly embraces death. He all but invites Meredith Vickers to kill him, and it's surely significant that she does so using fire, the other gift Prometheus gave to man besides his life.

The 'Caesarean' scene is central to the film's themes of creation, sacrifice, and giving life. Shaw has discovered she's pregnant with something non-human and sets the autodoc to slice it out of her. She lies there screaming, a gaping wound in her stomach, while her tentacled alien child thrashes and squeals in the clamp above her and OH HEY IT'S THE LIFEGIVER WITH HER ABDOMEN TORN OPEN. How many times has that image come up now? Four, I make it. (We're not done yet.)

And she doesn't kill it. And she calls the procedure a 'caesarean' instead of an 'abortion'.

(I'm not even going to begin to explore the pro-choice versus forced birth implications of that scene. I don't think they're clear, and I'm not entirely comfortable doing so. Let's just say that her unwanted offspring turning out to be her salvation is possibly problematic from a feminist standpoint and leave it there for now.)

Here's where the Christian allegories really come through. The day of this strange birth just happens to be Christmas Day. And this is a 'virgin birth' of sorts, although a dark and twisted one, because Shaw couldn't possibly be pregnant. And Shaw's the crucifix-wearing Christian of the crew. We may well ask, echoing Yeats: what rough beast, its hour come round at last, slouches towards LV-223 to be born?

Consider the scene where David tells Shaw that she's pregnant, and tell me that's not a riff on the Annunciation. The calm, graciously angelic android delivering the news, the pious mother who insists she can't possibly be pregnant, the wry declaration that it's no ordinary child... yeah, we've seen this before.

'And the angel answered and said unto her, The Holy Ghost shall come upon thee, and the power of the Highest shall overshadow thee: therefore also that holy thing which shall be born of thee shall be called the Son of God. And, behold, thy cousin Elisabeth, she hath also conceived a son in her old age: and this is the sixth month with her, who was called barren.'

A barren woman called Elizabeth, made pregnant by 'God'? Subtle, Ridley.

Anyway. If it weren't already clear enough that the central theme of the film is 'I suffer and die so that others may live' versus 'you suffer and die so that I may live' writ extremely large, Meredith Vickers helpfully spells it out:

'A king has his reign, and then he dies. It's inevitable.'

Vickers is not just speaking out of personal frustration here, though that's obviously one level of it. She wants her father out of the way, so she can finally come in to her inheritance. It's insult enough that Weyland describes the android David as 'the closest thing I have to a son', as if only a male heir was of any worth; his obstinate refusal to accept death is a slap in her face.

Weyland, preserved by his wealth and the technology it can buy, has lived far, far longer than his rightful time. A ghoulish, wizened creature who looks neither old nor young, he reminds me of Slough Feg, the decaying tyrant from the Slaine series in British comic 2000AD. In Slaine, an ancient (and by now familiar to you, dear reader, or so I would hope) Celtic law decrees that the King has to be ritually and willingly sacrificed at the end of his appointed time, for the good of the land and the people. Slough Feg refused to die, and became a rotting horror, the embodiment of evil.

The image of the sorcerer who refuses to accept rightful death is fundamental: it even forms a part of some occult philosophy. In Crowley's system, the magician who refuses to accept the bitter cup of Babalon and undergo dissolution of his individual ego in the Great Sea (remember that opening scene?) becomes an ossified, corrupted entity called a 'Black Brother' who can create no new life, and lives on as a sterile, emasculated husk.

With all this in mind, we can better understand the climactic scene in which the withered Weyland confronts the last surviving Engineer. See it from the Engineer's perspective. Two thousand years ago, humanity not only murdered the Engineers' emissary, it infected the Engineers' life-creating fluid with its own tainted selfish nature, creating monsters. And now, after so long, here humanity is, presumptuously accepting a long-overdue invitation, and even reawakening (and corrupting all over again) the life fluid.

And who has humanity chosen to represent them? A self-centred, self-satisfied narcissist who revels in his own artificially extended life, who speaks through the medium of a merely mechanical offspring. Humanity couldn't have chosen a worse ambassador.

It's hardly surprising that the Engineer reacts with contempt and disgust, ripping David's head off and battering Weyland to death with it. The subtext is bitter and ironic: you caused us to die at the hands of our own creation, so I am going to kill you with YOUR own creation, albeit in a crude and bludgeoning way.

The only way to save humanity is through self-sacrifice, and this is exactly what the captain (and his two oddly complacent co-pilots) opt to do. They crash the Prometheus into the Engineer's ship, giving up their lives in order to save others. Their willing self-sacrifice stands alongside Holloway's and the Engineer's from the opening sequence; by now, the film has racked up no less than five self-sacrificing gestures (six if we consider the exploding Engineer head).

Meredith Vickers, of course, has no interest in self-sacrifice. Like her father, she wants to keep herself alive, and so she ejects and lands on the planet's surface. With the surviving cast now down to Vickers and Shaw, we witness Vickers's rather silly death as the Engineer ship rolls over and crushes her, due to a sudden inability on her part to run sideways. Perhaps that's the point; perhaps the film is saying her view is blinkered, and ultimately that kills her. But I doubt it. Sometimes a daft death is just a daft death.

Finally, in the squidgy ending scenes of the film, the wrathful Engineer conveniently meets its death at the tentacles of Shaw's alien child, now somehow grown huge. But it's not just a death; there's obscene life being created here, too. The (in the Engineers' eyes) horrific human impulse to sacrifice others in order to survive has taken on flesh. The Engineer's body bursts open - blah blah lifegiver blah blah abdomen ripped apart hey we're up to five now - and the proto-Alien that emerges is the very image of the creature from the mural.

On the face of it, it seems absurd to suggest that the genesis of the Alien xenomorph ultimately lies in the grotesque human act of crucifying the Space Jockeys' emissary to Israel in four B.C., but that's what Ridley Scott proposes. It seems equally insane to propose that Prometheus is fundamentally about the clash between acceptance of death as a condition of creating/sustaining life versus clinging on to life at the expense of others, but the repeated, insistent use of motifs and themes bears this out.

As a closing point, let me draw your attention to a very different strand of symbolism that runs through Prometheus: the British science fiction show Doctor Who. In the 1970s episode 'The Daemons', an ancient mound is opened up, leading to an encounter with a gigantic being who proves to be an alien responsible for having guided mankind's development, and who now views mankind as a failed experiment that must be destroyed. The Engineers are seen tootling on flutes, in exactly the same way that the second Doctor does. The Third Doctor had an companion whose name was Liz Shaw, the same name as the protagonist of Prometheus. As with anything else in the film, it could all be coincidental; but knowing Ridley Scott, it doesn't seem very likely."
mehh0408 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 4:25:38 PM

Why did the biologist and the geologist get lost when they were the ones who had the map of the entire place?
Because thats Hollywood, it must happen so they can die !!!

How did David know that the Engineer would come after Elizabeth?
Maybe because his damn head was in the same room and he saw the engineer leaving the room and there seems to be only one door in that room so

How did the Engineer even get outside, considering that he needs oxygen to live and wasn't wearing a mask?
He was pissed and forgot to breath, adn who said they must breath air to survive anyway ?

Why was it so important to hide the fact that Weyland was on the ship with them?
Who gives a f*ck ?

Q: What was happening in the opening scene?
A: IT IS Earth and the dude gave his life so his DNA can get in Earth's water to create life, can it get simplier than that ?
Kurskij writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 4:43:04 PM

I just hope that after all those posts we all understand the fact that we discuss this movie not because it was so complex that need to share opinions to uncover the truth but because, generally speaking, it made absolutely no f*cking sense and we are simply trying to understand what the f*ck did we just saw?
hootie writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 4:48:26 PM

8/10 for me. First movie i actually enjoyed having things not completely explained on screen. I thought the 3D was amazing, and im excited to see what comes next.
At least you cant say it didn't make you think
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:11:27 PM

Scott's 'answers raise more question that they answer.

Ok, so, if the Engineers created all life on Earth, why the hell haven't THEY evolved? Remember, earth life began BILLIONS of years ago, and yet, here they are, standing on earth, using the same bio-tech they have 'now', billions of years later, and even worse, the Engineer is breathing an atmosphere totally different from that found on earth now, and inside the Engineer ship. Now.

Also, why the hell would they need to sacrifice a highly prized ind, an Engineer, to 'seed the earth with life', when we mere humans can seed whatever the f*ck we want without killing a soul? Hell, we have test tube babies, and have for decades, an we can synthesize DNA via Polymerase Chain Reaction, or at leas strands, entirely synthetically, and yet these so-called Engineers, who were straddling the universe billions of ages ago, need to kill one of their own to do so? Please.

And the disc. The dark thing in the sky. So they have flying saucers, then, but they have horseshoe shaped craft now? Why the hell does it look NOTHING like the ships we've seen? Why did they need to stick around to watch the Engineer 'sacrifice' himself, when they could have monitored his vital signs from afar?

And then there's Jesus Christ, who Scott says was an Engineer...right, because Christ was known to use science, to bio-engineer monsters, instead of walking on water and turning water into wine, f*cking parlor tricks instead of scientific miracles, and yet I'm somehow to believe Christ was a nine-foot super-genius galaxy-hopping extraterrestrial, even though he bled red blood and looked like a human? So they, these 'brilliant, nay, uber-brilliant, Engineers, dress some alien up as a human, and then decide to nuke us with monsters because we killed him when he started making trouble, even though, as THEIR creation, they should have known we'd be inclined to just that? And WE'RE the dumbasses?

And why go to all the trouble to engineer some sh*t to turn us into monsters, or alien DNA, or whatever? Why have an underground base billions of miles away, when they had all they needed to wipe us out FOUR BILLION years ago, when they supposedly seeded Earth? In other words, why are they engineering the very thing they already have, and have had for billions of years, on some desolate base a billion miles away, and why the f*ck did they send us the co-ordinates to this place 35,000 years ago? Because they knew we'd want to visit them?

And if they decided to wipe us out when we killed Christ (lol), why did they fail? Why didn't they finish the job? Where's the other Engineers to check the bio-weapon engineers work? So, ok, they f*ck up and their creation kills them, not us, as planned. So where's Supervisor Engineer to say, hey, guys, how's that weapon of total destruction coming along? They just die, these guys, and no one notices? And what the f*ck happened to all to the other engineers on LV223? Lots of ships, right? Where's all the other dead guys? One guy to a ship? Then they all came over to the one Engineer ship we saw for what? Scones and crumpets? Where's the redundancy, the check-in, the follow-up? What kind of civilization can traverse the universe, and yet can't even handle some seed and goo right, doesn't have a command structure, or even radio, and yet, somehow, they've been at this sh*t for billions of years?

Prometheus is STUPID. It's a STUPID film, and they tried to go all Matrix Reloaded/Revolutions on us and tripped over their own d*ck because the two writers, and Scott too, isn't nearly as smart as Andy W. and his f*cked up queer brother.
cress writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:11:35 PM

Its so bad. Scott completely changed tonally and aesthetically his approach to PROMETHEUS,as compared to his two previous scifi films. The score is just awful. That uplifting Star Trek-esque Triumph of the Human Spirit crap score was terrible. The dialogue is awful. It was like I was watching a terrible episode of some Star Trek show. This will ruin Scott. We've see directors who are really old make one last film that's awful and then they die soon. Hitchc*ck, Altman did it. Scott will be dead soon. And this will be the stinker he goes out on..So disappointing. I'm amazed I hate this film.
cress writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:11:52 PM

Its so bad. Scott completely changed tonally and aesthetically his approach to PROMETHEUS,as compared to his two previous scifi films. The score is just awful. That uplifting Star Trek-esque Triumph of the Human Spirit crap score was terrible. The dialogue is awful. It was like I was watching a terrible episode of some Star Trek show. This will ruin Scott. We've see directors who are really old make one last film that's awful and then they die soon. Hitchc*ck, Altman did it. Scott will be dead soon. And this will be the stinker he goes out on..So disappointing. I'm amazed I hate this film.
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:15:38 PM

"An interesting side-note is that Elizabeth calls the operation a 'caesarean' instead of an 'abortion.'"

No, they used the word caesarean to let the audience know what was coming, because many abortions, perhaps most, do not involve caesareans.
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:17:59 PM

"David asked him if he would be willing to do anything to get the information he's after."

David is still evil, in his own way, because he didn't TELL Holloway what he had planned, nor did Holloway get anything but a horrible death. It was Ash and Bishop's obsession with experimentation all over again, for the first time.
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:19:49 PM

"Let's send down one more of our emissaries to see if he can stop it.' Guess what? They crucified him."

Right. Let's send down this guy that looks entirely human and have him utter mumbo-jumbo bullsh*t about being the messiah, and then go ape when the humans kill him, right?
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:22:13 PM

"And I would hope that Janek (Idris Elba) would figure out whether she's a robot after sleeping with her."

Why the f*ck would you think that? Because it's trivial to manufacture realistic eyes, skin, teeth, hair and nails, but a pink hole between the legs is just impossible to make?

minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:25:39 PM

But the Engineer knows that people have been corrupted and that their presence around the goo creates death.

Right. And the race of creatures planning to reset earth of all it's biology aren't a bunch of very angry, violent psychopaths, either, huh? Because the three or four people responsible for Christ's death should condemn Earth, and her billions of years of evolution, including man, to immediate and total eradication?

Nice guys, those engineers. Kill one raving religious nut and they'll wipe your planet clean. But hey, they're the good guys because nothing says noble like planetary genocide.
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:34:50 PM

I personally liked the movie Prometheus, but I feel that Scott tried so hard to push the religious symbolism, that it detractded from the actual movie, and left it stuck between an exercise in CG imagery, and a deep, meaningful story.

I will admit however, that Noomi Rapace and David Fassbender were EXCELLENT in the movie, and Idris Elba had a few memorable moments. The movie is also the only movie I have ever enjoyed in 3D (only showing I could make due to other events). The color was crisp, and it added to the visuals, instead of being a collection of hackneyed gimmicks meant to look good in 3D (i.e. Journey to the ______ series).

In closing, I find that Ridley Scott's attempts to set up a sequel as well as thinly connect it to Alien, actually took away from the movie, rather than contribute to it.
Kurskij writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:35:18 PM

before I read all the latest post, here's another mindf*ck from Ridley and Co.

Since I saw engineers a question bogged my mind: where could I've seen the guy?

So Jesus H. Christ was supposed to be an alien, right?

And here's the face of Engineer we saw in Prometheus.


And here are some headshots of roman statue of young Hercules




And here's a roman copy of a greek sculpture "Diadoumenos"



Aside from those sexy curls, pretty damn familiar, isn't it?
Kurskij writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:40:06 PM

"Why the f*ck would you think that? Because it's trivial to manufacture realistic eyes, skin, teeth, hair and nails, but a pink hole between the legs is just impossible to make?"

BlackDynamite writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 5:43:53 PM

In addition to my next post, as disappointing as Prometheus was, it does earn one "accolade"

I never believed that I would ever see a movie i understood less than Sucker Punch, but Prometheus beat that by a LONG shot.
MustardTiger writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 6:45:52 PM

@Mink - You say Prometheus was a loser of a film, and the cheap f*ck that you are only watched a cam version of the film. I just want to know why you spend so much time analyzing the thing and giving your interpretations. It also baffles me how you can critique the CGI and special effects when you only saw a cam version of a movie made for IMAX 3D... It couldn't have even been a very good cam version because you seem to have gotten a couple of the characters mixed up in your critiques... But you were probably just confused as usual.
jdl107 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 7:21:55 PM

"Why is there a huge pile of Engineer bodies in that tunnel?

What were the Engineers in the hologram running from?"

Good questions, do you remember what Janek (Idris Elba) said? Well I don't remember exactly, but basically the planet they were on was made apparent after a while to be a research installation, or a weapons researching site. What they had created on that ship had turned against them. The aliens, the black goo, the aliens in "Alien", they were created as weapons.

"What happened to the Engineers?"

Nothing, except for the Engineers on LV-223. They were killed by their own creations. Wherever the Engineers originate from, their homeworld, I'm sure they're alive and well. Or else I would suspect that Shaw wouldn't even bother trying to find them.

"1 how didn't the captain of the ship know Weyland was on board?"

Didn't she? She wasn't exactly shocked/suprised when she walked into the room.

"4 how come infected guy + woman = squid. And squid + engineer = alien (which was ridiculous as it ruined the great idea of Alien being a space "bug")."

First off, the Alien was never just a "Space bug", it was always intended to be a bio-engineered weapon. Even though they're called "Aliens", they're not, they are basically WMD's that are actually intended for the advancement of life.

"Q: Why did Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Rapace) give "birth" to a huge octopus-looking creature?"

***SPOILER***Because she and Holloway had sex while Holloway was infected***SPOILER*** David explains this as well.

"For those who don't remember, David asked him if he would be willing to do anything to get the information he's after."

This is irrelevant, as Holloway was still not clear as to what EXACTLY he was getting into. Perhaps we watched two different films, because the one that I saw, Holloway NEVER gave permission for that. If Holloway was to be told that he would ***SPOILER***get poisoned after drinking the beverage because David, himself, put the alien goo in the drink***SPOILER*** I'm sure he would've changed his mind about drinking it.
vincere01 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 7:45:22 PM

@mink good read with your reviews and opinions. While i agree with most of what u said my opinion differs somewhat from yours, as well as i noticed a few other aspects of the movie that have yet to be touched upon. I posted my own review in the what did you think? Thread and alas since i am on my phone i do not have the ability to copy and paste it. Id be interested in your opinion on tge matter
vincere01 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 7:48:29 PM

And anyone else who cares to read it for that matter. This has been the liveliest subject on this site for as far as i can remember. If anything i believe we can all agree its at least thoughtprovoking as proven with all the posts. The reasons why it is depends on who you ask ofcourse.
Damon242 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 7:48:47 PM

Keep in mind that Damon Lindelof edited a script that was already written, and a story that was given by Scott himself.

If they had just decided to write a script from scratch, things might have gone better.

But don't expect to edit an Alien prequel script into a 2001: A Space Odyssey inspired script and expect it to mesh perfectly.
Dr Fate writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 8:12:10 PM

These are not even the most important questions.

1. Who was guarding the bifrost while Heimdall was flying the ship.

2. What was the point of Therons character?

3. How come when I went in bare into Minkowskis mom snatch, I came out with a rubber on?

NewYorkCine writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 8:16:44 PM

The movie was great in my eyes. It was thought provoking. A departure from most movies that have to spell things out for the modern audience. If you watched a CAM verision your opinions are a waste. If you can't fork over the money and watch it illegally you are sc*m and the absolute number one reason why movies have suffered in the last five years.
cress writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 8:21:29 PM

Forget crucifying Lindeloff. This is all Ridleys fault. His direction of this film is baffling. It is his worst film ever. The tone he set, the lighting, the editing...its all bad. I sat dumbfounded that the guy responsible for Blade Runner and Alien made....that. Rehashed formula that is done so bad, it reminds me of a SciFi Channel Original Movie. Parts of the story I liked, but Ridleys terrible direction lessen the weight of the whole damn enterprise. Truly an utter failure in my book.disappointment

TraxusIV writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 8:35:14 PM

I think I have to unfortunately agree that the intentions of the film are to envelope the Christ narrative. And I think that, as Minkowski objects, the reasons why the actual Christ narrative are absurd and cruel are even greater so when replacing the supposed infallibility of God with sentient humanoid aliens. But, I am having troubling reconciling the references to Nietzsche. While it is true that we have to consider Weyland to be of perspective that is counter to the thematic intentions of the authors and that we only receive the input of Nietzsche from him, I cant imagine that these film makers would be so brazenly moronic as to think they can counter the philosophy of Nietzsche with a Christ narrative. Nietzsche's depth makes the Christ narrative look like System of a Down lyrics. And, on top of that, what could the engineers possibly represent but the Übermensch? They can not represent Christ or God and the Übermensch at the same time, especially since the consideration of the Übermensch envelopes Christ. But, as Kurskij points out, the engineers do look exactly like idealized forms of the Greek and Roman sculptures. So, they could, especially as life bearers, represent the conjoining of Christ and Caesar. However, this idea is completely incompatible with the ideas we can take from the Ridley Scott "Jesus" interview. As such, I just cant make sense of what the point is. I want to guard myself against writing it off as just a misguided and misinformed usage of Nietzsche's work, but as far as I have been able to tell, that is most likely what it is. How f*cking disappointing is it that we have another Jesus story before us? Hasn't this been done enough? What a missed opportunity to reach out for a genuine and new origin story, one with its own thematic determinations. And, we all thought it was the AVP movies ruined the Alien series.
Tebeck writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:05:31 PM

In regard to the planet:WP is right, unfortunately this is not the planet that the crew found in Alien. The engineer is found in the consol with its chest burst open in the original film. Which obviously was not the case with the engineer in this film, which died on board prometheus.

This complicates the story more. Also this opens up more questions and possible plot holes. This means that either another weyland crew or a seperate group of humans traveled to lv426, found the same kind of ship and did the same thing, because humans have to be present to spawn the whole alien mess in the first place.

Considering all of this I do not see how that means the alien at the end is not the queen. It just means there is a seperate queen. On a seperate planet. With a seperate ship of crashed engineers. Which a seperate crew finds. Then a seperate crew finds that ship in Alien.

This is how complicated and un-fun this prequel is. I respect a movie that makes you think but not at the expense of quality storytelling.
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:48:45 PM

How about answering the MOST important question about the film? Where the hell was the quality control department when this script was being written? Did they have anyone with any storytelling experience or talent actually read this piece of crap before filming? How about hiring some consultants with a scientific background to look over the thing to make sure it makes sense? HOW DID NO ONE NOTICE HOW MUCH THE STORY SUCKED!?
bane writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:36:31 PM

why wasn't the film as tense as ALIEN

why wasn't it as exciting as ALIENS

why didn't noomi get a chance
to kick ass like sigourney weaver

why didn't charlize have any nude scenes

why didn't they hire an old actor
instead of putting
way too much make up on guy pearce

why didn't John Hurt play weyland
he is old enough
and that would have been a cool cameo
for all of us alien fans
SACdaddy writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 12:26:20 AM

"As far as I'm concerned all Ridley needed to do here was end Prometheus with the Space Jockey in the Telescope gun thing, a chestburster popping out, and someone to say that they proclaim this planet LV-426. That was apparently waaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy to f*cking hard."


Out of the million comments this is the most significant in my opinion. Why doesn't Scott just make the obvious connections to the original Alien? How easy would it have been to make the lone surviving Engineer have an xenomorph pop out of his chest while he was taking off? You could explain so much by switching just that scene:

There would be no confusion about what planetoid they were on.

You could explain what killed the other Engineers (who actually had the holes in them to back it up).

It could have justified why the lone surviving Engineer locked himself in a cryo chamber and froze himself (to keep himself alive until someone came and cut out whatever was inside him when they unfroze him).

It also would have justified his anger and his reaction when they woke him up. David, "Ruonf hed u sipu." Engineer, "WHAT THE f*ck DO YOU MEAN ITS STILL INSIDE ME!!!" Head rip :)

It could have explained why there were eggs found on the ship in the original Alien film. Leftovers from the Alien that killed the Engineer.

And so on and so on....

The real question everyone should be asking, is this where this film was originally supposed to go before the studio and the rewrites ruined it? It makes way more sense than anything we got. None of this would have stood in the way of Scott making a grander more thoughtful film. I think in the longrun too many people got involved in this film's development and the director completely took his eye off the ball.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 12:31:31 AM

And I still want to know why NOBODY noticed the huge squid monster chilling in the surgical room on the Prometheus. Seriously the thing was f*cking HUGE!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 12:42:20 AM

Ok last question, I promise.

Why the f*ck is anyone defending this sh*tty film? None of you would let another director get away with this BS. If Cameron made this there'd be a lynchmob of fanboys and film fanatics out of his f*cking head right now. I love Ridley and all that he's done for film but that doesn't make him f*cking untouchable. This is unacceptable filmmaking at its absolute worst and it only gets worse when people try to justify it. Call it what it is, a huge f*cking mess!
brokeboy writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 12:42:55 AM

"Ok, so, if the Engineers created all life on Earth, why the hell haven't THEY evolved? Remember, earth life began BILLIONS of years ago, and yet, here they are, standing on earth, using the same bio-tech they have 'now', billions of years later, and even worse, the Engineer is breathing an atmosphere totally different from that found on earth now, and inside the Engineer ship. Now."

If i was to guess its because time moves faster on earth.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 12:43:48 AM

out"for" his f*cking head :)
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 1:58:00 AM

After finally going out to watch Prometheus (Ending not 30 minutes ago) i have finally finalized my opinion:

The special effects were astonishing, wether you liked the film or not, theres no doubting that face. also, the score was amazing i loved that as well.

Now i was looking forward to this movie A LOT. and i as all of you are skeptical on some level, but nowhere near the level that all of you show Some questions i have:

Why make a prequel to explain how it all began but to only now introduce 2 new extraterrestrial beings to further not know where they came from ? I found that whole situation rather confusing.

So the Aliens that Created man accidentally bumped into a different Alien from somewhere, humans interfere and they f*ck, and creat the "Alien" ? Am i getting that right o did i miss something? And why were those 2 on the same planet to begin with?

Now, Above me are some questions that i'd like to be answered. Non the less i know that its not easy to make a film and satisfy everyone, you can't expect Ridley to reveal every single detail, Whats the mystery behind that?

Although question's were left unanswered, I Felt the movie did very well. I'd give it a 7/10 mainly for the visuals and Fassbender's acting, Damn were you all right about that!

Another random question: I Heard that it was going to be rated R With a nude scene and stuff, what i saw in theaters was a 14A Rated Prometheous with no nude scene (Not saying i'm disappointed but that's the only reference to a Rated R Version i know of)

Did i somehow Find a rated 14A Version in limited theaters and watch that instead? Cuz i was really looking forward to a Rated R Version.

In Closing, I Think this movie deserves much much more credit then the people of WP Give it. Yea sure it could have been better, but NO movie is perfect.

Keep on Keepin on Ridley :)
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 2:06:26 AM

Also Another question i was REALLY hoping to get answered was:

"Who sets off the distress signal that the first crew responds too on their way home in the first film?"

But like another WP'er Said: "Maybe in the next film" But That sucks lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 2:30:56 AM


a lot of what you said there makes Sense, they really should have had an alien rip out at that scene..

Touche Thrasher. lol
Kurskij writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 3:33:17 AM


To answer the question about rating and further address the question why the movie was such a f*cking mess: not so long ago fans across the board were enraged sh*tless about the news that Fox wants Prometheus to get a PG-13 rating. That rage finally pushed Tom Rothman and Ridley Scott to publicly claim that the final cut is on Ridley and the movie will be released anyway, whichever rating it gets.

Seems to me that the cut they submitted was the desired PG-13 cut, but MPAA f*cked them over and rated it R. They had no time to recut the movie once again and ended up with what we saw in theatres.

Moral of the story: we probably should wait till Blu-Ray with 28 minutes of footage, that was initially intended to be in the movie, is released on Oct. 11. Then pay for it and hope that it somehow puts the movie back on track, offer our excuses to Seniors Creators and live happily ever after.

p.s. Most likely it was not exclusively Mr. Lindelof's fault and maybe it wasn't his fault at all, but his resume claims to the contrary - the guy seriously must stop putting his half-assed wit and smarts in every f*cking project he's involved with without providing any coherent explanations to any of those "smarts". It's something from the ward of M. Night.
jthompson writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 3:34:07 AM


That was the Weyland Corp. , they knew there was a life form on that planet. They suckered the Nostromo into a 'mandatory' rescue mission to retrieve a specimen.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 4:38:14 AM


Makes sense now, like i love (most of) the work that Lindelof does, so i wouldn't like to think that its solely his fault..

And now i get why it was 14A, thanks lol Was very confused, and that new footage should be f*cking sicckkk, i can only imagine the wicked gore that they would have left out...

f*cking MPAA "f*cking up Movies you love since the 1930's"

And True enough..
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 6:09:05 AM

if they discover the planet in 2093 and that was the birth of the aliens. then how did the predators fight the aliens when they would bring them to earth. lol
LEONCIO writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 7:57:01 AM

-If the engineers created life on Earth, why did their dna create all kinds of animals/plants/insects/etc and not just human beings?

-There is something called evolution, did they also kill the dinosaurs?

-And did they turn monkeys/hominids into the different species (like the homo neanderthalensis) that populated the planet until homo sapiens became the "rulers" of this place? Did they assist nature in all that evolutionary stuff?

-Why didn't they just clone themselves and left their clones here on Earth? Wouldn't that have been much faster? They seem to be much more technologically advanced than us, I doubt that cloning themselves would have been very hard for an alien race that seems to be experts on dna and genetics stuff.

-And why don't we look exactly like them if our dna is exactly the same? They look similar, but not that similar, not for a 100% match.

-And Jesus was an engineer? Really? LOL. That's why they want to kill us all? LAME. XD

-Why did the old engineers leave so many hidden maps for us to find their weapon factory and not his real planet if they were going to use those weapons to kill us?

With such an advanced technology they could have helped us in those ancient times and we would have evolved technologically much faster. And they could have left an hologram map instead of just carved stuff in caves that were so hard to find.

-And why the f*ck the protagonist of the movie, that dragon tatto doctor, uses an alien starship to travel to the engineer's planet? Their planet must have billion of engineers that would kill her in a question of seconds. When she arrives there and the engineers ask the people in the ship to identify themselves and the aliens notice that they are just a human girl and a robot they will just wipe the ship out.

Even if they allowed the ship to land, what the f*ck does she think that she could do? Would she just ask them to not kill us all and then they would just apologize and forgive us? No, they would kill her anyway and they would come to destroy us as planned, so why doesn't she come to Earth to warn us of an imminent alien attack instead?
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 4:40:27 PM

"Even if they allowed the ship to land, what the f*ck does she think that she could do? Would she just ask them to not kill us all and then they would just apologize and forgive us? No, they would kill her anyway and they would come to destroy us as planned, so why doesn't she come to Earth to warn us of an imminent alien attack instead?"

I couldn't agreee more i thought that part of the ending was kinda lame, yes, im sure most people would do there best to save earth in any situation given against an impending alien attack... But she knows she cant speak they're language, they already didn't like David very much, why bother right?
boige12 writes:
on July 12th, 2012 at 10:30:32 PM

Better Answers http://www.cinebasher.com/2012/07/cracking-prometheus-puzzle.html

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved