WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Drive" Sequel is in Development

Posted: June 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Drive" Sequel is in DevelopmentSubmit Comment
The Independent caught up with author James Sallis to talk about his new book, called "Driven," which is a sequel to "Drive" that was adapted for the big screen with Ryan Gosling playing the lead role.

Sallis confirmed that "Driven" will also be turned into a movie and is currently in development. The book takes place seven years later. Driver has left the old life and founded a successful business. But one day he's attacked and his fiancee is killed. Sinking back into anonymity, he finds that his past stalks him and will not stop. He has to turn and face it.

"He is trying to suppress the violence but the sequel shows the process of him accepting that this is who he is," Sallis explained. "He tries to become a normal person and re-invents himself. After his fiancee is killed, the violence is unleashed again."

It took six years for the first film to get made. Since the events in the sequel happen seven years later, it won't surprise me if the new movie takes that long to end up on the big screen.

Source: The Independent


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 6:10:47 AM

Leave it alone.

That summary sounds like its been done more times than 41 year old porn star Lisa Ann.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 8:30:49 AM

"Drive" Sequel is in Development

Another headline with something wrong...

Why is "Drive" Sequel in Development?

Now I can rest easy.
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 8:31:16 AM

It took 6 years for the original "Drive" to get made because it was initially conceived as a $60 mil. car action starring Hugh Jackman and directed by... hmmm Simon West if I remember right. Then Neil Marshall came onboard, rewrites followed - basically the studio wasn't sure what they wanted. I think it was a Universal project at the start.
bane writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 10:25:12 AM

DRIVE is a real cult film

see what happens
when you try to make a sequel
to a cult film

THE WICKER TREE
ESCAPE FROM L.A
THE MATRIX REVOLUTIONS
BASIC INSTINCT 2
CADDYSHACK 2
BENEATH THE PLANET OF THE APES
THE EXORCIST 2 THE HERETIC
BE COOL
BLUES BROTHERS 2000
STAYING ALIVE
BOOK OF SHADOWS BLAIR WITCH 2
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:11:26 AM

Also, sometimes Terminator 2 happens.

vincere01 writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:45:22 AM

THE BOURNE SUPREMECY! THE BOURNE SUPREMECY! THE f*ckING BOURNE SUPREMECY?!!!!!!
vincere01 writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:47:07 AM

Sorry but that story description has matt damons face stamped all over it
Ranger writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 1:01:55 PM

Retired and pulled back into the business...

Swordfish.
Gone in 60 seconds.
Any martial art movie.

I LUV Lisa-Ann! Yummmay!

@bane - you left out any of the StarShip Troopers sequels.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 1:39:39 PM

Fine, but tone down the damned ridiculous violence, or tone down the artsy film style, because when you cut from an arthouse music video montage scene to someone getting their head blown off, it's jarring and incoherent.

Still, I enjoyed the first, with a few reservations.
trailertrash writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 2:15:24 PM

Yeah I would be happy to see a second chapter loved the original.

You have fair point on the violence Mink the movie didn't need that lift scene especially.
Bullit writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 2:56:16 PM

^ ^ More car chase scenes and less violence would have been Much better.

I'm still waiting for a film that would surpass McQueen's Bullitt 1968...
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 3:37:39 PM

drive is my favorite movie ever so as much as i'm alittle nervous of this being bad still i'm really excited for this
trailertrash writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:26:37 PM

Bullit

Must say I liked the fact it wasn't an all out car chase movie.

Character driven not car driven made a nice change.

Just a cool movie and nothing will ever top Bullitt that married the coolness and action perfectly
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:28:03 PM

Enjoyed the first, would like to see if they do a sequel correctly or not. I can understand people thinking the violence was a little over the top but at max there was like 30 seconds of actual violence on screen, nothing that lasted. Regardless I hope they don't try to market the sequel as something that its not like the first.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:50:36 PM

Bane i swear your a 11 year old

Why is your f*cking caps ALWAYS on?

And a sequel is not needed, that movie was amazing, i hope they don't ruin it with a sequel
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 5:01:43 PM

Why does everyone find Drive overly violent?

The way I see it the violence was necessary - the guy is a psycho at the core, the elevator scene showed that "werewolf" nature of his pretty brilliantly.
And the scene at Berney Rose's house after he kills Shannon - it adds depth to the character, the way he sips scotch and sits in the chair - he clearly isn't happy with what he's done, even being a stone cold f*cker that he is. He liked the guy, but had no other choice.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 5:12:32 PM

Yeah, we get it, get he's a f*cking lunatics psycho, but the movie didn't know what the f*ck it wanted to be. Drive tried too hard to play the Hanna game and came off squared-up looking stupid.
cress writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 6:39:09 PM

I liked DRIVE a lot. It was fresh and different. It's the film that made me like Gosling.
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 7:41:14 PM

In the humblest of opinions possible, it's Hanna that was a bit squared-up.

For me Drive came out exactly what I expected it to be - an art house thriller with a strong 80's vibe. It was clear that it had Mann, Hill and a bit of italians in the vein of D'Antonioni as main inspirations and Winding Refn as a director - what could one expect from it?
DriveMemento writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 8:15:39 PM

if Gosling and the original director come back, why not..
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 1:37:19 AM

I agree with Cress, Gosling CAN act...no doubt.

The movie that made ME like Gosling was LARS AND THE REAL GIRL. It was a sappy, crazy litte movie, but Gosling is the best thing in it, basically carrying the whole movie and showed he has talent...and in spades. I was more mesmerized on how he built his character and INTERACTED with said doll it the film that he treated not as prop, but as a real person...the premise of the film.

If you see LARS, Gosling BECOMES the character and is totally invested in the role, warts and all. His bare bone acting putting mannerisms, subtle delivery of a person with psychiatric issues and awkward long silences by his himself and equally awkward interaction with the other characters make it seem organic and natural.

You forget it's him acting and totally immerses you in the quirky, weird plot. He hides in his character in plain site and THAT, my friend, is great acting. That is why the Gary Oldmans and Guy Pearces will always weigh more, in my book, than the Denzels or Cruises.

Gosling in LARS was the equivalent to Brad Pitt was in 12 MONKEYS: talent under that prettyboy facade.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 12:08:48 PM

I actually like Hanna a hell of a lot better. It made more sense, and the character was more palatable. It was understandable why she was the way she was, whereas Gosling's character was just crazy without reason and without any back-story, where one minute he's carrying a child in slow-mo to some chintzy, manipulative pop retro tune and the next minute his stomping some guy's face into pulp in a frenetic orchestra of slasher-style violence.

Drive simply had no clue what it wanted to be, because it wanted to be more than it was. It wanted to be retro cool with the lavender intro credits and the throwback music, but it also wanted to pander to the angry, irrational video-game violent sensitivities of the intended audience, and it came up short in both respects, sacrificing what could have been a level, moody action film with nostalgic ambiance for a schizophrenic confusion of themes.

Having said that, Drive retains a modic*m of redeeming values, but in the end, it comes up largely flawed and thus fails to find a place, for me at least, as either a cult classic or an authentically good film.
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:32:12 PM

Don't care if they bring back Gosling or the original director, the reason why I loved the original was it had no backstory to Gosling's character, and ended the way it did, it should be left alone, untouched otherwise i personally feel, the interest in the original will wane.

Keeping him a mystery is where the appeal lies; thought the 80s style and music worked well for me. As for the character's violent nature, well that's just how he is defined. He might've been trying to be a nice-guy type but he clearly wasn't, his true self is revealed in the elevator and we the audience, well my naive prediction for a romantic angle to the film, are represented by Mulligan in the film; her expressions were well in tune with how any sane person would feel toward the Driver when they saw him doing what he did to the henchman. Perfectly executed imo.

And Albert Brooks < fantastic performance !
Gnarkill writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:33:18 PM

FOR ALL U f*ckS OUT THERE THAT SAY MOVIES ARE TO VIOLENT SERIOUSLY SUCK MY SALTY BALLS. IF U CAN SHOW PEOPLE WITH HOLES IN THERE THROATS FOR CIGARETTE COMMERCIALS U SHOULD SHOW THE AFTERMATH OF DRINKING AND DRIVING LIKE DECAPATATION! AND MOVIES LIKE DRIVE WERE SEMI VIOLENT AND REALISTIC THAT IS LIFE SO SHOW MORE U f*ckIN PUSSIES
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:37:55 PM

calm down lol
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:39:22 PM

you remind me of my older brother, and that's how he normally talks, in capitals...i.e. screaming ;)
Gnarkill writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:57:26 PM

Drive was def boring but i did enjoy it for some odd reason i dont know why but it caught my attention
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 2:53:17 AM

What are you bane! take your damn caps off!

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved