WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Prometheus" Writer Discusses Possible Sequel

Posted: May 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Prometheus" Writer Discusses Possible SequelSubmit Comment
Back in November, director Ridley Scott said that the last eight minutes of "Prometheus" will look very similar to "Alien." But now, writer Damon Lindelof has revealed that "Prometheus" can have a sequel without tying into the "Alien" story.

"If you like ['Prometheus'] and want more, there is totally a design for this story to continue in cool and unexpected ways," he wrote on Twitter, adding that the movie will create "a new, grand mythology."

So which direction will "Prometheus 2" head in? "For 'Prometheus,' I came back to a very simple question that haunted me that appears in the first 'Alien,' and no one answered in subsequent 'Alien' films: who was the Space Jockey – the big guy in the seat? Once you start into the evolution of the story, it moves so far away from 'Alien' that there's only the mere DNA of the original in 'Prometheus.'"

Source: Filmofilia


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 6:02:38 AM

Really interesting, but after this one, I wish he would start the new BLADERUNNER...
j-man writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 6:39:55 AM

What was te space jockey again? I forget most of alien
Rambo writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 6:55:18 AM

cameron you son of a bitch stop that avatar production and make promethous sequel
Avirex writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 7:24:14 AM

"there is totally a design for this story to continue in cool and unexpected ways"

TOTALLY, COOL AND UNEXPECTED!! YEAH!!

The rest sounds find though I guess. I'll wait until the first prequel hits theaters before I get excited.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 7:41:10 AM

I need to rewatch Alien again.
Bullit writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 8:24:43 AM

Never mind the sequel! I'm going to watch Promotheus on Wenesday 30 May at 7:30 pm thank you very much and I'll be the 1st one to tell you how good it will be.


@Ranger: How you doing mate?


Cheers,
Bullit writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 8:27:53 AM

I know, I'm a lucky bastard!
minkowski writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 9:42:50 AM

At least with this film, they can actually explore the infinite possibilities of space instead of being lock-boxed into the claustrophobic horror and monotony of a singular alien entity.
trailertrash writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 9:47:01 AM

http://www.uhull.com.br/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/anythingspossible.jpg

^^ Now thats a Lucky Bastard Bullit
Bullit writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 10:28:30 AM

^ ^ Lol! Indeed, bloody rich shallow wap.
Ranger writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 10:58:27 AM

@Bullit - I'm well, thank you. How about yourself? Nice to see you're taking in that Prometheus screening. Best movie of the year (so far) I think.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 11:04:38 AM

This sequel should only happen if Ridley Scott's involved. There's no point some c*nt coming in turning it back in to an action film when Prometheus clearly sticks to it's roots as a sci fi/horror. I have high expectations of this film and I don't think I'll be disappointed... I can't be... I won't be!
minkowski writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 11:09:26 AM

OT: Iron Sky. Not NEARLY as funny as the trailer would seem to claim. Lots of cheap Bay-esque explosions, without the talented camera-work, and virtually no humor. Poorly plotted, paced even worse.

What a letdown.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 11:33:20 AM

Mink- You seen any of Game of Thrones yet?
minkowski writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 11:41:06 AM

Not yet, Cinema. The torrent client's been busy downloading that Iron Sky garbage and The Insider. But I will. Soon.
Bullit writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 11:51:05 AM

@Ranger: I'm prety good on this Whit Monday as it's a national day off over here and we're enjoying a nice rosé wine in my garden under this sunny wheather (25°C)...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 12:13:52 PM

Ahh sweet let me know you've seen it.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 12:19:38 PM

Bullitt- my envy has never been higher. Lol
Mr. Blonde writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 12:44:35 PM

@Ranger - welcome back bud.

@Bullit - envy, enjoy.

@j-man: good explanation re: Space Jockey from Wikipedia - interesting I didn't know the last tidbit about The Who.

"The set with the deceased alien creature, which the production team nicknamed the "space jockey", proved problematic as 20th Century Fox did not want to spend the money for such an expensive set that would only be used for one scene. Ridley Scott described the set as the c*ckpit or driving deck of the mysterious ship, and the production team was able to convince the studio that the scene was important to impress the audience and make them aware that this was not a B movie. To save money only one wall of the set was created, and the "space jockey" sat atop a disc that could be rotated to facilitate shots from different angles in relation to the actors. Giger airbrushed the entire set and the "space jockey" by hand. The origin of the jockey creature was not explored in the film, but Scott later theorized that it might have been the ship's pilot, and that the ship might have been a weapons carrier capable of dropping Alien eggs onto a planet so that the Aliens could use the local lifeforms as hosts. In early versions of the script the eggs were to be located in a separate pyramid structure which would be found later by the Nostromo crew and would contain statues and hieroglyphs depicting the Alien reproductive cycle, offering a contrast of the human, Alien, and space jockey cultures. Cobb, Foss, and Giger each created concept artwork for these sequences, but they were eventually discarded due to budgetary concerns and the need to trim the length of the film. Instead the egg chamber was set inside the derelict ship and was filmed on the same set as the space jockey scene; the entire disc piece supporting the jockey and its chair were removed and the set was redressed to create the egg chamber. Light effects in the egg chamber were created by lasers borrowed from English rock band The Who. The band was testing the lasers for use in their stage show in the sound stage next door".
Bullit writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 2:20:31 PM

@Bad & Mr Blonde: :) Cheers,
KillerCOck writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 5:16:51 PM

f*ck Blade Runner! He needs to remake/prequel Legend next! hahahaha
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 5:32:17 PM

Mink- Don't worry they didn't actually say that lol, they just put quotes about current news on half naked models who probably don't even know how to tie shoe laces. Like so: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_OzH66ezQ-VM/ST5FXbtmlHI/AAAAAAAAAFk/AsupPJ5jJlM/s400/sun_page3_stansted.jpg
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 5:33:03 PM

Ballbags wrong thread
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 9:23:04 PM

Sequel sounds interesting. No doubt I'd pay to go see it.

Unfortunately, I also paid to go see Chernobyl Diaries, something I knew was going to be a sh*tfest going in. It was actually worse than I predicted, but had some unintentionally funny bits featuring a bear, and an attempted shaky cam moment.
minkowski writes:
on May 28th, 2012 at 9:33:57 PM

Re: Prometheus. So no one has seen this motherf*cking motherf*cker yet?

Speaking of motherf*ckers, whatever happened to Twatson?
Ranger writes:
on May 29th, 2012 at 12:49:43 AM

@Mr. B. Thank you my friend.
pornfly writes:
on May 29th, 2012 at 3:55:00 AM

26comments
DAMN wut i miss
j-man writes:
on May 29th, 2012 at 6:06:52 AM

@mr blonde
Cheers mate!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved