WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Jan 27th, 2015
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Magazine Covers, Opening Scene Revealed
Jan 27th, 2015
Fox Confirms "X-Men" TV Series in the Works
Jan 27th, 2015
Joss Whedon Hints He Won't Direct "Avengers: Infinity War"
Jan 27th, 2015
First Look at Michael B. Jordan in Costume From "Fantastic Four," Trailer Coming Today
Jan 27th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Ridiculous 6" Netflix Film Unveils First Details
Jan 27th, 2015
Trailer for RZA's "The Man With the Iron Fists" Sequel
Jan 27th, 2015
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Talks for "Doctor Strange" Role
Jan 23rd, 2015
Video: Will Ferrell Hits Cheerleader in the Face at Basketball Game
Jan 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Vincent Cassel's "Partisan" Sundance Film
Jan 23rd, 2015
First Look at Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant" Thriller
Jan 22nd, 2015
Photo: Will The Hulk Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
Jan 22nd, 2015
Four Actresses Considered for Female Lead in "Star Wars" Spin-Off
Jan 22nd, 2015
"Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" to Begin Filming in August
Jan 22nd, 2015
Nicolas Cage to Hunt Osama Bin Laden in "Army of One" Comedy, Directed by "Borat" Helmer
Jan 22nd, 2015
Fox Planning New Season of "24" Without Kiefer Sutherland
Jan 22nd, 2015
Promo Art: Batman's Armored Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jan 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Kidnapping Mr. Heineken" Thriller, with Anthony Hopkins and Sam Worthington
Jan 21st, 2015
First Poster for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Little People to Protest "Snow White and the Huntsman" Over Dwarf Casting

Posted: June 6th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Little People to Protest "Snow White and the Huntsman" Over Dwarf CastingSubmit Comment
Relativity Media started filming its "Mirror Mirror" Snow White film almost at the same time as Universal Pictures got to work on "Snow White and the Huntsman." The box office result could not be any different, with "Snow White and the Huntsman" grossing almost as much during its opening weekend as "Mirror Mirror" grossed in total.

The other difference is that "Mirror Mirror" actually used little people to play the dwarfs, while "Snow White and the Huntsman" hired normal-sized actors (Bob Hoskins, Toby Jones, etc...) and then digitally shortened their limbs or transplanted their faces onto the bodies of little people.

Now, little people across Hollywood are planning to "coordinate a 100-midget march to Universal's offices" to protest what they believe is an incredible injustice and prejudice, stating that little people should have been hired to play the dwarfs.

The person leading the charge is Matt McCarthy, who is a 4'1 tall actor from the Beacher's Madhouse theater troupe that features more than 20 little people. He said that casting average-sized actors as Snow White's dwarfs "is the equivalent of Universal casting a white actor to play a role written for an African-American person and digitally changing the color of their skin."

Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:49:09 AM

Theyre always getting the short end of the stick.
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:53:27 AM

Little people actors get paid more because theyr not widely available
The studios just wanna save a buck

That and theyre creepy hell spawn
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:56:03 AM

Yeah, but I think they should be above this and take the high road instead. Being this small-minded is just a new low.
biniwoo writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:57:39 AM

"is the equivalent of Universal casting a white actor to play a role written for an African-American person and digitally changing the color of their skin."

I guess it sucks to be a black midget actor, then
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 7:12:10 AM

FREUD
DAASSSAGOOODWON
Spankfish writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 7:35:11 AM

OMG, 1000 Midget March, that's the greatest phrase ever! I'm going to try and use that in conversation every day for the rest of my life.
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 7:42:38 AM

They all roll up in a Yugo
That would be sooo cuuute
Avirex writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 8:31:39 AM

"a 100-midget march.."

..not to be confused with "March of the Penguins" said later, midget Matt McCarthy.

LeeMaca writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 8:34:52 AM

Midgets give me the creeps, and the all smell of cabbage
Bullit writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 9:02:32 AM

"They all roll up in a Yugo
That would be sooo cuuute"


LOL mate.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 10:02:40 AM

"coordinate a 100-midget march to Universal's offices"

Oh, my God. That would be something hilarious to see.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 10:22:20 AM

I didn't see no one protest Lord of the Rings or the Hobbit so these people could go cry in an elephants ass!
Akasha writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 10:42:36 AM

Lol all these puns made my day.
minkowski writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:24:34 PM

This news is just all kinds of stupid.
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:27:09 PM

@killer lotr had two differences. For all wide shots and most action scenes the hobbits and dwarfs were actually played by midgets, all of the stunt doubles for those characters were midgets as well. Not to mention all the extras used in hobbiton. So im gonna go out on a limb and say lotr was by far the most loved movie production in history for little people. 2nd distinction was it was not filmed in the U.S. therefore it wouldnt make the news here really.
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:30:17 PM

With that said you can make a case for why they wanted a well known and respected actor to play those characters like bob hoskins. Im sure if there was a midget they thought could do a better job than him they would have hired him. So im gonna notch this up as another frivilus "american" lawsuit that i keep hearing the rest of the world groan about
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:31:16 PM

And for the record little people are freaky. But there is a people i like even less......the dutch
Maacho writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:33:29 PM

They did the same thing in Lord of the Rings..?
Bullit writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:38:46 PM

@vincere: can you elaborate your last post? Sounds interesting too share your experience as I have many beyond imaginations...
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 4:18:52 PM

@bullit in regards to the midgets being freaky i presume? lol i meant as in scary freaky not sexually. Although with practice im sure they could figure out how to use theyre tiny limbs and digits as tools to conjour up images of nirvana for you(heaven not man with hole in his head)
Bullit writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 4:42:24 PM

^ ^ No, I meant about the freakin Dutch...epic thread I'm telling you.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 4:48:15 PM

Only a hundred midgets? That's like forty normal people. Imagine all the creepy little sausage fingers touching everything. Anyone here ever get a handy from a midget?
KillerCOck writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:03:03 PM

Lord of the Rings gave little people work but they were still not the stars of the films.

So what if little people weren't used for this movie. At least it had quality actors right?
Tim Burtons Willy wonka movie had one midget play an entire f*cking village of oompa loompas, they didn't protest that. That movie would've gave enough of them work as well.

This bunch of little people are complaining because they think Dwarves should be played by Dwarves to which I don't disagree with but its way too late to be complaining now. If they had this protest before the movie finished filming, they might have my sympathy but they're just being *ssholes especially when comparing themselves to blacks. Its not that same type of prejudice at all especially when you factor the fact that Snow white is a fairy tale fantasy. Next thing you know Giant people are gonna start protesting that giants shouldn't be digitally animated. f*ck off with that sh*t sweetheart! These people are *ssholes period. They wanna be stars than tell them to get a better agent and work on their f*cking talent.

Look how great Peter Dinklage is doing. I'd cast that guy in any movie just because he is cool as sh*t and pretty damn good with comedy, drama and subtleties. I'd write roles just to have him in a production.

This Snow White went after a certain kind of quality and got it. These people are being a bunch of whiny d*cks because they weren't apart of that. If handicapped people can get work than so could they.
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:10:47 PM

Just grab their forehead.
minkowski writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:17:20 PM

I just can't believe you people are actually arguing over a company choosing, per their freedom, to not employ real dwarves and instead using digitally altered actors.

What's next? Old people of America suing Pixar because the company refused to use a real old dude for the creepy pedophile in 'Up'?
KillerCOck writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:32:11 PM

everyone on here has arguments over stupid sh*t. Don't act like you don't either
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:18:41 PM

@bullit my bad the part about the dutch lol. I was actually refrencing austin powers goldmember
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:44:20 AM

I wonder why Hitler went after Jews and left midgets alone?
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:49:51 AM

@Vin - still laughing over your Dutch post. Nice work!

Ques: How many midgets could Hitler fit in a Yugo?

Answer: 238. 8 in the front, 8 in the back, and 222 as ash shoveled in around them.

I'd kick a midget when he's down. Then again... when aren't they?

Midgets... the rich birthday boy's pinata.

I shoved a stick up a midgets ass once and used it as a toilet brush.


And if any midgets reading my comments are offended...


GROW UP!
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:51:11 AM

Never hire a midget.

They steal.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 1:02:28 PM

"everyone on here has arguments over stupid sh*t. Don't act like you don't either"

Yeah, but my stupid arguments are smarter than yours, and far more fun. At least for me.
Gnarkill writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:18:29 PM

100 midget march ahhh thats gonna be rich haha
Gnarkill writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:19:29 PM

dude does have a point though
Gnarkill writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:21:02 PM

about putting a white in a lead for an african film and changing the color of his skin
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 11:52:55 PM

Mirror Mirror is worse than getting HIV in the *sshole.

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds

Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved