WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Twilight Zone" Movie Hires "Awake" Writer

Posted: June 7th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Twilight Zone" Movie Hires "Awake" WriterSubmit Comment
It's been about eight months since Warner Bros announced that it has hired Matt Reeves (Let Me In, Cloverfield) to direct "The Twilight Zone" movie from a script by Jason Rothenberg.

Now comes word that the project is still a priority for the studio, which is in negotiations with Joby Harold to re-write the script that will have one story but take elements from several "Twilight Zone" episodes. The plan is to make a big sci-fi action movie.

Harold previously wrote and directed the 2007 medical thriller "Awake," starring Hayden Christensen and Jessica Alba. He also wrote "All You Need is Kill" that's directed by Doug Liman and stars Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 7:27:14 AM

That movie was awful
I thought it was the tv show 'Awake'
Bullit writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 7:58:50 AM

Being a big of the series, make it happen already.
Bullit writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 8:00:00 AM

*big fan of
Avirex writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 8:17:17 AM

Bring back the original writers from the grave. They are the only ones who can do this thing justice.
LastActionHero writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 10:51:50 AM

"you wanna see something really scary?"
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 11:37:58 AM

Any helicopters in this one?

I too am a fan of the TV series. Rod Serling was a true genius.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzlG28B-R8Y

'A dimension of minnnnd!'
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 12:30:16 PM

There are so many short stories that Ray Bradbury wrote that could be used as source material for a Twilight Zone movie. It would honor his memory to many fans to see his works continue on. I liked the four horror/sci-fi format of the 1983 version. Each one featuring an interesting story by different director. But alas it appears we are probably going to get one big sci-fi action flick with a Cloverfield monster.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 12:36:11 PM

I've talked to people involved with this film, and the word I hear mentioned the most often is 'sh*t'.
Bullit writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 12:43:47 PM

^ ^ I'm sorry to hear that.

Oh well, I guess nobody can replace Rod Serling. Yoyu're quite right RANGER, he was a true genius to come up with his ideas in the 50's. Some episodes are epic, i.e. where Burgess Meredith was the only survivor after the city was nuked and he broke his spectacles and therefore he couldn't read all the books from his beloved national library.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 12:54:39 PM

@Mink - from my read, I gather the original script may have been sh*t and this Joby Harold is in negotiations to rewrite the sh*t to be more worthy. Hopefully they can salvage something before it goes into production as it is still too early to call it. Or are there more details from your sources why they are calling this film sh*t so early in the process?
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 12:55:56 PM

"Burgess Meredith was the only survivor after the city was nuked and he broke his spectacles and therefore he couldn't read all the books from his beloved national library."

Was he BLIND or something? Because you can hold a book up to you face to read, no matter how bad your myopia/hyperopia.

Anyway, I like the one with the kid that can make people just disappear, and he has the entire town beholden to him like he's a god.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 12:57:38 PM

"Or are there more details from your sources why they are calling this film sh*t so early in the process?"

Dunno, but from what I hear, they think the script needs more transforming robots.
Bullit writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 1:07:18 PM

@Mink: His glasses were as thick as a bottom's bottle. It was the typicall irony of the series...
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 1:16:23 PM

Thanks Mink.

My favorite was an episode where a woman is recouping from facial plastic surgery and there is warning that the operation may not have worked and she may still be hideous. All characters around her, doctors and nurses are talking about her situation and shown in the background as blurry shadows - I recall this is what we would see from her POV. When the bandages are finally removed, she is revealled as stunningly beautiful and the doctors and nurses are all shockingly shown as the creatures. She lets out a cry as she is considered the beast against a society of hideous beings. Classic twist.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 1:18:58 PM

Yeah, I get that, but my brother has a very high Rx, very, and in fact, without glasses or contacts, he's very much nearly legally blind, and yet, without aid, he can read a book by holding it up to his eyes, and in (further) fact, does that very thing quite often.

Just a nit, but you would agree I think that the irony is somewhat lost...

Still, excellent series, much, much better than the lousy reboots, especially the one with Forest Whitaker.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 1:19:43 PM

"When the bandages are finally removed, she is revealled as stunningly beautiful and the doctors and nurses are all shockingly shown as the creatures."

Hot damn, sonny, I remember that one!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 1:48:53 PM

... as long as they have the actor who flies Vietnamese children to their death, I'm in.
pornfly writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:31:23 PM

Ah,MRBLONDE
The Ellie Mae Pig episode
I dont have cable so i watch the occasional ep.
There are too many good ones to f*ck this up
The cookbook,the airplane that goes back in time,the giant and the ufo from earth in his attic......
No need to oversensationalize this movie,the stories have already written themselves.

Thats why i dont get how 3guys turn a book into a movie then win Oscars for writing
YOUR JOB WAS ALREADY DONE FOR YOU AND IT STILL TOOK 3OF YOU?!
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 3:20:30 PM

@Bullit - I know that episode well (Burgess).

That show had ALL the actors of their day on that show (real Actors... not 'stars') making their rounds. Jack Klugman to name ONLY 1.

Remember the episode of the father always talking fondly of his son that died in a war as a pilot (WWII?). Then the father dies and his son is there in his bomber to fly his dad up to heaven. Pretty sweet show. I'll have to get the DVD set sometime in my lifetime.
Bullit writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 5:19:04 PM

@Ranger: Oh yes, that episode was really good. I or you have noticed that Soderling was playing many times on the notion of time travelling and he used it with subtleness every fifth episode or so?

Too bad the series in the 90's were not as good. That's what happens when try to copycat the ideas/concept of a genius.


Cheers mate,
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 11:54:45 PM

I saw a few of those newer Twilight Zone episodes way back when.

The magic was pretty much lost.
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 11:56:27 PM

Damn, I love the Internet!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8VK9jk_SBXg

creepshowfan writes:
on June 8th, 2012 at 1:34:29 AM

I have watched the 80's movie a hundred times since I was about 10 years old. I loved the monsters in it back then, and now I love how timeless all the stories are now. They all have different feels to them. Dramatic irony, sweet and sincere, strange and animated, and scary fun!
Ranger writes:
on June 8th, 2012 at 9:30:29 PM

Give the B&W original series a chance. Amazing stories!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved