WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Eastern Promises" Sequel Gets Cast, Director and Plot

Posted: June 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Eastern Promises" Sequel Gets Cast, Director and PlotSubmit Comment
David Cronenberg has been talking about making an "Eastern Promises" sequel ever since the first film was released in 2007. The film wasn't a huge hit, grossing only $56 million globally, but is definitely a fan favorite.

NY Mag has now learned that Cronenberg is officially returning for the sequel and will direct from a script by Steven Knight, who wrote the original. At this point, Viggo Mortensen is already on board and Vincent Cassell is in negotiations. The plan is to start shooting early next year.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

The story will pick up where the first film left off, with the incompetent underboss Kirill (Cassel) thinking that he and his henchman driver Nikolai (Mortensen) really have inherited the throne from his crime-lord father, without knowing that Nikolai is actually a clandestine agent working undercover in Russia's federal security service.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 8th, 2012 at 9:24:22 PM

""Eastern Promises" Sequel Gets Cast, Director and Plot"

Now it just needs someone who cares.
minkowski writes:
on June 8th, 2012 at 9:28:08 PM

"but is definitely a fan favorite."

Fans? Among who? Guantanamo inmates?

Hated this film, and I hated A History of Violence and pretty much anything Viggo's ever done, including Daylight. Especially Daylight. He sucks. Dude got a career because he has a dimpled chin and has probably done the Travolta a few times.

And yeah, I'm sure a lot of people like this guy, but they're mostly women and homos.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 8th, 2012 at 9:34:14 PM

He's a good actor.Hidalgo sucked balls.
he had a good scene in the Prophecy with Walken and in Carlitos way.

Ed harris was great in a History of Violence,but not william hurt.He was the best character in Lord of the rings though.
minkowski writes:
on June 8th, 2012 at 10:10:55 PM

Ed Harris is great in anything, bando, but Viggo just plain sucks.
Quidd writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 12:33:34 AM

Mink, I care. Eastern Promises was f*cking awesome. I saw it 3 times in theaters cause I kept bringing friends to see it.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 3:14:08 AM

I wouldn't say its awesome but I liked it! I hated History of Violence as well even doh I own it. I'm not a fan of Viggo at all doh. I liked him in Carlito's Way hahaha!
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:12:13 AM

i want ju to f*ck one of deez bitches! and prove to me juu are no f*cking queer!
yoshi187 writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 5:24:28 AM

I believed the hype enough to buy the first one on doovd and was severely disappointed; i fell asleep 10 times in the first hour. Nice violence in some parts though. Couldn't give a f*ck about a new one.
pornfly writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 7:20:27 AM

I made an In My Pants Promise to Cassels wife
pornfly writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 7:22:04 AM

The only thing i respect Viggo for is turning down Madonna

"I CANT HUUUMP!"
wavydavy123 writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:11:55 AM

I like Viggo Mortensen. And I'm heterosexual!

Having said that I'm not sure Eastern Promises needs a sequel. I liked the original, Viggo was amazing in it, certainly the bath scene at the end was brutal and brilliant.

As for Viggo Mortensen, the LOTR films were fantastic and Viggo was flawless in them, as said Eastern Promises and the other Cronenberg Dangerous Method his performances are the highlights of the film (his calm, thoughtful Freud was a contrast to the horrifically overacting Knightley in 'Dangerous Method'), Daylight is no classic but as a kid I enjoyed it for what it was, and let's be honest Viggo's role in it is brief ("I always make it"...dies), he is the best thing about Apaloosa (not a great flick but Viggo oozes cool).
I'll admit to hating everything in A History of Violence, including Viggo.

minkowski writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 11:41:50 AM

"cause I kept bringing friends to see it."


Ah. So that's what your mother and her two sisters did while you baked in the car seat.
Sweeney?! writes:
on June 9th, 2012 at 2:15:40 PM

I loved the first film and will gladly welcome a sequel. The Russian mafia is badass and a welcome change from the overload of Italian mafia films.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 7:49:44 AM

^ agreed with sweeney.
it was a great story, can't wait for the second one!
cress writes:
on June 10th, 2012 at 9:16:32 AM

I liked Eastern Promises, but hardly remember it and dont think it merits a sequel. History of Violence was good, and especially loved William Hurt in it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved