WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Snow White and the Huntsman" Tops Box Office with $56 Million

Posted: June 3rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Snow White and the Huntsman" Tops Box Office with $56 MillionSubmit Comment
"Snow White and the Huntsman," starring Kristen Stewart, Chris Hemsworth and Charlize Theron, easily topped the domestic box office this weekend with $56 million. The film also performed well overseas, debuting globally to $95.6 million. Universal has already announced that a sequel is in development.

The problem is that "Snow White" cost $170 million to make and had a pricey marketing campaign. While it's debut numbers are decent, the film will need strong legs to become profitable. "Snow White" has a 46% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"Men in Black 3" dropped to second place with $29.3 million for a new worldwide total of $387 million. And "The Avengers" settled for third with another $20.3 million. The superhero film is now the third highest-grossing movie domestically ($553 million) and worldwide ($1.355 billion).

"Piranha 3DD" also hit theaters this weekend, but in only 86 locations. It went on to gross $179,000, for a per location average of $2,081. The sequel has a 12% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, "Prometheus" was released overseas in 15 markets and has already grossed $35 million. The "Alien" prequel will debut domestically on Friday (June 8th).

Click here to read our "Snow White and the Huntsman" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 7:00:56 PM

The only cool thing about the movie were the visuals and the dwarves.Bob hoskins,Nick frost,Ian mcshane,ray Winstone.

Thor and twatlight bitch couldn't carry a movie if their life depended on it.
OneTime writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 7:23:38 PM

yeah i thought the visuals were cool, everytime charlize theron got some screen time i had to hide my boner in the popcorn bag on my lap.

nice visuals

interesting version

Charlize theron can u please defacate on me

kinda boring

6/10
OneTime writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 7:43:20 PM

i also read somewhere that Prometheus is NOT a prequel. its just somehow related to alien...if that even makes sense.

already bought my imax 3dizzle tickets woot.
pornfly writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 7:43:56 PM

was hoping MIB would drop to third
gotta see 3DD at midnight
its gonna be a party

BULLIT do you think its worth it to see Prometheus in IMAX3D?
Cannon writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 8:40:31 PM

I'd like to top-off Kristen Stewart...

...in her mouth.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 8:51:08 PM

The movie was better than I thought it would be
cuddaflip writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 9:02:08 PM

I thought Snow White was super boring. if it weren't for Charlize, Hemsworth, and the ridiculously awesome actors they got for the dwarves, I'd hate it
Rambo writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 2:20:25 AM

there won't be a box office hit till the dark knight rises me think
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 3:00:09 AM

Not bad for Sanders,Snow white being his directorial debut.
I wouldnt rule out Prometheus or Spider man either Rambo.you never know
shiteater writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 3:10:50 AM

Not too interested in Snow White as I generally stay away from action movies with female lead roles. Just playing the odds
Bullit writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:37:37 AM

@Pornfly: Absolutely mate. 85% of the time, the 3D effects & special effects are stunning, the other 15% is more like a 2d that didn't matter to me.

Don't expect some chasing & killing aliens as it's not about that. It's about the origin of the Alien with an excellent writing & acting. It's a new genre where you have to think (which makes a nice bloody change from the other films where you don't have to think for a sec) and it raises questions and give you some answers.

Great film indeed.


Cheers,
Bullit writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 4:46:40 AM

"Snow White" cost $170 million to make".

Somehow that doesn't feel right. It's way too much for that kind of a movie, way too much. and I'll add that it's Not an argument either to go and see it. Bear in mind that K. Stewart is wanking 2 guys in "On The Road" and that has more effect & a lot cheaper to make...
j-man writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 6:35:44 AM

And the critic guy on this site gve pirannah 3DD an 8 or sumthing, how does he keep his job
NotAmerican writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 7:20:59 AM

Snow White was perhaps the worst of the pile of crap movies I've watched this year.

Poor story.

Clichéd dialogue.

Flat, lifeless characters.

Visually dull.

Unnecessarily long.

Charlize as the queen was the only part that didn't make me feel as if I needed to rip my eyes out.

3.5/10
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 1:53:46 PM

"i also read somewhere that Prometheus is NOT a prequel. its just somehow related to alien...if that even makes sense."


You don't see how that's possible? Same universe, different story set preceding the events in Alien?



"how does [Dustin Putman] keep his job[?]"


Oh, I think you know...
trailertrash writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 2:28:06 PM

Watched MiB 3 at the weekend best of the 3 IMO
Bullit writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 2:52:11 PM

^ ^ I also did watch it in theater because it was in 3D but it's slightly better than the 2nd but I ended up with a mixed feeling at the end. Not more than 6.0/10.
j-man writes:
on June 4th, 2012 at 3:27:39 PM

@mink

Im guessing knee pads n lube r involved? Lol
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 5:36:45 AM

Chris Hemsworth's little "bro-bro" is a sparkling c*nt.
That's all, folks.
struck21 writes:
on June 5th, 2012 at 11:39:33 PM

When I went, there was a horde of little kids, 8-10 years old, I was wondering afterwards what their parents thought about it as a kid movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved