WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Prometheus" Couldn't Beat "Madagascar 3" at Box Office

Posted: June 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Prometheus" CouldnSubmit Comment
"Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" took first place at the domestic box office this weekend by grossing $60 million, which is slightly less than the $63 million that the second installment grossed during its opening weekend in 2008.

The third film cost $145 million to make and will easily become profitable, especially with the help of international markets, where the movie grossed another $76 million for a worldwide bow of $136 million.

Ridley Scott's "Alien" prequel, called "Prometheus," had to settle for second place with $50 million, which is slightly less than expectations but still impressive for an R-rated movie. It already grossed an additional $92 million overseas for a worldwide total of $142 million. "Prometheus" costs $130 million to make and has a 74% fresh rating.

Looking a bit closer, "Prometheus" actually had a better per-theater average than "Madagascar 3," but played in almost 1,000 less theaters.

Meanwhile, "Snow White and the Huntsman" now has a worldwide total of $182 million (budget of $170 million), "Men in Black 3" has a worldwide total of $487 million (budget of $225 million), and "The Avengers" has a worldwide total of $1.396 billion (budget of $220 million).

Click here to read our "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 6:36:43 PM

Prometheus is a loser of a film, and not just at the box office. It couldn't beat Howard the Duck 3D if such a thing existed, and its failure rightly serves a notice to Scott his peak film-making days are done.
Psyched writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 6:43:33 PM

I like to hear myself talk....
SACdaddy writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 6:44:42 PM

Lol I was just posting about this on the What Did You Think thread. What a joke!!!
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 6:47:02 PM

I hope all the R-rated Alien fans bail Scott out when he's collecting SSA and aluminum cans.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 6:47:40 PM

i
SACdaddy writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 6:48:48 PM

Wow I thought it cost more than $130m to make. If they can cover the cost of the huge marketing campaign, they might be able to sh*t out a sequel.
pornfly writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 6:53:23 PM

f*ck
the only way I'll see Prometheus now is if i sneak in
All my interest has been chipped away

TDKR,youre on deck
Kurskij writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 7:10:41 PM

@sac

Well, in Europe it was marketed as a $200 mil. movie. Fox claims, due to huge tax rebates, relatively low salaries and (somehow) inexpensive CGI it cost around $130 mil.

Go figure. On a separate note, Universal claims Battleship cost $209 mil. ($9 mil. overrun) while rumours have the actual budget at almost $270.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 7:13:25 PM

"I like to hear myself talk...."



--Envious apes often engage in ostracism--



How's my alliteration now, pole prancer?
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 7:26:17 PM

^^Not *inexpensive* CGI, *minimal* CGI, in that almost everything was traditional VFX, save the space shots and some of the alien sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 7:30:42 PM

"the only way I'll see Prometheus now is if i sneak in"

Now THAT is f*cking fun, dude.
Kurskij writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 7:34:29 PM

Not exactly minimal, Mink.

http://www.studiodaily.com/2012/06/vfx-supervisor-richard-stammers-on-prometheus/
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 7:48:36 PM

I'm telling you what Scott said, not what the VFX guy, who's obviously blowing a self-serving load over his portfolio, is saying.

Scott has claimed repeatedly that he was told early on in his career that if you can do a shot live, do it live, and thus he would consequently minimize the Prometheus' VFX, which is why, perhaps, the cost isn't nearly as high as some CGI coloring book like The Avengers.

For what its worth, the same thing happened with The Fountain. CGI cost x for the given shots, so they used macro-photography, and the shot costs went down ~50%.
pornfly writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 8:39:12 PM

Any hope i had for the Blade Runner sequel has been flushed down the toilet
But i'm sure it'll be eye popping
Kurskij writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 8:45:57 PM

To make it clear: are we talking about employing *minimal* CGI possible, which also means a sh*tload of CGI in case of Prometheus or *little* CGI which was the case with Fountain with its use of macro photography of chemical reactions?

Cause, yeah, the sets were grand and lots of what could've been built practically was, but still one can't say that MOST of the effects employed was traditional, not computer-generated VFX.
DarrellP writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 8:48:07 PM

Nice tip of the hat to The Fountain there Mink. I really liked that movie, the practical VFX were stunning. I seem to remember they used ink, curry & all other kinds of stuff in water?

It's one of those things that drives me up the wall in regards to modern effects movies. Practical FX still have a real place! And as you pointed out.. sometimes you can shave a sh*t ton off of the budget.

As sad as it is (considering how bloody old it is now) Jurassic Park is still the poster boy for how to do the job properly IMO. The perfect blend of practical & digital effects.

PS: Prometheus was pure rape. The end.
Kurskij writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 8:52:24 PM

http://visualhollywood.com/movies_2012/prometheus/notes.pdf

Interesting read on how this movie was intended (including vfx), looking how it turned out.
TonyO8134 writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 9:01:55 PM

Mink, were you or were you not the one who said that prometheus was going to be amazing and screw all the people that think less of the film?
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 9:40:19 PM

f*ck off mink, this film's gonna be amazing!

i'd hate for this crappy animated movie to beat the awesomness that is Prometheus
Kurskij writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 9:58:07 PM

You might want to watch the movie first. Just saying. "f*ck" is a beautiful process and a powerful word to be used that easily.

The general concencuss is that "Prometheus" is visually grand display hiding a mess of a screenplay after all.
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 10:18:04 PM

Prometheus is a failure on almost every level as a serious science fiction film. It has good visuals but so what? The Avengers which was marketed as a fun "turn your brain off" special effects comic book film ended up looking better and having a more satisfying story than Prometheus. If I am not mistaken, a film has to earn at least 3X its budget back to be considered profitable. This might be more for Prometheus since its marketing campaign was huge. I think that most likely there either will not be any sequel or a cheap 40-60 mil dollar sequel to try to squeeze what money they can out of the mindless fanboys who still claim this film is a masterpiece.
rockkillers writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 10:54:05 PM

yawn...@ mink as usual. Hope Prometheus does well and encourages more R rated films and a Prometheus sequel.
rockkillers writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 10:55:28 PM

Don't let the nerds fool you Prometheus was great!
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:10:39 PM

I couldn't imagine R rated Prometheus beating a kids movie opening weekend during the summer anyways.
vincere01 writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:21:12 PM

@mink good read in the prometheus what did you think? Thread. I agree with most of what you said. Good movie but misses the mark in areas and leaves alot of questions. I posted my own review as well and i beleive i touched on another subject this movie brings up in regards to the current state of hollywood. Id be interested in your thoughts. I posted it in that thread
OneTime writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:22:51 PM

u cant compare these two movies.
Avirex writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:25:15 PM

I know people don't usually believe it but kids movies always get bumps in profit when released close to a R rated picture. Kids buy tickets for the kiddy sh*t and then run off to the R-rated fare. I know because I did that sh*t all the time growing up and I'm not the only one.
YoungChris writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:32:15 PM

wtf??? nicki minaj is in this movie? that ghetto ass bitch ...
nope.com writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:46:37 PM

Not surprising really, since it was sh*t. Maybe next time Ridley?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 12:35:24 AM

The irony of a Madagascar movie ?

Ben Stiller can't pull off a Zoolander 'Blue Steel' look and realize he soon will have crows feet and look like Jerry Stiller hitting the back of a semi-rig at 120 miles an hour, while snorting Columbian grade.
october_midnight writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 1:17:57 AM

First comment went up what...like 2 minutes after the story was posted?

F5 F5 F5 F5 F5 F5 F5 F5 F5 F5

'Just wait until the crowd of the same 9 people hear what I've got to say this time!....'
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 2:31:24 AM

"Madagascar 3" can f*ck itself wit a shredded glass covered dildo.

I don't care what anyone says, I am watching "Promethues" later today on an IMAX and will probably watch again on a regular screen.

After all the negative feed back I am really looking forward to seeing it.
Quidd writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 2:34:32 AM

Wow Mink was first on the boards. Thats a shock.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 2:41:22 AM

@October midnight

"F5 F5 F5 F5 F5 F5 F5 F5 F5 F5"

More like F3! lol assuming that your comment is coming from Maplestory
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 2:54:54 AM

and i don't see how you could know the time lol They don't post exact time it was posted :P
Rambo writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 3:52:00 AM

a kiddie movie at the top of the box office? what a shocker...
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 11:18:56 PM

Prometheus sure was better than this RANCID f*ckING d*ckNOG
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 12th, 2012 at 6:48:49 AM

it a good film, but it couldave been great. reminded me of a mix of jason x, and the 5th element with an alien at the end.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 4:51:14 PM

"f*ck off mink, this film's gonna be amazing!"

Shouldn't you be blowing Ranger or surgically removing his d*ck from your ass?

"Mink, were you or were you not the one who said that prometheus was going to be amazing and screw all the people that think less of the film?"

So, what you're saying is I should stick to what I said BEFORE I saw the film even though I now readily admit I'm entirely wrong?

You're encouraging me to be *INTELLECTUALLY DISHONEST*, then, right?

I just want to be clear here.

minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2012 at 4:53:06 PM

"Don't let the nerds fool you Prometheus was great!"

Yes, by all means, ignore the people that aren't total f*cking imbeciles in favor of retards that know nothing about what makes a film work...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved