WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Wanted Bill Murray for "Iron Man" Role, But Couldn't Find Him

Posted: June 3rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Wanted Bill Murray for "Iron Man" Role, But CouldnSubmit Comment
Esquire magazine caught up with Bill Murray and told him that Robert Downey Jr recently said that Marvel wanted the actor for a role in the first "Iron Man" movie, but things didn't work out because nobody could find him.

"I'm not trying to be coy. It's just practical for me," said Murray. "When the phone started ringing too many times, I had to take it back to what I can handle. I take my chances on a job or a person as opposed to a situation. I don't like to have a situation placed over my head."

The magazine went on to say that many actors worry that if they don't make themselves available and say "yes" all the time, they'll stop getting offers. Murray replied: "If you keep saying 'yes,' they'll stop asking you, too. That's a much more likely event. You want to say 'no' at the right time and you want to say 'yes' more sparingly."

Marvel and Downey aren't the only ones who had trouble locating Murray. Dan Aykroyd constantly complained that the actor refused to read the script or even pick up the phone to discuss "Ghostbusters 3."

Source: Esquire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 7:05:29 PM

Uh ooookaiiii
pornfly writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 7:18:05 PM

Burton almost went with Murray also for Batman
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 7:24:40 PM

uh i really don't know what to say
cress writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 7:29:15 PM

They probably wanted him for the Gwyneth Paltrow role. I could see Tony Stark trying to get up inside Bill Murray.
OneTime writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 7:30:48 PM

kill bill
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 8:16:02 PM

lol what the f*ck!
andthebabymakes3 writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 9:36:50 PM

Sounds like a film about the making of GB3 would be more fun than the actual final product. Murray could play himself...
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 9:54:46 PM

what.
WV-Films writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 10:25:49 PM

Wait what? Marvel wanted him "for a role"or for Ironman himself?
vincere01 writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 10:55:47 PM

I could see murray as clark gregs role. Although in hind sight now i like greg in the role
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 11:14:35 PM

i've got nothing.
Avirex writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 2:48:20 AM

Bill Murray as the villain would have been...something I could never take seriously.

Thanks for not picking up the phone Murray. I just wish Channing Tatum would do the same, every time.
Bullit writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:29:29 AM

What Avirex said.

And I just wish Channing Tatum didn't have a bloody phone.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 9:55:16 AM

Bill Murray for Iron Man? What a stupid idea
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 1:59:47 PM

He wanted Murray for *a* role in the film 'Iron Man', not for *the* role OF Iron Man (no apostrophes).

I wonder if the same people who can't read also post using their smartphone, which is probably smarter than them.

Maybe there's an app for that...
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 1:56:54 AM

They probably wanted Murray for Happy Hogan...if they would've gotten him, I really doubt it, it'd be more like Deadpan Hogan to me.

Just sayin'..
Gnarkill writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 7:30:06 PM

They couldnt find Murray cause he was on his multi-million dollar property golfing and getting sh*t faced

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved