WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Drive" Sequel is in Development

Posted: June 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Drive" Sequel is in DevelopmentSubmit Comment
The Independent caught up with author James Sallis to talk about his new book, called "Driven," which is a sequel to "Drive" that was adapted for the big screen with Ryan Gosling playing the lead role.

Sallis confirmed that "Driven" will also be turned into a movie and is currently in development. The book takes place seven years later. Driver has left the old life and founded a successful business. But one day he's attacked and his fiancee is killed. Sinking back into anonymity, he finds that his past stalks him and will not stop. He has to turn and face it.

"He is trying to suppress the violence but the sequel shows the process of him accepting that this is who he is," Sallis explained. "He tries to become a normal person and re-invents himself. After his fiancee is killed, the violence is unleashed again."

It took six years for the first film to get made. Since the events in the sequel happen seven years later, it won't surprise me if the new movie takes that long to end up on the big screen.

Source: The Independent


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 6:10:47 AM

Leave it alone.

That summary sounds like its been done more times than 41 year old porn star Lisa Ann.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 8:30:49 AM

"Drive" Sequel is in Development

Another headline with something wrong...

Why is "Drive" Sequel in Development?

Now I can rest easy.
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 8:31:16 AM

It took 6 years for the original "Drive" to get made because it was initially conceived as a $60 mil. car action starring Hugh Jackman and directed by... hmmm Simon West if I remember right. Then Neil Marshall came onboard, rewrites followed - basically the studio wasn't sure what they wanted. I think it was a Universal project at the start.
bane writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 10:25:12 AM

DRIVE is a real cult film

see what happens
when you try to make a sequel
to a cult film

THE WICKER TREE
ESCAPE FROM L.A
THE MATRIX REVOLUTIONS
BASIC INSTINCT 2
CADDYSHACK 2
BENEATH THE PLANET OF THE APES
THE EXORCIST 2 THE HERETIC
BE COOL
BLUES BROTHERS 2000
STAYING ALIVE
BOOK OF SHADOWS BLAIR WITCH 2
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:11:26 AM

Also, sometimes Terminator 2 happens.

vincere01 writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:45:22 AM

THE BOURNE SUPREMECY! THE BOURNE SUPREMECY! THE f*ckING BOURNE SUPREMECY?!!!!!!
vincere01 writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 11:47:07 AM

Sorry but that story description has matt damons face stamped all over it
Ranger writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 1:01:55 PM

Retired and pulled back into the business...

Swordfish.
Gone in 60 seconds.
Any martial art movie.

I LUV Lisa-Ann! Yummmay!

@bane - you left out any of the StarShip Troopers sequels.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 1:39:39 PM

Fine, but tone down the damned ridiculous violence, or tone down the artsy film style, because when you cut from an arthouse music video montage scene to someone getting their head blown off, it's jarring and incoherent.

Still, I enjoyed the first, with a few reservations.
trailertrash writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 2:15:24 PM

Yeah I would be happy to see a second chapter loved the original.

You have fair point on the violence Mink the movie didn't need that lift scene especially.
Bullit writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 2:56:16 PM

^ ^ More car chase scenes and less violence would have been Much better.

I'm still waiting for a film that would surpass McQueen's Bullitt 1968...
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 3:37:39 PM

drive is my favorite movie ever so as much as i'm alittle nervous of this being bad still i'm really excited for this
trailertrash writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:26:37 PM

Bullit

Must say I liked the fact it wasn't an all out car chase movie.

Character driven not car driven made a nice change.

Just a cool movie and nothing will ever top Bullitt that married the coolness and action perfectly
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:28:03 PM

Enjoyed the first, would like to see if they do a sequel correctly or not. I can understand people thinking the violence was a little over the top but at max there was like 30 seconds of actual violence on screen, nothing that lasted. Regardless I hope they don't try to market the sequel as something that its not like the first.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:50:36 PM

Bane i swear your a 11 year old

Why is your f*cking caps ALWAYS on?

And a sequel is not needed, that movie was amazing, i hope they don't ruin it with a sequel
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 5:01:43 PM

Why does everyone find Drive overly violent?

The way I see it the violence was necessary - the guy is a psycho at the core, the elevator scene showed that "werewolf" nature of his pretty brilliantly.
And the scene at Berney Rose's house after he kills Shannon - it adds depth to the character, the way he sips scotch and sits in the chair - he clearly isn't happy with what he's done, even being a stone cold f*cker that he is. He liked the guy, but had no other choice.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 5:12:32 PM

Yeah, we get it, get he's a f*cking lunatics psycho, but the movie didn't know what the f*ck it wanted to be. Drive tried too hard to play the Hanna game and came off squared-up looking stupid.
cress writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 6:39:09 PM

I liked DRIVE a lot. It was fresh and different. It's the film that made me like Gosling.
Kurskij writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 7:41:14 PM

In the humblest of opinions possible, it's Hanna that was a bit squared-up.

For me Drive came out exactly what I expected it to be - an art house thriller with a strong 80's vibe. It was clear that it had Mann, Hill and a bit of italians in the vein of D'Antonioni as main inspirations and Winding Refn as a director - what could one expect from it?
DriveMemento writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 8:15:39 PM

if Gosling and the original director come back, why not..
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 1:37:19 AM

I agree with Cress, Gosling CAN act...no doubt.

The movie that made ME like Gosling was LARS AND THE REAL GIRL. It was a sappy, crazy litte movie, but Gosling is the best thing in it, basically carrying the whole movie and showed he has talent...and in spades. I was more mesmerized on how he built his character and INTERACTED with said doll it the film that he treated not as prop, but as a real person...the premise of the film.

If you see LARS, Gosling BECOMES the character and is totally invested in the role, warts and all. His bare bone acting putting mannerisms, subtle delivery of a person with psychiatric issues and awkward long silences by his himself and equally awkward interaction with the other characters make it seem organic and natural.

You forget it's him acting and totally immerses you in the quirky, weird plot. He hides in his character in plain site and THAT, my friend, is great acting. That is why the Gary Oldmans and Guy Pearces will always weigh more, in my book, than the Denzels or Cruises.

Gosling in LARS was the equivalent to Brad Pitt was in 12 MONKEYS: talent under that prettyboy facade.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 12:08:48 PM

I actually like Hanna a hell of a lot better. It made more sense, and the character was more palatable. It was understandable why she was the way she was, whereas Gosling's character was just crazy without reason and without any back-story, where one minute he's carrying a child in slow-mo to some chintzy, manipulative pop retro tune and the next minute his stomping some guy's face into pulp in a frenetic orchestra of slasher-style violence.

Drive simply had no clue what it wanted to be, because it wanted to be more than it was. It wanted to be retro cool with the lavender intro credits and the throwback music, but it also wanted to pander to the angry, irrational video-game violent sensitivities of the intended audience, and it came up short in both respects, sacrificing what could have been a level, moody action film with nostalgic ambiance for a schizophrenic confusion of themes.

Having said that, Drive retains a modic*m of redeeming values, but in the end, it comes up largely flawed and thus fails to find a place, for me at least, as either a cult classic or an authentically good film.
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:32:12 PM

Don't care if they bring back Gosling or the original director, the reason why I loved the original was it had no backstory to Gosling's character, and ended the way it did, it should be left alone, untouched otherwise i personally feel, the interest in the original will wane.

Keeping him a mystery is where the appeal lies; thought the 80s style and music worked well for me. As for the character's violent nature, well that's just how he is defined. He might've been trying to be a nice-guy type but he clearly wasn't, his true self is revealed in the elevator and we the audience, well my naive prediction for a romantic angle to the film, are represented by Mulligan in the film; her expressions were well in tune with how any sane person would feel toward the Driver when they saw him doing what he did to the henchman. Perfectly executed imo.

And Albert Brooks < fantastic performance !
Gnarkill writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:33:18 PM

FOR ALL U f*ckS OUT THERE THAT SAY MOVIES ARE TO VIOLENT SERIOUSLY SUCK MY SALTY BALLS. IF U CAN SHOW PEOPLE WITH HOLES IN THERE THROATS FOR CIGARETTE COMMERCIALS U SHOULD SHOW THE AFTERMATH OF DRINKING AND DRIVING LIKE DECAPATATION! AND MOVIES LIKE DRIVE WERE SEMI VIOLENT AND REALISTIC THAT IS LIFE SO SHOW MORE U f*ckIN PUSSIES
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:37:55 PM

calm down lol
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:39:22 PM

you remind me of my older brother, and that's how he normally talks, in capitals...i.e. screaming ;)
Gnarkill writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:57:26 PM

Drive was def boring but i did enjoy it for some odd reason i dont know why but it caught my attention
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 6th, 2012 at 2:53:17 AM

What are you bane! take your damn caps off!

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin

Will Poulter is Pennywise in Stephen King's "It" Remake
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved