WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Independence Day" to be Re-Released in 3D Next Year

Posted: June 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Independence Day" to be Re-Released in 3D Next YearSubmit Comment
During the last few years, director Roland Emmerich has been talking about making two sequels to "Independence Day." According to the helmer, there are already ideas for what the two films will be about and Will Smith has expressed interest in reprising his role.

Now comes word that 20th Century Fox has set "Independence Day" to hit theaters on July 3rd, 2013. But it's not the sequel, it's a 3D conversion of the original film. This is a bit disappointing for those looking forward to seeing a second installment, but it could also mean that 20th Century Fox is looking to see how the re-release performs before greenlighting any follow-ups.

"Independence Day" was originally released in theaters in 1996 and grossed a whopping $817 million on a $75 million budget.

Source: 20th Century Fox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 6:45:06 AM

Independence day is an amazing movie, ill re watch this on the big screen..
Děeko writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 10:01:49 AM

A guilty pleasure of mine,a a lot of cheese but visually very impressive(even by today's standards).
Cannon writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 10:37:44 AM

I hate to be the stick-in-the-mud but, in my opinion, Independence Day is hardly the classic itís made out to be. Perhaps I was already a bit too old when I first saw it in theaters, or at least too old for it to hold any nostalgia. Compared to Star Wars that came before it and a number of big sci-fi/fantasy blockbusters that have since followed, this movie is plainly mediocre for me.

Itís not the best alien invasion film; itís not the best jet/space fighter action adventure film, and while the visual effects have aged well (enough, I suppose), it was never all that creative or inventive in terms of imagery. Ití just had some big explosions and impressive scale, is all.

Itís not a bad movie by any means, but does anyone honestly think it deserves a 3D converted rerelease 17 years later, during mid-summer movie season, no less? I have no desire whatsoever to see this again on the big screen. It just was never "movie magic" for me...

...not like Jurassic Park.
Ranger writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 12:52:11 PM

The President's speech ruined it for me.

I still watch it on TV when nothing else is on.
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 1:01:19 PM

A Jew and a black guy save the world.

Now, that's not science fiction, folks. That's just downright impossible.
Bullit writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 1:47:16 PM

^ ^ LOL Mink, good one.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 2:39:45 PM

Don't forget a drunken redneck named quaid,who is currently in canada.

I wonder if I'll see a better view of Goldlums nose in 3d
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 3:25:43 PM

f*ck you!!!

I am going back to China so I don't have to put up with this sh*t!
Bullit writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 4:13:54 PM

^^ China ^^ Dear God, I feel sorry for you. Even if they would pay me 10k a month, I'd still be feeling sick & puck on their hands. You are very courageaous mate to leave the English green grass for Liverpool... I mean China...
pornfly writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 4:33:39 PM

Will Smith jerks off to this movie everyday before he leaves the house
pornfly writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 4:40:02 PM

I kept waitin for Goldblooms girlfriend to get alien raped

I always wanted her and that chic from Big to get into each others ass like toilet paper
pornfly writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 5:05:07 PM

This movie was just meant to be a good ol shootem up America saves the world patriotic strokefest
Not even the same animal as StarWars

Replace that extremely stooopid scene of Will Smith hookin that alien with more Vivica stripping
Verde writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 6:48:55 PM

''A Jew and a black guy save the world.

Now, that's not science fiction, folks. That's just downright impossible.''

@mink:

lol... you have made my day
Ranger writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 7:51:13 PM

mink's on fire.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:52:17 AM

@bullit

Sorry mate but sometimes the worst place can be the best option..lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved