WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jun 24th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger to Star in "478" Drama, Darren Aronofsky is Producing
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Jun 24th, 2015
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
Jun 23rd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Drive" Sequel is in Development

Posted: June 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Drive" Sequel is in DevelopmentSubmit Comment
The Independent caught up with author James Sallis to talk about his new book, called "Driven," which is a sequel to "Drive" that was adapted for the big screen with Ryan Gosling playing the lead role.

Sallis confirmed that "Driven" will also be turned into a movie and is currently in development. The book takes place seven years later. Driver has left the old life and founded a successful business. But one day he's attacked and his fiancee is killed. Sinking back into anonymity, he finds that his past stalks him and will not stop. He has to turn and face it.

"He is trying to suppress the violence but the sequel shows the process of him accepting that this is who he is," Sallis explained. "He tries to become a normal person and re-invents himself. After his fiancee is killed, the violence is unleashed again."

It took six years for the first film to get made. Since the events in the sequel happen seven years later, it won't surprise me if the new movie takes that long to end up on the big screen.

Source: The Independent


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 6:10:47 AM

Leave it alone.

That summary sounds like its been done more times than 41 year old porn star Lisa Ann.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 8:30:49 AM

"Drive" Sequel is in Development

Another headline with something wrong...

Why is "Drive" Sequel in Development?

Now I can rest easy.
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 8:31:16 AM

It took 6 years for the original "Drive" to get made because it was initially conceived as a $60 mil. car action starring Hugh Jackman and directed by... hmmm Simon West if I remember right. Then Neil Marshall came onboard, rewrites followed - basically the studio wasn't sure what they wanted. I think it was a Universal project at the start.
bane writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 10:25:12 AM

DRIVE is a real cult film

see what happens
when you try to make a sequel
to a cult film

THE WICKER TREE
ESCAPE FROM L.A
THE MATRIX REVOLUTIONS
BASIC INSTINCT 2
CADDYSHACK 2
BENEATH THE PLANET OF THE APES
THE EXORCIST 2 THE HERETIC
BE COOL
BLUES BROTHERS 2000
STAYING ALIVE
BOOK OF SHADOWS BLAIR WITCH 2
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:11:26 AM

Also, sometimes Terminator 2 happens.

vincere01 writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:45:22 AM

THE BOURNE SUPREMECY! THE BOURNE SUPREMECY! THE f*ckING BOURNE SUPREMECY?!!!!!!
vincere01 writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:47:07 AM

Sorry but that story description has matt damons face stamped all over it
Ranger writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 1:01:55 PM

Retired and pulled back into the business...

Swordfish.
Gone in 60 seconds.
Any martial art movie.

I LUV Lisa-Ann! Yummmay!

@bane - you left out any of the StarShip Troopers sequels.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 1:39:39 PM

Fine, but tone down the damned ridiculous violence, or tone down the artsy film style, because when you cut from an arthouse music video montage scene to someone getting their head blown off, it's jarring and incoherent.

Still, I enjoyed the first, with a few reservations.
trailertrash writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 2:15:24 PM

Yeah I would be happy to see a second chapter loved the original.

You have fair point on the violence Mink the movie didn't need that lift scene especially.
Bullit writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 2:56:16 PM

^ ^ More car chase scenes and less violence would have been Much better.

I'm still waiting for a film that would surpass McQueen's Bullitt 1968...
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 3:37:39 PM

drive is my favorite movie ever so as much as i'm alittle nervous of this being bad still i'm really excited for this
trailertrash writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:26:37 PM

Bullit

Must say I liked the fact it wasn't an all out car chase movie.

Character driven not car driven made a nice change.

Just a cool movie and nothing will ever top Bullitt that married the coolness and action perfectly
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:28:03 PM

Enjoyed the first, would like to see if they do a sequel correctly or not. I can understand people thinking the violence was a little over the top but at max there was like 30 seconds of actual violence on screen, nothing that lasted. Regardless I hope they don't try to market the sequel as something that its not like the first.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:50:36 PM

Bane i swear your a 11 year old

Why is your f*cking caps ALWAYS on?

And a sequel is not needed, that movie was amazing, i hope they don't ruin it with a sequel
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 5:01:43 PM

Why does everyone find Drive overly violent?

The way I see it the violence was necessary - the guy is a psycho at the core, the elevator scene showed that "werewolf" nature of his pretty brilliantly.
And the scene at Berney Rose's house after he kills Shannon - it adds depth to the character, the way he sips scotch and sits in the chair - he clearly isn't happy with what he's done, even being a stone cold f*cker that he is. He liked the guy, but had no other choice.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 5:12:32 PM

Yeah, we get it, get he's a f*cking lunatics psycho, but the movie didn't know what the f*ck it wanted to be. Drive tried too hard to play the Hanna game and came off squared-up looking stupid.
cress writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 6:39:09 PM

I liked DRIVE a lot. It was fresh and different. It's the film that made me like Gosling.
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 7:41:14 PM

In the humblest of opinions possible, it's Hanna that was a bit squared-up.

For me Drive came out exactly what I expected it to be - an art house thriller with a strong 80's vibe. It was clear that it had Mann, Hill and a bit of italians in the vein of D'Antonioni as main inspirations and Winding Refn as a director - what could one expect from it?
DriveMemento writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 8:15:39 PM

if Gosling and the original director come back, why not..
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 1:37:19 AM

I agree with Cress, Gosling CAN act...no doubt.

The movie that made ME like Gosling was LARS AND THE REAL GIRL. It was a sappy, crazy litte movie, but Gosling is the best thing in it, basically carrying the whole movie and showed he has talent...and in spades. I was more mesmerized on how he built his character and INTERACTED with said doll it the film that he treated not as prop, but as a real person...the premise of the film.

If you see LARS, Gosling BECOMES the character and is totally invested in the role, warts and all. His bare bone acting putting mannerisms, subtle delivery of a person with psychiatric issues and awkward long silences by his himself and equally awkward interaction with the other characters make it seem organic and natural.

You forget it's him acting and totally immerses you in the quirky, weird plot. He hides in his character in plain site and THAT, my friend, is great acting. That is why the Gary Oldmans and Guy Pearces will always weigh more, in my book, than the Denzels or Cruises.

Gosling in LARS was the equivalent to Brad Pitt was in 12 MONKEYS: talent under that prettyboy facade.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 12:08:48 PM

I actually like Hanna a hell of a lot better. It made more sense, and the character was more palatable. It was understandable why she was the way she was, whereas Gosling's character was just crazy without reason and without any back-story, where one minute he's carrying a child in slow-mo to some chintzy, manipulative pop retro tune and the next minute his stomping some guy's face into pulp in a frenetic orchestra of slasher-style violence.

Drive simply had no clue what it wanted to be, because it wanted to be more than it was. It wanted to be retro cool with the lavender intro credits and the throwback music, but it also wanted to pander to the angry, irrational video-game violent sensitivities of the intended audience, and it came up short in both respects, sacrificing what could have been a level, moody action film with nostalgic ambiance for a schizophrenic confusion of themes.

Having said that, Drive retains a modic*m of redeeming values, but in the end, it comes up largely flawed and thus fails to find a place, for me at least, as either a cult classic or an authentically good film.
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:32:12 PM

Don't care if they bring back Gosling or the original director, the reason why I loved the original was it had no backstory to Gosling's character, and ended the way it did, it should be left alone, untouched otherwise i personally feel, the interest in the original will wane.

Keeping him a mystery is where the appeal lies; thought the 80s style and music worked well for me. As for the character's violent nature, well that's just how he is defined. He might've been trying to be a nice-guy type but he clearly wasn't, his true self is revealed in the elevator and we the audience, well my naive prediction for a romantic angle to the film, are represented by Mulligan in the film; her expressions were well in tune with how any sane person would feel toward the Driver when they saw him doing what he did to the henchman. Perfectly executed imo.

And Albert Brooks < fantastic performance !
Gnarkill writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:33:18 PM

FOR ALL U f*ckS OUT THERE THAT SAY MOVIES ARE TO VIOLENT SERIOUSLY SUCK MY SALTY BALLS. IF U CAN SHOW PEOPLE WITH HOLES IN THERE THROATS FOR CIGARETTE COMMERCIALS U SHOULD SHOW THE AFTERMATH OF DRINKING AND DRIVING LIKE DECAPATATION! AND MOVIES LIKE DRIVE WERE SEMI VIOLENT AND REALISTIC THAT IS LIFE SO SHOW MORE U f*ckIN PUSSIES
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:37:55 PM

calm down lol
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:39:22 PM

you remind me of my older brother, and that's how he normally talks, in capitals...i.e. screaming ;)
Gnarkill writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:57:26 PM

Drive was def boring but i did enjoy it for some odd reason i dont know why but it caught my attention
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 2:53:17 AM

What are you bane! take your damn caps off!

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved