WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Photos: Woman Gives Homeless Man a Bag of Food, That Homeless Man is Richard Gere
Apr 24th, 2014
Japanese Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 24th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson and Lupita Nyong'o in Talks for "The Jungle Book"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Photo From Set of "Pitch Perfect 2"
Apr 24th, 2014
Jessica Chastain May Play Female Lead in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Look: Arnold Schwarzenegger on "Terminator: Genesis" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Photos From "Jurassic World" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
Sony Working on a Live-Action "Barbie" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Eric Roberts Says "Human Centipede 3" is Really Horrible
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "Prometheus" Reviews are Here!

Posted: May 31st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "Prometheus" Reviews are Here!Submit Comment
Ridley Scott's "Prometheus" screened in England and France recently, and the first reviews are coming out. Twitter comments show that people loved the film, but the critics aren't as happy with the film as the fans are.

Most reviews seem to point out that "Prometheus" is a true "Alien" prequel, and doesn't just contain "Alien" DNA like Scott has been saying. The film is being described as "intelligent sci-fi," but is not as tense as "Alien" and not as exciting as "Aliens."

Overall, everyone enjoyed the visual part of "Prometheus," but some expected a lot more action. "Prometheus" is set to hit US theaters on June 8th.

* WhatCulture: A thrilling sci-fi spectacle that should have series fans discussing it for years to come. (9/10)

* Empire: You'll leave with an empty feeling inside. (6/10)

* TotalFilm: "Prometheus" is very good. Easily the saga’s most spectacular entry.

* The Guardian: It lacks the central killer punch of "Alien." (6/10)

* The Telegraph: Majestic to look at and full of tentacular mayhem. (8/10)

* THR: More imaginative boldness would have taken it further.

* MovieCityNews: The best film of the summer so far.

* The Sun: Breaths life back into intelligent sci-fi.

* ScreenDaily: Intelligent and visceral film-making.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Džeko writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 6:34:29 AM

So basically,it's good but it could've been better.
Bullit writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 6:35:40 AM

On the relate subject, it set to break records in the UK:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2152480/Prometheus-set-break-records-500-000-advance-ticket-sales.html
Taco writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 6:42:51 AM

This may be a classic "didn't live up to the hype" film.
Bullit writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 7:02:45 AM

The 2 ones who gave a 6/10 should be sacked for being so incompetent! A 6 equals like an average film and believe you me, it's everything but average more like a solid 8/10.
Rambo writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 7:23:51 AM

guess it's another one of those 'trailer is better then the movie'
Sev writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 7:44:45 AM

Think everyone needs to go in NOT expecting the original Alien film. Was NEVER gunna be allowed to be like that. Gunna take this one on it's own merrits and judge it properly. It's a new direction for the franchise and one they can build on and make darker if they want to. Looking forward to the Midnight showing tonight :D
nawtnt writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 8:00:03 AM

Prometheus isn't exciting as Aliens because there are not soldiers with heavy guns heading back to the Alien planet, instead has some space men discovering the sercet that many fans wanted to be answered.

Also it is not tense as Alien that's one critic said, come on the trailer for Prometheus was epic and kind of tense.

Of course, Prometheus will not have the same hype as Alien because that movie was made in 1979 which is a long away.

Still I hope Prometheus turns out to be a great prequel to Alien.
Big_Daddy writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 8:14:10 AM

Actually this is great news. It means they actually put a story in it not just random sci fi sh*t and stuff blowing up.
boogiel writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 8:34:16 AM

I knew it. This movie wont top the original Alien and its sequels.
Bunny X writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 9:36:14 AM

Thankfully we don't live in a world where the public follows the word of movie critics in their movie viewing choices. So what if there's a few 6/10's? Not everything is going to liked by everyone.
Go see it and judge for yourself.
Better still, have the stones to write your own review and let others trash the hell out of you for your inconsequential opinion.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 11:03:47 AM

The first film Alien was sci-horror with next to no story. Just a mechanism for increasing tension. Simple and to the point, a functional machine meant for one thing. Aliens was a larger, louder more muscular Alien.

Prometheus isn't any of that, and Scott has done his damned best to set expectations, to help people prepare to be more open-minded, to accept Prometheus as it's own creation and not just another Alien franchise film, and yet, these ignorant critics just can't do it. They just can't stop doing what they were told repeatedly not to do, like impulsive children who just can't stop filching grandma's cookies.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 11:10:13 AM

It's fine with me if it's not Alien. I liked the first two movies, but I didn't think they were great. This actually looks better to me.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 11:41:36 AM

Mink your on edge man let the idiots do what they want. If it comes to it then go on a killing spree
pornfly writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 12:16:30 PM

Im goin into this movie a blank slate
f*ck reviews
bandolero999 writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 12:16:46 PM

I dont care what people say.I'm a sucker for a scifi movie and this one i'm paying for it at the theatre.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 12:47:25 PM

Action? You want more action from a Ridley Scott "Alien" movie?

As I recall his "Alien" had no f*cking action it it, it was all suspense..Cameron had all the action in his one because the script was retarded as f*ck.

Godamn critics piss me off sometimes, I will expect a little action but I don't and never have expected "Promethues"to be an action movie.

I want great dialogue, great set peices, great acting, great direction.
Bullit writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 12:54:29 PM

As I saw Prometheus last night and IF someone is interested, I posted my 1st impression yesterday night:


http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=25003&count=0
Man in Black writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 1:06:41 PM

Haven't seen it , am going to see it , most critics are c*nts and forgot got what it is like to be a fan . They need to be knocked out of their self made ivory towers maybe step behind the camera if they are going to get paid to critic' someone elses work , we do it for free here on WP but we are fans the paying customers , we do not get special screenings and attend premiers .
filmaddict24 writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 1:22:52 PM

This is exactly why people shouldn't decide to watch alien and/or aliens before this film comes out. will make too many comparisons.
Doucheception writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 3:43:56 PM

I don't remember Alien, I don't even know if I've ever watched it.
But what I know is that I can't wait for this film, it looks great Ridley Scott has done a great job with this feel(well in the way he has presented the film) I mean it seems as he wants to revive not just the franchise but the sci-fi genre(since there haven't been too many space or sci fi movies in the last decade or so) ,not to mention the marketing campaign, especifically the viral campaign, which has been overall great and really catching IMO.
vaodsi writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 4:03:51 PM

these early "good but not great" reviews are the best thing that could happen. Lowers the impossible expectations.
blumpkin4 writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 4:28:27 PM

thanks bullit we are all dying and have asked to hear what you thought... NOT!
DexterMorgan writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 5:11:49 PM

its website reviews they don't know jack sh*t about movies
commanderclit69 writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 5:15:24 PM

This movie WILL be good, like grandmas cookies
Ranger writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 6:00:22 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y77VRTqtAWQ
Blacktinoheat writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 7:17:07 PM

For once i am actually gonna say Mink has a valid point!!!
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 7:39:23 PM

^^Good to know my points are only valid when you agree.
pornfly writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 10:01:58 PM

DASSSAGOOODWON^
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 2:37:22 AM

excited for this movie, in part b/c the trailer for 'Flight' is attached to this movie. my first editing credit on a feature!
The Scarecrow writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 7:35:38 PM

Of course the critics are going to blast it, anything that isn't "artsy" enough isn't going to win over any praise.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:41:47 PM

"excited for this movie, in part b/c the trailer for 'Flight' is attached to this movie. my first editing credit on a feature!"

Are you Evan Finn?
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 2:21:13 PM

The critics are not ignorant, the film was a complete train wreck. The biggest problem is Damon Lindelof's (writer of Lost) script, which is riddled with so many problems that it boggles the mind that Scott didn't fire him immediately after reading it. The dialogue is extremely cheesy and the crew members are some of the biggest morons to ever be shown on a film. There are also huge plot inconsistencies from start to finish (For example, at one point a character is being pursued by two people, she hits one of them and the two people are never mentioned again after she rounds the corner. What happened to them? Why did they stop chasing her? We never find out). I did not care about getting a prequel to Alien, but what I did not expect was a film written by someone who makes the writers of the Resident Evil franchise look like Arthur C. Clarke, Isaac Asimov, and Philip K. d*ck all rolled into one. The entire film plays like one big pilot episode to a new JJ Abrams television show, complete with the kind of lazy liberal "art" scene writing that assumes if you complain about the giant plot-holes and lack of exposition, then you are one of those simple-minded viewers who "isn't smart enough to get it" (much like Lindelof's previous magnum opus Lost).

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel

"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved