WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Stan Lee Says Marvel's "Black Panther" is Happening
Sep 2nd, 2014
New Trailer for Luke Evans' "Dracula Untold" Arrives Online
Sep 2nd, 2014
"24" Movie May Still Happen
Sep 2nd, 2014
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 1st, 2014
Why Joaquin Phoenix May Pass on "Doctor Strange" Offer
Sep 1st, 2014
Video: Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Sep 1st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Remains First at Box Office, New Releases Underperform
Aug 31st, 2014
Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014
Aug 31st, 2014
Michael Bay Developing "Cosmic Motors" Futuristic Car Film, Based on Art Book
Aug 31st, 2014
Trailer for "Exists" Bigfoot Horror Film, From "The Blair Witch Project" Director
Aug 31st, 2014
First Look at Christoph Waltz and Margo Robbie in "Tarzan," From "Harry Potter" Director
Aug 30th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill as Clark Kent on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Aug 30th, 2014
First Look: Stan Lee in Kevin Smith's "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 30th, 2014
First Clip From Pixar's "Lava" Short Film
Aug 30th, 2014
Wesley Snipes to Return For "Blade 4"?
Aug 30th, 2014
Liam Neeson Wants to Return as Ra's al Ghul For "Arrow" TV Series
Aug 30th, 2014
What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 29th, 2014
Harrison Ford is Feeling Better, "Star Wars: Episode VII" Resumes Filming
Aug 29th, 2014
Ben Kingsley Wants to Return as The Mandarin in "Iron Man 4"
Aug 29th, 2014
Hilary Swank Battles ALS in "You're Not You" Trailer
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Scribbler" Comic Book Film
Aug 29th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Answers If Hawkeye Will Die in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Daily Show" host Jon Stewart's "Rosewater" Film
Aug 29th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Aug 29th, 2014
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Little People to Protest "Snow White and the Huntsman" Over Dwarf Casting

Posted: June 6th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Little People to Protest "Snow White and the Huntsman" Over Dwarf CastingSubmit Comment
Relativity Media started filming its "Mirror Mirror" Snow White film almost at the same time as Universal Pictures got to work on "Snow White and the Huntsman." The box office result could not be any different, with "Snow White and the Huntsman" grossing almost as much during its opening weekend as "Mirror Mirror" grossed in total.

The other difference is that "Mirror Mirror" actually used little people to play the dwarfs, while "Snow White and the Huntsman" hired normal-sized actors (Bob Hoskins, Toby Jones, etc...) and then digitally shortened their limbs or transplanted their faces onto the bodies of little people.

Now, little people across Hollywood are planning to "coordinate a 100-midget march to Universal's offices" to protest what they believe is an incredible injustice and prejudice, stating that little people should have been hired to play the dwarfs.

The person leading the charge is Matt McCarthy, who is a 4'1 tall actor from the Beacher's Madhouse theater troupe that features more than 20 little people. He said that casting average-sized actors as Snow White's dwarfs "is the equivalent of Universal casting a white actor to play a role written for an African-American person and digitally changing the color of their skin."

Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:49:09 AM

Theyre always getting the short end of the stick.
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:53:27 AM

Little people actors get paid more because theyr not widely available
The studios just wanna save a buck

That and theyre creepy hell spawn
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:56:03 AM

Yeah, but I think they should be above this and take the high road instead. Being this small-minded is just a new low.
biniwoo writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:57:39 AM

"is the equivalent of Universal casting a white actor to play a role written for an African-American person and digitally changing the color of their skin."

I guess it sucks to be a black midget actor, then
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 7:12:10 AM

FREUD
DAASSSAGOOODWON
Spankfish writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 7:35:11 AM

OMG, 1000 Midget March, that's the greatest phrase ever! I'm going to try and use that in conversation every day for the rest of my life.
pornfly writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 7:42:38 AM

They all roll up in a Yugo
That would be sooo cuuute
Avirex writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 8:31:39 AM

"a 100-midget march.."

..not to be confused with "March of the Penguins" said later, midget Matt McCarthy.

LeeMaca writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 8:34:52 AM

Midgets give me the creeps, and the all smell of cabbage
Bullit writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 9:02:32 AM

"They all roll up in a Yugo
That would be sooo cuuute"


LOL mate.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 10:02:40 AM

"coordinate a 100-midget march to Universal's offices"

Oh, my God. That would be something hilarious to see.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 10:22:20 AM

I didn't see no one protest Lord of the Rings or the Hobbit so these people could go cry in an elephants ass!
Akasha writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 10:42:36 AM

Lol all these puns made my day.
minkowski writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:24:34 PM

This news is just all kinds of stupid.
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:27:09 PM

@killer lotr had two differences. For all wide shots and most action scenes the hobbits and dwarfs were actually played by midgets, all of the stunt doubles for those characters were midgets as well. Not to mention all the extras used in hobbiton. So im gonna go out on a limb and say lotr was by far the most loved movie production in history for little people. 2nd distinction was it was not filmed in the U.S. therefore it wouldnt make the news here really.
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:30:17 PM

With that said you can make a case for why they wanted a well known and respected actor to play those characters like bob hoskins. Im sure if there was a midget they thought could do a better job than him they would have hired him. So im gonna notch this up as another frivilus "american" lawsuit that i keep hearing the rest of the world groan about
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:31:16 PM

And for the record little people are freaky. But there is a people i like even less......the dutch
Maacho writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:33:29 PM

They did the same thing in Lord of the Rings..?
Bullit writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 12:38:46 PM

@vincere: can you elaborate your last post? Sounds interesting too share your experience as I have many beyond imaginations...
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 4:18:52 PM

@bullit in regards to the midgets being freaky i presume? lol i meant as in scary freaky not sexually. Although with practice im sure they could figure out how to use theyre tiny limbs and digits as tools to conjour up images of nirvana for you(heaven not man with hole in his head)
Bullit writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 4:42:24 PM

^ ^ No, I meant about the freakin Dutch...epic thread I'm telling you.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 4:48:15 PM

Only a hundred midgets? That's like forty normal people. Imagine all the creepy little sausage fingers touching everything. Anyone here ever get a handy from a midget?
KillerCOck writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:03:03 PM

Lord of the Rings gave little people work but they were still not the stars of the films.

So what if little people weren't used for this movie. At least it had quality actors right?
Tim Burtons Willy wonka movie had one midget play an entire f*cking village of oompa loompas, they didn't protest that. That movie would've gave enough of them work as well.

This bunch of little people are complaining because they think Dwarves should be played by Dwarves to which I don't disagree with but its way too late to be complaining now. If they had this protest before the movie finished filming, they might have my sympathy but they're just being *ssholes especially when comparing themselves to blacks. Its not that same type of prejudice at all especially when you factor the fact that Snow white is a fairy tale fantasy. Next thing you know Giant people are gonna start protesting that giants shouldn't be digitally animated. f*ck off with that sh*t sweetheart! These people are *ssholes period. They wanna be stars than tell them to get a better agent and work on their f*cking talent.

Look how great Peter Dinklage is doing. I'd cast that guy in any movie just because he is cool as sh*t and pretty damn good with comedy, drama and subtleties. I'd write roles just to have him in a production.

This Snow White went after a certain kind of quality and got it. These people are being a bunch of whiny d*cks because they weren't apart of that. If handicapped people can get work than so could they.
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:10:47 PM

Just grab their forehead.
minkowski writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:17:20 PM

I just can't believe you people are actually arguing over a company choosing, per their freedom, to not employ real dwarves and instead using digitally altered actors.

What's next? Old people of America suing Pixar because the company refused to use a real old dude for the creepy pedophile in 'Up'?
KillerCOck writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 5:32:11 PM

everyone on here has arguments over stupid sh*t. Don't act like you don't either
vincere01 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 6:18:41 PM

@bullit my bad the part about the dutch lol. I was actually refrencing austin powers goldmember
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:44:20 AM

I wonder why Hitler went after Jews and left midgets alone?
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:49:51 AM

@Vin - still laughing over your Dutch post. Nice work!

Ques: How many midgets could Hitler fit in a Yugo?

Answer: 238. 8 in the front, 8 in the back, and 222 as ash shoveled in around them.

I'd kick a midget when he's down. Then again... when aren't they?

Midgets... the rich birthday boy's pinata.

I shoved a stick up a midgets ass once and used it as a toilet brush.


And if any midgets reading my comments are offended...


GROW UP!
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:51:11 AM

Never hire a midget.

They steal.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 1:02:28 PM

"everyone on here has arguments over stupid sh*t. Don't act like you don't either"

Yeah, but my stupid arguments are smarter than yours, and far more fun. At least for me.
Gnarkill writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:18:29 PM

100 midget march ahhh thats gonna be rich haha
Gnarkill writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:19:29 PM

dude does have a point though
Gnarkill writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 2:21:02 PM

about putting a white in a lead for an african film and changing the color of his skin
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 7th, 2012 at 11:52:55 PM

Mirror Mirror is worse than getting HIV in the *sshole.

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved