WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "No Escape" Action Thriller, with Owen Wilson and Pierce Brosnan
Mar 6th, 2015
"Toy Story 4" is a Separate Story From "Toy Story" Trilogy
Mar 6th, 2015
Video: Adam Sandler Fights Bob Barker in a "Happy Gilmore" Reunion
Mar 6th, 2015
Trailer for Charlize Theron's "Dark Places" Thriller
Mar 6th, 2015
"The Expendables" TV Series in the Works with Sylvester Stallone
Mar 6th, 2015
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Mar 5th, 2015
Warner Bros CEO Says DC Films are Edgier Than Marvel Films
Mar 5th, 2015
Trailer for "Self/Less" Sci-Fi Thriller, with Ryan Reynolds and Ben Kingsley
Mar 5th, 2015
Ian McKellen is Sherlock Holmes in "Mr. Holmes" Trailer
Mar 5th, 2015
Jessie Usher to Star in "Independence Day 2" as Will Smith's Son
Mar 4th, 2015
First Look at Joseph Gordon-Levitt in Oliver Stone's "Snowden"
Mar 4th, 2015
"Tron: Legacy" Director in Talks for "Gran Turismo" Video Game Film
Mar 4th, 2015
New Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Mar 4th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Captain America Poster
Mar 4th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot in Talks with "Cabin in the Woods" Director
Mar 3rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Open to "Deadpool" Cameo
Mar 3rd, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Mar 3rd, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Hawkeye Poster
Mar 3rd, 2015
Mark Cuban is US President in "Sharknado 3," Ann Coulter is Vice President
Mar 3rd, 2015
Ethan Hawke Re-Teams with Denzel Washington for "The Magnificent Seven" Remake
Mar 3rd, 2015
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Little People to Protest "Snow White and the Huntsman" Over Dwarf Casting

Posted: June 6th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Little People to Protest "Snow White and the Huntsman" Over Dwarf CastingSubmit Comment
Relativity Media started filming its "Mirror Mirror" Snow White film almost at the same time as Universal Pictures got to work on "Snow White and the Huntsman." The box office result could not be any different, with "Snow White and the Huntsman" grossing almost as much during its opening weekend as "Mirror Mirror" grossed in total.

The other difference is that "Mirror Mirror" actually used little people to play the dwarfs, while "Snow White and the Huntsman" hired normal-sized actors (Bob Hoskins, Toby Jones, etc...) and then digitally shortened their limbs or transplanted their faces onto the bodies of little people.

Now, little people across Hollywood are planning to "coordinate a 100-midget march to Universal's offices" to protest what they believe is an incredible injustice and prejudice, stating that little people should have been hired to play the dwarfs.

The person leading the charge is Matt McCarthy, who is a 4'1 tall actor from the Beacher's Madhouse theater troupe that features more than 20 little people. He said that casting average-sized actors as Snow White's dwarfs "is the equivalent of Universal casting a white actor to play a role written for an African-American person and digitally changing the color of their skin."

Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:49:09 AM

Theyre always getting the short end of the stick.
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:53:27 AM

Little people actors get paid more because theyr not widely available
The studios just wanna save a buck

That and theyre creepy hell spawn
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:56:03 AM

Yeah, but I think they should be above this and take the high road instead. Being this small-minded is just a new low.
biniwoo writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:57:39 AM

"is the equivalent of Universal casting a white actor to play a role written for an African-American person and digitally changing the color of their skin."

I guess it sucks to be a black midget actor, then
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 7:12:10 AM

FREUD
DAASSSAGOOODWON
Spankfish writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 7:35:11 AM

OMG, 1000 Midget March, that's the greatest phrase ever! I'm going to try and use that in conversation every day for the rest of my life.
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 7:42:38 AM

They all roll up in a Yugo
That would be sooo cuuute
Avirex writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 8:31:39 AM

"a 100-midget march.."

..not to be confused with "March of the Penguins" said later, midget Matt McCarthy.

LeeMaca writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 8:34:52 AM

Midgets give me the creeps, and the all smell of cabbage
Bullit writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 9:02:32 AM

"They all roll up in a Yugo
That would be sooo cuuute"


LOL mate.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 10:02:40 AM

"coordinate a 100-midget march to Universal's offices"

Oh, my God. That would be something hilarious to see.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 10:22:20 AM

I didn't see no one protest Lord of the Rings or the Hobbit so these people could go cry in an elephants ass!
Akasha writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 10:42:36 AM

Lol all these puns made my day.
minkowski writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:24:34 PM

This news is just all kinds of stupid.
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:27:09 PM

@killer lotr had two differences. For all wide shots and most action scenes the hobbits and dwarfs were actually played by midgets, all of the stunt doubles for those characters were midgets as well. Not to mention all the extras used in hobbiton. So im gonna go out on a limb and say lotr was by far the most loved movie production in history for little people. 2nd distinction was it was not filmed in the U.S. therefore it wouldnt make the news here really.
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:30:17 PM

With that said you can make a case for why they wanted a well known and respected actor to play those characters like bob hoskins. Im sure if there was a midget they thought could do a better job than him they would have hired him. So im gonna notch this up as another frivilus "american" lawsuit that i keep hearing the rest of the world groan about
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:31:16 PM

And for the record little people are freaky. But there is a people i like even less......the dutch
Maacho writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:33:29 PM

They did the same thing in Lord of the Rings..?
Bullit writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:38:46 PM

@vincere: can you elaborate your last post? Sounds interesting too share your experience as I have many beyond imaginations...
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 4:18:52 PM

@bullit in regards to the midgets being freaky i presume? lol i meant as in scary freaky not sexually. Although with practice im sure they could figure out how to use theyre tiny limbs and digits as tools to conjour up images of nirvana for you(heaven not man with hole in his head)
Bullit writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 4:42:24 PM

^ ^ No, I meant about the freakin Dutch...epic thread I'm telling you.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 4:48:15 PM

Only a hundred midgets? That's like forty normal people. Imagine all the creepy little sausage fingers touching everything. Anyone here ever get a handy from a midget?
KillerCOck writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:03:03 PM

Lord of the Rings gave little people work but they were still not the stars of the films.

So what if little people weren't used for this movie. At least it had quality actors right?
Tim Burtons Willy wonka movie had one midget play an entire f*cking village of oompa loompas, they didn't protest that. That movie would've gave enough of them work as well.

This bunch of little people are complaining because they think Dwarves should be played by Dwarves to which I don't disagree with but its way too late to be complaining now. If they had this protest before the movie finished filming, they might have my sympathy but they're just being *ssholes especially when comparing themselves to blacks. Its not that same type of prejudice at all especially when you factor the fact that Snow white is a fairy tale fantasy. Next thing you know Giant people are gonna start protesting that giants shouldn't be digitally animated. f*ck off with that sh*t sweetheart! These people are *ssholes period. They wanna be stars than tell them to get a better agent and work on their f*cking talent.

Look how great Peter Dinklage is doing. I'd cast that guy in any movie just because he is cool as sh*t and pretty damn good with comedy, drama and subtleties. I'd write roles just to have him in a production.

This Snow White went after a certain kind of quality and got it. These people are being a bunch of whiny d*cks because they weren't apart of that. If handicapped people can get work than so could they.
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:10:47 PM

Just grab their forehead.
minkowski writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:17:20 PM

I just can't believe you people are actually arguing over a company choosing, per their freedom, to not employ real dwarves and instead using digitally altered actors.

What's next? Old people of America suing Pixar because the company refused to use a real old dude for the creepy pedophile in 'Up'?
KillerCOck writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:32:11 PM

everyone on here has arguments over stupid sh*t. Don't act like you don't either
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:18:41 PM

@bullit my bad the part about the dutch lol. I was actually refrencing austin powers goldmember
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:44:20 AM

I wonder why Hitler went after Jews and left midgets alone?
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:49:51 AM

@Vin - still laughing over your Dutch post. Nice work!

Ques: How many midgets could Hitler fit in a Yugo?

Answer: 238. 8 in the front, 8 in the back, and 222 as ash shoveled in around them.

I'd kick a midget when he's down. Then again... when aren't they?

Midgets... the rich birthday boy's pinata.

I shoved a stick up a midgets ass once and used it as a toilet brush.


And if any midgets reading my comments are offended...


GROW UP!
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:51:11 AM

Never hire a midget.

They steal.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 1:02:28 PM

"everyone on here has arguments over stupid sh*t. Don't act like you don't either"

Yeah, but my stupid arguments are smarter than yours, and far more fun. At least for me.
Gnarkill writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:18:29 PM

100 midget march ahhh thats gonna be rich haha
Gnarkill writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:19:29 PM

dude does have a point though
Gnarkill writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:21:02 PM

about putting a white in a lead for an african film and changing the color of his skin
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 11:52:55 PM

Mirror Mirror is worse than getting HIV in the *sshole.

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved