WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Prometheus" - What Did You Think?

Posted: June 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Prometheus" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
After thirty three years, Ridley Scott has returned to the "Alien" franchise with the very secretive "Prometheus" film, which is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

"Prometheus" has a 74% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes with many critics split on whether the film is a smart and entertaining addition to the franchise or a disappointing attempt at topping "Alien."

Experts are predicting the movie will end up grossing between $50 million and $60 million domestically over the weekend. It has already brought in $50 million internationally, which is an impressive debut for an R-rated film.

Click here to read our "Prometheus" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 118 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 6:06:35 AM

I'm watching it in the theater anyways.cant be worse than snow white,Haywire,ghost rider right?
j-man writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 6:17:06 AM

Its good, not great, fassbenders steals every scene hes in, hes brilliant
Bullit writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 6:28:37 AM

I hate to repeat myself, but don't expect the chasing & killing of aliens. It's a prequel, which means it will explain our origin & the alien origin. You have to think a little bit which makes a nice change from just CGI & explosions flicks.

And yes, M. Fassbender is excellent but so is N. Rapace. Nonetheless, it remains a very good film worth watching it imperatively!
mrstretch writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 7:11:43 AM

I loved it. Still pondering the opening scene though.
beepboop writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 7:27:18 AM

really shallow monster movie. it's the opposide of alien. alien was a monster movie that was so much more. prometheus tries to be so much more, but is just a monster movie.

the movie doesn't make you think, it spills out everything. the only thought you can have is "why are there so many plot-holes?" and "why is this even happening?"
if you think this movie is smart you haven't read any science fiction in the last 70 years.

it's well made, fassbender is great, but the script is trash. when things are happening for no other reason than move the plot forward, it's not a good script.

this movie is enjoyable as a summer blockbuster, just like the avengers. as a serious entry in the sci-fi genre it's absolutely not.
pornfly writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 7:30:40 AM

Cant wait to decide for myself
I dont take notes while im watchin a movie

Im not gonna psych my selfout by second guessing everything on the screen,unless its a sh*tfest right away
That just spoils the experience for me

But i cant wait to come back to read everything that ive been avoiding about this movie
EarOne writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 8:33:30 AM

beepboop..i agree with u on almost all your points, except..for that it's as good as a summer movie as The Avengers..uh, excuse me..??

r u NUTZ...?? while intriguing at first, prometheus is NO WAY even in the same league as The Avengers. it's expertly made, but..that's it. while The Avengers's got everything. it's got well-established characters, engaging storyline, awesome action scenes, HUMOR, drama..and so much more you could ever ask from your so-called summer movie... do you still think Prometheus is just like The Avengers...??? i think NOT.
rocketman writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 8:35:37 AM

I thought it was great 8/10
I look forward to seeing what happens in the sequel
rocketman writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 8:38:47 AM

Avengers was a mediocre,predictable and cliched comic book film.It did nothing new at all except 'smash'.
Fun,yes the second coming,not even close. 3/5
rocketman writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 8:40:17 AM

gahhh bloody edit function...

I meant 6.5/10.
At least Prometheus tried something new :)
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 8:43:57 AM

@earone

Avengers WAS a summer movie. It is not a classic, it is not a game changer. It was just good fun.
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 9:29:06 AM

Haven't seen it yet.

Question: is Erin Moran still alive? Maybe after the humiliating recent reporting of her lazy life a network will give her a pity show:

'Joanie loves Walmart!'

Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 9:30:01 AM

Opening sequence shows her flashing her (pixelated) mud-flaps for a free pail of Donkey semen.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 10:29:56 AM

Wow, glad to see that I wasn't the only one underwhelmed by this ridiculous movie. I agree with everything Beepboop and EarOne have said. The film is full of plot holes and questionable acting, and it has a terrible script.

I also found every character but David (Fassbender) to be either extremely annoying or extremely stupid. Theron and Elba give perhaps the worst performances of their careers. Charlize is uncomfortably robotic and confrontational while Elba is uncomfortably nonchalant about EVERYTHING (even when faced with his own death). Fassbender's character is the most dynamic of the cast and he's a f*cking ROBOT!

By far the worst thing about this film is all the missed opportunity for it to be great. They never really follow through on any of the major ideas that Ridley's been hyping for the last few years. There's hardly any intellectual discussion or thought provoking about the central question of the film "Why did these Engineers create us?". The film literally ends with the same question. The time they should have spent answering this was just wasted trying to remind the audience that this was still an Alien movie. While I had no problem with the attempt it did feel like Scott had forgotten the little things that made the first two films amazing (and I'm not talking about sh*t popping out of your stomach). The first two films had real characters in them. From the time they awake until the moment they die these characters react the way anyone in the audience would react in the same situations which made them far more believable. This film's complete focus on visual effects and not character development immediately lessens its connections to the original series. In fact, its almost insulting how stupid and unrealistic these character are (like something out of a cheap slasher film).

I could go on and on about everything else that was disappointing about this, but the bottom line is I don't think Ridley Scott knew where to go with this confused film. There are too many holes in its development and too many flaws in its delivery to sell it as a complete product. While he did succeeded in delivering the best 3D experience since Avatar, he still failed to deliver a story worth watching.

But see it anyway and make the call for yourself. 6.5/10 (for decent violence and creature effects)

BTW it does kind of screw up the mythology of the franchise at the end, but I'm sure that will be discussed in a later thread.
Bigcheese writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 10:30:25 AM

One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Crap script, full of plotholes, terrible 3D. I would advise people to wait for the DVD.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 10:37:41 AM

BTW you should be worried about any movie that Putzman gives a 10/10.
the eye writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 10:51:07 AM

Prometheus was worthless besides the cinematography. Weak story, weak acting (besides Fassbender), slow plot development, no definitive conclusion to xenomorph creation. Only biased Alien & Ridley Scott fans will be pleased with this... 4/10.”
Great analysis Sac!
wavydavy123 writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:06:53 AM

I liked it. It asked a lot of questions, which blockbusters usually do not, and answered enough of them for me to be happy. A lot of people are complaining - it didn't answer all the questions but an audience will be less satisfied with crap answers to big questions than with no answers at all - at least this way we want more.

Fassbender was undeniably the stand-out star of the film as David, the robot. I liked Theron as the hard-nosed corporate, and equally liked Elba as the laid-back captain.

Yes, there are plot holes. Yes, some characters fall to the periphery, but it is an engrossing film that draws you in and does not let go till the end.

For me, it was a better film than Avengers - both films had unnecessary action pieces but both were enjoyable summer films that had me interested pretty much the whole way through.

It is clear to me that there is still a bit of time between the end of Prometheus and the beginning of Alien and I for one hope we get another few films to answer more questions and bridge the gap.
Phil writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:14:25 AM

SPOILER ALERT

What the hell was up with the squid. Still don't get why they introduced that species. Did the "creators" create it to make the "aliens" or was the species supposed to be around already? That kinda ruined it for me. That and the fact that everyone always seems so eager to sacrifice themselves.
wavydavy123 writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:17:53 AM

^ squid was a combination of human egg and the black goo infected sperm...not excellently explained I must say...but then the squid mixed with the Engineer DNA makes the rudimentary xenomorph ( the alien we all know and love) so it is pretty important really, even if, yes the squid thing was a bit stupid (how did it get so big so quickly..without nutrition or water or ANYTHING really?)
Bullit writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:25:42 AM

^ ^ I totally agree.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:28:17 AM

*I told you I'd be back, Alex!*


Prometheus is both visually stunning and stunningly incoherent, in that, though the film operates well as exploratory science fiction, it fails as cinematic narrative. despite the film's generous run-time.

The film opens with a montage of earthly landscapes and a large waterfall, on which stands a rather muscular, bald, pale and tall man, an 'engineer', looking very much like Dr. Manhattan from Alan Moore's Watchmen, sans the blue iridescence.

The albino alien opens some container, a small vase, and drinks from it what looks like Amazonian raisin soup. He then begins to spontaneously decay, and as he does, we're treated to both a shot of his dying DNA and, previously, a shot of some rather large dark disc doing slow donuts in the sky.

What all these means, no one can say, but it is neither explained nor continued throughout the film, any more than an extraneous Aerosmith music video, and thus serves as a template for much of the film's subsequent story: sh*t happens, and we're neither told why, nor are we even told how.

This isn't, however, a condemnation of the film as a whole, but a sad reflection that neither of the two screenwriter, who had either a credit writing for television, or even worse, 'The Darkest Hour', was up to the task of crafting a consistent narrative, nor was Ridley Scott in top editing form.

On the other hand, Scott's direction was quite good, as always, and scenes are shot with a sense of balance between functionalism and artistry, with little of the film's run-time wasted on shots that don't add to the overall composition.

No scene is bloated with extraneous shots, though the film is replete with extraneous scenes; and other scenes, that would make the film more coherent, were apparently left on the cutting room floor.

The visuals, the CGI, and I would guess, the analogue visual effects, are are technically advanced as anything I've seen in recent science fiction, outside of Avatar. You get a feel for the aliens, the world, the majesty and grandeur of the far-flung world on which they land, even though it looks much like earth, and the namesake ship is as lovingly and painstakingly rendered as any from the Star Wars universe. Even the aliens, the engineers, have a sense of believability, though through the magic of film, the otherwise ordinary actors tower over even Fassbender, who plays the obligatory and quietly maniacal android.

Unfortunately, the film's audio was lacking, and not much can be said of the soundtrack, which in most other horror and action films, plays a key role in assisting the narrative in ratcheting up the tension, but Prometheus lacked any memorable music, though the sound effects employed to complement the visuals helped build, without ostentation, the extraterrestrial environment.

I might also add that the ship, Prometheus, is the inverse opposite of Alien's Nostromo: composed perfectly bleached and smooth surfaces, brilliantly and cleanly lit, with nary even a fart from the precursor carrier of humanity. Certainly, the Nostromo had a personality, whereas the Prometheus has none. which brings me to the characters, or lack thereof, within the film.

Complementing the bland star-ship is a crew comprised of a captain that doesn't care, played by Idris Elba, thus only existing as both the token minority and to pilot the ship to its death; a stone-face sulking stalwart of menace played by Charlize Theron, who exists solely to sex the film up and to give us a character we can hate, which of course predictably dulls her death for the audience; Elizabeth Shaw, played by Noomi Rapace, the film's protagonist, a character not entirely out of her depth, but given little to do with the tragedies and horrors that beset her from second act to denouement; and David the android, a Data-like individual, the film's true villain, the provocateur who sets the horrors loose with the amoral curiosity of a child pulling wings from flies, and a character, via this amorality, who easily 'steals the show' throughout.

The acting of the principles is decent enough, and Fassbender does an impeccable job playing the inhumanity of an android, as does Rapace, respectably aping the stoic resolve of Ripley, even though Rapace's character of Shaw never seems to get angry enough to make us care as much as Ripley. Theron's character never does much, and when she does, it's essentially the same tired sulking, angry little girl, which invokes memories of Contact's Ellie, though Theron's character is devoid of any redeeming warmth, introspection, or even humanity, which at one point prompts the captain to ask her is she's a robot, which one can assume is the extent of the scriptwriter's character inventiveness and wit. Elba, naturally enough, fills a quota, spouts some lines, tries to get laid and dies, and you have to wonder if Hollywood has any respect for either blacks, or the possibility a black character co do more than ape a cliche.

Regardless, the film is suffused with other characters, including Shaw's boyfriend and fellow scientist, who barely exists, seemingly popping into existence like quantum virtual particles, only to get snuffed when the gooey sh*t hits the extraterrestrial fan.

Despite the minor gripes and the otherwise positive accolade, Prometheus starts to sputters twice: when the characters do anything, and when a question is asked.

Throughout, individuals in the film do things that make no sense, or events transpire that are neither germane to the story, or make much sense. One scene involves an aforementioned cannon fodder character who, after being stranded with his friend inside the Engineer's ship, decides to play kitty cat with an extraterrestrial water snake, a creature with a bulbous head that unfolds like a flayed baseball, and, predictably, causes death, even though the humans should know better than to play with scary and horrific looking aliens. Another scene involves the reanimation of a dead crew member, Shaw's boyfriend and fellow scientist. The subsequent scene provides some momentary thrills, but it's not anchored to the film's main narrative, and does nothing to advance the story, it's just inserted so more of the crew can be brutally killed, to fill the run-time, and to offer obligatory screams and burning flesh.

A final problem, and perhaps the most vexing, is the matter of story continuity with respect to various plot elements. many of these simply either do not hold or are egregiously inconsistent. A few examples: why do the Engineers where elephantine helmets, even though the air inside their ship is perfectly suited to both their physiology and ours? Did or did they not seed earth with life, and if so, why does none of look like the bio-engineered horrors they have well-stocked in the ship's various pantries? How did the monsters get loose? What killed the original Engineers? Why are they planning on seeding earth with aliens? Why did they create us, and why do they now plan to wipe us out? What did David say to the Engineer, and why did he say it? Why did Weyland suddenly appear, without reason, near the end, and why did his daughter and David conspire (or did they?) to kill him? Did David say something to enrage the Engineer, or is the alien simply easily irritated? Why was the ship buried again? What activated the initial holographic display of the two-thousand year dead Engineers? As to what killed them, where did it go? And so on.

In fact, the film is one long concatenation of unanswered questions, extremely stupid actions, disjointed events and mostly average to bland acting, backed by a non-existent musical score and highly adept and perfectly delivered visuals, and as such, Prometheus is a far larger set-piece driven film with much to do, as compared to it's tighter, darker forebear Alien.

Sadly, all that room, all that noise and all those lights create a film about as deftly woven as a drunken rave.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:31:13 AM

"BTW it does kind of screw up the mythology of the franchise at the end, but I'm sure that will be discussed in a later thread."

I'm still trying to determine if the planet in Prometheus is the same found in Alien. There's a number of similarities that say yes, and yet, when you watch Alien, you notice many inconsistencies that say no.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:34:54 AM

"the movie doesn't make you think"

I beg to differ.

If you came away from Prometheus not thinking, you're just not a thinker period, and in fact, it's the only thing Prometheus does right.

No scares, lousy acting and characterizations, a lazy, Swiss cheese Lost-like script, poor editing and standard visuals. Nothing in the film to impress, and the presumption by Scott and company that they'll get a sequel turns me off even more.
steamluv writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:36:05 AM

I saw this movie in theaters and then immediately saw the original Alien to compare the two. It's amazing that over 30 years of film and technological history have passed and Ridley makes it look flawless. The ship from Alien to Prometheus look exactly the same down to the exhaust vents.
shiteater writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:42:05 AM

I saw it last night and thought it was great.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:49:48 AM

"I liked Theron as the hard-nosed corporate"

Actually, that wasn't her characterization, and in fact, the 'hard-nosed corporate' is just how people who didn't understand the film see her character.

She was, in reality, just a sulky, moody, angry little girl, hating the world, and men to a degree, because her father, Weyland, ignored her in favor of building a son, which is why she despised David so much. I mean, the jealousy directed at him was more than obvious in several scenes.

I can't believe people missed that part of the film, as it was one of the more developed character elements, which really isn't saying much.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:50:32 AM

"i think NOT"

No argument here.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:58:12 AM

So, for all the people that watched Prometheus, I have to ask: did it make you think, and if so, what were your thoughts?

Can't wait for the deafening silence on this one.

(To Ranger: we know what you will be thinking. Who to bang first. Theron, Rapace, or one of the female Xenomorphs.)
wavydavy123 writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:08:26 PM

She was, in reality, just a sulky, moody, angry little girl, hating the world, and men to a degree, because her father, Weyland, ignored her in favor of building a son, which is why she despised David so much. I mean, the jealousy directed at him was more than obvious in several scenes.

I think perhaps you have missed the point. She was angry more because he was making a son and ignoring her, but rather he was trying to prolong his life even further, thus stopping her from taking over the empire. David was hardly going to start running the company, was he?
As for what Prometheus made me think about- it posed interesting questions in my mind about what might have created us, and while it did not exactly answer that too long it was an interesting one. Beyond that, it made me ask questions related ot the Alien universe - might not be the intelligent, big important questions you desire in a movie- but I for one was interested to see the roots of the xenomorph, and more about space jockeys etc etc

but i guess its all down to opinion, what interests individual people etc
wedfar writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:15:44 PM

Figured I would go ahead and post about my thoughts, since this is one of the first movies in a long time that I have seen that have actually made me think about it for longer than just walking out of the theatre. I will say that I agree this movie does not answer all the questions that it asks (nor should it). That's one of the big pulls Sci-fi has over other genres. Its meant to be for the thinking man. Mink found a lot of questions that I had to think about as well, some of which I believe i have answers for (at least speculation I made up; not starting a fight just giving room for debate.) No clue why the engineers wear those helmets inside of a place that is obviously suitable to sustain our/their life forms. Good question and I hadn't even thought about that one. Yes, I do believe they engineered our creation, as to why we don't look like creepy, angry space aliens, I would just have to say that black ooze/dna stuff that they carry around seems to destroy/rebuild its host and from what I remember about the alien mythology, possibly the hosts intents and behavior? As far as wiping us out, the carbon dating announced they were dead around 2000 years ago. With this story seeming to have plenty to do with Christianity...(Christmas trees, barren women giving birth, etc..) it seems like 2000 years ago would of been right around the time of Christ, his crucifixion, the beginnings of Christianity...I think the engineers didn't like one or more of those things. Which I find interesting considering the main protagonist refused to let go of her Christian beliefs. As for some of the other stuff, like the hologram of the 2000 year old engineers, didn't David just hit some buttons? Probably was re-watching the ships log or something. Just some food for thought. Don't know if its all correct or not, but its only been around 12 hours since I have seen it and I plan on seeing it again when it goes to the cheap movie theatre.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:17:22 PM

'Another scene involves the reanimation of a dead crew member, Shaw's boyfriend and fellow scientist'.

The film obviously did'nt make you think too much because that was Fifield not Shaw.

I know I won't get 'deafening silence' from you.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:18:28 PM

*not Shaws boyfriend
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:22:24 PM

"I think perhaps you have missed the point. She was angry more because he was making a son and ignoring her, but rather he was trying to prolong his life even further, thus stopping her from taking over the empire."

Sorry, but that's not what I took away from the character at all, or else, she would have no reason to hate David as she did, a fact that dominated pretty much her entire screen time.

"David was hardly going to start running the company, was he?"

Which again begs the question: why did she feel the way she did about David, and men in general? An easy answer then is that her father probably always desired a son, and failing to have one, having a daughter instead, he created one, and it's easy to see, to imagine, that she was always sidelined by her father in favor of him wanting a son.

And in fact, my theory is well-supported by the film, and, more importantly, by a wealth of other films and literature wherein this precise family dynamic setup occurs.

I'd even have to wonder how anyone could miss such a cliched plot element, but regardless, though I don't deny her character had deigns on her father's company, supposing that's the root of her hatred is not only superficial, it's vacuous and doesn't fit all of the available evidence as found in the film.

But regardless, yes, David just might have taken over the company, and that's a very good theory, then, as to why he'd even go the trouble of making such a perfect, highly-intelligent android.



Another related question: did David intend to have Weyland killed? What did he say to the Engineer? Did he try to communicate authentically, or did he say something to enrage the Engineer so as to kill Weyland and the crew?

I found the entire Weyland sub-plot to be annoying, btw, and contrived and unnecessary. Just one of those things in this film that not only short-circuited the plot and scares, but also subsumed the entire film into incoherent tedium.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:26:59 PM

"The film obviously did'nt make you think too much because that was Fifield not Shaw."

lol, well go ahead and nitpick the fact I couldn't make out the dead man's face on a 240p cam, you worthless *sshole.

But then again, one would, could assume that because Fifield WAS left out there after Vickers flame-broiled his ass.

Regardless, that entire scene was total garbage, btw, just something they tacked on because someone said "hey, sixty something minutes into this f*cker, and not one scare, so lets reanimate a dead crew member and have him go on an Event Horizon rampage".

Like I said, a sh*tty script, sh*ttier editing.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:33:52 PM

Yeah, its been covered, but first half was great although all the way through the visuals and sci fi tech in the movie looked great i couldn't help think they looked too good. This is set BEFORE Alien after all. But yeah, second half was rushed, too many plots going on and too little time spent on each one, they could have cut back they Weyland plot altogether, we know he's the bad guy, yes company evil! we get it, don't need it ramming down our throats with scooby doo style reveal.

I was entertained, Fassbender was great, but its not what it could have or should have been. Ridley had Ripley walking around in the dark for what seemed like forever in the original and every second was tense! There is a scene right at the end when a characters suit states they only have two minutes of air left....they are outside, trapped in a small space, a fair hike from safety.......did we get two minutes of tense struggle to survive??? NO it cut to that character opening the airlock and breathing a sigh of relief.....what have you become Mr Scott?!?!?!
nope.com writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:35:00 PM

Aside from Fassbender, the entire thing was utter sh*t. Too bad, that first trailer signaled of great things for this film. Pity it didn't deliver on any level.
Bullit writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:37:47 PM

@Mink: the questions you wrote were the same that ran through my head during and after the film and I thought perhaps the answers will be given in the sequel. I don't have much specualtions or ideas but at this stage it doesn't make much sense to me either but I noticed that in many science fiction movies, they often raised questions without answering them on purpose. Probably to distract you or attempting to make it look more intelligent than it actually is.

With Prometheus, I think R. Scott wanted to tackle the Darwinism by introducing his concept that our DNA is a 100% match with the giant albinos. But why do they want to wipe us out, I really don't know. It puzzles me in a nice way.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:38:38 PM

"As for some of the other stuff, like the hologram of the 2000 year old engineers, didn't David just hit some buttons? Probably was re-watching the ships log or something. Just some food for thought"

Well, from what I recall, there was an initial holo-display when they entered the ship. The aliens, the Engineers, go running around and re-enact what happened two-thousand years in the past, and perhaps I missed something, but I just didn't see how or why they'd see that particular event from two millennia ago. I mean, why THAT event, and why then, and how did it get tripped? Yeah, David goes in later and accesses the records, and I had no issue there with that development, but the earlier re-enactment certainly has me puzzled.

As to the two-thousand year thing...*shaking my head*. How'd they know about that, the Jesus Christ thing, I have no idea, given the distances involved, but that WOULD tie into the cross Rapace wore and the whole created versus evolved trope the film clumsily tried to address throughout.

I just hope the sequel leaves all that sh*t alone, because if you're right, Scott will make Jesus some kind of f*cking alien, perhaps a 'healer' ET, like say from The X-Files, and that's just not where anyone, I think, would want this new Alien development branch to go, even though I'm well aware Cott is trying his damned best to mine Erich von Daniken's ancient astronaut bullsh*t.
brazzmunkie writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:39:03 PM

Loved it. Great acting, great story. HOWEVER, its not a prequel. Its more like a reboot. If you go in thinking this will end where Alien began then you will be quite disappointed. Need to go in thinking its a whole new series.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:39:25 PM

I wasnt nitpicking I was just critiquing, are we not all guilty of pointing out trivial things like that.
Plus I have no pity for your mistake given the fact you watched a CAM nefore your extensive review of the film.

But anyway I also believe it was a pretty unnecessary scene only there to satisfy the bloodlust of some.

I thought the film did bring about some intriguing existentialist thinking but I want to believe that was more down to RS than a writer of the Darkest Hour.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:43:50 PM

"Probably to distract you or attempting to make it look more intelligent than it actually is."

Bingo.

"With Prometheus, I think R. Scott wanted to tackle the Darwinism by introducing his concept that our DNA is a 100% match with the giant albinos. But why do they want to wipe us out, I really don't know. It puzzles me in a nice way."

Well, the critics have been banging on that drum, too, saying the film revolves around a creationism versus evolution thing, but that's not what I took from Prometheus, no pun intended, and in fact, everything in the film is about DNA, or bio-engineering, not the supernatural.

Creationism is some supernatural god making sh*t from nothing, whereas the Engineers are super-scientists, masters of DNA and bio-engineering, so everything they do is about evolution, and just because it's assume they made us doesn't mean that they relied an any supernatural means to accomplish the task; furthermore, they had to have been evolved themselves, so to me, any mention of creationism from anyone, especially a critic, tells me that person didn't understand any aspect of the film at all.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:46:32 PM

"Plus I have no pity for your mistake given the fact you watched a CAM nefore your extensive review of the film."

Right. I should only review a film I see in a tight window of two hours, and only hours later when I've already forgotten most of what I saw, instead of reviewing from a film on my hard drive that I can access at any random moment at any random position, with all the time I need to contemplate what I've seen.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:49:13 PM

"but I want to believe that was more down to RS than a writer of the Darkest Hour."

Lol, yeah well, Harrison Ford said Scott couldn't edit worth sh*t, and 'The Darkest Hour' was total garbage, so I'd throw all my cash on all three *ssholes f*cking up the film, because you know that other guy, the one who wrote for Lost IIRC, doesn't know how to tell a coherent story either.

Three monkeys, and none of them can figure out which direction to turn the f*cking light bulb...
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:56:16 PM

"But why do they want to wipe us out, I really don't know. It puzzles me in a nice way."

Yeah, that's not deliberately addressed, and that's a flaw too, even though we all guess Scott thought they could leave that one open for the sequel, but in reality, we all know David could get whatever answers he wanted from the ships (and he said there were many!) still on the unnamed planet, so why Rapace and her decapitated android have to go space-hopping to the Engineers homeworld for an answer sitting on the aliens hard drive, right in front of them, I have no f*cking clue, but I would guess it's just more smoke and mirrors to get more money from a sequel, one I hope to never see get made.
Bullit writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:59:01 PM

@Mink: then again, it will make it more complicated than it is because I could ask the following: who created those giant albinos that have the same DNA of the human beings? God is merely mentioned through Noomi's cross and the creation idea is not discussed in the film which bring us only to the bio-engineering aspect.

We can only thank Scott for not bringing the eternal subject of the egg and the chicken: which one came first? How? By whom or what? Enough to drive you around the bend for the rest of your life.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 1:00:14 PM

I have no problem with you using a CAM for exactly what you mentioned above.

However an initial viewing of the film in the theatre would give a better overall experience of the film which combined with the CAM would lead to the most factual/comprehensive review.

Yeah I read that from Ford but hes a bitter and twisted c*nt anyway but thats not to say its untrue.

Completely agree with you on the lost *sshole too. That show was just a ridiculous experiment in how long you could string along stupid d*ckheads before giving them a BIG f*ck YOU in the end.

minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 1:02:55 PM

And just for the record, I like the film, but it's certainly a huge disappointment.

I mean, Scott has been at this game for 34 years, and yet he can't do even an Alien film right, which is where he started, so I have no hope for the man. He's just simply not what he once was, or perhaps he never was all that great, but instead one of those guys that makes a winner only once a decade through the vagaries of luck.

Oh well.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 1:06:48 PM

"However an initial viewing of the film in the theatre would give a better overall experience of the film which combined with the CAM would lead to the most factual/comprehensive review."

I can't help that the film came out first everywhere outside the US, it seems, or the fact that once I saw the cam (because I'm an impetuous motherf*cker) I refused to throw down ten dollars on something I knew would be a big-screen disappointment.

But yeah, I agree with you on the Lost thing, as it appears that's EXACTLY where they're taking this new presumptive franchise.

Well, good luck to you Scott...
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 1:14:33 PM

"I could ask the following: who created those giant albinos that have the same DNA of the human beings?"

Yeah, and this is hinted at incoherently at the film's beginning with the Engineer eating whatever it is he ate, and then dissolving into DNA mush while the huge dark disc does dips in the sky.

I took that to mean that the Engineers were engineered as well, and if so, sure, that's interesting, and perhaps whatever's on that UFO has some connection to man.

Perhaps they, the UFO people, engineered earth life from the beginning and ALSO the engineer race, and then the Engineers came to earth and started tinkering with earth life to make man, so it has this entire three-way circle jerk of sentient life f*cking with the cosmos.

Well, that's MY theory anyway. Super-super aliens create life on earth and the engineers. Engineers f*ck with earth life and make man. Man f*cks with nature and makes Androids. Engineers plan on wiping out mankind for some reason.

Who knows, maybe the UFO people are planning on wiping out the Engineers, and there's some sort of war going on, and maybe that's why the Engineers are building those scary bio-weapons, to fight the Dark Disc people, the UFO aliens.

sh*t. Well there you go, Scott, I've given you your sequel. Jack off.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 1:20:17 PM

LOL, maybe the Engineers didn't make man. Maybe the Dark Disc people did, and that's why the Engineers want us dead. Killing the creations of the people with whom they are at war. Sibling rivalry, like between Vickers and David. Maybe all of the Disc people's creations look like us and the Engineers. Maybe the Engineers aren't our parent, but our sibling.

Eh. This is getting f*cking boring. I'm off to pirate some software and masturbate to Redtube.
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 1:50:07 PM

wow am i the only one who loved it?
it practically answered everything or at least most things and michael fassbender better get a f*cking oscar nom for this
bane writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 1:50:44 PM

went to see it last night

i liked it
but it was not as scary as ALIEN

or as exciting as ALIENS

fassbender stole the film

noomi rapace got no chance to make an impact like sigourney weaver did

charlize theron looked bored

SPOILERS ahead

that surgery with noomi was creepy stuff

gave me a chill
bane writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 1:50:49 PM

went to see it last night

i liked it
but it was not as scary as ALIEN

or as exciting as ALIENS

fassbender stole the film

noomi rapace got no chance to make an impact like sigourney weaver did

charlize theron looked bored

SPOILERS ahead

that surgery with noomi was creepy stuff

gave me a chill
bane writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 1:53:19 PM

DexterMorgan

i agree with you
fassbender should get an oscar nom

he was the best part of the film

did you see FISH TANK

and SHAME

2 of his best
performances so far
blinkbomber writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 1:53:53 PM

I loved the film. I thought it was fantastically well made and interesting. I love the questions it answered (whether directly or indirectly) and the ones it asked. I really hope there is a sequel. From what I've read though, it looks like the planet in the film is not the planet in Alien, but given at the end of Prometheus they leave for another planet... it's a great way to continue the series.
mehh0408 writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 2:06:01 PM

A bit disapointing considering all hype it got, but still good
Tebeck writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 2:13:42 PM

Enjoyable if watched as a stand-alone sci-fi movie. Not great as a horror movie, and certainly a dissapointment if your an alien fan expecting a comprehensive original Alien prequel. There are too many plot holes and circ*mstances that dont connect it directly to the original alien. If viewed as its own film its not bad, but its still not astonishing.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 2:31:13 PM

Questions:

1) Was the Being in the beginning committing suicide or was he poisoned by another?

2) After having your stomach sliced open, are staples alone enough to stop the bleeding?

3) How the heck did the android know the correct combinations to push to activate the alien technology?

4) Why is Ridley Scott so obsessed with sex organs? The original face huggers had vagina faces and the new ones shove their alien c*ck down your throat. Whats the deal?

5) Will there ever be an Alien movie where the android doesn't get its head ripped off?
Tebeck writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 2:38:24 PM

SACdaddy: more or less I agree with your initial review
TonyWalnuts writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 3:26:05 PM

1) Was the Being in the beginning committing suicide or was he poisoned by another?
I gathered he was mixing his DNA into the environment by sacrificing himself so that his DNA could influence evolution.

2) After having your stomach sliced open, are staples alone enough to stop the bleeding?
She had it cauterized with a laser also.

3) How the heck did the android know the correct combinations to push to activate the alien technology?
Dunno but assume through his extensive knowledge of ancient language/cultures he could make it out hence he could speak to the engineer in stasis.

4) Why is Ridley Scott so obsessed with sex organs? The original face huggers had vagina faces and the new ones shove their alien c*ck down your throat. Whats the deal?
The whole sexual subtext is quite a large part of all the Alien films. I suggest you google it for detailed analysis. So get used to more deepthroating action or ignore the whole sexual elements of the films.

5) Will there ever be an Alien movie where the android doesn't get its head ripped off?
NO
SACdaddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 4:31:15 PM

***Spoiler alert***

Since some have gotten into talking about the actual events of the film, here's a few more question left unanswered:

Where do the eggs come from at the beginning of the original Alien and what happened to the containers of black ooze after this film (they aren't on this sh*t in the original)?

Where is the big Engineer with the hole in his chest that the first crew finds in the original?

Is the xenomorph that shows up at the end of the film the Alien we are used to or just another species like the squids of this film?

Why are scientist so f*cking stupid and oblivious in this film? Playing with aliens, taking their helmet off in dangerous environments, not wondering what this bitch has just cut out of her stomach? Does anyone have to pass any standardized tests in this future before they get their PhD?

Who sets off the distress signal that the first crew responds too on their way home in the first film?

Were the Space Jockey's just waiting for someone to come and wake them up before they could leave or did something happen to them while they were leaving originally? The lead says this was a testing ground for their bioweapon but something happened that killed them. Well Wtf happened then? If they all had aliens in them like the pile of bodies the Prometheus crew found would suggest, then where are all the aliens?

This film is riddled with more holes than Sean Connery in the Untouchables. And it becomes a bigger disappointment a time I think about it.
DarrellP writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 4:37:32 PM

Amen SACdaddy!!

Worst f*cking movie since Scary Movie 9!! I was actually a huge fan of Damon Lindelof until I witnessed this monstrosity. Incoherent nonsense!

The marketing was a work of art but everything the trailers stirred up just simply didn't exist in the movie. The soundtrack from the promos was incredible yet the film was scored by a guy with a love for rom coms??!! Guy Pearce got some attention for his viral TED promo yet he appears as some f*cked up Mrs Doubtfire/Jim Henderson creation in the movie.

The visuals were stunning & Fassbender was amazing but as mentioned previously, he was the most dynamic of the characters and he was a bloody robot!! The script & 'characterization' insulted me most (obviously). It was a collage of cliche. The scene where Charlize Theron 'outed' her relationship with her father made me physically sick! We were supposed to be surprised and actually give a sh*t?? Come on Ridley. You can do better!

Idris Elba stutters through the movie until two piloting buddies appear out of nowhere to perform a going down with the ship routine and again.. we're supposed to care?

The caring scientific partner to Rapace suddenly turns in to an alcoholic *sshole with no motivation whatsoever just so they can kill him off in the following sequence?

and so much more I can't even be bothered. I actually think its worse than AVP!!! 

Weird thing is I semi enjoyed the watch from a popcorn perspective. I even jumped in a couple of places. Yet the following morning was like an excruciating hangover.

SACdaddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 4:58:04 PM

One more important question:

How much of this film's premise is ripped off From the X-files? Creepy crawly black ooze seemingly with a mind of its own sent by Aliens to impregnate unsuspecting humans with monster fetuses. Cmon that like lifted right off the script to the X-files movie. They even through in the spaceship buried in the ground part. Do these films exist in the same universe too or is this just plagiarism at its worst?
blumpkin4 writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 4:58:08 PM

mink go pay for a movie you cheap f*ck lol. But seriously, your opinion of the movie would probly be a little different watching it in IMAX and 3d as opposed to a cam. I thought it was pretty sweet. I suppose you did have many similar questions as I, but i thought the visuals were pretty darn cool too!3D and IMAX bitches, its worth it!
TonyWalnuts writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:00:53 PM

The biggest question left unanswered is why the f*ck Guy Pearce got that role.

Are there no old men in hollywood to carry out this most difficult 5 minute role.

f*ck knows maybe Hollywood is beginning to cull the old actors just like they've always done with the actresses.

I do like Guy Pearce as an actor by the way. But I found the sh*t prothetics to be the most unbelievable aspect of a sci fi film featuring f*cking aliens and that is bad.
Texas writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:05:20 PM

Why do y'all hate on all these new movies? The older movies are classics to y'all, but for us some of these movies are going to be classics.
NewYorkCine writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:07:01 PM

Alien takes place on LV 426, Prometheus takes place on LV 223. The spaceship in Prometheus was not the derlict ship from Alien. Best guess is the planet that Shaw and David were going to is LV 426.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:35:49 PM

"How much of this film's premise is ripped off From the X-files? Creepy crawly black ooze seemingly with a mind of its own sent by Aliens to impregnate unsuspecting humans with monster fetuses. Cmon that like lifted right off the script to the X-files movie. They even through in the spaceship buried in the ground part. Do these films exist in the same universe too or is this just plagiarism at its worst?"

You forgot that the Mariah and Alex send-off for wheelchair-bound Cigarette Smoking Man is the same as what happened to Weyland per Meredith and David. Alex was also CSM's bitch like David was Weyland's, and Mariah was betrayed in a way somewhat similar to Meridith as well.

But what can you expect? X-Files is an ancestor and inspiration for Lost.

"But seriously, your opinion of the movie would probly be a little different watching it in IMAX and 3d as opposed to a cam."

I doubt that, as I hardly said much negative regarding the actual visuals, which I thought were asymptotic to awesome.

Also, a great deal of the questions disappear if you try not to think of Prometheus as leading right into Alien, and I would say that what Scott has done here is a half-reboot, half-prequel, a genetic hybrid of some sort, which is why he kept talking about Prometheus containing the DNA of 'Alien', yet maintained that it's a different beast altogether.

Alas, some of us are still not hearing him.

"3) How the heck did the android know the correct combinations to push to activate the alien technology?"

I didn't get that he knew any particular combination, but that he felt them until he noticed one was somewhat lit, which also happened to be the button that activated a display providing him with the information he wanted, which is more than just a little convenient.

Again, what happened to what killed the Engineers? How did one of them lose his head via a decapitation? Why were they on this desolate planet buried, when they should have been near Earth? How and why did they manage to bury a small fleet of ships? Does it make sense to go to all that trouble to develop a bio-weapon to kill humans by burying your ship on a planet billions of miles away from the place you plan to destroy, and if so, why the f*ck leave the victims a map to that very place? Was the planet in question even being used when the Engineers left a map on Earth? Who left the map then? The Engineers? Some other aliens? Why are the aliens in Alien quite clearly dessicated pachyderms, and yet in Prometheus they're humanoids with elephant-like masks? Are the ships inside some kind of buried hangar? If so, how the hell did the crew go from the outside into the hangar into the stowed ship with such ease? Why didn't they then notice they were in a hangar and not inside a f*cking mountain as they first thought?

Goddamned movie makes no goddamned sense.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:36:54 PM

"Best guess is the planet that Shaw and David were going to is LV 426."

Why would you think that, when LV 426 is a barren wasteland with one crashed ship and not the obvious homeworld of a vastly advanced space-faring species?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:42:00 PM

just watched it. Positives: The visuals were amazing, some of the best CGI I've ever seen. 3D wasn't too overwhelming but on certain points really added to the film. Acting was solid, score was effective, framing and camera angles was what you would expect from a director of Scotts experience.

Negatives: Everything escalated incredibly quickly without much time to build any attachments to characters. When characters started dying people didn't seem to be too bothered. Lot of unexplained things happen which I'm not sure a sequel could even handle. Even though things started happening straight away I was always waiting for something big to happen. I'm glad he didn't go down the Alien route I don't think it would have had the same impact. I lowered my expectations entering the film and i think that helped but overall was really happy with the final product. Not a masterpiece but excited for a possible sequel. 8/10
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:42:55 PM

"Creepy crawly black ooze seemingly with a mind of its own sent by Aliens to impregnate unsuspecting humans with monster fetuses."

Well, in defense of Prometheus, it was made quite clear that the ship functioned as a seed silo, and the canisters were for storage of said seed, and the 'ooze', which was clearly the matrix medium that maintained the seeds in the same way embryonic fluid maintains a fetus, is nothing at all like the sentient black oil of the X-Files.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:44:10 PM

Lol DarrellP, I totally agree. That scene with Theron and Mr Burns was laughable at best. His makeup alone was cheap enough to make me question what film a was watching. That was Guy Pearce? What a f*cking waste of talent!!!

Elba was even a bigger waste. He is starting to struggle with the American accent a little lately. It used to be just fine on the Wire but its quality has eroded since The Losers, Thor, and now Prometheus. The real question is why they felt the need to change his natural British accent anyway. There are Brits, Aussies, Asians, Irish, South Africans, etc all over the cast and they can't let the one brother in the film be himself. What, 77 years in the future its still uncool for a black man to have a British accent? Sacrificing quality for something so petty makes no sense to me whatsoever. FU Ridley Scott!
rockkillers writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:52:12 PM

Rocketman explained it best. The only thing that could have been improved was the horror scenes needed to be more drawn out/ add more thread and suspense.
The people that didn't like it, didn't understand it. This movie was destined to go over Mink and a lot of peoples heads because of this. It wasn't just an alien prequel...it was a new sci/fi movie with horror elements and ties to the orignial Alien. Amazing visuals, concepts. It was a great movie 9/10. The main theme of the movie was self-sacrafice. If you can realize this you will appreciate it as an amazing movie and return to form for Ridley Scott.
Looking forward to more viewings and a possible sequel.
Also, watching this movie in Imax 3D was f*cking awesome, the best Imax and 3D movie I have seen.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:52:22 PM

I loved it. It's not 2001: A Space Odyssey, but still very solid and loaded with quality scifi and suspense. I have to say that personally I thought Idris Elba gave the film's strongest and most personal performance. Also I saw it (much like The Avengers) in regular 2D because I think the 3D craze is bullsh*t. Maybe that's just me.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:52:24 PM

Not everything is about skin color, Sac. Stick to the intellectual aspect of the discussion.
rockkillers writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:53:02 PM

threat* not thread.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:54:34 PM

"it was a new sci/fi movie with horror elements and ties to the orignial Alien."

Yes, imbecile, that was said my me earlier, and then you steal what I've said, use it as your own, and then claim it's going over my, and other people's heads.

Are you good for anything but thievery?
rockkillers writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:57:09 PM

I thought Elba did a great job for the short scenes he was in. Loved the scene where he explains the planet might be similar to a military installation where they test weapons. Also where he crashed the ship with no hesitation. Awesome
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:59:10 PM

Apparently not.
minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 6:00:24 PM

"Loved the scene where he explains the planet might be similar to a military installation where they test weapons"

You mean to say the black guy is the smartest person in the movie?

Now THAT'S science fiction.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 6:13:11 PM

@mink: if the ooze was just for containment or nourishment like embryonic fluid then why did a mere drop of it infect that dumbass douchebag like a virus. We even see it spreading through his body the same way the black ooze from the X-files did in its victims. They even made a point to show it in the victim's eyes just like in the X-files. I'm just saying, its pretty f*cking close to be called an original or authentic idea.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 6:24:50 PM

"Not everything is about race, Sac"

You obviously missed my point. His terrible American accent cost hindered his performance greatly. Any decent direct who didn't have his head shoved up an effects studio producer's ass could see that. Letting him speak in his authentic tongue would have been not only an easy fix but would have also made perfect sense considering the international dynamics of the cast. I just think from a marketing standpoint they decided to make him an American because its usually easier for the audience to accept.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 6:45:49 PM

@rockkiller: you do realize that bad directing may effect the audience@ understanding of the film right? If there is any confusion in this film its Scott's fault for not making it more coherent. None of us expressing our disappointment wanted this film to be bad. In fact we were prepared to be more intellectually stimulated by the film because thats how Scott kept prepping us in every interview he did leading up to its release. It's not our fault he didn't live up to his own hype. I want my Blade Runner Gladiator Ridley back dammit not this shadow of his former self we've got.
jatilq writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 7:23:33 PM

I feel that most of the movie was left on the cutting room floor or is sitting around for the directors cut (I hope)

If no sequel to this that ties up loose ends then this was a waste. It made me want more.

The opening scene bothers me more than anything.
OneTime writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 7:27:29 PM

i liked it. like u all have said lots of plotholes.thanks for some of the explanations.
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 7:40:04 PM

Posted this review on prometheus-movie.com and surprisingly a lot of people even on that site agreed with me, decided to post it here too:


After months of speculation, arguing online, reading spoilers, and trying to lower my expectations to experience Prometheus as it was, instead of how I wanted it to be, I left the theater not really feeling much of anything at all. As I got into my car and left the parking lot, all that passion, disappointment, and confusion I felt when I learned the plot a week ago gave way to a resounding, “that was it?”
The real mystery of Prometheus has nothing to do with the Engineers, the black goo, the connection to Alien, or what the sequel might bring. No, the real mystery is what exactly happened to the script to make the film such an uneven mess.
There are hints of a slow-burn science fiction epic strewn throughout the entirety of Prometheus. The opening scenes showing David keeping himself busy while the crew is in cryosleep particularly stand out as an example of this. In fact, almost all the scenes featuring the mysterious android are intriguing but unfortunately feel like they were taken from another film entirely. They are slow and methodical and are a stark contrast to frenetic choppy moments that seem to litter almost the entirety of the rest of the movie.
Lacking in the film is a distinct voice from the director or writer and it meanders about lazily unable to decide if it wants to be a serious science fiction or a cheap thrills prequel after the first half. If you want to probe big ideas like creation, evolution, religion, faith, humanity, and death you better damn well make sure that your execution is spot on and you certainly cannot rely on great visuals to carry you across the finish line. Alien and Blade Runner were classics because they pushed the envelope and did not pander to the audience. Prometheus does not even close to those films because it is very much a commercial product geared for the fans of the Alien franchise as opposed to the standalone “big ideas” vision Ridley Scott promised. A massive amount of content for fanboys was forced into every nook and cranny of the film regardless of how well it fit into the larger narrative of the story. This is the ultimate disappointment when it comes to Prometheus because, for all its squid babies and face smashing, Prometheus ultimately plays it extremely safe. It is afraid to bore the audience and so never commits to any long scenes that may provide exposition. It never slows down, it never gets too high-brow, and it never takes the risk of not giving the audience exactly what it thinks they want (cheap thrills, kills, and plenty of slimy goo). And, for as much as Ridley protested it, it is a by-the-numbers entry into the Alien franchise.

As a special effects reel, Prometheus is pretty great. While the creature designs are lacking (in my opinion), the scenic vistas and advanced tech are some of the best I’ve seen. Of course, good special effects and sets do not make a great or even good film. The heart of any good science fiction is the story, and Prometheus’s story crumbles to pieces, much like its pale, bald life creating extraterrestrial, after the crew enters the temple for the first time. It is after this point that most of the crew become lifeless chess pieces moving around a board and doing things solely for the benefit of the audience. Large elongated structure falling on you? Run lengthwise instead of dodging to the side because we want to see you crushed. Esteemed biologist who is scared of Aliens? Not anymore, the audience wants to see something go down someone’s throat like the facehugger so now you want to pet space cobras. Are you a paranoid corporate leader who would most likely bring a small army to a potentially inhabited alien planet in real life? Nope, you actually decided against having a means of protecting yourself should things go belly up. Do you want to take the Alien ship back to earth for further study so mankind can protect itself from extermination? Na, you want to instead take on the entire Engineer planet on your own. I mean, what could go wrong? They are clearly a nice, friendly bunch without a predilection for pummeling humans to death.

I could go one but what would be the point? In the end, all of the film’s problems come down to fan service. In the language of cinema, Prometheus sets out to do nothing more than tell us exactly what it thinks we want to hear. It handles its serious topics with all the finesse of a teenager who just watched Ancient Aliens on the history channel for the first time and has taken to the internet to argue his case against all those who would dare question his genius. Sure, he doesn’t know basic biology, theology, evolutionary theory, history or anthropology but if he types in all caps and sticks to his message, eventually the detractors will just give up and go do something else. And this is exactly what I think Lindelof and Ridley were counting on. That all those who would want to really question the film would be met with a deafening, “it’s just a movie, it’s better than Alien Resurrection, get a life.” It does not care about its big ideas beyond the point that they provide jumping off points to the pandering gore and scares that it thinks we so desperately want. And if it doesn’t care, why should the audience?
OneTime writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 8:29:22 PM

and i left wanting more....like more info..need to bridge the gap. this movie coulda been pg13 there was nothing "r" about it.
shiteater writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 8:31:31 PM

I think Vickers is a robot. She refers to Guy Pierce's character as "father" in the same context as David did.
blinkbomber writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 8:40:19 PM

I'm taking a crack at this because I think it's cool when a film can make the audience have multiple theories about what happened. I'm not claiming to be right, just explain what I think the answers are... if any, haha!

Where do the eggs come from at the beginning of the original Alien and what happened to the containers of black ooze after this film (they aren't on this sh*t in the original)?
- Not really related to Prometheus, maybe answered in the sequel

Where is the big Engineer with the hole in his chest that the first crew finds in the original?
- Not in this film, sorry.

Is the xenomorph that shows up at the end of the film the Alien we are used to or just another species like the squids of this film?
- Does he look like the alien we're used to?

Why are scientist so f*cking stupid and oblivious in this film? Playing with aliens, taking their helmet off in dangerous environments, not wondering what this bitch has just cut out of her stomach? Does anyone have to pass any standardized tests in this future before they get their PhD?
- It has been proven time and time again that humans (myself included) are idiots. So...

Who sets off the distress signal that the first crew responds too on their way home in the first film?
- Again, not in this film, maybe in the next one.

Were the Space Jockey's just waiting for someone to come and wake them up before they could leave or did something happen to them while they were leaving originally?
- i think he jumped in the cryobed thing to save his own ass. last one left alive, could you blame him? living and sleeping is better then awake and dead haha. plus i thought it was kind of a throw back to Ripley from Alien and Aliens, in which after everything she just goes back to sleep and floats away, lol.

The lead says this was a testing ground for their bioweapon but something happened that killed them. Well Wtf happened then?
- bioweapon backfired. details unknown. :-)

If they all had aliens in them like the pile of bodies the Prometheus crew found would suggest, then where are all the aliens?
- i don't remember the dead pile of engineers having holes in their chests...

Again, what happened to what killed the Engineers?
- okay, this is very thin, but i've read that the bioweapon was built to basically destroy the host, and then rebuild itself stronger using the dna of the host. this could theoretically make sense, because its a frickin movie. but also in the beginning of the film, lone engineer dude drinks bioweapon to tear himself down on earth and rebuild their species to be stronger. Humans turn up, they dont like how they turn out, boom. the water snakes came from the ooze mixing with the maggots that were shown when the crew first found the storage chamber place. from what i recall, the water snakes just flat out killed that one dude via deepthroat... after which there was no rebirth or whatever. so they couldve also killed the engineers?

How did one of them lose his head via a decapitation?
- i thought that vertical sliding door did the job.

Why were they on this desolate planet buried, when they should have been near Earth?
- should they have been near Earth? their navigation technology showed that they had a much larger grasp on the universe then we did. space travel prolly aint no thang to them, lol.

How and why did they manage to bury a small fleet of ships?
- it sounded like they were terraforming that planet, but didnt get to finish the job due to the "accident," haha

Does it make sense to go to all that trouble to develop a bio-weapon to kill humans by burying your ship on a planet billions of miles away from the place you plan to destroy, and if so, why the f*ck leave the victims a map to that very place?
- well if they were terraforming, then they didn't bury their ship there, it was stationed along with the rest. if they were stationed there, then that planet was more important then just a "testing ground" and they probably hadn't planned on leaving, but instead wanted to set up camp there and... well, yes, wait for their "test results" to come find them. apparently they instead found out about us and decided they didn't want to wait and planned to destroy us and start anew.

Was the planet in question even being used when the Engineers left a map on Earth?
- yes, i would assume so.

Who left the map then? The Engineers? Some other aliens?
- i'd imagine lone engineer dude did before he drank the bioweapon

Why are the aliens in Alien quite clearly dessicated pachyderms, and yet in Prometheus they're humanoids with elephant-like masks?
- they didn't spend too much time with the space jockey in Alien, only enough to tell that he had been by a chestburster and that they thought he was "grown from the chair." everything else is just interpretation, as is my entire idea for the film, haha

Are the ships inside some kind of buried hangar?
- i think so with the way it took off and Shaw running to the ship jumping from opening sliding hanger doors.

If so, how the hell did the crew go from the outside into the hangar into the stowed ship with such ease?
- they prolly just cut all that walking out, ;-)

Why didn't they then notice they were in a hangar and not inside a f*cking mountain as they first thought?
- i dunno. maybe the mountain was just the entrance into the hanger, and they just never really paid too much attention to that because a whole lot of other sh*t was around to confuse the hell out of them!

again, i did this for fun. no disrespect. i only saw it last night and am still pumped from it. might give that cam a watch if it isn't too terrible. i welcome more discussion and ideas!
rockkillers writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 8:52:16 PM

mink lol @ the black guy joke. Even still, the scene provided an interesting explanation for what the planet was used for. Prometheus was not as good as Alien, or Aliens but for a stand-alone sci flction movie it was very good and better than 99% of movies that have come out these days.
rockkillers writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 9:02:14 PM

I thought Ridley did a pretty damn good job of directing. If theres a weak link it was the writers whos writing credits speak for themselves.
Some people can never be satisfied I feel like. For an Alien film...I can understand how some of you might feel disappointed. I personaly wanted a more disturbing horror type film in a sci fi universe. What I got was just an epic science fiction movie.
That being said, viewing this movie as more just a stand alone visually epic in scope sci fi flick with brief horror, survival themes I was very satisfied. I look forward to seeing what a sequel will bring, also repeated viewings and a possible directors cut...maybe either of these can up the ante of this being a "soft" R, possibly a longer runtime with better pacing during the horror scenes.
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 9:03:01 PM

BTW you should be worried about any movie that Putzman gives a 10/10.

No sh*t.
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 9:03:15 PM

@mink I think you are wrong about the ooze. Lindelof (the guy who made up the ooze) said he makes it do different things to different characters (break down Engineer, mutate Fifield) because he felt it was more interesting. As of right now, they still have not decided what exactly the ooze really is. Basically, the black ooze was designed by the Engineers not to seed life but to fill plot holes.
rockkillers writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 9:14:22 PM

Funny, how this movie was visually more stunning (my opinion)...or at least on par as Avatar was...they both had somewhat weak scripts...(Avatar's script being blatantly worse)...yet people praise Avatar and a lot slam Prometheus. Avatar also had the sellout pg13 rating.
Go Figure.
blinkbomber writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 10:18:25 PM

well damn, watching the cam and the scene where they find the pile of dead engineers... looks like there were some explosions from the inside of them. there's goes my theory, haha
SACdaddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 10:47:26 PM

Avatar is better because the world is more immersive and because it came first. Its plot is weak because we've seen it before but at least it was complete. Everything has a purpose and a direction in the film and there's nothing left hanging just to get your next dollar. It delivered a complete product worth the experience.

Prometheus made no improvements on the technology Avatar debuted. In fact it just doubles downs on one minor 3D element from Avatar, the green hologram imaging, and makes it the central camera trick off the film. And its still looked much better in Avatar.

Let's just face it, as much as everyone loves to hate on it, Avatar is probably the most visually detailed movie ever made. The same time, effort, and budget obviously didn't go into Prometheus. But still I walked into Prometheus expecting more because I was promised a thinking man's sci-fine movie with Avatar technology. What I got was great looking film with a plot straight out of a lame Friday the 13th movie. Cameron never promised me a great story he just promised me something visually I'd never seen before. He delivered, Scott didn't even come close.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 10:50:14 PM

@blinkbomber: lol was just about to get to that. Wft happened to those guys?
Damon242 writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:02:27 PM

The first 2/3 of the film are great, the last third, however, becomes a mess that I expect a few will like but most will either dislike or be confused by.

Prometheus tries to emulate 2001: A Space Odyssey rather than an Alien prequel, some go in expecting an Alien prequel, but both parties will come out disappointed because, while Prometheus appears to be going in the right direction for a significant period of the film, it ends as a monster-based b-movie.

Scott should have either stuck to an Alien prequel, or never revealed to anyone what universe the film was set in and never reference the xenomorphs throughout.


There are a lot of mysteries left (or plot holes, inconsistencies, or unexplained character actions) after the film, but I actually found that one in particular just annoyed the heck out of me.

Sure, there were re-animated corpses that suddenly became super strong and could somehow breathe in the outside air (regardless of the actual body being dependent on oxygen, regardless of what parasite might be existing in it), and sure certain development kind of muddy if not directly contradict the mythology, and sure I was annoyed by a man with a PhD in Biology trying to touch a newly-encountered species (against every principle of research) and nobody investigating or following a woman with a creature inside of her who just assaulted a number of crewman, broke into what was a secure room and accessed a machine to perform an emergency c-section on herself, only to return and have nobody on the ship concerned at all about what happened - all of these things annoyed me, but there was one greater.

The beginning of the film and the events that catalyzed the launch of Prometheus.

- The Engineers come to Earth and their genetic material falls into the water (through this, we don't end up actually seeing homo-sapiens until millions of years after this event). They then leave.
- Shaw and company find cave drawings from 35, 000 years ago depicting the Engineers living amongst humans and pointing towards a specific location in space that we later discover is just a research facility (and it also confused me and came out of left field how all of the sudden the captain, left out of most of the developments, managed to come to that conclusion).

So, are we to believe that the Engineers came to Earth and made us, then left, then came back again and lived amongst us then pointed to a research facility and did this all across the globe to different groups of humans, then left, then they just decided to create bio-weapons (despite their advanced technology) in order to destroy humans?

I'll note that all of the stuff that happened on this planet probably occurred while the Prometheus was already en route to reach there (given that general principles of time must be suspended when dealing with space travel).


Prometheus is heavily flawed. It manages to live, despite its flaws, for the first 2/3 of the film because there is still time left for it all to coalesce and create something beautiful. However, the last third abandons this, abandons character logic and abandons any directive the film-maker might have originally had, and falls into just another monster-based film with tonnes of red-shirts and gross-out moments as well as being blessed with both high-expectations, a director having promised so much, and a script that lays down the mysteries...only for all three to not deliver.

Everything that Prometheus could have been is until the end of the brilliant c-sec scene, and then everything afterwards acts to only take away from everything that came before.

It's almost as if the true parasite in Prometheus was its third act, feeding off and subsequently weakening the rest of the film.
Damon242 writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:07:15 PM

The original script was an Alien prequel.

Scott decided he didn't want to do a prequel to Alien.

So, Lindelof comes in but is directed to not create a new script but to edit the original one.

Hence, we combine an Alien prequel to something more along the lines of 2001: A Space Odyssey.

It's no surprise that a script written by two people that is a mash between two things, inspired by a director who can't make up his mind about what he wants, becomes the narrative mess that Prometheus is; in parts brilliant, in parts bad, but all over very disappointing.

And I have to admit that I cringed the entire way through the cheesy dialogue of the crewman chatting away as they drive their ship into the Engineers'.

And wow. The trailers really did give a lot away, didn't they?
TonyWalnuts writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 4:42:05 AM

@blinkbomber I hope you get raped to death by a parade of elephants, you retarded sister f*cker.

P.S. f*ck your sister
blinkbomber writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 6:56:50 AM

^^ lol, ok...
jay-c writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 7:50:11 AM

for anyone who is confused - The original Alien takes place on LV426- Prometheus on LV233. Therefore there is obviously a lot that happens between Dr Shaw and David leaving on the alien craft and the events in Alien.

I believe Ridley Scott had said that Prometheus takes place around 30 years prior to Alien. Surely then we can assume that wherever Dr Shaw ends up with the ship (maybe LV426 or somewhere else), the events there will bridge the gap between the two films. After all, the alien still needs to evolve into the creature we all know and love.
codeman_1216 writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:04:41 AM

My goodness, I've never seen my scroll bar so short on a 'What did you think?' forum.

Anyway, I really enjoyed it. After hearing that it wasn't as intense as Alien or as exciting as Aliens, I tried to go into this movie without any high expectations, and I came out quite satisfied. Some plot holes existed, but most are easy to get around for the sake of the film. One part I was disappointed in was the reanimated killer body. There was no rhyme or reason for that scene, and that was a scene I was looking forward to.

I didn't think Fassbender's David stole the show as much as everyone says it did, but I really enjoyed the maniacal curiosity of his character. I also didn't mind Theron's character, as she expressed reason to act the way she did. Elba, on the other hand, just gave a questionable performance. He was way too, "Meh, until sh*t gets real serious in front of my eyes, I'll be alright.".

All in all, there were a lot of elements in this film that I haven't seen from other late sci-fi movies in a long time, and the plot was present enough to keep me hooked, not to mention some great visuals. 8/10.
LEONCIO writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:38:24 AM

I found it dissapointing tbh.

I watched a downloaded cam version in my laptop because this is not going to be released in my country until august 10th and I didn't want to wait that much to know if the hype for this film was justified, so I would like to ask about something I didn't understand because maybe I missed an explanation because of the low quality of the recording. Was it explained how did they find the engineer's ship in just a question of seconds? They arrive to the planet (or was it a moon? I can't remember it now) and they don't need to explore it at all, they could have been looking for the aliens for years before finding anything, but they find the ship just when they enter the atmosphere, was this explained somehow and I missed it?

Also I found ridiculous the explanation for David wearing the spacesuit with a helmet when he didn't need it. Yes, he was made to look like humans to make them feel more comfortable with robots, but I don't see how anybody would feel uncomfortable if he didn't wear the suit and the helmet, I wouldn't care at all, I thought it was just a ridiculous idea.

I also didn't understand why Rapace did apologize to David for closing the bag where she introduced his head. That f*cking robot had just killed his boyfriend and the whole crew of her ship, and he had inpreganted her with an ugly alien squid that was going to kill her, also he almost caused the extinction of human kind... but she does apologize for closing the bag with his head inside... WTF? XD
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 12:50:30 PM

I enjoyed the movie. I thought it did a great job opening into the Alien universe and the small hints on how we get to the events of the original Alien. I was a little disappointed that we were left with unanswered questions but that just means that we might get a sequel to Prometheus and the further development of the xenomorph.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 6:42:57 PM

Yahoo is reporting that Madagascar 3 will beat out Prometheus this weekend. Lol they spent a ton advertising this POS film, and I hardly saw one Mad 3 commercial and it takes the BO! After word of mouth destroys Prometheus I wonder how the prospect of a sequel look now. So much for filling all those holes.
velocityknown writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 9:56:17 PM

Just caught it yesterday, my thoughts are kind of a mix of everyone's here so I'll sum up as best I can so as not to repeat too much:

1) GORGEOUS film. I might go see it again just to watch it in 3D.
2) Fassbender and Rapace were excellent.
3) The story brought up too much and answered too little and seeing as Damon Lindelof was one of the writers, I'm not really surprised.
4) To differ on what some people are saying, my problems with it's connection to the Alien franchise aren't really that heavy. There seems be a lot of time between the events and this film and those in Alien and I feel that is probably why Ridley Scott et al were reluctant to call it a prequel. Because, really, it's not a true prequel to Alien since it probably still needs it's own sequel to connect it (maybe more, this film only covered about 2 days and there's about 30 years left until Alien if I'm not mistaken).
5) I hope there's a director's cut of this film lying out there somewhere that will bring it together, but that seems doubtful. Just seems like Scott wanted to raise questions/philosophies and not answer them. Though, he did mention in an interview something that would have been a very interesting take on why the Engineers wanted the human race dead. However, it wasn't in the film so it doesn't really matter
5a) According to something Ridley said, Jesus was an Engineer and when he was crucified, the rest of the Engineers deemed the Earth toxic and set out to destroy it (which explains the age of the bodies in the cave), but were done in by their own biological weapons.

@Sac

Though Prometheus did lose out to Madagascar 3, I think it was something they expected with Prometheus being an R-Rated high-concept film and Madagascar being a family film with 2 films (and straight to dvd films) to advertise it for free basically. It took in about 90 million in the foreign box office so I wouldn't rule out a sequel just yet.

For further reading, I would suggest this article from Drew McWeeny over at Hitfix. It is basically a discussion thread for all of the questions everyone is (frustratedly) posing about Prometheus. Check it out, it has some good (and blunt) thoughts.

http://www.hitfix.com/motion-captured/prometheus-second-look-digging-deep-into-spoilers-and-questions

vincere01 writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 10:30:43 PM

I thought it was great. Thank you mr. Scott. I find it very tragic that we dont see more of these come around. No i dont mean alien franchise movies. What i mean is smart, meaningfull and thoughtprovoking science fiction movies that harken to the quality of days gone by.is the movie perfect? No. It has its faults, yes. But i would argue that the things the movie gets right far far outweight the wrongs by a very large margain. For years we have been prone to getting nothing but popcorn sci fi films. I mean the likes of transformers, men in black 2, and the recent battleship. The meaning of science fiction films in hollywood has become mindless action and glitz. Im not against cgi animation in films when done right and in proper dose. You shouod never use it more than is absolutely neccessary to create your world. In my mind the perfect balance has been the Lord of The Rings trilogy. Prometheus follows suit in the sense that anything that could be made practicly in the real world was done, anything that could not became cgi. The animation is the slave of the story and vision of the director. Directors like scott and jackson get this concept where the likes of Michael Bay sadly have not. Prometheus creates a emotionaly charged story with themes that have been around for generations and audiences can connect with. Where did we come from? Who is God? What is the meaning of life? And not just those universal themes either. Prometheus also glimspes somewhat unintentionally at the theme of humanity and exploration as well. Of what man can accomplish in the future given enough time and enough drive to get it done. In a similar way to how star trek has affected the lives of children who grow up to be doctors, scientists and explorers i believe these types of movies can have similar impacts on children of our future. Not in the sense that prometheus alone will do this, i mean this kind of intelligent sci fi in general. Its already proven that the science fiction of the 1960's and 70's were the catalysts to our current generation of doctors and astronauts etc. I believe with more movies like this in general, that wonder and promise of what the future can bring will not only entertain us immensely in the present. I firmly beleive i can be the seeds that grow our future society's great scientists, explorers and thinkers.
vincere01 writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:18:13 PM

It can* not i can
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:52:14 PM

i can't wait to see this film..

if i've learnt anything on this site it's to form your very own opinion and not listen to others, most people here are a collection of the biggest judgmental douchbags around. All on one site.

I will almost never take an opinion from this site literally but there are some exceptions. Not saying names but pretty much if you but effort and reasoning behind your opinion on a movie then ill listen and discuss rather then just say "It's sh*t" what is what most people do lmao

i can't see this movie being nearly as bad as all you make it out to be.

Never the less, ill go watch tomorrow and let all you critics know just how "Awful" the film really was.. Peace.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 11:54:09 PM

and a lot of you really got to say "Spoiler ahead" when your writing about this m, movie lmao, i stopped just in time on a couple cases
velocityknown writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 12:39:11 AM

@Tanman

No one needs to say "spoiler alert" in a "what did you think?" forum. It's asking what we thought of the movie we all saw, everything is fair game cause, ya know, WE SAW IT.

And by randomly insulting everyone on this site for giving their (for the most part) well-thought out opinions on a film, you have become what you are accusing everyone of being. So nice job, I applaud you. If you read past the first sentence of the people who are saying they were underwhelmed by the film, you would see that they actually provide good examples of why they are frustrated with them film. And, yes, the film is frustrating.

And trust me when I say that no one is going to be holding their breath for your opinion.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 2:52:30 AM

@Velocity

you got me on the spoiler alert thing
I hadn't thought of that. lol

also, i read several, and yes for the most part people are giving fair and thought out reviews, which is a rarity for WP, i didn't mean to come across as being a d*ck, because i'm generally am not.

but i just hate when everyone bashes a film that (as far as i can tell and have been told)deserves more credit then it's being given.

P.S i know nobody cares about my opinion, I don't give my opinion hoping people like it, anyone who does is well kind of stupid.
afterkwiss writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 7:59:20 AM

I had great expectations for this one.

Did it deliver? No
Yes, it was a treat visually but the script was so tedious, the acting (except for Fassbender and Rapace) was horrendous (Elba & Theron in particular), the character's stories were simply insignificant (yeah, i got the triangle relationship between Vikers, Weyland and David but honestly, wtf does it bring to the storyline? Nothing). I won't go into all the things i didn't like like Guy Pearce's make up, the wtf opening scene, or people turning all in different types of monsters, ... ok, ok, i stop.

I'm a fan of all Alien movies (some more than others) and i tried to watch the movie with an open mind, knowing that it wouldn't be a full-on Alien movie but i came to the conclusion that, written and edited as it was, it tried too hard to bring the Alien origins into a new storyline that could have been very cool on its own. In that matter, i think it ruined both stories
cress writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 9:50:56 AM

Absolutely horrible. I sat there in amazement that the guy who directed Blade Runner and Alien directed this monstrosity. Its that bad. Believe it. He changed his entire approach to the aesthetic he had in those films. He tried to "George Lucas" this new scifi film and he clearly can't do it. Its not dark and moody. Its bright and pedestriaan. What was he thinking? this is going to flop. I expect a big dropoff next weekend in box office. This failure at the box-office and in his return to scifi is gonna hurt Ridley. He wont do Blade Runner. Just utterly stunned by how much I hated this film.
kwon34 writes:
on June 11th, 2012 at 12:53:10 PM

Mink you told someone not to use skin color to make a point & then you post this:

"Loved the scene where he explains the planet might be similar to a military installation where they test weapons"
You mean to say the black guy is the smartest person in the movie?
Now THAT'S science fiction.
How condescending are u!
afterkwiss writes:
on June 15th, 2012 at 4:24:59 PM

That is called the Minkowski Paradox

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved