WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Some Kind of Beautiful," with Pierce Brosnan, Jessica Alba and Selma Hayek
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller is Here!
Jul 18th, 2015
Watch IMAX Trailer for "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 18th, 2015
"X-Men: Apocalypse" Unveils Photos of Apocalypse, Psylocke and Storm
Jul 17th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Finally Hires Writers
Jul 17th, 2015
Stephen King's "It" Movie Hires a Director
Jul 17th, 2015
Casts of "Batman v Superman" and "Suicide Squad" Unite for Photo Shoot
Jul 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Joy," with Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper and Robert De Niro
Jul 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "Prometheus" Reviews are Here!

Posted: May 31st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "Prometheus" Reviews are Here!Submit Comment
Ridley Scott's "Prometheus" screened in England and France recently, and the first reviews are coming out. Twitter comments show that people loved the film, but the critics aren't as happy with the film as the fans are.

Most reviews seem to point out that "Prometheus" is a true "Alien" prequel, and doesn't just contain "Alien" DNA like Scott has been saying. The film is being described as "intelligent sci-fi," but is not as tense as "Alien" and not as exciting as "Aliens."

Overall, everyone enjoyed the visual part of "Prometheus," but some expected a lot more action. "Prometheus" is set to hit US theaters on June 8th.

* WhatCulture: A thrilling sci-fi spectacle that should have series fans discussing it for years to come. (9/10)

* Empire: You'll leave with an empty feeling inside. (6/10)

* TotalFilm: "Prometheus" is very good. Easily the saga’s most spectacular entry.

* The Guardian: It lacks the central killer punch of "Alien." (6/10)

* The Telegraph: Majestic to look at and full of tentacular mayhem. (8/10)

* THR: More imaginative boldness would have taken it further.

* MovieCityNews: The best film of the summer so far.

* The Sun: Breaths life back into intelligent sci-fi.

* ScreenDaily: Intelligent and visceral film-making.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Džeko writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 6:34:29 AM

So basically,it's good but it could've been better.
Bullit writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 6:35:40 AM

On the relate subject, it set to break records in the UK:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2152480/Prometheus-set-break-records-500-000-advance-ticket-sales.html
Taco writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 6:42:51 AM

This may be a classic "didn't live up to the hype" film.
Bullit writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 7:02:45 AM

The 2 ones who gave a 6/10 should be sacked for being so incompetent! A 6 equals like an average film and believe you me, it's everything but average more like a solid 8/10.
Rambo writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 7:23:51 AM

guess it's another one of those 'trailer is better then the movie'
Sev writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 7:44:45 AM

Think everyone needs to go in NOT expecting the original Alien film. Was NEVER gunna be allowed to be like that. Gunna take this one on it's own merrits and judge it properly. It's a new direction for the franchise and one they can build on and make darker if they want to. Looking forward to the Midnight showing tonight :D
nawtnt writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 8:00:03 AM

Prometheus isn't exciting as Aliens because there are not soldiers with heavy guns heading back to the Alien planet, instead has some space men discovering the sercet that many fans wanted to be answered.

Also it is not tense as Alien that's one critic said, come on the trailer for Prometheus was epic and kind of tense.

Of course, Prometheus will not have the same hype as Alien because that movie was made in 1979 which is a long away.

Still I hope Prometheus turns out to be a great prequel to Alien.
Big_Daddy writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 8:14:10 AM

Actually this is great news. It means they actually put a story in it not just random sci fi sh*t and stuff blowing up.
boogiel writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 8:34:16 AM

I knew it. This movie wont top the original Alien and its sequels.
Bunny X writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 9:36:14 AM

Thankfully we don't live in a world where the public follows the word of movie critics in their movie viewing choices. So what if there's a few 6/10's? Not everything is going to liked by everyone.
Go see it and judge for yourself.
Better still, have the stones to write your own review and let others trash the hell out of you for your inconsequential opinion.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 11:03:47 AM

The first film Alien was sci-horror with next to no story. Just a mechanism for increasing tension. Simple and to the point, a functional machine meant for one thing. Aliens was a larger, louder more muscular Alien.

Prometheus isn't any of that, and Scott has done his damned best to set expectations, to help people prepare to be more open-minded, to accept Prometheus as it's own creation and not just another Alien franchise film, and yet, these ignorant critics just can't do it. They just can't stop doing what they were told repeatedly not to do, like impulsive children who just can't stop filching grandma's cookies.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 11:10:13 AM

It's fine with me if it's not Alien. I liked the first two movies, but I didn't think they were great. This actually looks better to me.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 11:41:36 AM

Mink your on edge man let the idiots do what they want. If it comes to it then go on a killing spree
pornfly writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 12:16:30 PM

Im goin into this movie a blank slate
f*ck reviews
bandolero999 writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 12:16:46 PM

I dont care what people say.I'm a sucker for a scifi movie and this one i'm paying for it at the theatre.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 12:47:25 PM

Action? You want more action from a Ridley Scott "Alien" movie?

As I recall his "Alien" had no f*cking action it it, it was all suspense..Cameron had all the action in his one because the script was retarded as f*ck.

Godamn critics piss me off sometimes, I will expect a little action but I don't and never have expected "Promethues"to be an action movie.

I want great dialogue, great set peices, great acting, great direction.
Bullit writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 12:54:29 PM

As I saw Prometheus last night and IF someone is interested, I posted my 1st impression yesterday night:


http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=25003&count=0
Man in Black writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 1:06:41 PM

Haven't seen it , am going to see it , most critics are c*nts and forgot got what it is like to be a fan . They need to be knocked out of their self made ivory towers maybe step behind the camera if they are going to get paid to critic' someone elses work , we do it for free here on WP but we are fans the paying customers , we do not get special screenings and attend premiers .
filmaddict24 writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 1:22:52 PM

This is exactly why people shouldn't decide to watch alien and/or aliens before this film comes out. will make too many comparisons.
Doucheception writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 3:43:56 PM

I don't remember Alien, I don't even know if I've ever watched it.
But what I know is that I can't wait for this film, it looks great Ridley Scott has done a great job with this feel(well in the way he has presented the film) I mean it seems as he wants to revive not just the franchise but the sci-fi genre(since there haven't been too many space or sci fi movies in the last decade or so) ,not to mention the marketing campaign, especifically the viral campaign, which has been overall great and really catching IMO.
vaodsi writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 4:03:51 PM

these early "good but not great" reviews are the best thing that could happen. Lowers the impossible expectations.
blumpkin4 writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 4:28:27 PM

thanks bullit we are all dying and have asked to hear what you thought... NOT!
DexterMorgan writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 5:11:49 PM

its website reviews they don't know jack sh*t about movies
commanderclit69 writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 5:15:24 PM

This movie WILL be good, like grandmas cookies
Ranger writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 6:00:22 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y77VRTqtAWQ
Blacktinoheat writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 7:17:07 PM

For once i am actually gonna say Mink has a valid point!!!
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 7:39:23 PM

^^Good to know my points are only valid when you agree.
pornfly writes:
on May 31st, 2012 at 10:01:58 PM

DASSSAGOOODWON^
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 2:37:22 AM

excited for this movie, in part b/c the trailer for 'Flight' is attached to this movie. my first editing credit on a feature!
The Scarecrow writes:
on June 1st, 2012 at 7:35:38 PM

Of course the critics are going to blast it, anything that isn't "artsy" enough isn't going to win over any praise.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2012 at 6:41:47 PM

"excited for this movie, in part b/c the trailer for 'Flight' is attached to this movie. my first editing credit on a feature!"

Are you Evan Finn?
Recumbentibus writes:
on June 3rd, 2012 at 2:21:13 PM

The critics are not ignorant, the film was a complete train wreck. The biggest problem is Damon Lindelof's (writer of Lost) script, which is riddled with so many problems that it boggles the mind that Scott didn't fire him immediately after reading it. The dialogue is extremely cheesy and the crew members are some of the biggest morons to ever be shown on a film. There are also huge plot inconsistencies from start to finish (For example, at one point a character is being pursued by two people, she hits one of them and the two people are never mentioned again after she rounds the corner. What happened to them? Why did they stop chasing her? We never find out). I did not care about getting a prequel to Alien, but what I did not expect was a film written by someone who makes the writers of the Resident Evil franchise look like Arthur C. Clarke, Isaac Asimov, and Philip K. d*ck all rolled into one. The entire film plays like one big pilot episode to a new JJ Abrams television show, complete with the kind of lazy liberal "art" scene writing that assumes if you complain about the giant plot-holes and lack of exposition, then you are one of those simple-minded viewers who "isn't smart enough to get it" (much like Lindelof's previous magnum opus Lost).

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved