WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Starz Cancels "Spartacus" TV Series

Posted: June 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Starz Cancels "Spartacus" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Starz announced that the "Spartacus" TV series will end after the next season, called "War of the Damned," which is set to premiere in January of 2013. This is surprising since the show is one of the highest rated in all of cable television, with more than six million weekly viewers. It is also consistently one of the top ten best selling DVDs out of all TV titles.

"We did not come to this decision lightly. It was an extremely difficult and emotional decision for my partners and I," said creator and executive producer Steven S. DeKnight. "Yet, in the end, the story was best served by rolling all of the remaining action and drama of Spartacus' journey into one stunningly epic season that will be extremely satisfying for everyone who's been along for the ride."

Starz added: "We believe it is the best way to maintain the integrity of the series and secure its legacy. While everyone may know the fate of Spartacus, we believe this will be a spectacular season that will startle, amaze and honor the legions of fans."

"Spartacus: War of the Damned," currently in production in New Zealand, takes place following the defeat of Roman commander Gaius Claudius Glaber. Spartacus (Liam McIntyre) and his men have amassed major victories against the Romans after the Battle of Vesuvius. These victories have not only forged the legend of Spartacus, but have greatly increased the ranks of the rebellion slaves to more than 30,000. Rome is indeed beginning to tremble at the threat Spartacus now represents.

"War of the Damned" Poster:


Source: Starz


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 9:08:45 PM

Dude in the image looks like the gay porn star murderer in the news lately, the image below looks like some Nazi propaganda sh*t, and wtf is Starz?
Ranger writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:18:39 PM

I guess the viewing audience is more full of this than the gladiators filling up the bums of little boys (as shown on the show).
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:28:38 PM

So I'll ask again. What. The. f*ck is Starz? FX, HBO, Showtime, I know these, but Starz? What, is that Cinemax for Bosnians?
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:51:54 PM

Joey, do you like movies about gladiators?
Avirex writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 12:14:19 AM

sh*t became unwatchable after the main actor from season one died of cancer. For the second sesson they replaced the guy with Robin Thicke the singer..or his European twin.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 12:20:29 AM

I have only watched season one and quite impressed so far. Starz has delivered a great spectacle of brutal colosseum fights, scheming roman politicians, awesome sex scenes and an expanded character development of Spartacus. It was like watching an extended version of Ridley's Gladiator as these newer stories would push the tv series envelope. Looking forward to finishing all remaining seasons.
boogiel writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 1:03:51 AM

The should've cancel the show in honor of Andy whitfield' memory.
jimxcon writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 1:20:07 AM

Good call Starz.Best burn than fade.
Ranger writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 1:59:14 AM

$20. says David Hasselhoff is pissed he wasn't cast in this either.

Washed-up, drunk, floor-laying, burger eater.

Rambo writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 2:30:09 AM

Nooooooo....

wait,what did they cancel?
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 2:54:46 AM

Good idea.its best to finish something while it's still treasured by fans
Bullit writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:17:07 AM

As long Games of Thrones are on, I don't care about this gory thing.
Johnnyb writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:18:59 AM

Good news, even the fans want an explanation. But like people said here, it better ends on high than fail on low.... Long Live Spartacus!!!!!
UnNameable_One writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:25:13 AM

Minkowski, I take it you've never seen Spartacus?
Dre-EL writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 10:09:11 AM

Spartacus is an awesome series, great action, character development. I am one of those who are hoping for a satisfying conclusion, just like they did with the second season.

Biggest surprise of the prequel and second season; Lucy Lawless, her performance was absolutely fantastic.
p3rfect writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 11:01:13 AM

You guys just out-right lined on the Title of this article. Starz is cancelling Spartacus, the creators are ending the show story after the next season. *Sighs*
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 11:24:11 AM

"Minkowski, I take it you've never seen Spartacus?"

Nope. I no watchee da tv.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 11:34:55 AM

"Joey, do you like movies about gladiators?"

If you're referring to me, no. Ridley Scott's Gladiator was this generation's Ben Hur, and I think one of those films is more than enough. I mean, we get it. Dude goes into the arena and fights a lion or a slave. Boring. How the hell this sh*t gets drawn out for episode after episode, I'll never know.

Sad thing is, sh*t like this goes on forever, storywise, like some soap opera for men, and garbage like Stargate goes on for thirty seasons, but truly good television never even gets made.

I'd rather watch The Universe anyway, if I just have to stare at the one-eyed Bolshevik.

And people complained 24 was monotonous...
vincere01 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 12:04:47 PM

Ill admit it.....i only watched season one to see all of the lucy lawless nude scenes. Kinda had a thing for her a little bit from her xena days......
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 4:22:15 PM

this show is f*cking awesome sucks it will but oh well glad they aren't dragging it on
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 4:22:32 PM

*sucks it will end

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved