WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Avengers" is Now Third Highest-Grossing Film

Posted: June 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Avengers" is Now Third Highest-Grossing FilmSubmit Comment
Looks like "The Avengers" will end up in third place at the domestic box office this weekend, behind "Snow White and the Huntsman" and "Men in Black 3." But the superhero film has now become the third highest-grossing film domestically and worldwide.

Domestically, "The Avengers" has brought in $538 million, surpassing "The Dark Knight," which took in $534 million back in 2008. The only two films higher than "The Avengers" are "Titanic" ($658 million) and "Avatar" ($760 million).

Globally, "The Avengers" grossed a total of $1.331 billion, surpassing "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2" ($1.328 billion) for third place. James Cameron's "Titanic" ($2.185 billion) and "Avatar" ($2.782 billion) are still in the lead and will likely stay that way.

Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 3:22:13 PM

Saw this coming a mile away.
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 3:22:16 PM

highly overrated.
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 3:23:23 PM

Saw this coming a mile away..a bittersweet feeling for me though.Well deserved for Joss
MustardTiger writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 3:43:36 PM

Agree with Rambo, overrated.
mongoose writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 3:51:41 PM

The Avengers was easily the best film of the year, and judging by the numbers, most of the movie-going public around the world agrees. The haters who say it's overrated are likely just hardcore Batman fans sulking.
Doucheception writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 4:01:19 PM

Congrats to Whedon!
And it's stupid that Avaturd and Titanic are 1st, I mean they were f*cking re-released.....
But ehh whatever.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 4:14:05 PM

"The haters who say it's overrated are likely just hardcore Batman fans sulking."

Must actually suck for those of us who enjoy authentically well-done good movies that either failed or succeeded modestly, then.
W0WCraft1 writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 4:17:28 PM

Avatar was a monster piece of sh*t. I'm surprised f*cking CHIMPANZEE didn't surpass it.
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 4:29:21 PM

I'm not a hater.I did enjoy the movie to a certain level but it was pretty average and underwhelming and I am not a batman fan...I didn't like at all 'the dark knight' although I have to say I think 'Batman Begins' is the best superhero movie ever made in my book.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 5:14:48 PM

""The Avengers" is Now Third Highest-Grossing Film"

...soon to be the fourth highest grossing film of all time. *sigh*

Dunno what's worse. That comic book fodder and James Cameron's masturbations dominate the box office, or that we all seem to think money decides what's good cinema and what's not.
MustardTiger writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 5:40:21 PM

@mongoose - I also thought Avatar was overrated, but I liked The Avengers better than Avatar. Are you telling me Avatar was a better movie than the Avengers?
blumpkin4 writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 5:45:44 PM

just a bunch a player haters! not knockin the avengers, decent movie but i am one of those batman fans, although not bitter. Enjoy the spot while you can avengers because tdkr is only a few weeks away!!!!!!
mongoose writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 5:57:28 PM

I agree, Mink, box office dollars does not by default make a movie great. But the Avengers seems to be one of those rare films that the majority of fans and critics alike love, and its box office success is a reflection of that.
I'm not saying the Avengers is the greatest movie ever, we could nitpick its plot holes and weaknesses just like any other film. I'm just getting tired of the whole 'Dark Knight Rises vs Avengers' thing. Can't we enjoy both and be happy with their success without it becoming a debate about which one is better? I feel like I'm in kindergarten!
Frank4969 writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:16:58 PM

And 20 years from now when movie tickets are $30 a pop this will mean nothing!
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:21:09 PM

I liked Avengers for what it was, but I'd like to see a more classical film take the top ranking for a change. No more Cameron abortions and no more comic book films, please.

Oh, and Prometheus is getting comparatively trashed, which is a shame because I wanted to love this film, but you surely don't see me crying about it...
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:58:53 PM

Rambo just except it
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 7:09:17 PM

Iron Man was better than this.
otis writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 8:06:17 PM

@Dr. Damariusvashanti

"accept" I believe is what you were looking for
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 9:01:22 PM

@mink actually prometheus is getting quite a bit of good reviews,so far its at 80% on rt
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 9:16:22 PM

Prometheus went from 86% to where it's at now.

Down.
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 9:42:33 PM

well critics are a bunch of dumbasses
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 10:05:25 PM

If critics don't like the film, that's fine with me, I don't really care. Unlike some, I'm not about to go nuts and start calling names because some anonymous joe doesn't like 'my' film, so that's not the issue. I just don't get why Ridley couldn't deliver an impeccable flick. What went wrong? Didn't this dude once make awesome films?

Maybe the RT meter will go back up when American critics start weighing in, but I don't think so, and if anything, it'll go down.

One other thing, I should have noticed that Prometheus was written by the guy that penned Lost and Crossing Jordan eps, and some nobody who worked on The Darkest Hour.

It's like Hollywood is just hiring *anyone* to do feature films these days, and many of the critic gripes focus on Prometheus' poor script.

Oh, and inflation. 538 million in 2008 dollars is only 503 million, which means The Avengers still hasn't grossed more than TDK.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 10:28:48 PM

Thank you Otis
LeeMaca writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 11:14:36 PM

well maybe if disney re-release it into the cinema as many times as avatarded then we'll get a new number one movie! instead of the 3d fern gully experience.
Rambo writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 12:33:24 AM

@mink

it's on 80% now...that's pretty good...i know it will be 79% after Putman's review but what the hack...
Quidd writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 2:18:38 AM

The Avengers is probably one of the most entertaining movies I have ever seen. It's nowhere near the best film, but that really isn't what the creation of cinema was about when they were showing scenic clips at the Nickelodeon. The Artist or The Kings Speech may have been a masterpiece in certain aspects of filmmaking, but it was F'in boring. Transformers may be entertaining at moments, but it is horribly made. I feel great movies are on the line of a solid balance between solid filmmaking (acting, writing, directing...) and entertainment. The Avengers did what it set out to do.
pornfly writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 2:21:49 AM

MINK
"The Old Man and the Sea" starring
Connery
Neeson
Hopkins
Freeman
Whittaker or
Harrison Ford
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 5:02:57 AM

Wonder why people love force the stuff they like on others.If Rambo didnt like The Avengers,you dont have to bloody force him to.Same with Mink,i may not agree totally with what he says about TDKR,but damn it thats his opinion and it needs to be respectd.I enjoyed The Avengers,but i dont expect everyone else.I hate The Godfather,but other people love it and consider it a cult classic.Different strokes for different folks.
the wire writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 5:32:24 AM

overrated.
pornfly writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 6:08:25 AM

sorry
We cant listen to anyone named WITWICKY or anyone that doesnt like The Godfather

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRsemHatx-o&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Self-Destructing writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 8:01:57 AM

Come on everyone in America. Go see the movie one more time and we can kick James Cameron out of 2nd place.
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 8:28:27 AM

lol.porn.it really doesn't matter.those who get my point will understand,those who dont wont.that simple.like i said,we all have different opinions.what is considered as a classical movie to you isn't to meif all u got from what i said is what u just said,then well and good
SACdaddy writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 9:29:14 AM

Saw it again yesterday in 2D. Looked much better but nearly fell asleep several times during the slower moments. They definitely could have shaved some time off that film and added more HULK.
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 12:15:29 PM

Prometheus at 79%. Not looking good. Guess the critics like guys running around in rubber pajamas more.
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 12:20:30 PM

@pornfly: I'd watch that, maybe, if irected by Clint.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 3:07:22 PM

I dunno, putting all your faith in what film critics have to say about a movie is never a great idea. ... To me, 79% hints at the possibility that there's a decent-sized fraction of moron critics (which I'm CERTAIN exist) that just don't get it. If it were rating at, say, 23%, I'd probably feel fairly safe on passing on it, but to me that score is high enough to ignore, as it were.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 3:35:54 PM

Globally, "The Avengers" grossed a total of $1.331 billion, surpassing "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2" ($1.328 billion) for third place. James Cameron's "Titanic" ($2.185 billion) and "Avatar" ($2.782 billion) are still in the lead and will likely stay that way.

Until "The Dark Knight Rises" is released.
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 3:59:56 PM

^lol if you believe TDKR is going to break 2 or 3 billion, because that's not very realistic, is it? Maybe a billion, but three? Come on! Stop cheerleading brother and come back down to planet earth with the rest if us folks.

@mustardayonnaise: I hear you, and you're right, but these chowderhead critics, by constantly invoking Alien, have dampened my enthusiasm. Why? Because it's clear then that Scott hasn't delivered as expected, if some of the criticisms are accurate (dumb characters, questions abandoned, lack of scares, lack of plot/character development).
SACdaddy writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 4:27:14 PM

What was the production budget for the Avengers?
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 4:34:59 PM

220 million.
pornfly writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 4:49:53 PM

Perhaps the Prometheus ads with ominous music and random flashes of intense drama and action was misleading

I'll probably enjoy it more now that my expectations have been slowly chipped away

Thanx,regurgitators of critic spew

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved